This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
San Camp
San Camp
San Camp
San Camp
San Camp
San Camp
San Camp
San Camp

Reviews of San Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

20 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited San Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at San Camp.
Lion

73% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

36% success

Wild dog

0% success

Meerkat

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

91% success

Elephant

70% success

Brown Hyena

45% success

Aardvark

40% success

Oryx

10% success

Spotted Hyena

10% success

Giraffe

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 20
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
PA

"San Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 May 2024
"The only reason we downgraded some of the facilities was because we are in our late seventies and early eighties and the walk from room to meals was particularly challenging for my husband and the high bed was as well. That said we loved San Camp and its small size.

The antiquey furnishings added an old-time feel. The high tea yurt and all the meals were fantastic. Meerkats were on my bucket list and the reason we chose to come here. We loved the complete change in habitat - desert/salt pan with fewer shrubs and trees, more grassland - much more open. We saw a host of new smaller mammals. TH was our excellent guide and shared his vast knowledge of the flora and fauna.

Our encounter with the Bushfolk was very interactive and informative. Our daughter and our 9 year old grandson were able to walk with them but that was not something the old folk could do. TH drove us in the safari vehicle so we could follow them. I loved my morning with the meerkats - sitting beside their burrows as they awoke and got on with their day was sublime. I loved going to bed and listening to the grunts of Wildebeest who hung out nearby.

The highlight of our time at San Camp for TH was seeing the Aardvark which apparently does not happen very often. I saw my first Springbok." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Elephant

3 sightings

Meerkat

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Mrs A.
Henley

"San Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2023
"San Camp location was amazing and I have not seen anything like it before, you felt like you were on the moon. Even though there is not much vegetation, we saw lots of animals, more than I thought we would, which was a nice surprise.

Highlight was seeing the Meerkats, the trip to the San People was ok but a bit awkward at times. The trip on the quad bikes was good fun, but they played silly games to waste time before the sun went down to surprise everyone with a meal out on the pans, which was a nice surprise, but what was not a nice surprise was they are expecting you to sleep out over night, which I was not wanting to do, so we got driven back to camp.

The staff here are very lazy and we had to wait for over an hour for breakfast on two mornings, even though they told us we need to be there at a certain time. very disorganised and poor management.

The rooms are very quirky, down side no bedside lamps so you have to get up and cross the room to turn the lights off and walk back in the dark, this could be a bit hazardous at times!

The guide was excellent though and made our stay her pleasant, and even took us on an extra night drive and we saw an Aardvark.

I would not recommend this camp, but if you want to see the Pans then you have limited options and the company owns all three camps and they do the same activities rotating guests.

WiFi is rubbish" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Meerkat

2 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Mr & Mrs H
Lisvane

"San Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 May 2023
"San Camp more then meets the stylistic expectation but sometimes more substance would be appreciated. The accommodation is spacious and well furnished but the living area has very poor lighting and some bed side lighting should be provided.
If you prefer choices for your activities avoid this camp as the activities are compulsory! That said we would not have opted for the quad bike activity but we enjoyed the evening and sunset experience. Two other compulsory activities are the Meerkat and Bush people walk and interaction. The Meerkat experience is enjoyable but the Meerkats have been habituated to humans. We cannot comment on the Bush people experience because they failed to turn up due to a communication issue?! Besides the compulsory nature of the activities it also seems to be camp policy to fill the vehicles (7) with guests despite the fact that two other vehicles and the associated guides had no guests. The salt pans and landscape is stunning. Overall we enjoyed our three nights." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

2 sightings

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Meerkat

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

J & J
York

"San Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2022
"Amazing camp and environment. Staff very attentive.
They liked surprising us eg the opportunity to sleep under the stars after our quad bike ride and dinner in the bush. Would have loved it if I had known and come prepared with contact lens paraphernalia." See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Meerkat

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Ms K
Alberta

"San Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2022
"This was a different experience as it is a temporary camp and is dismantled after the season. The accommodation is more like a Sahara desert tent camp.

The chef was very accommodating in preparing food for my allergy.

The staff's approach of not letting guests know what activities they are doing creates some issues in guests being prepared for the activity." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Meerkat

1 sighting

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Ms B
Australia

"San Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2022
"A beautiful place to stay - the accommodation is unreal, the staff just lovely and any more food, I wouldn’t have been able to climb into the safari vehicle!

I really loved the friendliness of San Camp - from our guide to all the house staff. The location and views are stunning and we had the most amazing safaris, unbelievably coming across a lioness and her 3 juvenile cubs, and later on a female cheetah and her 2 juvenile cubs all on our first game drive!

Spending time with the meerkats was really special too." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Meerkat

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr Mitchell
Weybridge

"San Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2019
"A magical place to stay" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Meerkat

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Dr & Mrs S
Oregon

"San Camp Review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2019
"This camp, like the others nearby, are unique in their salt pan location. This is not a camp for first timers to Africa who might expect to see "the big five". This is the place to see "the ugly five" and some unique mammals. The air is pristine here and the sky is great for star photography, just not around full moon time, however. San Camp is the destination for friendly, gregarious meerkats for sure and with a little luck, a brown hyena or even an aardvark! We did see one, albeit running for its burrow. That photo will not be an award winner however. Be prepared to stay up late in the search for them i.e. we got back to camp at 1:30 am. The guide, Vasco de Gamma (his real name) was persistent in looking for the unusual mammals!

In late June, the weather was cold at night. We slept in long underwear and the camp has heavy comforters and hot water bottles that make things warm. You will get dressed very quickly in the morning in time for the early game drives. Afternoons were a warm 70 F and the time to shower. The camp provided a sun downer on the salt pan that was accompanied with a full bar as well as a quiet, serene sunset. On another occasion the camp provided a full dinner on the pan with an opportunity to sleep out there for the night! If it weren't so cold we would have done it. None of the guests opted to do this either for the same reason.

A trip to see the bushmen of the Kalahari was excellent and put to shame the "hokey" encounters with other tribes one might see in Africa.

There is electricity for limited room lighting only in the tents but not for any phones, computers or camera battery charging and downloading of images. This must be done near the dining area and even that is limited. We left all of this equipment in the area rather than dragging it back and forth to the tents which are very spread out. The folks at the camp did help and go along with my plan to bring one of the small reading tables next to the electric area to work on. This assuaged the problem a lot. If more folks were doing this it would have been a problem however.

Other animals seen but not on your list included: porcupine and baby; bat eared fox; black backed jackels; spring hares; yellow mongoose; pukus." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Zambia; 4n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Botswana; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Meerkat

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
NZ

"More expected from San Camp"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2019
"This was one of the most expensive lodges we had ever stayed at, so expectations were high. Upon arrival we were shown around the communal area, and served delicious sandwiches while the program of the next few days were explained to us. Our first issue was that there was no flexibility with the activities, we were told that we were going on a game drive that afternoon, walking with San People in the morning and Meerkats in the afternoon, leaving no time for the quad bike trip to the pans, which Martin wanted to do. Eventually, when we stood our ground, we squeezed in the quad biking after the morning walk. We just felt that they could at least make it feel as if you were part of the decision making about your activities. I know some of the other guests were "treated" to surprises that we were more than happy to have missed out on. I, for one, would much rather be consulted on what we are to do and when.

We were in the tent furthest away from the main area. It is a very long walk, especially in the heat of the day, and in the dark. It was fine for us, but I think for elderly people or with mobility issues, it might be an issue - you don't want to go back to get something that was forgotten. The tent was as beautiful as the photo's, but proved to be impractical. The bed is extremely high, requiring steps to access it, and without a light next to the bed (only one light at the entrance to the tent and one in the bathroom) it was a bit daunting to have to negotiate your way in the dark. Perhaps a torch next to the bed might help. Also, the bed standing in the middle of the tent, and there being no headboard, meant the pillows fell off the end of the bed, requiring another trip in the dark to retrieve them.

It took us a while to recognize and appreciate what this place is about - the remoteness, the quiet, the desolate beauty - grows on you. I think they are trying too hard to be fancy, or different, making the experience feel contrived. Everybody does not want to have to take off their shoes to lounge around on cushions with strangers having afternoon tea. I think perhaps we would have enjoyed the Makgadigadi pans more in more relaxed, comfortable surroundings." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Meerkat

1 sighting

Oryx

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs MW
W London

"Magical (but windy!) San Camp"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2018
"A beautiful camp, very different to the others. Felt even more remote and wild.

The location overlooking the Salt Pan is amazing.

It was very windy while we were there and the time of year might be a consideration for other visitors. The camp apparently closes mid October because of high winds but it seems they had arrived early this year. The weather did impact some of the activities but we enjoyed our stay enormously and the staff and guide made every effort to give us a great experience." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Meerkat

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 20
93%
20 reviews of San Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
15
3
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kalahari's Salt Pans

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Camp Kalahari

Camp Kalahari

Overlooking the Makgadikgadi Pans, Camp Kalahari is great value; come for quadbiking excursions on the salt pans, cute meerkats, excellent Bushman walks, and interesting 4WD safaris.


94% (58 reviews)
Nxai Pan Camp

Nxai Pan Camp

Offering good summer game viewing and visits to Baines Baobabs, the comfortable Nxai Pan Camp is currently the only permanent camp in Nxai Pan National Park.


91% (33 reviews)
Jack's Camp

Jack's Camp

Jack's Camp was the original camp in the Makgadikgadi area, and many still consider it the best. Come for a unique and memorable experience, but not for prolific game viewing.


89% (25 reviews)
Meno A Kwena

Meno A Kwena

Meno A Kwena Tented Camp is an old-style safari camp, run by an experienced Botswana expert. Overlooking the bed of the Boteti River, it's a great place to relax and watch wildlife at the camp's waterhole.


83% (13 reviews)
Leroo La Tau

Leroo La Tau

From the western bank of the Boteti River, Leroo La Tau overlooks the Makgadikgadi Pans National Park, where game concentrations are highest from July to October.


100% (2 reviews)
Migration Expeditions

Migration Expeditions

A seasonal safari camp in Nxai Pan National Park focussed on the area's annual zebra migration.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Newsletter background

Stay in the know with Expert Africa

Join our newsletter. Get the latest on new camps and lodges, insights from our team, uplifting conservation stories and more...

A few more details and you're subscribed

Thanks!

Look out for your confirmation email and exciting updates in your inbox.

Take a look at our previous Bush Telegraph newsletters.
Africa