This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nxai Pan Camp
Nxai Pan Camp
Nxai Pan Camp
Nxai Pan Camp
Nxai Pan Camp
Nxai Pan Camp

Reviews of Nxai Pan Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

30 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nxai Pan Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jan-2020, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nxai Pan Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 30
Duration
Arrival date
Mr K-Prof V
Michigan

"Great Stay During the Rainy Season"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jan 2020
"The camp facilities are excellent.

Most importantly, the staff was friendly and attentive with great service. Ike, our guide, knows the birds and animals and even found us a life bird.

The rainy season was a fine time to visit - fantastic herds of zebra and wildebeest with plenty of giraffe and elephant. " See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 1n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr & Mrs N
USA

"Enjoyed this camp"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jan 2019
"Wonderful people and food, nice game drives - Wago was excellent guide" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 16n in Tanzania; 10n in Botswana; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dr. W
SaffronW - UK

"Nxai Pan Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jan 2019
"We loved the location and setting at Nxai Pan Camp. The staff were more than friendly, and keen to give us the best time. The meals were delicious too.

Unfortunately there were heavy thunderstorms each day, which affected what we could do a bit, and led to some disappointing drives as the wildlife had scattered.

We did enjoy our trip to Baines Baobabs - magnificent on the edge of the pans.

" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Harrow

"Nxai Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Apr 2018
"Very good camp. Lots of zebra, giraffe and elephants at the waterhole. V good lion sightings every day and great day trip to Baines's Baobab. Noisy, infantile Americans a nuisance but luckily not there every day." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S
Enfield

"A zebra fest at Naxi Pan"

3 nights Arrived 27 Mar 2018
"Great sightings of thousands of zebra, the beautiful oryx and the local lion pride. As at Tau Pan, a good variety of birds. Our guide Elliot was surprised so many elephants came into camp - some wonderful sightings. Much enjoyed the visit to Baines Bao Bab Trees and seeing the water filled pans and a different landscape. Elliot and our tracker Shoes took things more slowly but always found what was there to see. The star gazing evening was very interesting.

Again there was an issue of a game being interrupted by taking clients to the air strip. However it was resolved by an offer to join a couple who had just arrived.

" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Derbyshire

"Nxai Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2018
"Well sited and set out camp with very good game viewing." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs I
Clitheroe

"Nxai Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2018
"The staff was beyond welcoming. Management was some of the best and nicest I've come across in Africa.

The rooms are lovely and clean, of a simplicity in furniture and the more beautiful for it. Very comfy beds! Food was excellent.
Our guide, Chester, being aware we are photographers, knew how to position his vehicle to put all our animals into the best light." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr J
Coventry

"Our annual adventure to Africa 6th and final "

3 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2018
"The room here was probably the best of the whole trip. Friendliness of staff now taken a bit for granted but I shouldn't do that. I must give a special mention to Linsey and Bonney who were both wonderful. If I had been 40 years or so younger I might have asked them to come home with me. Food again was delicous.
Game viewing not as good here as at other lodges but Chester, our guide still managed to find Lion, Bat Eared Foxes, our 5th different pack pf wild dogs and a Cheetah. Bains Baobabs well worth a visiit" See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Mr P
Eastleigh

"Nxai Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Dec 2017
"What can I say. I ended up at the camp as the only guest for a day due to the time of year. I was treated just the same as if the camp was full, in fact I probabaly had more attention from the staff as I was the lone guest. The only reason I mark down the activities is because I came from Kwara camp. Being a National reserve no off roading is allowed so the experience straight from Kwara is much different. However after half a day Nxai Pans beauty comes into its own and is a vey special place. I was early and the rains were late so I missed the Zebra migration but still loved Nxai and fell in love with its unique beauty. " See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Kathy
Tucson, AZ

"Zebras, Elephants, Lions"

3 nights Arrived 21 Mar 2017
"In late March, the area was full of game. Water hole out front of camp (at a distance), with lots of zebras and elephants and a bit of everything else.

Saw lions and cheetahs several times on drives. Downside of nearby water hole with lots of zebras is that there were a lot of annoying flies at the camp. Not a problem in the rooms, only in the central/dining part of the lodge. Food was especially tasty. Rooms are very large and comfortable.

Was disappointed in the guiding. The guide was knowledgeable, but rarely shared any background information on animal habits, the locale, etc. Tried unsuccessfully to pry more info out of him. Also we spent too much time sitting in the truck and waiting for carnivores to wake up and walk around.

There were signs of wear around the camp - our deck had a couple boards buckled, for example." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 30
91%
30 reviews of Nxai Pan Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
11
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kalahari's Salt Pans

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Camp Kalahari

Camp Kalahari

Overlooking the Makgadikgadi Pans, Camp Kalahari is great value; come for quadbiking excursions on the salt pans, cute meerkats, excellent Bushman walks, and interesting 4WD safaris.


93% (45 reviews)
Jack's Camp

Jack's Camp

Jack's Camp was the original camp in the Makgadikgadi area, and many still consider it the best. Come for a unique and memorable experience, but not for prolific game viewing.


90% (21 reviews)
San Camp

San Camp

The simple but stylish San Camp lies in a stunning location beside the Makgadikgadi Salt Pans, where highlights are quadbiking, meerkats, and Bushmen walks.


97% (14 reviews)
Meno A Kwena

Meno A Kwena

Meno A Kwena Tented Camp is an old-style safari camp, run by an experienced Botswana expert. Overlooking the bed of the Boteti River, it's a great place to relax and watch wildlife at the camp's waterhole.


85% (13 reviews)
Leroo La Tau

Leroo La Tau

From the western bank of the Boteti River, Leroo La Tau overlooks the Makgadikgadi Pans National Park, where game concentrations are highest from July to October.


100% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa