This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr K-Prof V from Michigan

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

A Nice Way to Wrap Up Our African Holiday

Botswana and 1 other country between 3 Jan 2020 and 13 Jan 2020

Trip rating: Good
"In total, we spent a month in Africa birding in South Africa and Namibia before our last six nights in Botswana.

Our Botswana experience was a bit of a mixed bag. The two camps we visited - Nxai Pan and Tau Pan - are very nice camps with great staff but are a bit uncomfortable if crowded because of the communal approach to dining. (20 people at a large table shouting at each other.)

We missed one night in the middle of the trip altogether because weather prevented a landing at our second camp and forced us to spend the night at a hotel in Maun.

Overall, a nice but not great experience in Botswana compared to some of our many other African trips.

Overall, Expert Africa does seem to be an "expert" on Africa. This was the second trip that we taken with help from Maruska and we are very pleased with the advice as well as the actual organization of our trips.

Keep up the good work!"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


River Crossing

River Crossing

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 3 Jan 2020
"Good location and facilities."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Nxai Pan Camp

Nxai Pan Camp

"Great Stay During the Rainy Season"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jan 2020
"The camp facilities are excellent.

Most importantly, the staff was friendly and attentive with great service. Ike, our guide, knows the birds and animals and even found us a life bird.

The rainy season was a fine time to visit - fantastic herds of zebra and wildebeest with plenty of giraffe and elephant."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tau Pan Camp

Tau Pan Camp

"Nice Visit at Tau Pan Camp"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2020
"The camp facilities and staff are excellent. Service was friendly and good.

The camp was very crowded when we were there and the communal dining experience with 20 strangers is not optimum for a relaxed holiday.

Our guide Vasco and tracker Zimbo were very good and well-informed about birds and animals and plants. The rainy season was an interesting time to visit - animals are dispersed and harder to find but there were plenty of Oryx and Wildebeest and many displaying birds."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Fantastic Trip to a Fantastic Place

Zambia between 21 Dec 2018 and 1 Jan 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"We have traveled extensively throughout Africa on own and with local guides. Some of our trips were arranged without help and were fine, but Expert Africa definitely added value to this trip by first asking about our likes and preferences and then matching us with great safari camps.

Since I had never been to Zambia, the local knowledge that Expert Africa supplied made the difference between a good trip and a great trip. The pre-trip documentation was excellent and the overall trip went like clockwork.

I plan to use Expert Africa for future trips and we already look forward to our next trip to Africa."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"Great Place to Use Near Lusaka"

1 night Arrived 21 Dec 2018
"Only 30 minutes from the airport, we stayed at Pioneer Camp for a day while awaiting an onward flight connection.

Our experience was excellent - good food, quiet surroundings, attentive staff.

This was a hundred times better than staying in a hotel in the city. Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Nkwali

Nkwali

"Fantastic Experience at Nkwali"

6 nights Arrived 22 Dec 2018
"We spent 6 nights at Nkwali and would go back in a heartbeat.

The camp itself is located on the banks of the Luangwa River and is open to the local wildlife - including a resident Hippo that wanders the grounds at night. Because the camp is small enough to offer more intimate African experiences than the larger lodges it was the perfect place for us, who go to Africa to enjoy the wildlife, birds, and local people.

We started each day with a breakfast cooked over a campfire, then a game drive with a stop for tea in the park, lunch and a siesta back in camp, and an afternoon game drive with time for a "Sundowner" before a night drive back to camp. The game viewing in South Luangwa is among the best in Africa and the Nkwali guides are expert at their jobs. Since we are birders, we appreciated the fact that our guide was an expert in local birds as well.

Highlights included leopard sightings almost every day, lion, giraffe, elephant, zebra, lots of antelope, and over 100 species of birds."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

"An Intimate but Luxury Bush Experience "

4 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2018
"We spent 4 nights at Kapamba near the beginning of the rainy season and had the luxury of enjoying the camp with few other guests. The food was excellent, the open chalets face the river and allow Africa into your dreams (while a metal gate keeps out the local wildlife) and the game drives were superb.

In addition to the usual "Sundowners" at a beautiful spot with a view, the staff surprised us several times with meals in the bush - once including a "build-your-pizza" lunch with a wood-fired pizza oven, white table cloth-covered tables, and our choice of wines. This was an absolutely first-class experience and we plan to return during a different time of the year to see.

The birds and wildlife were fantastic, our guide was top-notch, and the entire staff did a superb job."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team