This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp

Reviews of Tau Pan Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

76 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tau Pan Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tau Pan Camp.
Lion

82% success

Leopard

36% success

Cheetah

27% success

Wild dog

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Giraffe

82% success

Elephant

60% success

Zebra

50% success

Eland

30% success

Brown Hyena

9% success

Meerkat

9% success

Aardvark

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 76
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs V
Harlow

"Tau Pan Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2020
"We started our trip at Tau Pan as we particularly wanted to see the Kalahari during the rainy 'green' season and were not disappointed. Everything was green and in flower. All the game was fit, well fed and fat and many of the birds were in breeding plumage - just what we wanted.

In particular the place was alive with insects - especially butterflies and grasshoppers. Don't be put off - there were no mosquitoes nor many 'biting' flies of any sort. Game was spread out as there was water everywhere but nevertheless we saw all the Kalahari specialities we had hoped for, gemsbok, springbok, lion, cheetah and some surprises such as African wild cat.

Camp was comfortable, the staff friendly and attentive and the guiding excellent - they had been told by Expert Africa that we were interested in birdlife and Vasco our main guide was an excellent and skillfull spotter." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

4 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr K-Prof V
Michigan

"Nice Visit at Tau Pan Camp"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2020
"The camp facilities and staff are excellent. Service was friendly and good.

The camp was very crowded when we were there and the communal dining experience with 20 strangers is not optimum for a relaxed holiday.

Our guide Vasco and tracker Zimbo were very good and well-informed about birds and animals and plants. The rainy season was an interesting time to visit - animals are dispersed and harder to find but there were plenty of Oryx and Wildebeest and many displaying birds." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 1n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Ms A and Mr W
Calgary

"Beautiful start in the desert"

3 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2019
"Tau Pan is perfect for starting the adventure. It is a lower game-dense area than most, so you have to temper your expectations. We were looking to ease into safari life, while absorbing a 9 hour time difference, and we found the sunsets, the sunrises, the stargazing, the people and the service to be amazingly helpful.

We also found more animals than we were expecting. A lone male lion on our first game drive, and the rest of the Tau Pan pride was located each day as well. Really appreciated our guide/tracking team of PK and Jakes. Jakes stopped at everything we wanted to see. He also automatically placed the vehicle in the right light, and correct angle for a photographer. We found the most insects of our entire trip here (surprisingly), so do not skimp on the repellant.

Because of the dry conditions/age of the flooring, there were many spots for insects/spiders to enter the chalets. Simple mosquito netting might solve this, if they wanted to make a slight improvement. Dinners were wonderful, cheerful evenings with stories and wine flowing. We loved our Bushman walk, and found it to be fun and informative.

The lions roared in camp 2 out of the 3 nights. And the resident lone bull elephant walked behind our chalet these same 2 nights as well. (making quite a bit of noise as he munched on bushes during his trek to the water hole). The last morning, I wanted to take pictures of his tracks, and discovered a leopard print on top of the elephant print. OP (the camp manager) was nearly always present, and when she wasn't, Florence (her 2IC) was. All the staff went out of their way to make sure you wanted for nothing.

It was an amazing start to the adventure." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

8 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Oryx

8 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Mrs K.
Nice

"brown with a touch of green"

3 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2019
"definitely our favorite camp. an amazing view from our chalet, down to a water hole and beyond. when we arrived, the rains had just begun and you could instantly see a change in the environment. this experience was more about the environment and the little things rather than big game. we identified 40 species of birds...most of our previous guides did not emphasize that aspect. vasco was a font of knowledge. a leopard tortoise, 2 deadly snakes, and a double rainbow made this a completely different experience.

the camp itself was delightful, well equipped and great food and service. but it was the all day trip to a distant pan and an interpretative walk with a bushman/san guide which were the most memorable experiences. cannot say enough good things about this fabulous camp which rounded out our experiences in botswana. unfortunately this camp was seemingly not as popular as those in the delta. however, for us and those with whom we shared the experience, it was the best." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

M & Mrs G
Harrogate

"The Kalahari unfolded."

2 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2019
"We slept one night under the stars on the Sky Deck, it gave us an unbeatable experience of Africa at night. The lions roared, the planets shone and there is no light pollution!

The ladies singing us to dinner was another terrific experience. Pro, the manager, was great to talk with and magnificent in retrieving an article of clothing left at Splash.

The wildlife seen was again a brilliant experience, getting up close to a large pride of lions cannot be bettered. On the last morning our first sighting of a leopard, drinking at the waterhole. Vasco and KP were attentive guides and ensured we recorded all the wildlife we saw in our booklets.

Saw lots of Kudu, a Hartebeest, Springboks and Kori Bustards. The 'making fire' experience with KP was really interesting.

The bird life was amazing." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

10 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Weymouth

"Great place to start our trip"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2019
"A well established camp with the friendliest staff, guides and trackers who always had smiles on their faces. Our first drive to the camp waterhole when we arrived gave us a male lion crouched drinking with a wonderful reflection in the water.

Vasco our guide and tracker Mishak were founts of knowledge on where the animals were likely to be found and Mishak's game walk describing how people lived in the Kalahari, found food and medicine and made fire was impressive.

The evening meal was announced in song by the waiters and kitchen staff, a truly amazing touch. The food itself was fantastic and we were never hungry - quite amazing for a bush camp.

Early morning game drive at 06.30am it was only 3C and with wind chill on the vehicles, it was COLD to say the least but by 2.00pm it was 31C. Bush babies were very much appreciated on one's lap.

A fantastic visit to Tau Pan" See all these reviews: 17n in Kenya; 9n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Botswana; 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

6 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Mr&Mrs TGC
Oakville

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 May 2019
"Our first camp which was a good thing since there wasn't a lot of game to be seen on the pan.

Plus it was freezing cold on the game drives, much colder than we had anticipated and colder than any of the other camps. But we were well-supplied with blankets and bush-babies and deserts are cold at night!

We hit pay-dirt on our first outing, seeing a lion kill at the water-hole, and the lions stayed for a couple of days so we had lots of excitement. Also found a leopard which was brilliant." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Giraffe

2 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

5 sightings

Oryx

5 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Birdy
Cheadle

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Mar 2019
"Just as good as other two

Bit bothered by leopard next to our veranda 3 ft" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Herts

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Mar 2019
"This was our first visit to the Kalahari and we hoped to see animals that we hadn’t seen before.

Tau Pan was a very friendly and comfortable camp. The rooms were spacious and clean. We enjoyed watching animals at the water hole each day. The food was excellent and my unusual diet was catered for. We found our guide and tracker very knowledgable and they worked very well together.

We did see the animals we hoped for along with a rare sighting of a wild cat. Sunsets were incredibly beautiful and enjoyed with our sundowners.The only disappointment was that the nearness of the lion pride did not enable us to do a walking safari." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

3 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Oryx

5 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Dr Rox
Cairns city

"An oasis in the Kalahari "

3 nights Arrived 24 Feb 2019
"This is luxury in the desert. Comfort in a spacious private chalet with a million dollar view of the Tau Pan, and having a cool swimming pool in a desert are just a terrific experience.

Naturally, there is not the profusion of wildlife that there is in wetter areas, but we saw numerous gemsbock (oryx), lions, springbok, steenbok and red haartebeast. There is a great variety of birdlife, including vultures and raptors. We had a fleeting glimpse of the legendary honey badger. Leopard tracks abounded and sightings occured immediately before and after our visit, guaranteeing a return in the future.

As this camp is located in a national park, safari drives are restricted by the necessity to keep to the road, but still plenty of new and different landscape to enjoy." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Lion

4 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 76
96%
76 reviews of Tau Pan Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
12
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Kalahari Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel, in the town of Ghanzi, is a practical overnight stop for travellers crossing the Kalahari to or from Namibia.


76% (21 reviews)
Kalahari Plains Camp

Kalahari Plains Camp

Kalahari Plains Camp, situated in the Central Kalahari Game Reserve, is a traditional tented camp offering some of Botswana's best summer (Dec–Mar) game viewing, and an introduction to authentic Bushman culture.


91% (16 reviews)
Edo's Camp

Edo's Camp

Edo's Camp is a small camp with only four spacious tents overlooking a permanent waterhole. Surrounded by 20,000 hectares of private game conservancy you can expect to see white rhino, springbok, oryx and eland here.


93% (8 reviews)
Deception Valley Lodge

Deception Valley Lodge

A private reserve on the border of the CKGR, Deception Valley Lodge offers more flexible activities than within the reserve and a particularly good Bushman experience.


96% (5 reviews)
Dinaka

Dinaka

The newest addition to Ker and Downey Botswana’s portfolio, Dinaka is based on a private game reserve on the northern boundary of the CKGR.


100% (1 review)
Haina Kalahari Lodge

Haina Kalahari Lodge

Haina Kalahari Lodge is one of a number of lodges located on the northern boundary of the CKGR, offering a year-round Kalahari experience.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa