This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp

Reviews of Tau Pan Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

84 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tau Pan Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 18 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tau Pan Camp.
Lion

78% success

Leopard

25% success

Cheetah

35% success

Wild dog

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

94% success

Giraffe

82% success

Elephant

36% success

Zebra

25% success

Eland

24% success

Brown Hyena

18% success

Meerkat

6% success

Aardvark

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 84
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Hampshire

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2022
"Disturbed by lions on our decking one night chasing prey across it. Was concerned they could have skidded into the netting of the door which did not appear very strongly fixed - the door mat was askew.

Because there was no night driving we enjoyed sitting by boma with a drink in the evening before dinner. There was no big map of Botswana there which we made use of in the other camps during initial briefing.

Scupa the tracker was very good and informative about bush life and tracking - we enjoyed our walk with him." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Ms H
Zurich

"Tau Pan Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Apr 2022
"This was my second visit to Tau Pan Camp, and I liked it as much as the first time.
The location is very beautiful, the staff was attentive and knowledgeable, and there was a lot of wildlife to be seen. I especially appreciated how the tracker, a San who grew up in the area, explained so much of his knowledge to the guests.
We saw a newly born impala with its mother, and it was great to stay with the sighting for as long as we wished. The pace of the game drive was completely unrushed, which I enjoyed a lot." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Mr & Ms B
Florida, US

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Mar 2022
"This was our fourth trip to Botswana altogether, but our first visit to this area, and we were really surprised by the landscapes and the sightings. One reason to come here was that this camp, as well as the next one on our trip, belongs to Kwando Safaris, a company that we have learned to appreciate through repeated visits to the Kwara Concession in the Okavango Delta. To summarize, this camp really lived up to our expectations. Another pleasant surprise was that we saw AT again, who in 2016 during our first visit worked was our tracker and in the meantime moved up to be camp manager here.

As for the wildlife, this camp did not provide great variety. Other than herds of oryx, wildebeest, and springbok there were no other herbivores to be seen. On the other hand, this camp really excelled in its lion encounters. We ran into the Tau Pan pride (2 adult females and 6 juvenile lions) several times, twice they came drinking at the waterhole right in front of the camp, and this opportunity made a dream of mine come true, which was to photograph several lions, lined up like ducks, drinking a waterhole.

On another occasion, the same pride performed quite a show when they were agitated by a poisonous snake right next to our vehicle. I could not believe that such powerful predators could so easily be scared by an apparently much less potent animal. However, these lions showed the utmost respect for this little reptile and wandered off to “their” waterhole (see above). Other than that, we came across two male lions who were feasting over a buffalo kill, and black-backed jackals fearlessly tried to join the party.

The camp, the service and food quality leave nothing to be desired, as is expected of Kwando Safaris. We are certain to return here again at some point." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Lion

6 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs SA
Norfolk

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Mar 2022
"Tau Pan really is a "find". Located on the top of a vast sand dune the nine[?] wood individual apartments offered a panoramic view of the plains,,,, dreamy! The apartment lacked for nothing, including internal and external showers and charging points for him and her (well almost).

The main area was large as was the bar though we did point out that the chairs on the deck were not being used much since we "could not get down into them or out of them" being north of 70yrs old, though that did not stop us jumping into the Landcruisers.

There was almost too many staff here so service was great. As for the drives, heaven. Just us two and a driver and a spotter. This is what you pay your money for and boy did we get value for money. No point in listing what we saw and followed, it was total.

This Camp is an example of the Botswana wild life policy working in full. Top quality, top people, top wild life and restricted development allowing top prices to be charged to protect the environment and wild life." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Surrey

"Tau Pan Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2021
"We especially enjoyed the remoteness of Tau Pan and its position on a small ridge giving wonderful expansive views at sunrise and sunset. The dry heat of the day eased into cooler evenings and nights for sleeping.

Our guide and tracker were well informed and keen to show us what we wanted to see, not just the big 5. There is a lot happening in the desert if you look!

For an adrenalin rush, an adult cheetah and her 2 sub adult young stalking, chasing and killing a baby springbok was an amazing sight!" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Gibblewhites
Newark

"Tau Pan Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2021
"Another lovely camp. Warmly greeted by Hilda and Bonnie (again sanitiser) followed by welcome drink. The view from the camp is wonderful, overlooking a waterhole - an oasis in quite a dry location.

The rooms are lovely with all facilities - hint - choose room 9 - this is the one the lions sleep outside!

The food is delicious and again nothing is too much trouble - we were sad to leave." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

2 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Mr F
Amsterdam

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 17 May 2021
"A hidden gem in a very impressive environment. Honest and kind people making us feel at home. Good guiding and food.

Not the most impressive in terms of wildlife sightings but a great sense of disconnection in such a remote part of Botswana, the Kalahari is truly overwhelming. Lucky though to see the rare brown hyena on two occasions and the day trip to Deception Valley gave a real sense of the vastness of the area.

The family style dinners with the guide and camp manager felt really intimate, a vast contrast with our previous camp (Jack’s)." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Mrs M.
Amsterdam

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 17 May 2021
"As soon as I stepped into Tau Pan Camp it felt like this is what I expect from a safari camp. Open, airy, a camp fire. Small and with an intimate atmosphere.
Our driver was Alex and the tracker P.K. Again very knowledgeable and easy-going.
The Kalahari is overwhelmingly beautiful. Because of the late rains it was very green and the grass still high, so that made it more difficult to spot the big predators. But birdlife was immense." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs V
Harlow

"Tau Pan Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2020
"We started our trip at Tau Pan as we particularly wanted to see the Kalahari during the rainy 'green' season and were not disappointed. Everything was green and in flower. All the game was fit, well fed and fat and many of the birds were in breeding plumage - just what we wanted.

In particular the place was alive with insects - especially butterflies and grasshoppers. Don't be put off - there were no mosquitoes nor many 'biting' flies of any sort. Game was spread out as there was water everywhere but nevertheless we saw all the Kalahari specialities we had hoped for, gemsbok, springbok, lion, cheetah and some surprises such as African wild cat.

Camp was comfortable, the staff friendly and attentive and the guiding excellent - they had been told by Expert Africa that we were interested in birdlife and Vasco our main guide was an excellent and skillfull spotter." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

4 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr K-Prof V
Michigan

"Nice Visit at Tau Pan Camp"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2020
"The camp facilities and staff are excellent. Service was friendly and good.

The camp was very crowded when we were there and the communal dining experience with 20 strangers is not optimum for a relaxed holiday.

Our guide Vasco and tracker Zimbo were very good and well-informed about birds and animals and plants. The rainy season was an interesting time to visit - animals are dispersed and harder to find but there were plenty of Oryx and Wildebeest and many displaying birds." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 1n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 84
96%
84 reviews of Tau Pan Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
69
13
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Kalahari Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel, in the town of Ghanzi, is a practical overnight stop for travellers crossing the Kalahari to or from Namibia.


75% (22 reviews)
Kalahari Plains Camp

Kalahari Plains Camp

Kalahari Plains Camp, situated in the Central Kalahari Game Reserve, is a traditional tented camp offering some of Botswana's best summer (Dec–Mar) game viewing, and an introduction to authentic Bushman culture.


91% (16 reviews)
Edo's Camp

Edo's Camp

Edo's Camp is a small camp with only four spacious tents overlooking a permanent waterhole. Surrounded by 20,000 hectares of private game conservancy you can expect to see white rhino, springbok, oryx and eland here.


93% (8 reviews)
Deception Valley Lodge

Deception Valley Lodge

A private reserve on the border of the CKGR, Deception Valley Lodge offers more flexible activities than within the reserve and a particularly good Bushman experience.


96% (5 reviews)
Dinaka

Dinaka

The newest addition to Ker and Downey Botswana’s portfolio, Dinaka is based on a private game reserve on the northern boundary of the CKGR.


100% (3 reviews)
Haina Kalahari Lodge

Haina Kalahari Lodge

Haina Kalahari Lodge is one of a number of lodges located on the northern boundary of the CKGR, offering a year-round Kalahari experience.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa