This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp
Tau Pan Camp

Reviews of Tau Pan Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

76 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tau Pan Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tau Pan Camp.
Lion

82% success

Leopard

36% success

Cheetah

27% success

Wild dog

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Giraffe

82% success

Elephant

60% success

Zebra

50% success

Eland

30% success

Brown Hyena

9% success

Meerkat

9% success

Aardvark

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 76
Duration
Arrival date
Z. & T.
Pardubice

"Full of Lions"

3 nights Arrived 3 Dec 2018
"The location on the top of the dune overseeing the whole area including both, sunrise on the left and sunset on the right was really beautiful. There was a waterhole was placed down the dune visible from the common area and from our chalet as well. We felt so well here, welcomed and treated nicely.

The rules of the National park were followed carefully by our experienced guide Patrick and his tracker Skupa (he had unbelievably sharp eyes and philosophical approach to life). We enjoyed our full day trip to Deception Valley. The countryside was marvelous and animals were waiting for us. On our way back we went through Passarge Valley to a Passarge waterhole.

Next day we visited San Pan and Tau Pan. We experienced a storm (twice) with a full rainbow arc earth to earth. One night three lions decided to fight for a lioness vigorously in the camp. After the fight, they slept in front of our chalet and so we were promptly given another one to sleep in. Also, an elephant wandered freely through the camp and once it chased lions from the waterhole. We felt totally safe, all the animals respected us.

This place and programme exceeded our expectations. Food and drinks were carefully chosen, served and very tasty." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

3 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Mr P & Ms B
London

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2018
"Very different from the Okovango camps but an excellent comparitor. The guides were particulary good - they knew everything we asked about. Only one point: the temperature fell to 2 degrees in the morning. Our room had no windows and the cold air cascaded over our bed. We were really cold at night and didn't sleep well. But otherwise it was outstanding. I would certainly recommend it." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Meerkat

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs S
Harrow

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2018
"Great game viewing - lions especially. Excellent tracker - Scooper. Shame about the gang of noisy Americans - we had to ask to be moved to another vehicle. Kwando need to get on top of this. All staff, except the vanishing manager, very good and attentive. Our third visit and we will go back again." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S
Enfield

"Great experience of Kalahari"

3 nights Arrived 24 Mar 2018
"A great setting with many interesting species to see - particular favourites - the bat-eared foxes and a cheetah.
Guide (Alex) was very knowledgeable and excellent at getting quickly to interesting sightings as events developed - but perhaps a little quiet. Our tracker, G, was very sharp and keen to share his knowledge of the bush/animal behaviour.

Our only issue was being told that a morning game drive would finish early as we had to take two guests to the airstrip. We have never experienced having a game drive interrupted in this way. (We were told no other vehicles were available.) We said we were not happy with this and the guide suggested we could make up the time after the drop off, which we accepted. So the issue was resolved. Fortunately it did not interrupt a particularly special wildlife encounter, but had it done so this would have been totally unacceptable - also see comments later. " See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs U
Guildford

"Diamonds in the sky "

2 nights Arrived 14 Mar 2018
"Very friendly camp. Accommodation and location excellent. Game drives enjoyable, knowledgeable guides. Having a local tracker an added bonus.

Lions not in town but did see Cheetah and Giraffe, but not too disappointed as saw plenty of varied antelope and many interesting small mammals. Teeming with bird life. Night skies were awesome - have never seen so many stars!

Very enjoyable stay. Would recommend. " See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H
Germany

"Tau Pan Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Mar 2018
"as described before. [ Ed: This traveller's review of their whole trip is written under Camp Kalahari - it is:

"We visited Camp Kalahari, Tau Pan Camp, Sable Alley, Chief´s Camp within 9 days during raining season. The trip as a whole was great and most impressive. Our Group consist of 3 men and 3 women from 56 to 80 years old. The air transport was excellent and even so the Chance to store additional luggage in Maun.

The sequence of different locations was a symbol for rising attraction, comfort, number and variety of animals. In Camp Kalahari we met a family of native bushmen (about 25 people, young and old) who introduced us for more than 2 hours into their way of life. Now we can make fire without matches and lighters, we can hunt with bow and arrow, we will find plants with water in their roots and so on. It was a fundamental experience and we are still deeply impressed.

Then we saw many Lions with their cubs, we saw many Leopards, Cheetahs and impressive big Elephants not only at the horizon but often in almost touching distance,

We will never forget excellent Food and Red wine and last but not least we remember the friendliness of all people. Before landing at home we started already collecting money for our next visit in Botswana.

Thanks a lot, it was a great time." ]" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Derbyshire

"Tau Pan Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2018
"A wonderful camp in the perfect location. " See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs I
Clitheroe

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2018
"We thoroughly enjoyed Tau Pan, especially as the difference in surroundings to Nxai Pan was significant.

We noticed how many other guests had little idea of it being a desert environment and thus were surprised at the infrequency of wildlife sightings. The sightings there are were spectacular however. The people are stellar from guides to management to kitchen." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms M
CambridgeHeath

"Kalahari. Dry"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jan 2018
"All the camps in Botswana where dry, they had very little rain so far.

This camp the guide tried very hard to find wild life but hard because of dryness.

Nice room, a bit hot. All camps had great beds. All you had to take any electrical devices to central office to charge.

Pleasant staff nice outside evening fire.

" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr Elliot G
USA

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Dec 2017
"Tau Pan was the second of two camps we visited in Botswana and really exceeded my expectations! We came from a camp in the Delta, and because Tau Pan is a more permanent structure the rooms and facilities are a bit nicer. Lodging is very spacious and the views from the front deck are incredible. The food was very good, and the staff was exceptional. On our last night they performed a wonderful number of songs and dances that really made our visit special.

We had a similarly positive experience with our guide (Matt) and tracker (G) -- both were experts and gave us a great safari experience. You can't off-road in Tau Pan, so game drives are a bit more of a patient waiting game, but in some ways that made it even more exciting to see game. Thanks to Matt's great guiding, we had near daily encounters with a pack of three cheetahs and a beautiful black-maned lion, as well as many other great sightings.

Another highlight is the bushman's walk, led by local San bushmen who also work at Tau Pan as trackers. If you visit, this should not be missed. The hunting and survival tactics the bushmen showed us were incredible to witness, and a really special treat in addition to the game drives." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 76
96%
76 reviews of Tau Pan Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
12
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Kalahari Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel, in the town of Ghanzi, is a practical overnight stop for travellers crossing the Kalahari to or from Namibia.


76% (21 reviews)
Kalahari Plains Camp

Kalahari Plains Camp

Kalahari Plains Camp, situated in the Central Kalahari Game Reserve, is a traditional tented camp offering some of Botswana's best summer (Dec–Mar) game viewing, and an introduction to authentic Bushman culture.


91% (16 reviews)
Edo's Camp

Edo's Camp

Edo's Camp is a small camp with only four spacious tents overlooking a permanent waterhole. Surrounded by 20,000 hectares of private game conservancy you can expect to see white rhino, springbok, oryx and eland here.


93% (8 reviews)
Deception Valley Lodge

Deception Valley Lodge

A private reserve on the border of the CKGR, Deception Valley Lodge offers more flexible activities than within the reserve and a particularly good Bushman experience.


96% (5 reviews)
Dinaka

Dinaka

The newest addition to Ker and Downey Botswana’s portfolio, Dinaka is based on a private game reserve on the northern boundary of the CKGR.


100% (1 review)
Haina Kalahari Lodge

Haina Kalahari Lodge

Haina Kalahari Lodge is one of a number of lodges located on the northern boundary of the CKGR, offering a year-round Kalahari experience.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa