This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Gibblewhites from Newark

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

1

My Nov 2021 trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 7 Nov 2021 and 21 Nov 2021

Trip rating: Excellent
"My holiday of a lifetime - the best ever. Extremely well organised especially under exceptionally difficult circumstances with COVID to deal with. We had constant communication from Maruska on all the administration that COVID entailed.

Our only hiccup was filling in the UK locator form for our return journey to the UK as we had no WIFI access until J'burg airport. This must be completed before you check in for your flight. Johannesburg Airport is a shambles but we travelled in the early stages of COVID and luckily had plenty of time to sort things out.

We couldn't fault any of the lodges regarding the current situation - everywhere was meticulously clean with all the staff waring masks at all times.

We have been looked after so well by all the Africans, all with a smile on their faces mixed with plenty of singing and dancing!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We had high expectations for the trip as we usually organise our holidays ourselves. Maruska listened carefully to all our requests and made certain suggestions which definitely improved our journey.

This holiday exceeded those expectations - it will be a lasting memory filled with joy.

Thank you Expert Africa."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

"Batonka Guest Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2021
"After a long journey from Lincolnshire arriving at Batonka was wonderful. We were welcomed at the door by Thelma with a quick spray (COVID 19) a glass of juice and shown to our room.

The rooms are very spacious with air-conditioning and our bathroom included a massive shower too.

The pool was a welcome site, beautifully clean as was the whole lodge. We opted to stay for supper for both nights and it was delicious both times."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ra-Ikane River Cruise

Ra-Ikane River Cruise

"Ra-Ikane River Cruise review"

9 Nov 2021 • All-day excursion

The river trip was wonderful. It was a lovely old wooden boat with seating for 8 - 10 people and even had a loo in the corner! Both the driver and guide were lovely giving us drinks and pointing out the abundance of wildlife and we motored past. The most exciting of which seeing elephants swimming in the river.

As always we were looked after very well and with great enthusiasm!

Once again we were given hand sanitiser before and after leaving the tour.
Excellent
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2021
"The most outstanding view greets you on arrival at Muchenje, followed by a lovely welcome from Kittie (?) and Toff. Again hand sanitiser followed by drinks, lunch and a tour of the lodge. This lodge is like home from home.

Two French guests were unable to join us as their COVID results were an hour out of time at the Botswana border - so they had to isolate until the new results came through. Kittie and Toff made them as welcome as possible giving them total room service. The results came through very quickly and all was back to normal.

The game drives were excellent and we saw plenty of game."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kanana

Kanana

"Kanana review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2021
"Our favourite camp! Following a flight with 3 stops my travel sickness got the better of me, but our guide (Owner) who collected us, immediately gave me a ginger ale to make things better.

All the staff here couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. Kind, caring, thoughtful and efficient. The lodge had a wonderful atmosphere and with plenty of game to view. The rooms are a delight and you feel as though you are in the film "Out of Africa".

Onwer (our guide) was truly outstanding, his knowledge of wildlife and animal behaviour was second to none and we learnt so much. He found everything and was very good with bird identification and location.

The food was delicious and all served with a smile and sometimes a dance!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2021
"This newly furbished camp had every mod con - even a bath! The facilities are outstanding and beautifully clean - even USB ports to charge your tablets etc. However no WIFI. This was not a problem for us, but if I was still running my business it would have troubled me.

The camp are very meticulous with hygiene even taking our temperature every day.

The game is incredible. We saw so much and once again our guides were fabulous. My only comment would be the state of their tracks - if you suffer with a bad back - they are incredibly bumpy!

Our hi-light was seeing the wild dogs with their pups - we sat watching their behaviour for a couple of hours and it was incredible."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tau Pan Camp

Tau Pan Camp

"Tau Pan Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2021
"Another lovely camp. Warmly greeted by Hilda and Bonnie (again sanitiser) followed by welcome drink. The view from the camp is wonderful, overlooking a waterhole - an oasis in quite a dry location.

The rooms are lovely with all facilities - hint - choose room 9 - this is the one the lions sleep outside!

The food is delicious and again nothing is too much trouble - we were sad to leave."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team