This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ra-Ikane River Cruise

Ra-Ikane River Cruise

Reviews: Ra-Ikane River Cruise

Below are independent comments from 16 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 16
Date
JnL
Toronto

"Ra-Ikane River Cruise review"

Based at Ilala Lodge on 5 May 2022
"Very professional.

Our guide certainly knew his way along the river, and we were able to see a wide variety of wildlife while his colleague took care of the bar and snacks.

Capped with a gorgeous sunset, a wonderful way to spend an evening!!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Dr K
California

"Ra-Ikane River Cruise review"

Based at Ilala Lodge on 30 Apr 2022
"The staff was very nice and the sunset was beautiful.

We were nowhere near the falls and there wasn't a lot of wildlife." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Gibblewhites
Newark

"Ra-Ikane River Cruise review"

Based at Batonka Guest Lodge on 9 Nov 2021
"The river trip was wonderful. It was a lovely old wooden boat with seating for 8 - 10 people and even had a loo in the corner! Both the driver and guide were lovely giving us drinks and pointing out the abundance of wildlife and we motored past. The most exciting of which seeing elephants swimming in the river.

As always we were looked after very well and with great enthusiasm!

Once again we were given hand sanitiser before and after leaving the tour." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
DeGoler Clan
CA, USA

"Ra-Ikane River Cruise review"

Based at Ilala Lodge on 29 Jun 2021
"This was a very elegant and private cruise experience.

The boat was a stunning and well maintained antique. The cruise was very relaxing and beautiful. We had plenty of snacks and drinks and saw the falls from above, many rainbows, tons of hippos, and a couple of crocodiles.

The sunset was magnificent and our captain made sure to get us the best angles for everything." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Phil
Leyland

"Ra-Ikane River Cruise review"

Based at Ilala Lodge on 4 Feb 2020
"A slight delay on the evening I went due to the rain, but it soon cleared up and a fabulous evening on the Zambezi was had.

Saw Hippo's, crocodile and various antelopes and birds, all spotted and shown to us by the crew, who looked after us very well, the drinks didn't seem to stop flowing !

Well worth doing, highly recommend." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
S.
Germany

"Ra-Ikane River Cruise review [11-2019]"

Based at Victoria Falls Hotel on 12 Nov 2019
"Travel intention: 9th trip to africa, looking for unique safari experience throughout Africa in a comfortable to luxurious Setting

Boat Facilities: There are a number of operators offering boats tours around the Sambesi river. While being a bit more expensive than others, the provided services is excellent and contributes to a great experience. We saw other rather crowded tour boats as well and were extremely glad with our choice. For Ra-Ikane, Guest numbers are restricted (we were 3 + 4 other guests, maximum number would have been ~10) and you are seated in comfortable chairs in 3-4 small groups, rather like in a small dining area. This gives rise to a feeling of privacy and ensures that you will be able to observe and photograph everything around from the best angle. Snacks (first small tray, then a larger one) were offered, as well as imported wine, beer or cocktails (all included in the price).

Tour specifics: Boat tours are generally relaxing and there is always something to observe and enjoy, we took the sunset cruise before dinner. A number of expected water birds were seen(e.g. herons, giant kingfishers), as well as some short visits at the water shore (buffalo, waterbuck). A highlight was a large herd of elephants that arrived and swam across the river from Zimbabwe to Zambia which we could appreciate in length." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr S & Mrs S
UK

"Ra-Ikane River Cruise review"

Based at Victoria Falls Hotel on 2 Oct 2019
"Enjoyable. As requested this was a smaller boat than some of the large tourist steamers. Peaceful sunset cruise." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Wiljo
Norfolk

"Ra-Ikane River Cruise review"

Based at Ilala Lodge on 4 Oct 2019
"Highly recommended to give an additional perspective to a stay in Victoria Falls and to experience the environment upstream of the Falls themselves.

Surprising amount of wildlife to be seen during the cruise (both animals and birds). There were a number of other boats on the same stretch of river but this was not overly intrusive.

The boat itself was stylish and the catering excellent, as was the running commentary from the crew. A spectacular sunset was the "icing on the cake"." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
London

"Ra-Ikane River Cruise review"

Based at Victoria Falls Safari Club on 5 Oct 2019
"The cruise was excellent. We were served canapes and a very strong gin and tonic. On the cruise we saw elephant, crocodile and hippo and had lovely views of the river." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Hinckley

"Ra-Ikane River Cruise review"

Based at Ilala Lodge on 16 Jun 2019
"Unfortunately it was a rather grey, cold morning with few animals about on the banks. Bird life was good, however and the crew did a good job of manoeuvring the boat into position for photography. The cruise was done well from a safety/general organisation point of view. Breakfast was good." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Showing 1-10 of 16
96%
16 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
13
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team