This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by MR & Mrs C from W Sussex

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

4

Excursions taken

1

My Sep 2023 trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 8 Sep 2023 and 22 Sep 2023

Trip rating: Excellent
"We were really pleased with the order of our itinerary ... for example, the animal sightings were much better at the second camp, so we might have been a bit disappointed the other way round (and then there were trillions of elephants on Chobe, so the camp sightings wouldn't have felt so special). The different parts of our trip also became more leisurely, so it all felt in the right order.

We had really comfy (and large) beds everywhere we went.

We felt really 'looked after' ... there was always someone expecting us, and greeting us, and we never felt at a loss as to where we should be. Tracy's detailed itinerary also gave us these reassurances.

We had a result at Zimbabwe immigration (around 11am) as there was no queue! Others we met had queued in the heat for 1-2 hours.

Dates on the dollar bills weren't an issue anywhere. We even paid for our Zimbabwe visa with our only $100 note, which was quite old.

At least three people we met lost their luggage in Jo'burg. We were thankfully fine, but it was a great tip to 'cross pack' so each person had clothes in each bag.

Overall, our biggest 'thank you' goes to Tracy Lederer - she was just brilliant throughout the planning and booking process ... knowledgeable, helpful, patient, thorough ... just perfect!"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

"Gomoti Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2023
"We loved Gomoti Plains - such a nice camp, and the staff were so friendly, like a big happy family.

The food was amazing - probably the best out of all our trip. And the drinks (including branded spirits) were all included.

Wildlife often came through the camp - in fact, elephants held us hostage in our tent a couple of times, as they seemed to love the leaves just outside - a very special experience!

The tent was also really nice - a bit nippy on the windy night, as the velcro sides didn't stay fastened, but all part of the experience, and a 'breather' after some very hot days.

We did a mokoro trip - that was nice to see things from a different perspective, and always good to try something new.

Sadly there were no rhinos in the area - our guide told us that they had been moved to a different part of the country a few years ago. Had we known that, we would have booked to go somewhere else, as trying to spot rhinos (albeit always a low chance) was the main reason for our holiday.

As a tip for others, we didn't really need any non-safari clothes, as we went to meals straight after the game drives."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

"Splash Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2023
"Splash Camp was great - highly recommended.

The chalet-style rooms were extremely spacious and comfortable.

Food was tasty, and there was a help-yourself bar, with branded spirits included, and this was a nice area for guests to mingle.

Just for info, there is no Wi-Fi anywhere in the camp - a good excuse to switch off!

Laundry was included (and they did 'smalls!)

Our guide (Dave, with Village the Tracker) was great - really went the extra mile to make things perfect for us, and to find the special animals. We felt very safe and cared-for in their hands.

The sundowner on the boat, with hippos nearby, having seen elephants crossing the river, was the highlight of our trip.

As a tip for others, we didn't really need any non-safari clothes, as we went to meals straight after the game drives."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

"Zambezi Queen review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2023
"The boat was very nice, as were the cabins and the food.

The table layouts were good ... they were set up in numbers, eg if you were a group of four, you picked one of the sets of four, but could vary which ones you chose.

Unfortunately there were problems with the engines, and the boat didn't move on the two main days, so we only got to experience it for a couple of hours on the day we arrived (while we were unpacking, which we wouldn't have done if we'd known that was our only chance to watch the world go by) and an hour on the day we left (while we were packing, which again we'd have done the evening before had we known). It was a real shame and, whilst the tender trips still took place, that wasn't the purpose of our stay, as we had already done two safaris at this point. The communication wasn't brilliant (for example they put on an extra tender trip, but not all the guests were told about it), and it all felt a bit odd. Also, it was very hot while the boat was stationary, so most people stayed in their air-conditioned cabins. (And the engineers forgot to turn the boilers back on, so we all had cold showers one evening!) There were also quite a few power cuts, but only for a few minutes at a time.

Soft drinks, beer and wine were included, but spirits weren't, which wasn't what we'd been told. The bartender poured me a gin (and made it a double without me asking) and then asked for my room number to put it on the bill. There were no obvious price-lists (and I was too embarrassed to ask).

Also to note an update to the info, laundry isn't included.

The tender boat trips were good, in so far as you got to see (hundreds and hundreds of!) elephants up close, plus birds, hippos and crocodiles. However, having just been on safaris where distances were kept, the tender boats got uncomfortably close to the birds and animals, causing them to rush away. This isn't a criticism of ZQ - there were dozens of boats on the river doing the same.

We initially had no info about tipping ... our tender boat guide strongly hinted on our last afternoon that he wouldn't be taking us out any more, so we felt that a tip was expected at that point (despite him spending most of the trips on his mobile phone, but maybe that was with colleagues?) so we went back to our cabin and gave him a tip. Then in the evening, the main 'host' told us that we could put tips in a box and they would be shared with the whole crew, including the boat guides ... we felt a bit duped.

I'd request not to be in cabins 12 and 13 - these are on the lowest floor, and next to the tender boats, so quite noisy (especially when working on the engines) and not very private (keep your curtains drawn). The view wasn't very good, especially when moored up (double anchor, so not evening swinging) for over two days.

A tip - people did tend to wear nice (but not posh) clothes, especially in the evenings ... I had only really brought safari-type clothes, so felt a little underdressed!

Also for info - depending on the time of year (earlier rainfall) depends how far up the river the boat can go.

To follow up please - quite a few of the guests had suggested they'd be getting a partial refund - please could this be checked out for us?"
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Average
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Nkosi Guest Lodge

"Nkosi Guest Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2023
"We loved, loved, loved Nkosi Lodge - it was perfect for us.

Pretty much everyone else we met on the other parts of our trip were staying at the Victoria Falls Hotel, but we were really pleased with our choice ... it was low-key, relaxed, and just what we needed.

The staff were soooo nice - really friendly and helpful. Food was very tasty too.

There's a small pool which we used a couple of times, with a few comfy loungers around it.

It's about a 45-minute leisurely walk to the Falls.

A tip - we visited the Falls around 2-4pm, to try and see the rainbows, and it didn't disappoint. There were also no crowds at that time, so it was easy to get photos.

Our late lunch at the Lookout Café (table 7 - lovely) was also really nice ... pleased we did that."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ra-Ikane River Cruise

Ra-Ikane River Cruise

"Ra-Ikane River Cruise review"

20 Sep 2023 • Afternoon excursion

We enjoyed our river cruise - there were just 12 people (plus two staff) on board, which was perfect. We were able to get closer to the river bank than the larger boats. Tasty snacks and plentiful drinks.

(It was cloudy that day, so no sunset, but it was still nice.)
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team