This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Splash Camp
Splash Camp
Splash Camp
Splash Camp

Reviews of Splash Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

44 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Splash Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 43 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Splash Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

58% success

Cheetah

93% success

Wild dog

83% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Hippo

98% success

Buffalo

86% success

Spotted Hyena

63% success

Roan antelope

36% success

Sable antelope

33% success

Sitatunga

26% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 44
Duration
Arrival date
Miss K
Kent

"Splash Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 May 2022
"Game sightings are still consistently good and the guides and trackers work well as a team to ensure that everyone staying at both Splash and Kwara get a chance to see the predators that are in the area." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr D & Ms P
Dursley

"Splash Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2022
"It's a matter of taste but I prefer the older style of Lagoon Camp but the accommodation was very comfortable although not quite as spacious as Lagoon. There's lots of space between the lodges but for less ambulant travellers that can be an issue.

I suspect that the lack of visitors has meant that some maintenance may have been neglected [vegetation outside the lodge is partly obscuring the view from the verandah]

The staff were delightful, friendly and obliging.

Because of the on-going problems of Covid we had the place to ourselves most of the time so we had great treatment although it was clear that the staff are well trained and motivated." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Sitatunga

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Crooks
Bristol

"Splash Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2022
"Staying at Splash Camp was a fantastic experience with plenty of up-close animal sightings (including around the camp itself). The staff were able to make us feel confident and safe at all times.

The food at Splash was particularly good.

The camp seems to be very well run and there is a very good atmosphere generated between guests and staff. Our needs and requests were responded to very well. We were lucky to have and excellent guide - Turlock - and tracker - Eric." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

8 sightings

Sitatunga

1 sighting

Wildebeest

7 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr M
Stockport

"Splash Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Nov 2021
"There is lion pride resident here, hence sometimes you have to be driven to or from your chalet!

There are loads of birds which the guides are interested in, at least Godfrey was. We saw black kites, broad billed roller, meyers parrot, steppes eagle, woodland kingfisher, I mention all those we had not seen before.

Two highlights here as far as animals were concerned. We saw our first cheetah, Mr Special, who had just returned to the area. We had three sessions with him, finally he tried to hunt an impala but unsuccessfully, the terrain was against him.

We saw wild dogs doing a pre-hunt ritual, lots of yapping and socialising to the lay person. Then off they went and finally after quite some time we saw an unfortunate impala killed.

We saw two hammerkops on a hippo on last morning game drive, not sure why, they do not pick up tics or blood like oxpeckers do.

To finish off our stay, on the way to the airstrip we saw another leopard in a tree, she was very relaxed with the attention. What a fantastic memory to finish on. Tracking of a leopard on a previous day had only provided a fleeting glimpse in the undergrowth, so this was a bonus.

The rooms here are really modern and hence not as affected by the winds.

One evening meal the meat was very tender, but the others not so. Having travelled twice before we know that food quality is not great, so our expectations were managed." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr L.
Bern, Switz.

"Splash Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2021
"Very good organisation and kind and accomodating staff! Every request was solved with a smile and great patience.

The food was delicious, we often took not only a second but also a third portion!" See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Sitatunga

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

8 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

G and P
Montana

"Splash Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2021
"Wow! Super nice camp with modern decor and excellent game viewing. Amazing views from the chalets looking out onto the lagoon. The density of game, especially zebra, antelope, and buffalo was higher than any other place we visited on our trip. We also had a run in with lions right in camp!

The guides and trackers here were top-notch, on par with Lagoon, the other Kwando camp we visited. COVID protocols were in place to keep everyone safe, with masks and daily temperature checks.

They also arranged for a nurse to fly-in for our exit COVID test so we could maximize our time on safari." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr J.
Washington DC

"Splash Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2021
"Splash was a little bit of a disappointment when compared to the other two camps we stayed. We were picked up at the airstrip by someone that wasn't even a guide. An hour basically wasted driving to the camp. If this had been our first camp, we wouldn't even know some of the different antelope seen during our drive to the camp. Food was ok; however, they had one main, two sides and terrible breads. Thankfully, the blue cheese was tasty and had that at lunch and dinner just to fill up. Twice I wanted a little more and nothing was left. Whatever is set out is all they make. Neither of our other camps did this. There breakfast was terrible too. Muffins and toast, yogurt, the local porridge, and cereal everyday were mediocre at best; however, it's hard to sustain yourself on this for 6 hours until lunch at noon.

The only people at Splash that got to know us a little was the guide. At all the other camps, I knew at least 3 people by their name. This camp didn't have any service that made you feel special.

The room seemed dirty. There were lots of spiders and "things" in the room. I realize that I'm in the bush in Botswana and there are bugs; however, they didn't seem to make any effort to clean or remove them. The outdoor shower was dirty every day. There was baboon poop that wasn't cleaned from one day to the next without me asking. This isn't something that I should have to do. Best part of the room is that the lighting was actually decent. I'm really finding it hard to say something nice about the room.

This camp had the set up of "tracker" sitting on the front of the truck and "guide" sitting in the truck driving. We often couldn't hear the tracker because he was so far away. The driver and tracker would be talking nearly the entire day about who knows what and it was really annoying. They did a fair job in tracking; however, the other camps did as well and only needed one person that would speak with us. I think the guide/tracker combination is truly unnecessary. The two people tracking at Splash didn't do as good of a job as the single guide at the other two camps.

The guides attitude towards the elephants was a bit of a turn off as well. He would accelerate towards the elephants in most situations to make them move. At the other camps, the guides would approach, wait for them to move and then proceed. That being said, we did see a lot of really cool things at Splash. Despite this, I wouldn't return or recommend this camp to anyone." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs SH
Seattle

"Great wildlife and guides"

3 nights Arrived 3 Dec 2019
"We were really pleased with the efforts of the guides to take us to the wildlife.

Staff were so friendly, and i loved it that the guides at dinner with us at the long table set for all guests." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs K.
Nice

"the best for game viewing"

3 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2019
"splash was our least favorite camp. the chalets were totally enclosed and not as pleasant as tent facilities. that said, they were comfortable. we would have preferred a different design. however, the camp was well run and the facilities and food excellent.

this camp had a more regimented feel than the previous ones. we were told the single, long dining table was so guests would mix with and chat with other guests. however, we were directed to seating with the same people who we travelled with during the day, so no opportunity for real mixing.

our guide was excellent but not the same laid back temperment of our other guides. we did, however, see more at this camp than any of the others. also the fact we could travel off road meant we could follow game into the bush. exciting." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Miss K.
Solihull

"Excellent Game Drives"

3 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2019
"The camp was very comfortable but i did prefer Sable Alley. I think i was just a bit disappointed because i knew the lodge was brand new but in the communal areas it didn’t feel it.

However, the rooms’ were very comfortable and were obviously new. They are wooden structures (i think) rather than canvas. The fronts were all netted so that we had a good view.

The staff were all lovely and it was nice that the game drivers joined the guests for meals. The food was good with sufficient choice.

The game drives were excellent and we saw loads of animals. I think it helped that we had a tracker as well as the driver/guide. I also enjoyed the motor boat cruise on the river. It made a peaceful change from bumping around in the jeep. And we still saw lots of elephants and hippos. The jeeps looked quite old (we did get three punctures - although they were not a major problem as the tyres were quickly changed) and again I was surprised given that the camp is new.

Sable Alley was my favourite camp but we saw lots more game at Splash." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

3 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 44
95%
44 reviews of Splash Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
34
9
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (199 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (126 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (89 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


97% (81 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (73 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (69 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (35 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (31 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


99% (27 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


93% (16 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (13 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


94% (13 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


93% (9 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa