This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Splash Camp
Splash Camp
Splash Camp
Splash Camp

Reviews of Splash Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

63 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Splash Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 59 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Splash Camp.
Lion

95% success

Leopard

55% success

Cheetah

92% success

Wild dog

88% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

98% success

Hippo

98% success

Buffalo

85% success

Spotted Hyena

64% success

Sable antelope

33% success

Roan antelope

32% success

Sitatunga

27% success

Aardvark

2% success

White Rhino

2% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 63
Duration
Arrival date
Ms E. K.
Paris

"Splash Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 23 Dec 2022
"Splash camp was disappointing on many levels: 1) staff were not especially friendly or welcoming nor attentive. I felt that certain of the staff (especially the servers at meals) were not so far as contemptuous but rather disdainful and merely tolerant of the tourists. Fortunately, Pro and MK were an exception to this. 2) rooms were comfortable but charmless - looked like any bland hotel room anywhere, save that it included a personal outdoor shower. 3) meals/food varied in quality on rotation day to day. 4) the communal fire pit was situated to a nearby watering hole that attracted animals for viewing-- this location was the best feature of this camp, otherwise the common areas were similarly bland and charmless .5) the culture and general atmosphere for the tourists at Splash was a sense of a generic factory churning out big game drives twice a day. The culture and priority were not of a friendly, attentive experience for the guests. 6) Splash has NO WIFI avvailability at all. This camp is entirely off the grid. I resent that this camp seems to willfully misrepresent and/or obfuscate this lack of availble service.

Please allow me to be clear. I spent 5 nights at Splash which is an exceptionally long time given that the average is 2-3 nights so I speak with a longer tenure experience. I surveyed many in conversations with many other guests as they came and went during my 5 days and there was a 100% consensus that the staff was not genuinely friendly and the food was not as good. Further, the guests like myself were not made aware prior to booking Splash that it has NO wifi at all except 1 couple were told (incorrectly that that the wifi was "spotty" while the truth is that wifi is simply not available at all.)

I sadly did not thoroughly enjoy or feel comfortable at Splash where I had to spend such a long number of days. It was unfortunate as I was a solo traveler.

I do not recommend Splash." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr and Mrs W
GLOS

"Splash Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2022
"Very comfortable accommodation.
Beautiful location.
Surrounded by wildlife.
Good food with communal dining.
Very helpful staff.
Excellent guide and tracker.
Saw a wealth of wildlife including many birds.
We were able to watch wild dogs hunting which was exciting and watched them eating a kill. We saw 3 different lion prides and a cheetah and a leopard.
Also went on a boat trip which we all enjoyed and a short mokoro excursion as water level was very low" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

8 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Sitatunga

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr Rox
Cairns city

"Marvellous visit to the rookery"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2022
"This was a return visit and as before we experienced a wide range of wildlife sightings and very much enjoyed the Lodge staff services, food and facilities.

As with our last visit, we received visits to the Lodge by animals, including (this time) elephants and wild dogs. There are also lots of birds to be seen in the large trees around the Lodge. We witnessed wild dogs hunting on two occasions and were unlucky not to see the final kill.

The lodge is very comfortable and food /drink quality very good. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The highlight of our visit to Splash was the visit to the bird rookery on the river cruise. Maribou, yellow billed and open beaked stork all raising their chicks together. Completely changes the superficial view of maribou as being ugly. Not to be missed." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Anivers
New Hampshire

"Splash Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2022
"Splash Camp was terrific! We saw wild dogs hunting on three separate occasions - and were able to follow them at length each time. One day after lunch, elephants took over the trail and our guide had to bring us around to our cabin for a siesta! The food was great and the staff was pleasant and attentive. The guide and tracker were extremely knowledgeable and found many interesting animals and prints for us. The trip to the stork rookery is not to be missed." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Hampshire

"Splash Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2022
"Enjoyed the mokoro trip and sunset boat trip. We appreciated having room near to reception and pool although I was disappointed it was not that clean so used it each day apart from last day when it had turned a murky brown.

We felt that the camps could have liaised with each other over meals as they were clearly using same menus - which we had repeated two days running by changing camps.

Excellent guide Moz always very careful to drive up close by so we could get great angles for photos." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms D.
Falmouth

"Splash Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2022
"We loved Splash camp and our guide, Mr Gee. Lots of animals including a cheetah killing an impala.

The camp was low key and offered everything we needed. Good way to start." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr E.
London

"Splash Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2022
"We really liked our time at Splash Camp. The location and facilities are amazing, and the staff is very attentive and ready to help.

The best part of Splash Camp are the safari guides. TJ and Obi were incredible at tracking and spotting animals, and we saw incredible things, like lions eating a zebra, wild dogs eating an impala, lions mating and a fight between lions and hyenas. Not to mention the cutest lion cubs ever!

There are a couple of things that could be improved. The food was good, but not very exciting. I would have loved to eat local recipes, but the staff played it safe. I understand that some tourists may feel uncomfortable eating food they are not used to, but that's part of the trip.

In addition, dinner and lunch are served on a large shared table. Sometimes after a long day, you may want to stay quiet and not engage with other guests, and this is hard when you all eat together.

In addition, it would have been useful to know that there was no voice or internet connection at all (nor through mobile, nor WiFi). I enjoyed the digital detox, but I needed to connect with family and work and I could not. If I had known that in advance, I could have organized myself better" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

8 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs F
UK

"Splash Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2022
"Overall a wonderful experience.

Because of the terrain vehicles have to be driven hard and we experienced a couple of punctures and a broken gearbox (no criticism!).

Guide Mr G (so determined and enthusiastic) and spotter/tracker Knobbley made a great team.

Boat trip different from the one at Lagoon with a lower down point of view which was interesting." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Chefin
Switzerland

"Splash Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2022
"While tourism seems to still be at a low to medium level in Zimbabwe to Botswana in summer 2022, premium lodges in high season like Splash are back to normal. The period now is an excellent time to travel (from when borders reopened from pandemic restrictions); accommodations and camp grounds are not so busy, the wildlife & nature has re-occuped spaces vacated by tourists during pandemic and has not retracted again. Corona measures did not bug us much; at Splash fortunately nobody has to wear masks. Very sensible policy considering that everything takes place outside.

Accommodations, camp facilities, game drives, meals, everything was perfect.

One vehicle breakdown. Vehicles are an expensive asset, maintenance is key for a long life. Our guide "Mr G." and our spotter Knobli did an outstanding job. Interaction with them was easy, we went fishing and caught fish, which we got to eat for dinner; bird viewing (&photography) and introduction to trees, bushes & grasses was an unexpected additional highlight.

We also enjoyed very much the porridge by the fire in the early morning, the morning coffee and sunset drinks in the bush, the outside shower, the boat tour and the amazing nature & wildlife.

Spash Camp is an excellent choice, we recommend." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Sitatunga

7 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs TM
Utah, USA

"A high quality, new camp with abundant game"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2022
"Some wonderful sightings with an able guide (Tuelo) and tracker (Dimbo) - a pack of wild dogs with 11 pups, a lioness with three suckling cubs, a cheetah on its kill of a baby zebra with vultures waiting for their "turn", a pair of honey badgers in daytime, secretary birds, a tower of giraffes on full alert with a pride of lions nearby looking for a giraffe to be just a bit slow in moving away, a short mokoro ride in a beautiful, riverine setting, an eventful river trip with a hippo lurching to get out of our way and several elephants in nor hurry to give way, and a bull elephant that wouldn't give way causing us to re-route on our trip to the airstrip.

One drawback is the condition of the two track roads. Large portions of the roads are on deep sand, causing the vehicles to "wallow" and lurch rather severely and frequent instructions from our guide to "Hang on!". Because our visit was in July (the dry season), there is nothing the camp can do improve the condition of the roads. Apparently that is not an issue in the rainy season when the sand compacts and makes those portions of the road system quite tolerable.

Lagoon Camp and Kwara Camp share the guiding concession, hence there are sometimes three vehicles at a game site, even four vehicles on one occasion. Having many vehicles in a concession increases the chances of finding wildlife but it also makes the game drives less "intimate".

Splash Camp is a relatively large camp which made it so that dinner was at a very long table. The noise level at dinner was quite high, making it difficult, even sometimes impossible, for our group of three couples to hear each other talk. I developed a preference for smaller camps." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 63
96%
63 reviews of Splash Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
51
10
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (208 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (132 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


94% (99 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


97% (84 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (76 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (75 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings.


96% (67 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


98% (45 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (37 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


95% (36 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (37 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game-viewing area.


93% (35 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


99% (27 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (20 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (18 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


93% (16 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (14 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


94% (13 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


95% (12 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


96% (9 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


84% (5 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
4 Rivers
No reviews yet
Sitatunga Private Island Camp

Sitatunga Island Camp

Sitatunga Private Island: in this pristine corner of the Okavango Delta, even the name is evocative.


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa