This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Splash Camp
Splash Camp
Splash Camp
Splash Camp
Splash Camp

Reviews of Splash Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

37 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Splash Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 36 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Splash Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

55% success

Cheetah

97% success

Wild dog

91% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Hippo

97% success

Buffalo

92% success

Spotted Hyena

64% success

Roan antelope

45% success

Sable antelope

39% success

Sitatunga

23% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 37
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs SH
Seattle

"Great wildlife and guides"

3 nights Arrived 3 Dec 2019
"We were really pleased with the efforts of the guides to take us to the wildlife.

Staff were so friendly, and i loved it that the guides at dinner with us at the long table set for all guests." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs K.
Nice

"the best for game viewing"

3 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2019
"splash was our least favorite camp. the chalets were totally enclosed and not as pleasant as tent facilities. that said, they were comfortable. we would have preferred a different design. however, the camp was well run and the facilities and food excellent.

this camp had a more regimented feel than the previous ones. we were told the single, long dining table was so guests would mix with and chat with other guests. however, we were directed to seating with the same people who we travelled with during the day, so no opportunity for real mixing.

our guide was excellent but not the same laid back temperment of our other guides. we did, however, see more at this camp than any of the others. also the fact we could travel off road meant we could follow game into the bush. exciting." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Miss K.
Solihull

"Excellent Game Drives"

3 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2019
"The camp was very comfortable but i did prefer Sable Alley. I think i was just a bit disappointed because i knew the lodge was brand new but in the communal areas it didn’t feel it.

However, the rooms’ were very comfortable and were obviously new. They are wooden structures (i think) rather than canvas. The fronts were all netted so that we had a good view.

The staff were all lovely and it was nice that the game drivers joined the guests for meals. The food was good with sufficient choice.

The game drives were excellent and we saw loads of animals. I think it helped that we had a tracker as well as the driver/guide. I also enjoyed the motor boat cruise on the river. It made a peaceful change from bumping around in the jeep. And we still saw lots of elephants and hippos. The jeeps looked quite old (we did get three punctures - although they were not a major problem as the tyres were quickly changed) and again I was surprised given that the camp is new.

Sable Alley was my favourite camp but we saw lots more game at Splash." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

3 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr R.
Malmesbury

"Nice modern camp in a great concession"

3 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2019
"The safari experience itself was wonderful - we couldn't fault the wildlife that we saw or the experience of the guide (Moz) and his spotter (AT). We saw lions, cheetah, aardwolf, pythons, serval and a wonderful pack of wild dogs (26) among others. The boat cruise was a serene highlight too.

The camp is modern, stylish and efficient rather than luxurious although the manager, Renee, service and staff are very good. The rooms themselves were luxury but the lodge was a little more functional - especially the dining area and the pool area - the dining area needed more soft furnishings as it is a bit refectory style and the pool area needed some cushioned loungers and more shade, not just dappled tree shade - it was 40C and it wasn't enough. One night when the lodge was nearly full (22 guests) it didn't feel exclusive.

The food was excellent - they have a great chef(s) - but the ingredients weren't luxury - e.g. a minced beef pie rather than steak was typical.

One area we thought needed improvement was that all of the guides sit with you at every meal and have to walk you to/from your tents rather than taking turns at this as other camps do - meaning the guides have very little time off.

However, overall we had a great experience and the wildlife and quality of the guide/spotter was excellent. Thank you." See all these reviews: 6n in Zimbabwe; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Sitatunga

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

M & Mrs G
Harrogate

"Great Okavango safaris"

3 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2019
"Room was good but not as nice as at Lagoon, it retained the heat of the day.

The staff team was not as gelled together as at Lagoon which made the atmosphere a little less relaxed.

The walking safari with Mos and A.T. was terrific, we wish we could have done more of those. The river excursion was memorable too.

Overall the variety of wildlife we saw was excellent. Seeing Secretary Birds, Verraux's Owl, python, Aardwolf, Leopard Tortoise, Spring Hare was wonderful." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Wiljo
Norfolk

"Splash Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2019
"Excellent all round - accommodation, catering (too much food though) and guiding. Staff at Camp were very hospitable. The Kwando formula of off roading and a driver guide and tracker, working as a team on the game drives, worked very well and made for some very interesting encounters and interactions, especially of predators.

Our team seemed to go the extra mile to follow wild dogs and lions hunting. The guides in different vehicles communicated well with each other, alerting and directing their colleagues to interesting sightings. On our last game drive, on the way to the airstrip, we located a lone male lion, a leopard and a cheetah in separate sightings.

The daily formula consisted of morning and afternoon game drives. The latter merged with a night drive for the last hour or so on the way back to camp after dark. We were given the opportunity to undertake a boat safari as far as the Godikwe Lagoon one morning which provided some wonderful bird sightings and a fresh perspective on the location. We were also offered a short mokoro session." See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana; 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

6 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs W
Oxon

"brilliant time at Splash camp"

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2019
"This was our last camp, and gave us some more wonderful sightings, of lions climbing trees, a large pack of wild dogs, a cheetah on a kill, an aardwolf family peeping out of their burrow.

The accommodation and facilities were first class as were all the people who looked after us so well." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Ms A.
Seven Oaks

"great lodge and great sightings"

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2019
"Splash was very comfortable and the staff all very lovely and helpful. Our guide and tracker were excellent. The food was abundant but ok rather than really good" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

5 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B.
Richmond

"Splash Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2019
"Splash camp consists of several large individual chalets situated near a large water hole that attracts many animals. It is located in the private Kwara concession in the Okavango Delta. The units are very spacious, deluxe and extremely well equipped. They have an outside shower as well as a large indoor one. A small deck allows for great game view overlooking the water hole,
The camp has an enthusiastic staff who are very capable at putting on various events, such as the Independence Day celebrations on our second day in camp.
Food and service was first rate, as were the facilities, including a beautiful small pool area
Our guide, "Mr. T", and spotter, "AT", were excellent on our safari drives and allowed us plenty of time for photo opportunities when needed. Highlights of the stay at Splash included an afternoon boat trip in the delta, viewing a pack of wild dogs, which is a rare sight, and an traditional evenings dinner and entertainment to celebrate Bostwana" independence" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Mitchell
Weybridge

"Splash Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2019
"Fantastic accommodation and staff." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 37
95%
37 reviews of Splash Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
28
8
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa