This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Splash Camp
Splash Camp
Splash Camp
Splash Camp

Reviews of Splash Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

76 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Splash Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 70 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Splash Camp.
Lion

94% success

Leopard

59% success

Cheetah

90% success

Wild dog

85% success

Elephant

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

99% success

Wildebeest

99% success

Hippo

99% success

Buffalo

86% success

Spotted Hyena

66% success

Roan antelope

34% success

Sable antelope

32% success

Sitatunga

27% success

White Rhino

2% success

Aardvark

2% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 76
Duration
Arrival date
A&L Polo
USA

"Splash Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Dec 2023
"This is the place with the best game drives experience we've got during our trip.

Safari guide was just amazing both as a person and as a professional.

As for accommodation we would wish it to be a bit cleaner." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya; 3n in Rwanda; 3n in Botswana; 3n in Tanzania; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

4 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Miss K
Kent

"Splash Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2023
"I have visited Splash several times. Standards are still high and the team just as welcoming.
The rooms have a modern twist to them, and are well spaced out, facing onto the lagoon.

The team are delightful, with many familiar faces. The food is of a very high standard.

Game sightings are good, ranging across the whole of the southern part of the concession.

Kwando appear to have taken on board feed back and the guides in Splash and Kwara are now co-operating better so there is less overlap than I have encountered previously." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr D.
Edinburgh

"Splash Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2023
"I do not have time to write an overview. However I was VERY pleased with ALL 3 of Kwando's camps and would recommend them to anyone." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr & Mrs W
Croydon

"Splash Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2023
"Splash provided many memorable sightings, especially one morning which brought a just born baby zebra, a cheetah, leopard, lions and wild dogs. Infact, we saw different lions on three occasions, including a mating pair – watched by the lioness’ mother, and a small pride with cubs. We also enjoyed an evening river trip and mokoro. The latter was curtailed by hippos and buffalo in the distance but that led to an unexpected opportunity to see wild dogs again. Many thanks to Matt our informative guide and Village for excellent tracking.

The camp facilities and tent were excellent: the tent had indoor and outdoor showers and mosquito nets were put down at night, although we weren’t aware of these pests during our stay in Botswana in September.

We were staying at Splash on Botswana’s Independence Day, during which the staff provided us all with special memories as they sang and danced. Staff were all friendly and helpful and the food was excellent." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

6 sightings

MR & Mrs C
W Sussex

"Splash Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2023
"Splash Camp was great - highly recommended.

The chalet-style rooms were extremely spacious and comfortable.

Food was tasty, and there was a help-yourself bar, with branded spirits included, and this was a nice area for guests to mingle.

Just for info, there is no Wi-Fi anywhere in the camp - a good excuse to switch off!

Laundry was included (and they did 'smalls!)

Our guide (Dave, with Village the Tracker) was great - really went the extra mile to make things perfect for us, and to find the special animals. We felt very safe and cared-for in their hands.

The sundowner on the boat, with hippos nearby, having seen elephants crossing the river, was the highlight of our trip.

As a tip for others, we didn't really need any non-safari clothes, as we went to meals straight after the game drives." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Wildebeest

8 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs G.
Egham

"Splash Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2023
"Splash camp was more modern than our previous one. The rooms are further apart from each other and are small buildings rather than tents.

The welcome and staff service were excellent throughout and everything worked well. Although the camp was newer I felt the maintenance of the rooms could have been better.

Unfortunately, a week or so before our arrival, a fire had destroyed much of the surrounding vegetation and had also damaged one of the rooms. This had closed the camp for a week but whilst it didn't impact what we did, the view from the rooms was impacted and there was a smell of smoke in the air.

The rooms surround a large open area which normally would contain a fairly large water hole, but water levels were very low and there was only a small pool a long way from the camp. This meant wildlife sightings at the camp here were much lower than the others we visited. Viewing otherwise on the drives was good. Despite the low water levels we were able to go on a short mokoro trip as well as an evening boat ride.

Food and service were excellent. Wildlife highlights included Sable and Roan antelopes as well as night viewings of Serval and Wild Cat" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

J & K
jackievokes@gmail.com

"Splash Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2023
"This was a camp with a real 'bush' feel to it, with rooms spread widely around a large water hole.

Our room was right at the end of a walk right through the bush, which was a bit nerve- wracking as lion, leopard and elephant pass through to the waterhole and also the camp; however, our guide, T.J, kindly escorted us during daylight, as well the usual during the dark. The room itself was beautiful, large, clean with a terrace overlooking the waterhole, with great sightings of grazing animals and elephant.

The staff were welcoming and friendly and seemed to appreciate our efforts to say a few words in Setswana. The food was delicious and plentiful.

The game drives were really exciting, in many cases going off road to get sightings. It was fascinating to watch T.J and the tracker, Iba, at work, driving through the bush and sometimes getting off the vehicle to locate tracks and, ultimately, the animal.

We saw many animals; lion, leopard, hippos, hyena and many elephant and giraffe. Drives continued after dark allowing sightings of more nocturnal animals, such as wildcat and spring hare. It was very cold in the early mornings, but we were given warm ponchos and hot water bottles, so were quite snug in the vehicle.

We also did the evening river cruise and spotted an elephant crossing the river, a monitor lizard and many birds. Sun downers, as with the game drives, a treat." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr. M & Ms. C
Seattle

"Splash Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2023
"Splash Camp is a fantastic all-around camp that offers excellent game drives and animal sighting opportunities as well as the chance to explore the Delta channels, and the camp facilities and setting are equally top-notch.

The camp is set around a watering hole that was a popular afternoon spot for zebras, elephants, warthogs, impalas, and more. Watching the comings and goings at the watering hole from our cabin deck or the common areas was a wonderful way to spend the afternoon, and we even had an elephant visitor in camp two of our three evenings.

Our cabin was beautiful and comfortable and spacious with a mesh wall across the entire front of the cabin overlooking the watering hole. It felt more like a luxurious resort suite than a cabin in the middle of the African bush. There were universal (including UK but not sure about US), European, and S African outlets in the room.

Chef Patella was a fantastic cook! Everything we ate was very tasty and there were always plenty of options for me as a vegetarian. We were served a good variety of cuisines and never had the same meal twice.

All the staff were fantastic—friendly, welcoming, and ready to go above and beyond to ensure an amazing stay.

Our animal viewing at Splash Camp was excellent, with lots of variety of animals and plenty of them. We had some longer stretches on drives when we wouldn’t see anything, but then we would get to a new landscape and there would be tons of animals that more than made up for the less lively parts. Our guide, Dave, and tracker, KB, were truly amazing. Together, they tracked down and spotted tons of animals we never would have had a chance to see on our own, including some long tracks to two lion prides, a cheetah, a leopard, and even wild dogs on the hunt.

We also spotted 3 honey badgers and 2 wild cats with their help. Dave was incredibly knowledgeable and while we tried to come up with a question he wouldn’t be able to answer (all in good fun), we couldn’t stump him. He was also amazing at communicating what they were looking for and what the plan was each step of the way. They were also really fun to spend time with and made for a truly enjoyable experience.

We were at Splash Camp in late July and think it would probably be even better in late August–October, as Dave, our guide, said more animals would continue to move into the area as the dry season continued and the watering holes to the north and east dried up.

Of note, Dave also told us that for the safety of the rhinos, they have been moved out of the area so it is no longer possible to see rhinos from Splash Camp." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

7 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Hobart

"Splash Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2023
"Another fabulous camp with exceptional guides and trackers and marvelous wildlife viewing. We had some truly exciting and unique game drives, again we would go back anytime. A lovely camp but not quite as genuinely homely as Lagoon camp." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Cheetah

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Sitatunga

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Family P
Cirencester

"Splash Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2023
"Stylish rooms with a good view over the pan, so you can just sit on the deck in your room and watch the animals.

Tasty breakfasts around the camp fire with freshly baked muffins.

Friendly staff and well informed guides who seem to know the answer to every question you ask!" See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Showing 1-10 of 76
96%
76 reviews of Splash Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
64
10
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (219 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (138 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


94% (100 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


97% (86 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (76 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (75 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings.


96% (69 reviews)
Shinde Footsteps

Shinde Footsteps

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


98% (45 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game-viewing area.


93% (38 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (37 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


95% (36 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (37 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


99% (27 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


96% (23 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (20 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (18 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


93% (16 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


95% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (14 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


94% (14 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


96% (10 reviews)
Mma Dinare

Mma Dinare

Beautifully located in a private concession overlooking the Gomoti River, the traditional Mma Dinare is very well-priced for the Okavango Delta.


98% (9 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


87% (6 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Rra Dinare

Rra Dinare

Located in a private concession in the southern reaches of the Okavango Delta, overlooking the Gomoti River, Rra Dinare is a traditional-style, well-priced camp.


90% (2 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (2 reviews)
4 Rivers

4 Rivers

4 Rivers is a new camp in a previously in accessible area of the excellent Kwara concession.


100% (2 reviews)
Duke’s Camp

Duke’s Camp

On a remote island within a vast private concession, the eclectic Duke’s Camp is nestled among mature trees overlooking wildlife-rich plains of the Okavango.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp

Kiri Camp

Kiri Camp is the latest Okavango offering from the excellent team behind Machaba. In an exciting new location in the heart of the Delta we cannot wait to visit this new camp.


100% (1 review)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Atzaro Okavango

Atzaro Okavango

With a high level of tasteful luxury promised at Atzaro, we think it will be best suited to travellers seeking a touch of pampering alongside their safari.


No reviews yet
Mokolwane

Mokolwane

Deep in the heart of the Okavango, Mokolwane promises adventure in a largely untouched area.


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
North Island Okavango

North Island

Deep in quintessentially 'Okavango' territory, between deep-water and dry-land habitats, promises to be a great combination from a team who know all about the best in the Okavango.


No reviews yet
Sitatunga Private Island Camp

Sitatunga Island Camp

Sitatunga Private Island: in this pristine corner of the Okavango Delta, even the name is evocative.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa