This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge


19°38’0.7"S 22°54’0.5"E

Reviews of Xaranna

Wildlife sightings and reviews

8 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Xaranna and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Xaranna.
Lion

50% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

50% success

Aardvark

100% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Eland

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-8 of 8
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs M
So. California

"Not our favorite"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2019
"The first thing they told us as we arrived was: " Check out our gift shop, We just received some beautiful diamond bracelets" and "sign up for a massage." We felt that they were trying to sell, sell, sell. That is not why we were on safari.

Then, due to the drought, there were no boat services (no makoro), which is why we chose this camp. However, also due to the drought, we were able to see a very large pack of wild dogs! We also saw lions mating! Sadly, while our guides (Fred and someone else) did an excellent job of getting us to see the wild dogs and hyenas and mating lions, they were not as warm and friendly as our other guides. This took away from our overall experience.

The food at Xaranna was THE BEST on the entire trip. The chef could open a restaurant in New York and be successful. The room was beautiful. We laughed each day as the elephants came to play in our private swimming pool.

So, in summary, we enjoyed our time at Xaranna, but we would not go back." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Miss B
Marple

"Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2018
"Lovely lodge, but being picky it is the least likely for us to return to -- however our tracker, Action, was outstanding, the people amazingly friendly, the cheetah sightings incredible and the food very good. The downsides were that although the concession is large, the area available to game drives is a bit limited -- there are only two main tracks out of camp, and there is a tendency for the guides to choose one of these.

Also we had requested a quiet room and were given one far from the lodge, but unfortunately were placed between a near constantly running fan and a generator. Though we raised this, no action was taken to resolve it.

It is also worth noting that the Mokoro trips only take place in the slot reserved for the afternoon game drive -- rather than during the day / late morning when on previous occasions we have been on a short walking safari. This means that you have to miss a game drive to go on the mokoro, and no walking safaris were are offered." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr C
Calgary

"Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2017
"Posh is a understatement and Pampering as Lucy suggested is a good word.
A couple of things made this less of a perfect experience than it could be.
1 - nobody less than 16 in the plastic (model of a dugout) canoe. We had no idea of this till we got there and since we had a 13 year old with us who was anticipating the activity it was a bit disappointing. As it turned out she didnt miss much - i went on it and wouldn't bother to repeat.
2 - the staff were well over the top in their desire to ingratiate themselves with us. Every single person we came in contact with asked us how we were every single time we saw them. This when we were involved in our own discussions. I know the intent was good but the effect was quite annoying to us and i am sure to every other north american or European. This is a expensive and well done world class camp. One exp[ects the staff to be attentive and instantly available with a nod but not imposing as they were. My guess is it is a combination of the culture and a extreme desire to please (and be tipped) so they don't get it that it is negative for most. I hope i have explained this well as everybody we talked to had a similar thought though most would be too polite to say anything." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Shropshire

"Xaranna second visit."

4 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2013
"Following a 5 minute flight from Nxabega we landed at the Pom Pom airstrip and 25 minutes later we were met at the lodge. We had requested Tent 1 which was waiting for us along with the elephant that decided to meet the new arrivals!!

Xaranna is another good camp for birding with many different species around the tents. We had MD (guide) and Elicious (tracker) who were both excellent in bird identification. On one of the days we mentioned a Pel's Fishing Owl was on our wish list and despite looking around some known spots MD failed to locate one so after they dropped us off for breakfast they went out again to see if they could find one. That evening we went out on a game drive and although they said they hadn't found an Owl they went straight to the tree it was roosting in - now that's what we call dedication.

On another drive we were looking at a small bird in a bush when Elicious suddenly spotted a Black Mamba along one of the branches - we took one or two photos and quickly moved on!! Another day we were out birding (again) when we heard a lion roaring - Elicious tracked it down to a spot where it was hiding in the long grass. Again a few photos before it wondered off into the bushes.

The accommodation and food were excellent along with the private dinner in our tent the staff had arranged on our last night. Many thanks Kenneth (Waiter) for looking after us so well." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Shropshire

"Xaranna Luxury"

3 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2011
"We had a game drive from Kanana to Xaranna (their airstrip is unusable) about 45 minutes. KD and Elicious were our guide and tracker who put us on to some pretty amazing sights. Dimarie treated us just like old friends and she would do anything to make our stay a memorable one.

Our tent was probably the best we have stayed in in Botswana in a great position, spotlessly clean and with it's own plunge pool - heaven.
The food was magnificent although I don't know why we had breakfast after the mornings game drive followed 2 hours later by lunch!!
KD took us to see 6 Cheetahs on the first day and after a fair bit of tracking located them where we managed to get some good views.

On the next day we were having a snack before going out on another game drive when KD heard a lion roar - with Elicious doing the tracking it wasn't too long before we were on to a beautifully conditioned male lion who was very obliging by posing for us to take photos. On the same drive we stopped for a bush breakfast where Elicious became the cook - the food was wonderful.

Later that day we went in search of a Pels Fishing Owl and after a bit of searching on one of the islands we found not one but two - again great photo opportunities." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Bucks

"Xaranna Okavongo Delta Lodge feedback"

2 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2010
"Xaranna Lodge was a wonder to behold. We had a wonderful stay at Xaranna and had some superb sightings of Leopard. Our guide TJ and tracker Elicious were amazing at spotting leopards in trees. We had two excellent sightings in one drive! Again, TJ had excellent knowledge of the animals and also gave us some very interesting information on Bushman practices and traditions.

We had two very small criticisms of Xaranna, one that we saw very little of the manager Johan at this camp (but possibly influenced by seeing the management at Sandibe regularly) and the second was that Xaranna felt to us a bit too much like a Boutique hotel in the bush. Although most people would find this wonderful (and don't get us wrong, it was), but it somehow lost the 'soul' of what we understand Africa to be about.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay here and all the staff were very professional and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our last evening when all the staff came out and sang and danced. We hope they did well at the &Beyond Choir Contest." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"The Delights of the Delta"

3 nights Arrived 14 Dec 2009
"This was our first experience of an &Beyond camp and we were impressed.

The accommodation at Xaranna is extremely comfortable and we were very well looked after by Carl, Melody and the team. Some of the facilities on offer are not of particular interest to us – eg air conditioning and resident masseuse – but no doubt are to other guests; but we took advantage of – and really liked – touches such as the cold box of drinks and “gym in a box” in each chalet. The cuisine was, in our view, above average – especially afternoon tea which we thought was nicely balanced and very well presented; excellent coffee too.

The main aim of our stay was birds and in Rams we were guided by a man who clearly knows his avians . He was ably assisted by a first-rate tracker, Master. The bird life alone was well worth the trip, highlights including Pel's Fishing Owl, Verreaux's Eagle Owl, a Bataleur at very close range, Wattled Cranes, Green Pigeons and various Kingfishers. Add to that lions, a leopard, a wonderful serval with her cub in broad daylight and it is clear that this was a very rewarding three days.

In conclusion, we would have no hesitation recommending Xaranna and we are certainly minded to look to other &Beyond camps on future visits to Africa." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Greece

"Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Mar 2009
"Sorry didn't go there we just didn't want to leave Nxabega.

Only put average above because the form would not let us continue any further." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Showing 1-8 of 8
90%
8 reviews of Xaranna by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
5
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa