This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp


19°29’2.1"S 22°47’37.5"E

Reviews of Nxabega Tented Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

34 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nxabega Tented Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nxabega Tented Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 34
Duration
Arrival date
Family A
Scarborough

"Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2018
"Absolutely excellent. AK, our guide, was simply superb. We tracked lions by sight (spoor) and sound (roaring) and saw 5 week old cubs. Our boat trip on the water wonderful, as was the mokoro trip. We saw Pel's fishing owl.

I would go back there in a heartbeat." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Ms K
UK

"Great safari at Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2016
"Superb guide and tracker. Great accommodation." See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr L
Portland

"Beautiful and peaceful"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2016
"Such a friendly and beautiful setting. Our "tent" was large, spacious with a beautiful and private view, indoor and outdoor showers, electricity, etc.

Our guide and tracker were SO knowledgeable, and it was a pleasure watching them collaborate and track lions, leopards, etc. - they were SO skilled!

The food was expertly prepared, varied and delicious. Both the boat and canoe trips in the late afternoon were peaceful, and the Okavango sunsets were stunning. We saw every animal we had hoped to see.

All staff were courteous, friendly and professional." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs D
Worcester Park

"MY BOTSWANA: NXABEGA OKAVANGO TENTED CAMP"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2016
"Although it was my fourth visit to Nxabega I was not disappointed and found the staff, guide and tracker friendly and helpful. I especially enjoyed having my own butler who attended my dining needs and remembered my likes and dislikes and what I liked to drink.

However there were changes, both environmental and campwise, since my last visit: giraffes and elephants had as far as I knew disappeared from the area but a cheetah had arrived and produced a litter of cubs which she was busy rearing in the territory she had established. Apparently the cheetah was found on farmland and rather than shoot her the farmer gave her to Nxabega.

A dozen fruit bats had taken over the ceiling of the Camp's entrance and a large family of baboons had established themselves around the camp. The baboons were destructive to the point that the camp hired a member of staff as a 'baboon scarer' to try and reduce the baboons' activities - although not always successful. My first sight of them was of a large male baboon prancing around on a roof with an orange cushion that had been taken from an unoccupied hut which the baboons had ransacked.

They had also gained entrance to the shop and I saw the assistant bent over a grill into which she was poking a stick with sticky gum on the end to try and retrieve what the baboons had put into the grill. It may be old news but the best story about the baboons was when they managed to obtain entrance to a Medical Doctor's tent where he had left his assortment of pills and medicines. The baboons ransacked the tent and everything the doctor and his wife had with them. They emptied pills, even those in childproof containers, and liquid medicines along with make-up everywhere and proceeded to smear it on the walls and furnishing. Apparently afterwards it was impossible to tell whether or not some baboons were "high" on drugs, whether the sleeping ones were unconscious through medication or whether eating the cosmetics had influenced their behavior.

The guide and tracker worked hard to give us as much good viewing as possible; in some cases going to extremes to make sure we did not miss something, e.g. a lion eating a buffalo.

The mokoro trips had changed and were no longer poled to where one could go ashore (as in the past for coffee) and the water plants seem more abundant.

The decor of the accommodation has been altered but I preferred the old layout; the new area between the washing and sleeping areas seemed irrelevant and, strangely, intrusive and was something I did not want to be bothered with." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Msrvp
harrow

"Great location and staff"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2016
"Enjoyed all the singing by the staff who all seemed to have excellent training in gospel singing!

Location was great, overlooking a body of water. The rooms were very private and very comfortable. The grounds could have been more educational if key plants had been identified with a short narrative about them. This is a missed opportunity as there are lots of plants and trees on the premises.

The staff were exceptionally attentive and we did feel like valued customers. Breakfasts should include toast as an option. On the whole lunch was the best meal with good variety and flavour." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 1n in Zambia; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs MS
N London

"Great location and great star-lit dinner"

2 nights Arrived 27 May 2015
"A great location overlooking a small lagoon, with vervet monkeys all round. Good guiding and a lot of very interesting wildlife sightings.

A great surprise and a great pleasure to have our dinner round a camp-fire under the stars, away from the lodge, on our first night" See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr & Mrs P
York

"Good - but not prefect"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2014
"Had this been our first camp we'd probabaly have like it better but coming after Little Vumbura it seemed to us a little formal and over regimented. We'd wanted to try an &Beyond camp having been to a spectacular one in India but this one is probably ready for an upgrade - or perhaps we were just over picky after our first two camps.

The tent was fine, though the bathroom was just behind a canvas flap so you had to know your companion very well. We liked the outdoor deck with a big parasol. We had one extremely noisy night when elephants decided to investigate the fruits on the tree right outside our tent. Elephants, hippos and baboons were regular visitors round camp but we never felt at all worried by them. On our first night we were taken straight from our game drive to a spot near the camp which had been beautifully decorated with lanterns, for dinner preceded by singing and dancing by the staff. For this and other meals we all sat at separate tables which felt a little odd after the communal dining everywhere else. But as nearly all the other guests were families with children perhaps it was easier. The food was fine but again a little formally presented.

Megan had warned us that this wasn't really the camp for great game viewing but I think we were surprised at how little there was - and actually started to feel sorry for the guide and spotter who kept assuring us that there was usually more to see! The guide has to be the slowest driver we've ever had , though he did manage to get us there in time to see a group of wild dog puppies devouring an impala under the watchful eye of their parents. Even the mokoro and boat rides, whilst again very relaxing, were lacking in wildlife sightings. Perhaps not the best time of year for this camp." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr H & Ms S
Dorking

"High quality tented accommodation"

3 nights Arrived 19 Dec 2013
"Lovely location, fine main building, great guiding.
Rainy season: slightly damp in the tent generally and a small leak.
Bathroom design, with shower in the middle of the room, not very convenient." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Shropshire

"Nxabega third time around"

3 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2013
"After a short game drive from the airstrip we were soon being greeted by Goffa (manager) and staff and sitting down to brunch.

We didn't get the tent we requested but had a much better one overlooking the lagoon. Nxabega is excellent for birding and we had a brilliant guide (KD) and tracker(Fred). We had KD before when he was at Xaranna and he immediately recognised us. His bird identifaction was excellent and we did find three different leopards in three game drives (not bad considering we were looking for birds)!!

The food was very good and plentiful - including the bush BBQ where the whole camp staff had moved into the bush which was a memorable experience with the trees lit up by hanging lanterns.

Thoroughly recommended for birding especially when you have the game wagon to yourselves (which we were lucky to have for most of the time)." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms G & Mr M
Spain

"Great guides. Great location."

3 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2013
"A marvellous place with excellent guides and excellent personnel. We had a wonderful experience there.

The rooms are great, but the textile-walls need some thorough cleaning." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 10n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 34
95%
34 reviews of Nxabega Tented Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
26
7
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa