This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Family A from Scarborough

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

24

Excursions taken

0

My Sep 2018 trip

Namibia and 3 other countries between 5 Sep 2018 and 2 Oct 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our third trip with Expert Africa and our biggest. I had planned this trip over a couple of years to celebrate my retirement and was not disappointed.

I would change a few things, with hindsight.

Erongo deserves at least two nights. Trust me.
Zimbabwe was a challenge. Getting in took ages. We did not feel at all welcome. I would advise staying in Zambia and travelling in to see the Falls.

As a general rule, lodges where you are able to go off road are better. The exception this rule is Chobe, just because of the scale of the wildlife experience that you are exposed to.
In future (God willing), I would transit through Jo'burg faster.

See you in a coupe of years, God willing.

I would be tempted by a lodge with perhaps more water based activities in the delta.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No.
Keep doing what you are doing."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Image alt

The Residence

"The Residence review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2018
"We arrived after an overnight flight and were absolutely shattered. Our booked room was not ready so they very kindly let us sleep in another room until our own room was available. The suite was excellent but unfortunately their was a leak in the bathroom and we ended up moving to another suite the next day. That was a pain because we were fully unpacked.

Food was good and the setting was great. Loved the koi pool.

We had an excellent tour of Jo'burg on the second day with a very helpful driver.

Fabulous massage. I would go back for that.

If there had not been a plumbing problem I would be a lot more positive. I appreciate these things happen."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2018
"Exactly what we needed, both on the way in and the way out of Windhoek.

We had booked to eat out both nights but the menu did look inviting."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2018
"Our second visit. Excellent. Could not have been more helpful.

Would definitely stay there again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2018
"This was the one big mistake of our trip, in that we should have booked at least two nights here.

We loved it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2018
"You do not come here for luxury. It is all about the waterhole and what you can see.

Our chalet was right on the edge of the waterhole but also right next to the sewage treatment hut. That was smelly ( I kept blaming the elephants but they were, on this occasion, innocent).

We saw the most extraordinary sitings. Lions killing a giraffe, 8 black rhinos in the waterhole.

The central restaurant was not great. Go early so the food is hot. It was a pain that you could not braai. The swimming pool was out of action the whole time we were there and had been for some time.

We had an excellent night drive."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2018
"Our second trip. No night drive so just supper and bed but very comfortable.

Wonderful singing by the staff at supper."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2018
"As above, a good place to overnight on the way in and the way out of Windhoek.

Our timings were tight (very early flight) so did not give it full justice."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2018
"This was one of the great joys of our month long safari.

When you arrive and they put the brakes on and you stop outside the lodge your heart keeps moving forwards over the absolutely stunning view across the Chobe River Valley. Stunning.
The rooms were wonderful with fabulous views over the valley. Our long day, with a boat rip and a 60km game drive was one of the best safari days we have had (15 lions, hundreds of elephants, buffalo, lechwe etc).

Our guide, Ali, was one of the very best we have had and set the standard for the rest of the trip.

Chobe is massive and so intimate encounters with animals are not what it is about but if you want to see dozens of hippos, hundreds and hundreds of elephants and thousands of buffalo in a vista that can take them, this is it.

We generally prefer to go to parks where you can go off road for more close up encounters but that seemed irrelevant here. We would gladly go there again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

"Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2018
"Absolutely excellent. AK, our guide, was simply superb. We tracked lions by sight (spoor) and sound (roaring) and saw 5 week old cubs. Our boat trip on the water wonderful, as was the mokoro trip. We saw Pel's fishing owl.

I would go back there in a heartbeat."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

"Sandibe Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2018
"Fab and groovy. Cannot fault it.

Our guide, KK was brilliant. Our drives along the border with Moremi were magical with animal life at every distance from near to far.

Wonderful braai in the middle of a salt pan. Murray, the Exec Chef was great and the food excellent.

Saw two honey badgers, porcupine and civet. And leopard!

The camp has a really good atmosphere. Very laid back but really comfortable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2018
"Just like my old Officers Mess in Hong Kong. Fabulous views.

We really enjoyed dinner in the Livingstone Room.

Excellent swimming pool.

Good job I am deaf because the roar of the constant helicopter traffic is a pain.

I did a fishing trip for a morning. Absolutely dreadful. The kit provided was poor and we effectively ran out of traces and pretty much had to stop. This was not cheap as I had to pay for the whole boat and i felt seriously ripped off."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Terrible
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
InterContinental O.R. Tambo

InterContinental O.R. Tambo

"InterContinental O.R. Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 30 Sep 2018
"Our second stay. It is just incredibly well positioned and comfortable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

My Sep 2016 trip

South Africa between 24 Sep 2016 and 14 Oct 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"The best safari we have ever had. Great accommodation. Planning our 2018 trip now.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No. Keep doing what you are doing and I will be back"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


InterContinental O.R. Tambo

InterContinental O.R. Tambo

"InterContinental O.R. Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2016
"After a long overnight flight it was a great relief to find exactly how close to the arrivals hall the hotel was, especially as I was on crutches at the time.

It was exactly what we needed and we will use it again in the future."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Image alt

Londolozi Founders Camp

"Londolozi Founders Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2016
"We have been on many safaris in the past but nothing has come close to Londolozi. We cannot fault it. The actual safari experience, of being out in the wild and getting up close and personal with the wildlife available was absolutely outstanding. The exposure of the animals to a minimum of encroaching vehicles made it very special.

Londolozi had been very highly recommended by some close friends but there are few times in life when you can genuinely say "exceeds expectations".
Best memories? The leopards? The Big 5 game drive ( yep, the lot, in one drive). Hunting with wild dogs, almost as one of the pack?

The food was wonderful.
Next visit being planned as we write."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ocean Eleven

Ocean Eleven

"Ocean Eleven review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2016
"What a lovely spot. You go to Hermanus to see whales and we did, from our room window, within 2 minutes of arrival. If I have any quibble at all, it was that the internet signal was bait varied but believe me, we were very happy and would definitely stay there again.

Breakfasts were excellent. The welcome was great and the rooms are delightful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Last Word Franschhoek

The Last Word Franschhoek

"The Last Word Franschhoek review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2016
"Another gem. Will definitely stay there again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Victoria & Alfred Hotel

"Victoria & Alfred Hotel review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2016
"Could not be more central. Exactly what we needed after a hectic 3 weeks in country."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Namibia holiday

Namibia between 6 Aug 2010 and 23 Aug 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was an adventure, not a holiday. 3000km of amazement.

The distances and the challenges of the roads were greater than I expected. The sheer scale of the country amazed us. The contrast between so many different areas meant that it was like having several different holidays in one. We have travelled in Kenya and South Africa in the past and apart from Windhoek, felt completely safe.

Kayaking with Cape fur seals, the balloon flight and tracking leopards were really top ten experiences. Tracking the desert adapted elephants was also very special.

Etosha was difficult to get a handle on because it is so vast. We had a fabulous leopard sighting where a big male leopard had taken to some shade under the solar panel that was powering the water pump for the waterhole. It eventually rolled off the platform and started stalking an impala but did not complete the attack and then we had to leave.

Lodge staff were very helpful especially at Doro Nawas and Okonjima. I cannot recommend Okonjima enough. It was fabulous.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

You could be a little more honest about the distances involved. If I had been fully aware of the 300km I was going to do I might I have tweaked it a bit. In truth, I cannot complain and will be happy to use you again for our next trip to Tanzania in 2012........!"

Feedback response

Namibia is a vast country and sometimes there are long drives between lodges. We encourage our travellers to take regular breaks when driving and not to try to drive too far in one day. For reference, the distances and driving times involved are listed on page 17 of our brochure.


Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Welcome start to trip at Elegant Guesthouse"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2010
"Welcoming and comfortable. Good breakfast. Rather stylish ambience. Well appointed. Not far from Joe's Beerhouse!

Would be happy to start or finish a safari here."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2010
"Arrived late after an arduous drive from Windhoek. A delayed start trying to sort out lost luggage (Thanks SAA!) meant the last two hours were in the dark.

The setting is fantastic. The rooms were very comfortable and the welcome was warm and friendly. I cannot fault their care. Specifically we were advised to crack on with our planned activities (balloon flight and trip to Sossusvlei) as the weather was closing in. Thank Heavesn we did as everything was cancelled th next day. The balloon flight is a must. We have ballooned across the Serengeti and frankly this was better. The pilots were superb and amazingly skilled. A top ten lifetime experience.

The DeadVlei was amazing. A bit like an early Star Trek set or an artists installation. Also, the dunes were heaving with life. Beetles, lizards, butterflies etc.

To be honest, I was not looking forward to this part of the trip much but I was astonished. It was a magical place to visit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse"

3 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2010
"Peter and Margot could not have been more helpful. The apartment on the Strand was outstanding.

We did quadbiking, sandboarding, kayaking with Cape Fur seals and shark fishing from the beach. It was fantastic fun and our children loved it. Swakopmund was amazing.

The restaurants were first class, especially the Tug. They have no concept of portion control and two standard main courses would have fed all 5 of us. It was useful to just settle for three nights before the next leg. The distances are vast and you need to pace yourselves. Thank you for your advice on this."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2010
"Mostly good. We did a bush walk and elephant tracking and they were outstanding. Our guide, Michael, could not have been more helpful. Other staff were not quite as helpful although we loved the singing on the last night.

The legal waiver you are asked to sign on arrival is a bit much and I noticed that nobody else had signed it. I appreciate that there are risks to being in Africa but the hosts must take some responsibility as well as the guests.

The maintenance man did sort out a puncture for me very quickly and efficiently.

The swimming pool was rather green and not useable."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Anderssons Camp"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2010
"The very best thing about the camp was the waterhole. We had excellent sightings of black rhino, eland, oryx, hartebeest and other game.

The night drive was also very good with an excellent encounter with lions and a very rare sighting of African Wild Cat."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2010
"This is a very comfortable lodge with good facilities and very good food.

The pool was excellent and the tents very comfortable and well appointed."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

"Okonjima Villa"

2 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2010
"Absolutely outstanding in every way. The setting and the luxury of the experience cannot be bettered. The waterhole itself provided some of our best sightings, including porcupine and honey badger.

Hearing cheetahs purr was very special and tracking a leopard with telemetry on our last afternoon is one of the most exciting things I have ever done.

The food was fabulous and I would happily eat at Martin's restaurant every night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team