This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ocean Eleven
Ocean Eleven
Ocean Eleven
Ocean Eleven
Ocean Eleven

Reviews of Ocean Eleven

Wildlife sightings and reviews

35 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ocean Eleven and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 35
Duration
Arrival date
Mr P & family
Dublin

"Ocean Eleven review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2019
"This place was beautiful with gorgeous ocean views.

Our only issue was that we ( 2 parents plus 3 children) were given a huge honeymoon style room for us plus a 2 bedroom family suite for the 3 children. We could all have easily fitted into the suite at a saving of the cost of one room and we cannot understand why this was not offered.

The town was lovely and the location of the Guesthouse is spectacular. I would totally recommend this to anyone to stay." See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Lovely stay at Ocean Eleven"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2017
"The appartment was really beautiful and offered great views over the bay." See all these reviews: 14n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Ceredigion

"Truly lovely!"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2017
"A wonderful hotel set on the cliff path with incredible views of the ocean [we saw Whales from our balcony]; also the mountains.

Staff were wonderful, extremely helpful and sociable and nothing was too much trouble. Megan booked taxis for us, gave advice on local restaurants and made suggestions for driving routes of interest.

We were in room 10 upstairs with a large terrace. The room was very clean and the bed extremely comfortable. We really like the relaxed atmosphere here. The only slight negative comment was that the bathroom smelt quite musty but this did not detract from our enjoyment of this lovely hotel.

Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of cerals, cold meats and fruit and they even had marmite for our toast! There was also a good choice of cooked items to order and these were cooked beautifully.

The comunal areas were clean, very comfy and bright and airy. The pool area was stunning but un fortunately it was too cold for a swim! We would certainly recommend this hotel as a great place to stay with excellent service and facilities." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family A
Scarborough

"Ocean Eleven review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2016
"What a lovely spot. You go to Hermanus to see whales and we did, from our room window, within 2 minutes of arrival. If I have any quibble at all, it was that the internet signal was bait varied but believe me, we were very happy and would definitely stay there again.

Breakfasts were excellent. The welcome was great and the rooms are delightful." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Ms H
Kent

"Great comfort in a great location"

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2015
"Overlooking the South Atlantic in very comfortable rooms with great service." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr N & Mis R
Scotland

"Great view from our balcony"

2 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2014
"Friendly, helpful staff and a great location, was only here for two nights and had no problems in that time. As it is on a raised location we could see whales from the breakfast table and from our upstairs room. Room was a good size, clean and well kept.

The town was an easy walk on a good path along the cliff." See all these reviews: 16n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Manchester

"Good stopover for whale watching"

2 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2014
"Location was excellent for whale watching, we watched them several times from our room. Staff very helpful booking restaurants/with luggage etc.

Rooms getting a little tired but clean. About a 10 minute walk from town, so it can feel a bit lonely walking home at night." See all these reviews: 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
UK

"Excellent stay at Ocean Eleven"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2014
"Marvellous location on cliff top. Restaurants in easy walking distance. Excellent accommodation and service from very friendly & welcoming staff.

An ideal location for whale watching." See all these reviews: 34n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Farnham

"Brilliant views - lovely accomodation"

2 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2014
"We loved Ocean Eleven - it was well placed to walk into the town where there are loads of lovely restaurants and some boutique shops. The area feels very safe so able to walk about at night and the coast walk is lovely.

The room was lovely - very spacious and a separate dressing room and bathroom. The wooden floorboards are quaint but a little squeaky at night. Not really an issue.

I have never seen such an amazing array of fruits for breakfast - truly superb and lots of other foods to choose from. The eggs were a bit of a disappointment - I asked for medium poached eggs [expected the yolks to be creamy] but they were rock hard; the next day I asked for scrambled and they were like an omelette." See all these reviews: 8n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Yeovil

"Intend to return!"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jan 2014
"We arrived here very early in the morning and were greeted most warmly, and even though check in was hours ahead, we were offered breakfast and a place to change into our summer clothing.

We had one of the suites (all that was available at the time of booking) and this served us very well. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated, a bit like staying in a White Company catalogue set! At Whale watching time this would be fabulous, to sit on your own balcony with an uninterrupted view of the ocean.

Breakfasts (the only meals served) were stupendous. A wonderful array of everything really. At our first breakfast I was so impressed by the platters containing 12 different types of fresh fruit, but this was supassed on day two by 16 fruits! The public areas are airy and smart.

There is a footpath near the back of Ocean Eleven which provides a comfortable stroll into town and to the harbour in the opposite direction.
We highly recomm" See all these reviews: 14n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 35
93%
35 reviews of Ocean Eleven by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
25
8
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Hermanus

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


The Marine

The Marine

Set on the clifftop, The Marine is a luxury seafront hotel close to the centre of Hermanus, one of South Africa's top whale-watching areas.


100% (6 reviews)
Auberge Provence

Auberge Provence

Elegant yet relaxed, Auberge Provence is a comfortable guesthouse with stunning views over Walker Bay. It is an excellent place to base yourself for whale watching around Hermanus.


100% (4 reviews)
Harbour House Hotel

Harbour House Hotel

Harbour House Hotel is a modern hotel conveniently located in the centre of the old harbour town in Hermanus and offers eighteen tasteful rooms.


87% (3 reviews)
Birkenhead House

Birkenhead House

Birkenhead House is a wonderfully indulgent, sophisticated base from which to explore Hermanus and its environs, and also for whale watching in season.


100% (2 reviews)
Auberge Burgundy

Auberge Burgundy

Auberge Burgundy is a quaint Provençal-style guesthouse, in the centre of Hermanus, beside the old harbour.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa