This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs R from Yeovil

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

6

Lodges stayed in

25

Excursions taken

0

Well done Tracy, virtually perfect holiday

South Africa between 18 Jan 2014 and 8 Feb 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Apart from the hiccup at Storms River this holiday was absolutely perfect for us. Interesting places to see and excellent accommodation. We do love the contrasts that Tracy gave us.

We fell in love with South Africa, its people, its food and of course that absolutely glorious weather.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No, we really like this company and will be back!"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Ocean Eleven

Ocean Eleven

"Intend to return!"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jan 2014
"We arrived here very early in the morning and were greeted most warmly, and even though check in was hours ahead, we were offered breakfast and a place to change into our summer clothing.

We had one of the suites (all that was available at the time of booking) and this served us very well. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated, a bit like staying in a White Company catalogue set! At Whale watching time this would be fabulous, to sit on your own balcony with an uninterrupted view of the ocean.

Breakfasts (the only meals served) were stupendous. A wonderful array of everything really. At our first breakfast I was so impressed by the platters containing 12 different types of fresh fruit, but this was supassed on day two by 16 fruits! The public areas are airy and smart.

There is a footpath near the back of Ocean Eleven which provides a comfortable stroll into town and to the harbour in the opposite direction.
We highly recomm"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Phantom Forest

"Honeymoon Heaven!"

3 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2014
"We had a very pleasant stay at Phanton Forest and our tree house was lovely. Well appointed and luxurious, absolutely ideal for a honeymoon. Unfortunately, our honeymoon was a long time ago so a bath a deu overlooking the forest no longer has quite the same allure it might once have had!
It is possible to walk through the forest on a boardwalk and this was enjoyable.

Our criticism would be of the catering arrangements. Breakfast was excellent as was the evening meal. However, you had to have 5 courses or nothing. When I questioned this I was told that the owner was happy for us to take only two or three courses, but we must still pay for 5!! We like to have a bottle of wine with our meal, so eating in town at night ( a car journey away) was not really an option and thus we were a captive client. The problem was exacerbated by the Morrocan restaurant being closed so we had no dining alternatives.

Still, we did enjoy our stay and the food was good but simply too much ( a common problem in South Africa!)"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Storms River Restcamp

Storms River Restcamp

"wonderful location, shame about the shed!"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jan 2014
"This is a fascinating place to stay and watch the thundering waves on the rocks. There is aso excellent hiking but a lot is on steep hills so you need to be fairly fit.

Unfortunately, we were allocated what I can only describe as a converted garden shed. We knew that this could not be right and managed to get moved to something very much better ( good in fact) but this was for one night only. The next day we had to repeat our removals to yet another cabin ( also very good). Thus our stay here was rather itinerant and this somewhat spoilt the stay. We did make the most of our time but could have done without all the upheaval and frankly the shock of our allocated first "home" I have rated the room as terrible ( which it was) had we been placed in either of our subsequent rooms I would have said good.

I have spoken to Tracy about the issues here, and I am happy with the result of our discussion and feel sure that there will be double checking in the future to ensure that no one else is placed in the same position.

I cannot comment on food as we self catered, a welcome change after several days of large portions!"
Average
Location
Excellent
Rooms
Terrible
Kwandwe Ecca Lodge

Kwandwe Ecca Lodge

"Wow!"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jan 2014
"Just look at the pictures of this place and make your own mind up!

A wonderful experience all round."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Oulap Country House, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Quirky and memorable"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jan 2014
"After the opulence of Ecca Lodge our room here came as a bit of a shock - edwardian museum with reclamation features!

This will not be to everyones taste, but Tracy was absolutely right in thinking that we would love the quirkiness and the family themselves. A real experience, dining with this fascinating couple (and assorted family members). Food was wholesome and liberal in amount as was the wine!

Their hospitality and wonderful stories made this a stay to remember."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Mimosa, Montague

"Mimosa, Montague review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jan 2014
"A comfortable stay at this pleasant large guesthouse. The room was large and comfortable, the grounds pleasant and breakfast varied. We did not eat evening meals here.

There was nothing wrong with Mimosa, it just did not have quite the added je ne sais quoi that our other accommodation had."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Image alt

Rusthof Country House, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Swag, tails and cushion heaven!"

3 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2014
"Well no one could accuse the Rusthof of skimping on furnishings!

This was a perfectly located guest house in central Franschoek , yet peaceful in its own little oasis. A very pleasant stay, lovely surroundings and yet another good breakfast. This place has the added bonus of becoming Ryan's kitchen in the evenings - the best place we ate in and very much recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat

"Loved it."

4 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2014
"Another wonderful stay, this time in our own little stately home. Lovely, well appointed large room in the main house, complete with own lounge area and mini conservatory.

Location wonderful and the staff were absolutely top notch. Food wasn't bad either!

My husband is hoping to come into money so he can buy this place!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

My Nov 2010 trip

Namibia between 8 Nov 2010 and 29 Nov 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"We travelled a little over 2,600 miles in 3 weeks and could have carried on! We had an excellent holiday and really appreciated the differing styles of accomodation. We learnt a lot and thoroughly enjoyed Namibia. What a range of things to see and do. We would recommend Turnstone Tours who gave us an excellent trip to Sandwhich Harbour.

Chris McIntyre is clearly well regarded in this country as his name was mentioned several times.

This is our second holiday organised by Expert Africa and we would not consider travelling with anyone else to the African countries they deal with.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No - you had this one absolutley spot on. Sabina had taken on board our likes and preferences and had suggested an ideal itinery"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

"a culinary star in the Kalahari"

1 night Arrived 10 Nov 2010
"We arrived very tired and really only wanted a snack and bed so were dismayed to find that we had to wait until 8pm for dinner.

However, we were delighted with the meal and the splendid way it was presented. Quite outstanding really for such a remote spot.

The accomodation was clean and comfortable and we certainly had no complaints"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

"A quirky "Motel" which we enjoyed."

2 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2010
"Rooms were fine, clean and comfortable. The restaurant was more like a museum which led to a surreal dining experience which we will certainly remember. Well located for trips to Fish River Canyon and the small swimming pool was most welcome"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"What a place we LOVED it!"

2 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2010
"We stayed in one of the cabins ( Eagle's View) and it was fabulous. We adored the location and the view over the desert which was like an ever changing painting of subtle hues. The accomodation could not be faulted, spacious superbly equipped and clean.

We ate one evening in the restaurant and then had a BBQ pack the second night. The pack was HUGE - it would have done for 4 people and we did suggest to the owners that maybe they could consider introducing a European sized pack.

Breakfast, which we also had in our room was equally generous in range and portion size. Would return here in a shot"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

"An informative and homely stay"

1 night Arrived 15 Nov 2010
"We learnt so much about farming in this hostile environment and their wonderful initiatives for a sustainable future. The rooms were simple and clean and our hosts most accomodating.

Food was virtually all from the farm and nicely cooked. We would recommend a stay over here as "must do" to learn more about life in this wonderful country."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2010
"Another good lodge with comfortable accomodation in a nicely layed out bungalow. We certainly had no complaints"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"An excellent base for Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2010
"Beautiful room, cheery helpful staff and owners and excellent location. Breakfast was good.

Could not ask for more"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Asleep under the stars bliss!"

2 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2010
"We loved this place as well! The main building looks a bit as if it's out of Star Wars but that was more than offset by our beautiful room, with spacious bedroom, bathroom - including outdoor shower and, of course, those wonderful beds that we rolled out under the stars at night.

We found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

We happened to meet the MD of Wilderness Safaris who was visiting and expressed our concern at the exorbitant cost of safaris to see the desert adapted elephants. He assured us that Chris [Ed: Chris McIntyre, of Expert Africa] had already raised this with him and that it would be rectified next season. He actually gave us a free safari so we were, of course, very happy customers."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"better than expected"

3 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2010
"This is a government owned and run safari lodge and as such does not compare to the other wonderful places we stayed. Having said that the accomodation was actually better than expected and we found the camp quite attractive.

We had already decided to cook our own food there as we try and avoid mass buffets whenever possible. However, the shop rather let us down with very little stock, but nevertheless we managed but had to cajole 2 plates and cutlery out of the managemnt. Why are these not provided? With only a little more effort this place could become very good.

Certainly we considered that it was preferable to stay within Etosha rather than a superior but more remote lodge. The pool was most welcome and the waterhole provided several sitings of white and black rhino which delighted us both."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Fine for one night"

1 night Arrived 25 Nov 2010
"We actually preferred Okaukuejo to Halali. We decided to eat in the restaurant but went without lunch entirely when we saw platters of mussels and other fish/ meats which were open to the elements and not chilled. Disturbingly the left overs were part of the evening meal. Do guests get tummy problems here?

Having said that we did partake of the freshly cooked meal which was adequate and actually rather better that our make do and mend meals we had prepared in Okonjima!

The rooms were excellent, spacious and clean but the whole camp looked a bit like a freshly painted concentration camp!
Of course the reason for being in Etosha was to see animals and this we most certainly did - vast numbers - including several Lions. We were therefore more than satisfied with our stay."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Cheetah heaven"

2 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2010
"We arrived too late for the afternoon activities and therefore did not learn quite how everything works. By day 2 we knew that our Guide sorted out our days and not reception. It might have been good to have this explained when we arrived. Also on night one couples were left on their own and then integrated on day two. We would actually have preferred to be integrated when we arrived as we felt a bit out of it on our first meal.

Despite these niggles we had an excellent time here, it's a fairly slick operation and they know what they are doing. We didn't initially ask how much safaris cost and were therefore amazed to ultimately find out that they were very reasonable at around £40 each. Rooms were comfortable (but architectually lacking) with a stuning view. Dining was a good experience.

Of course the reason to be here was to see the Cheetahs and Leopard which we did - a truly wonderful experience and not to be missed"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

We've been to Heaven and seen Hell

Rwanda and 3 other countries between 25 Jan 2009 and 8 Feb 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a fabulous holiday and absolutley adored Rwanda. Chimpanzee trecking was very hard work but we did it. Saw lots of Golden Monkeys in the gorgeous Bamboo forest and about 14 Gorillas in the Virungas - one chased us - wanted to play apparently - but I certainly led the advance of the retreat! Of course Virunga Lodge was our heaven.

Excellent guide in Rwanda

Patrick was helpful, courteous and knowledgeable. Everything one could ask for.

The cancelled flights and lost luggage were most annoying but we got over that and the agents got our luggage to us after 2 days so not too bad in the end. Shooting Star found us bits to get by on including a size 12 bikini for my size 16 body ! not pretty sight but did allow me to swim.

All your agenbts were completely efficient

Thought Stone Town was the dirtiest place we had ever visited and one night was definately enough. It does not in anyway compare with Marrakesh. There was more litter and dirt in one square foot of Stone town than in the whole of Rwanda. And where was hell - being inside the old underground slave cell - totally atmospheric and hauntingly awful.

Suggestions for improvement:

No you seem to have it spot on - maybe a secreatary to help fill in this form!!

Thank you for a wonderful holiday"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Macushla House

Macushla House

"Macushla House review"

1 night Arrived 26 Jan 2009
"A delightful place with a good ambience I would definately stay here again if I ever found myself in Nairobi. A second night here would have been most welcome"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

ORTPN Resthouse, Rwanda (this camp has since closed)

"ORTPN Resthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jan 2009
"Tracey warned us that this was basic and she wasn't wrong!!! It was not a comfortable place to stay and the food was of the stodge variety.

Having said that it was of course the only place to stay and if we had missed it out we wouldn't have been able to tour Rwanda; it is on that basis that I would recommend it to others."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Terrible
Food
Terrible
Moriah Hill Resort

Moriah Hill Resort

"Moriah Hill Resort review"

1 night Arrived 29 Jan 2009
"A pleasant place that allowed us to have a fantastic HOT shower in an ensuite bathroom - LOVELY!! Most welcome after the rigours of OTPN

The staff tried hard and the restaurant balcony was a nice place to dine, this made a good stop over."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Virunga Lodge

Virunga Lodge

"Virunga Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jan 2009
"I have been to heaven and it is Virunga Lodge.
We absolutely adored this place it was complete food for our souls. The setting is fantastic and I shed a tear when we left.

It is of course not 5 star in the generally accepted sense and if visitors are after marble and deep divans etc this would not be the place for them. However, for us it was perfection, the staff are fantastic and the overall ambience superb. We loved sitting round the fire in the lounge discussing our stories with fellow guests and then dining with them iaround the large table.

This is the place I will dream about when I can't get to sleep at nights!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Serena Hotel Dar

Serena Hotel Dar

"Royal Palm Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 2 Feb 2009
"After delayed flights we were not here long enough to make much comment other than reception were surly and did not give us the wake up call requested. Had three hours sleep and moved on!"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Rooms
Good
Shooting Star Lodge

Shooting Star Lodge

"Shooting Star Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2009
"This is the Zanzibar equivalemt of a UK understated country house hotel and we loved it. The setting is fantastic and the food excellent. It was the perfect end to our holiday"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

1 night Arrived 8 Feb 2009
"Liked the quirky room, but it may have been awkward for someone who was a bit unstable ( hell of a walk with several different height steps to the ensuite!!).

They were most helpful in providing us with drinks and something to eat prior to our early morning departure."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team