This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Macushla House
Macushla House

Reviews of Macushla House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

47 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Macushla House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 47
Duration
Arrival date
Dr Z
USA

"Macushla comes with monkeys!"

2 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2019
"Macushla House is a funky B&B with monkeys in the yard and a great location.

Breakfast was quite good, we felt pressured into dinner which was far less good and rather expensive. Location is excellent for visiting Giraffe Center.

It was raining when we were there, so we didn’t get to use the pool and patio, which looked lovely." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs Jana
Berlin

"A perfect stay in Nairobi"

1 night Arrived 8 Nov 2019
"It was so excellent, that I booked a second night after the safari. Delicious food, nice location, very quit, super people." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs K & 5
Maryland

"Macushla House review"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2019
"Due to a late arriving Safarilink plane, we didn't get as much time at Macushla House as we were hoping. We had really looked forward to some relaxing by the pool and on their patio.

What time we did have there was lovely - drinks in the bar shooing away the monkey, a HUGE dinner which was very good, a HUGE breakfast and a nice chat with other guests. The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms large and nice and the showers long! Just wish we had had more time to enjoy the property, the little boardwalk to watch the monkeys and the pool.

The location was not ideal if you wanted to go back out for a meal. Once we got there, we decided not to leave." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
E & D
New Mexico

"Quiet place to land"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jan 2019
"I couldn't imagine a more prefect place to spend a few nights in Nairobi.

This gem of an old manor house has a beautiful garden, lovely colonial-style furnishings and just exudes a feeling of graciousness.

The quiet at night was a great treat after many long hours of travel and just in case you woke up forgetting where you were, a troop of some 40 black-faced vervet monkeys clambered across the roof in the morning." See all these reviews: 18n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Ascot

"Macushla House review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2018
"Very comfortable good environment" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mrs J.
Colchester

"Macushla House Review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Dec 2018
"We loved Macushla House. It was a perfect introduction to our holiday in Kenya. We arrived tired and early in the morning (the traffic from the airport wasn't as bad as we were expecting) and were immediately made to feel welcome. Our rooms were ready and we were expected for breakfast so we were able to have a rest and get ourselves sorted out easily. The staff were all friendly and helpful, and it was a very relaxed environment. The gardens are lovely and although the view of the Ngong Hills is largely obscured by trees we could see them in the distance. We spent the afternoon visiting the school my husband and I taught at 30+ years ago and returned to the hotel early evening. We ate in the hotel both nights as one of our party had been unwell in England and needed to rest - the menu choice and food were good both nights and very reasonably priced. Having driven around Nairobi and seen the development and challenges of the roads we really appreciated the quiet haven of the hotel. It is quite a way from the city but well worth it - as a family we don't like large impersonal hotels and all agreed we would definitely stay there again if ever back in Nairobi. It is a bit quirky with different themed rooms and interesting decor.
We visited the Elephant Orphanage which was excellent and the Giraffe Centre which is a bit more touristy but interesting nevertheless - both are easily reached from Macushla House but you need a driver / taxi.
Our two nights there set us up perfectly for the rest of the holiday.
The stand alone bungalow is being prepared as an airbnb property with the option of self catering or using the hotel for breakfast / meals." See all these reviews: 5n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D
Ilfracombe

"Colonial comfort at Macushla House"

1 night Arrived 4 Aug 2018
"We arrived at Macushla house late at night from JK airport and were greeted with the broadest possible smile. We were offered a cooked meal which we thought was good considering it was around 11.00 pm, we went for a hot drink and then to bed.

The room was a very good size and comfortable. In the morning we had a lovely breakfast and strolled around the house and grounds. It was beautifully decorated in an old colonial style which was very appealing.

In the grounds we walked over a long wooden bridge to be greeted by an inquisitive troop of monkeys that ushered us back to the house. Only an overnight stay to get us close to our next destination of Giraffe Manor, which was literally just up the road.

Would definitely use this place again and recommend it as an overnight stop." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs Muriel B
USA

"Outstanding Service and Great Location"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2017
"We were absolutely delighted with the kind, generous staff here who welcomed us upon our late arrival and was willing to rustle us up some grub close to 11 p.m. They also made a point to learn how to make our favorite cocktails. Their willingness to make us happy was charming and very pleasing.

We were super happy to find out that the Giraffe Center was just minutes away, as well as the Elephant Orphanage. The room was large and the accommodations were very comfortable and clean." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya; 2n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Stockholm

"Could have stayed forever II"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2016
"We returned to Macushla House after our safari and it felt great to be back, again diving into the warm and homely atmosphere, where the staff make you feel part of the family.

A quiet and cosy place with a great vibe, well hidden in the greenery of Karen and only 15 minutes by foot from the Giraffe Center.

It is also very conveniently situated if you want to visit the Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Stockholm

"Could have stayed forever"

1 night Arrived 1 Jul 2016
"This quiet and cosy hideaway with a purely British colonial vibe felt very homely, with it´s stylish interiors, fireplaces and a lush garden full of cheeky vervet monkeys. We loved the staff, of whom we especially remember Peter, Jane, Dorcas and Paul. The food is good and the service outstanding.

We stayed there in the beginning and at the end of our stay in Kenya, first in room no. 3 and then in room no. 6. Both rooms were very spacious, with one double and one single bed and a great modern bathroom. There was plenty of room for your luggage.

We really enjoyed staying there, particularly in room no. 6. Our only complaint is that both mattresses in room no. 3 were obviously outdated and uncomfortable. As we stayed only one night on that occasion, we never told the staff about it." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 47
90%
47 reviews of Macushla House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
25
20
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nairobi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


The Emakoko

The Emakoko

The Emakoko is a luxurious, owner-managed safari lodge in a beautiful gorge on the edge of Nairobi National Park.


96% (77 reviews)
Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

The Eka is an affordably priced business-class hotel in a relatively convenient location between Nairobi International Airport and Wilson Airport.


86% (61 reviews)
Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

The Ole-Sereni is a modern, stylish hotel neighbouring Nairobi National Park and located 6km from Wilson domestic airport.


79% (56 reviews)
Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nbi Apt

The Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport (formerly known as the Lazizi Premiere and now part of the InterContinental Hotels Group) is the oldest hotel at Nairobi International Airport.


88% (52 reviews)
Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa

The Aero Club of East Africa is a private members' club in the grounds of Wilson Airport, Nairobi, offering offering comfortable rooms and a good restaurant, bar and swimming pool to non-members.


79% (27 reviews)
Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points Nairobi Apt

The Four Points by Sheraton (part of the Marriot group) is one of the newest additions to the hotels within Kenya International Airport’s security perimeter.


91% (26 reviews)
Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor is a unique, perennially popular lodge on the outskirts of Nairobi, offering up-close-and-personal encounters with the rare Rothschild giraffes that roam its extensive grounds.


97% (23 reviews)
Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp is the only tented camp located inside Nairobi National Park, making it a great option for a true safari stay close to the city and airports.


90% (6 reviews)
The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Nairobi and has a reputation for its colourful history dating back to 1904.


100% (4 reviews)
Palacina

Palacina

The Palacina is a complex of accommodation options in a quieter part of central Nairobi.


80% (4 reviews)
Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi is a luxury country-house style hotel, with a spa and gym, in the wealthy suburb of Karen.


100% (3 reviews)
Hogmead

Hogmead

Hogmead is a stylish, luxury boutique hotel/homestay in a secluded part of Langata in south-west Nairobi, very close to Nairobi National Park and the elephant orphanage.


80% (2 reviews)
Sankara

Sankara

Sankara is a strikingly built hotel in the bustling central Nairobi suburb of Westlands, primarily used as a business stay, with very good dining and leisure facilities.


90% (2 reviews)
One Forty Eight

One Forty Eight

One Forty Eight is a very stylish boutique hotel in one of the leafiest corners of the southwest Nairobi suburb of Karen-Langata. The Giraffe Centre at Giraffe Manor is just a 10-minute walk away.


100% (1 review)
Tribe

Tribe

Design-led, contemporary hotel in the Village Market area of Gigiri, a largely diplomatic and luxury residential suburb 10km north of Nairobi’s central business district.


No reviews yet
The Stanley

The Stanley

The Stanley is a large, traditional hotel – the oldest in Nairobi – offering a range of facilities.


No reviews yet
Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp is a rustic and affordable safari camp in a wildlife sanctuary a 30-minute drive towards Mombasa from Nairobi’s international airport.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa