This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Macushla House

Reviews of Macushla House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

52 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Macushla House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 52
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs R
Bath

"Macushla House review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2022
"The staff were very attentive and helpful.

The food was tasty, but we did think that the picnics provided for our day out were rather expensive. The picnics were good, but cost about the same as our evening meal which was a little surprising.

We arrived late at night and they were extremely welcoming." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B.
Arizona

"Macushla House review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2022
"Macushla House was terrific. Staff (particularly Peter, Millicent & Stephen) were extremely attentive, kind & warm.

Our meals (breakfast & dinner) were delicious. Room accommodations (Room # 6 and a day room on our return) were both very nice. Lovely, welcoming property. We really felt "taken care of" there, particularly after having traveled so long to get there (all the way from the U.S.), and then again after our 8 nights away on safari. Very, very relaxing. We would absolutely stay there again.

One particular event deserves special note: We arranged (from our final camp stay at Sala's Camp) to have a last night's dinner @ Macushla House with friends from Nairobi the night of our departure flight. Peter & Millicent were particularly accommodating to us and our guests. They even helped me make phone contact with our guests (when they were a bit late in arriving), and then physically aided/helped the woman of the couple (who was a bit ambulatory challenged because of age).

Their warmth & kindness was SO genuine! They each deserve very high praise; they are wonderful people! (And, of course, the food & wine that evening were excellent.)" See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs B
Kent

"Macushla House review; Welcoming to kenya!"

4 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2022
"Our Welcome by the lovely Stephen and Peter made me so glad to be back in Kenya. After a long & delayed flight we arrived from the airport very late and yet were still greeted warmly. A full dinner was cooked freshly (we were very hungry!).

The food was always excellent. We ate one evening at the Talisman restaurant which, although was a nice change in environment, we found the food was just as good at Macushla. When we went out early for Safari one day, it was no trouble for our breakfast to be made early and we could package it up for our picnic. Morning tea was brought out to us at the cottage at our request; heavenly.

The main house was comfortably furnished with interesting books on the coffee table and some interesting things to admire. There was a roaring fire (much needed as it was really chilly) with comfy sofas. The resident cats and monkeys were a complete delight. The garden was attractive; too cold to use the pool.

The cottage was cute, with a comfortable day bed on the verandah and lamu-style daybed in the lounge area. Our main criticism is the showers and bathroom temperature. A heated towel rail would make a big difference to take the edge off the chill when taking a shower. The showers could do with a bit more pressure. Perhaps a small log burner could be installed in the cottage lounge. The air was very chilly and damp down that end (it took 3 days for a t-shirt I rinsed some coffee from to dry). I don't remember it being quite so cold in July before. The chill did impact our enjoyment of our stay a little.

All in all we would definitely return to Macushla and would hope that the wonderful Peter and Stephen would still be there." See all these reviews: 17n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Activities:
Good
Ms U.
Toronto

"Macushla House review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Mar 2022
"A beautiful place with the most hospitable staff. The four of us were booked into 2 rooms, but because they had availability, they gave us an extra room so that my son and I could each have single room to ourselves, and the girls shared . It was most welcome since we were arriving from Canada after about 20 hours in transit.
In addition, we arrived at midnight, and were very hungry. The chef made us our requested food (pretty sure he got out of bed for this). Again, that was much appreciated.
It was the perfect place to ease into the safari with great food, quiet rooms, and lovely staff. Everyone was so welcoming, and told us how much they appreciated our business." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
E & D
New Mexico

"Love this quaint and quiet place"

1 night Arrived 21 Dec 2020
"If you really want peace and quiet in Nairobi, a bit of a rare commodity, this place is for you. It is tucked away in a corner of the Karen neighborhood, close to Giraffe Manor and the Sheldrick Wildlife Trust Nairobi orphanage.

The kitchen staff was very kind to prepare a big picnic lunch for us and our guide so we could stay out in Nairobi National Park all day. The style of the property is Colonial, and the public areas include a sitting room with wifi, two dining areas, a living room with a big fireplace, and lovely gardens around the pool." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Dr Z
USA

"Macushla comes with monkeys!"

2 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2019
"Macushla House is a funky B&B with monkeys in the yard and a great location.

Breakfast was quite good, we felt pressured into dinner which was far less good and rather expensive. Location is excellent for visiting Giraffe Center.

It was raining when we were there, so we didn’t get to use the pool and patio, which looked lovely." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs Jana
Berlin

"A perfect stay in Nairobi"

1 night Arrived 8 Nov 2019
"It was so excellent, that I booked a second night after the safari. Delicious food, nice location, very quit, super people." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs K & 5
Maryland

"Macushla House review"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2019
"Due to a late arriving Safarilink plane, we didn't get as much time at Macushla House as we were hoping. We had really looked forward to some relaxing by the pool and on their patio.

What time we did have there was lovely - drinks in the bar shooing away the monkey, a HUGE dinner which was very good, a HUGE breakfast and a nice chat with other guests. The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms large and nice and the showers long! Just wish we had had more time to enjoy the property, the little boardwalk to watch the monkeys and the pool.

The location was not ideal if you wanted to go back out for a meal. Once we got there, we decided not to leave." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
E & D
New Mexico

"Quiet place to land"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jan 2019
"I couldn't imagine a more prefect place to spend a few nights in Nairobi.

This gem of an old manor house has a beautiful garden, lovely colonial-style furnishings and just exudes a feeling of graciousness.

The quiet at night was a great treat after many long hours of travel and just in case you woke up forgetting where you were, a troop of some 40 black-faced vervet monkeys clambered across the roof in the morning." See all these reviews: 18n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Ascot

"Macushla House review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2018
"Very comfortable good environment" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 1-10 of 52
90%
52 reviews of Macushla House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
29
21
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nairobi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


The Emakoko

The Emakoko

The Emakoko is a luxurious, owner-managed safari lodge in a beautiful gorge on the edge of Nairobi National Park.


97% (86 reviews)
Four Points Nairobi Airport

Four Points Nairobi Airport

The Four Points by Sheraton, set within the perimeter of Nairobi International Airport, is ideally located for a first or last night in Kenya.


91% (68 reviews)
Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

The Eka is an affordably priced business-class hotel in a relatively convenient location between Nairobi International Airport and Wilson Airport.


86% (62 reviews)
Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

The Ole-Sereni is a modern, stylish hotel neighbouring Nairobi National Park and located 6km from Wilson domestic airport.


79% (58 reviews)
Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nbi Apt

The Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport (formerly known as the Lazizi Premiere and now part of the InterContinental Hotels Group) is the oldest hotel at Nairobi International Airport.


88% (52 reviews)
Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa

The Aero Club of East Africa is a private members' club in the grounds of Wilson Airport, Nairobi, offering offering comfortable rooms and a good restaurant, bar and swimming pool to non-members.


81% (30 reviews)
Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor is a unique, perennially popular lodge on the outskirts of Nairobi, offering up-close-and-personal encounters with the rare Rothschild giraffes that roam its extensive grounds.


98% (29 reviews)
Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi is a luxury country-house style hotel, with a spa and gym, in the wealthy suburb of Karen.


97% (6 reviews)
Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp is the only tented camp located inside Nairobi National Park, making it a great option for a true safari stay close to the city and airports.


88% (5 reviews)
The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Nairobi and has a reputation for its colourful history dating back to 1904.


100% (4 reviews)
Palacina

Palacina

The Palacina is a complex of accommodation options in a quieter part of central Nairobi.


80% (4 reviews)
Hogmead

Hogmead

Hogmead is a stylish, luxury boutique hotel/homestay in a secluded part of Langata in south-west Nairobi, very close to Nairobi National Park and the elephant orphanage.


80% (2 reviews)
Sankara

Sankara

Sankara is a strikingly built hotel in the bustling central Nairobi suburb of Westlands, primarily used as a business stay, with very good dining and leisure facilities.


90% (2 reviews)
Eden Nairobi

Eden Nairobi

One Forty Eight is a very stylish boutique hotel in one of the leafiest corners of the southwest Nairobi suburb of Karen-Langata. The Giraffe Centre at Giraffe Manor is just a 10-minute walk away.


100% (1 review)
Karen Gables

Karen Gables

Karen Gables is a small, high quality hotel in Nairobi with expansive gardens and only seven rooms.


100% (1 review)
The Stanley

The Stanley

The Stanley is a large, traditional hotel – the oldest in Nairobi – offering a range of facilities.


No reviews yet
Tribe

Tribe

Design-led, contemporary hotel in the Village Market area of Gigiri, a largely diplomatic and luxury residential suburb 10km north of Nairobi’s central business district.


No reviews yet
Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp is a rustic and affordable safari camp in a wildlife sanctuary a 30-minute drive towards Mombasa from Nairobi’s international airport.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa