This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Macushla House

Reviews of Macushla House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

53 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Macushla House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 53
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs LN
London

"Macushla House review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2015
"Macushla House is in pretty grounds and is good for the Game Park, Elephant Orphanage and the Giraffe Sanctuary. It is a very long drive in heavy traffic if you want to explore the centre of Nairobi.

The staff we talked to had not even been to the Orphanage or giraffe sanctuary so they could not provide information for us of what to expect. (Please take a bottle of water when you go!) Neither could they discuss things to do and places to go in and around the area. This could be easily rectified by taking the staff to these places and providing more leaflets in the information stand.

We stayed in the cottage rooms. They were clean and nice - great for people travelling together or for a family. Could use a mosquito net over the bed and possibly a fan.

Restaurant food was nice and was cooked to order so took a while which left time for a nice drink at the bar.. Picnic lunch was very basic - could be a lot more interesting.

If you get a taxi from the hotel make sure you find out from the owner the usual rate before you book and make sure that rate is agreed with the taxi driver. Personally, we would rather have booked a vehicle for the day and had the freedom that would have allowed us. There was a wedding shoot around the pool so we did not use it." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms Heidi
Chicago

"Great Service"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2015
"Macushla House was a nice place to relax and enjoy a couple of nights out of the tent. It was in a secluded part of Nairobi in an area called Karen. We felt safe and relaxed at the house. It was a bit of a drive from the airport which was a bit treacherous and dirty to get to but upon arrival we were happy to be there.

There were a few other guests at the house while we were there, not a very social, exciting atmosphere but it was a beautiful place to enjoy our time. The room was very dark and old. It was spacious and comfortable but seemed dated and different. The bathroom shower was pretty strange. It was just a shower head that drained directly into the floor. No tub, curtain or separate area. My husband had a lizard in his shower and i had a caterpillar on my toothbrush one morning. It wasn't a big deal, but I didn't really agree with the open window, no screen in the bathroom. I don't like to be naked with the creatures at the same time!

The pool was beautiful and we loved all the fun decorations around the house. My husband and I enjoyed dinner both nights and drinks by the fire as we played chess. Wi-fi is included in the main areas but there really isn't much to do here otherwise. We adored our server, Stephen! He did a fantastic job and really made us feel at home." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Seychelles; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
London

"Comfortable and friendly stay"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2015
"Gave us just what we wanted for a two night stay and well situated for giraffe sanctuary, elephant orphanage and Karen Blixen House- highly recommended." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Family
Surrey

"Lovey hideaway in Karen, close to attractions"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2015
"Due to our late departure from the UK, we arrived in the early hours of the morning, after a 45 minute drive from the airport. The owner and two other members of staff were waiting for us to offer us a warm welcome and show us to our room. The room was very clean and spacious, as was the bathroom. The beds were extremely comfortable and the shower functioned adequately. Bottled water was provided in the room.

In the morning, tea was brought to our room and then a good cooked breakfast was served to order in the lovely dining room, where free wifi was available. We learned that we were the only guests there and it really felt as if we were special guests in a family home. The very personal service continued, even when other guests arrived later that day. For dinner, we ordered a simple meal of spaghetti and tomato sauce which was plentiful and served with the same good service.

We did not have chance to use the pool, but we had a quick look at the well kept gardens which we would have enjoyed relaxing in if we had had the time.

We were very close to the Giraffe centre and the location was ideal for all the places we wanted to visit. We felt very safe as there were security gates at the entrance. We had passed many large, impersonal hotels on the way from the airport, so we were glad to be staying at a place with so much character.

Every member of staff treated us with great courtesy at all times. It was an excellent start to our holiday.

We left at 7.30am and it took us about an hour to get to Wilson airport, but it was a particularly busy time of day." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Peaceful retreat in Nairobi"

1 night Arrived 24 Feb 2015
"After a delay at immigration we finally arrived at Macushla just before midnight. We were greeted by welcoming smiles and an offer for the chef to make us some food. We declined this and retired to the very comfortable bed. Our room offered all we needed (including a hairdryer) though the bathroom could do with a little updating. When we mentioned the next day that we had found the room rather hot as we had not acclimatised a fan was quickly provided which made our second night more comfortable.

The staff, especially Peter, were very friendly and helpful and owner Caroline made a point of introducing herself to guests. When she discovered we were cat lovers she also invited us to help with feeding time for some of her six feline friends. Her dog was also about.

We spent a day at Macushla just relaxing in the garden by the pool and watching the antics of the resident vervet monkeys and then enjoyed a delicious and very good value dinner.

Whilst Macushla is further from the airport than some hotels the major part of the transfer time was taken up with getting out of the car park at the airport. It is obviously not practicable if you just need somewhere for a few hours before flights but if you have most of a day or can even stay two nights we think it is excellent. Karen is one of the nicer areas of Nairobi and the surroundings of Macushla are very quiet and peaceful. Our transfers with Southern Cross all went smoothly and the drivers were friendly and polite. We particularly appreciated our driver staying with us at Wilson airport until he was sure were going to get the right flight as the Coastal paperwork was unclear to us. We were flying into Tanzania and the point of immigration had been changed.

Whilst we just relaxed the Giraffe centre or Karen Blixen’s house were within walking or short trip away." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr S.
Clontarf

"Comfortable small hotel in the Karen suburb"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2014
"Only spent one night at Macushla House. Service was good and staff were very friendly. Room was clean and décor is interesting.

Nice not to be in a large hotel. Bit of a distance from Nairobi airport." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 3n in Rwanda; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
SC. USA

"Macushla House review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2014
"Good location, very friendly welcome and willing to serve a late dinner and/or drinks." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs S
Kansas

"Macushla House review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2014
"Macushla House was just as it was described; a boutique hotel in the middle of a lovely residential area. Our hosts and accommodations were wonderful. We arrived fairly late in the evening but were still offered dinner. We chose to have a glass of wine and retire to our rooms. My room was lovely including a sitting room, bedroom, and bath.

The rooms were located in a separate, new building a short walk from the main house. This was very acceptable.

Our guide took us anywhere we wanted to go the next day. We went to a bead factory, a glass factory, and bought some keepsakes to take home. My only issue was the ride to the glass factory. It was too long and very bumpy. The guide had never been there, but he was willing to take us. A noe should be made that the trip is very long and difficult but worth it." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R
Newberg

"Macushla House review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2014
"Our host/owner Grant was very accommodating and helpful. The staff was excellent especially our server/bartenders Peter and Stephen. The food was quite good and besides an excellent breakfast we eat dinner there each night because it was convenient and good.

The rooms were quite nice and interestingly decorated. However I would suggest in the room in which we stayed (Room 4 as I remember) the shower head and bath tub fixture really needed to be replaced and the toilet seemed to leak while refilling which seemed to take forever to refill the water tank and was quite noisy.

The decore of the inn itself was lovely and the fresh flowers throughout were lovely and the fireplaces in the main living areas were lit on request each evening as a chill took to the air when we were there." See all these reviews: 6n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Hampton

"Macushla House review"

1 night Arrived 25 Aug 2013
"We thought Macushla House was lovely and the staff were very welcoming.

We enjoyed an excellent, cooked to order, breakfast next morning. Our main regret was that we did not feel we had sufficient time to enjoy the place given that we arrived at 11.00 pm and had to be up to leave at 5.30am to avoid the traffic.

On reflection, we thought we might have welcomed staying another night or perhaps staying somewhere closer to the airport even though it would not have the same atmosphere or introduction to Africa." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 53
91%
53 reviews of Macushla House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
30
21
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nairobi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Four Points Nairobi Airport

Four Points Nairobi Airport

The Four Points by Sheraton, set within the perimeter of Nairobi International Airport, is ideally located for a first or last night in Kenya.


91% (147 reviews)
The Emakoko

The Emakoko

The Emakoko is a luxurious, owner-managed safari lodge in a beautiful gorge on the edge of Nairobi National Park.


97% (116 reviews)
Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

The Eka is an affordably priced business-class hotel in a relatively convenient location between Nairobi International Airport and Wilson Airport.


86% (62 reviews)
Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

The Ole-Sereni is a modern, stylish hotel neighbouring Nairobi National Park and located 6km from Wilson domestic airport.


79% (59 reviews)
Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nbi Apt

The Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport (formerly known as the Lazizi Premiere and now part of the InterContinental Hotels Group) is the oldest hotel at Nairobi International Airport.


88% (59 reviews)
Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor is a unique, perennially popular lodge on the outskirts of Nairobi, offering up-close-and-personal encounters with the rare Rothschild giraffes that roam its extensive grounds.


98% (36 reviews)
Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa

The Aero Club of East Africa is a private members' club in the grounds of Wilson Airport, Nairobi, offering offering comfortable rooms and a good restaurant, bar and swimming pool to non-members.


82% (34 reviews)
Tamarind Tree Hotel

Tamarind Tree Hotel

The Tamarind Tree is a stylish international hotel in a great location next to Wilson Airport.


90% (22 reviews)
Karen Gables

Karen Gables

Karen Gables is a small, high quality hotel in Nairobi with expansive gardens and only seven rooms.


100% (14 reviews)
Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi is a luxury country-house style hotel, with a spa and gym, in the wealthy suburb of Karen.


98% (8 reviews)
Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp is the only tented camp located inside Nairobi National Park, making it a great option for a true safari stay close to the city and airports.


88% (5 reviews)
The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Nairobi and has a reputation for its colourful history dating back to 1904.


100% (6 reviews)
Palacina

Palacina

The Palacina is a complex of accommodation options in a quieter part of central Nairobi.


84% (5 reviews)
Hogmead

Hogmead

Hogmead is a stylish, luxury boutique hotel/homestay in a secluded part of Langata in south-west Nairobi, very close to Nairobi National Park and the elephant orphanage.


80% (2 reviews)
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages

Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages

Karen Blixen Coffee Gardens and Cottages is small luxury boutique hotel located in the peaceful suburb of Karen.


70% (2 reviews)
Sankara

Sankara

Sankara is a strikingly built hotel in the bustling central Nairobi suburb of Westlands, primarily used as a business stay, with very good dining and leisure facilities.


90% (2 reviews)
Eden Nairobi

Eden Nairobi

One Forty Eight is a very stylish boutique hotel in one of the leafiest corners of the southwest Nairobi suburb of Karen-Langata. The Giraffe Centre at Giraffe Manor is just a 10-minute walk away.


100% (1 review)
Ololo Safari Lodge

Ololo Safari Lodge

Ololo Safari Lodge and Farm is a luxury property on the southern edge of Nairobi National Park.


100% (1 review)
The Stanley

The Stanley

The Stanley is a large, traditional hotel – the oldest in Nairobi – offering a range of facilities.


No reviews yet
Tribe

Tribe

Design-led, contemporary hotel in the Village Market area of Gigiri, a largely diplomatic and luxury residential suburb 10km north of Nairobi’s central business district.


No reviews yet
Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp is a rustic and affordable safari camp in a wildlife sanctuary a 30-minute drive towards Mombasa from Nairobi’s international airport.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa