This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Macushla House
Macushla House

Reviews of Macushla House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

47 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Macushla House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 47
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
SC. USA

"Macushla House review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2014
"Good location, very friendly welcome and willing to serve a late dinner and/or drinks." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs S
Kansas

"Macushla House review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2014
"Macushla House was just as it was described; a boutique hotel in the middle of a lovely residential area. Our hosts and accommodations were wonderful. We arrived fairly late in the evening but were still offered dinner. We chose to have a glass of wine and retire to our rooms. My room was lovely including a sitting room, bedroom, and bath.

The rooms were located in a separate, new building a short walk from the main house. This was very acceptable.

Our guide took us anywhere we wanted to go the next day. We went to a bead factory, a glass factory, and bought some keepsakes to take home. My only issue was the ride to the glass factory. It was too long and very bumpy. The guide had never been there, but he was willing to take us. A noe should be made that the trip is very long and difficult but worth it." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R
Newberg

"Macushla House review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2014
"Our host/owner Grant was very accommodating and helpful. The staff was excellent especially our server/bartenders Peter and Stephen. The food was quite good and besides an excellent breakfast we eat dinner there each night because it was convenient and good.

The rooms were quite nice and interestingly decorated. However I would suggest in the room in which we stayed (Room 4 as I remember) the shower head and bath tub fixture really needed to be replaced and the toilet seemed to leak while refilling which seemed to take forever to refill the water tank and was quite noisy.

The decore of the inn itself was lovely and the fresh flowers throughout were lovely and the fireplaces in the main living areas were lit on request each evening as a chill took to the air when we were there." See all these reviews: 6n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Hampton

"Macushla House review"

1 night Arrived 25 Aug 2013
"We thought Macushla House was lovely and the staff were very welcoming.

We enjoyed an excellent, cooked to order, breakfast next morning. Our main regret was that we did not feel we had sufficient time to enjoy the place given that we arrived at 11.00 pm and had to be up to leave at 5.30am to avoid the traffic.

On reflection, we thought we might have welcomed staying another night or perhaps staying somewhere closer to the airport even though it would not have the same atmosphere or introduction to Africa." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Ms G
Kent

"Macushla House review"

1 night Arrived 24 Feb 2013
"See previous review. [Ed: See below!]" See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr T & Ms G
Kent

"Macushla House"

1 night Arrived 16 Feb 2013
"We only stayed here overnight on the way out and had a day room on the way back but Macushla had a lovely feel about it and the staff could not have been nicer.

The food was good and freshly cooked to order. The pool looked very inviting." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The F family
London

"Macushla House review"

1 night Arrived 23 Dec 2011
"good but too far away from the airport given the time we had, although very accomodating given how late we arrived" See all these reviews: 8n in Rwanda; 6n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya; 1n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Poor
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Aberdeen

"Macushla house not ideal for a transit stay"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2011
"Too far from airport from an overnight stay bearing in mind we were in Kenya [from landing to take off ] for less than 12 hours and at hotel for less than 7 hours

In addition there was confusion over whether I had to pay for the transfer to the hotel and who needed to book and pay for the return transfer. There was no advice on what time to have the transfer for in the morning.

The hotel seemed good and other guests rated it. Staff were friendly." See all these reviews: 10n in Rwanda; 5n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Poor
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs E
Surrey

"Macushla House review"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2010
"We only spent a few hours at Macushla House as arrived late at night and left early in the morning.

The rooms were comfortable and staff friendly. We would have liked to spent more time there." See all these reviews: 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Kilburn

"Macushla House"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2010
"We needed a room overnight in transit.
It took us over an hour to get to it through
traffic on Friday night which felt far too
long after two flights . They are clearly well
organised for people in transit and gave us
an early breakfast but we never saw it in the
light and would have been better much nearer
the airport." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Poor
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 47
90%
47 reviews of Macushla House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
25
20
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nairobi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


The Emakoko

The Emakoko

The Emakoko is a luxurious, owner-managed safari lodge in a beautiful gorge on the edge of Nairobi National Park.


96% (77 reviews)
Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

The Eka is an affordably priced business-class hotel in a relatively convenient location between Nairobi International Airport and Wilson Airport.


86% (61 reviews)
Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

The Ole-Sereni is a modern, stylish hotel neighbouring Nairobi National Park and located 6km from Wilson domestic airport.


79% (56 reviews)
Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nbi Apt

The Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport (formerly known as the Lazizi Premiere and now part of the InterContinental Hotels Group) is the oldest hotel at Nairobi International Airport.


88% (52 reviews)
Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa

The Aero Club of East Africa is a private members' club in the grounds of Wilson Airport, Nairobi, offering offering comfortable rooms and a good restaurant, bar and swimming pool to non-members.


79% (27 reviews)
Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points Nairobi Apt

The Four Points by Sheraton (part of the Marriot group) is one of the newest additions to the hotels within Kenya International Airport’s security perimeter.


91% (26 reviews)
Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor is a unique, perennially popular lodge on the outskirts of Nairobi, offering up-close-and-personal encounters with the rare Rothschild giraffes that roam its extensive grounds.


97% (23 reviews)
Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp is the only tented camp located inside Nairobi National Park, making it a great option for a true safari stay close to the city and airports.


90% (6 reviews)
The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Nairobi and has a reputation for its colourful history dating back to 1904.


100% (4 reviews)
Palacina

Palacina

The Palacina is a complex of accommodation options in a quieter part of central Nairobi.


80% (4 reviews)
Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi is a luxury country-house style hotel, with a spa and gym, in the wealthy suburb of Karen.


100% (3 reviews)
Hogmead

Hogmead

Hogmead is a stylish, luxury boutique hotel/homestay in a secluded part of Langata in south-west Nairobi, very close to Nairobi National Park and the elephant orphanage.


80% (2 reviews)
Sankara

Sankara

Sankara is a strikingly built hotel in the bustling central Nairobi suburb of Westlands, primarily used as a business stay, with very good dining and leisure facilities.


90% (2 reviews)
One Forty Eight

One Forty Eight

One Forty Eight is a very stylish boutique hotel in one of the leafiest corners of the southwest Nairobi suburb of Karen-Langata. The Giraffe Centre at Giraffe Manor is just a 10-minute walk away.


100% (1 review)
The Stanley

The Stanley

The Stanley is a large, traditional hotel – the oldest in Nairobi – offering a range of facilities.


No reviews yet
Tribe

Tribe

Design-led, contemporary hotel in the Village Market area of Gigiri, a largely diplomatic and luxury residential suburb 10km north of Nairobi’s central business district.


No reviews yet
Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp is a rustic and affordable safari camp in a wildlife sanctuary a 30-minute drive towards Mombasa from Nairobi’s international airport.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa