This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Karen Gables
Karen Gables
Karen Gables
Karen Gables
Karen Gables

Reviews of Karen Gables

Wildlife sightings and reviews

14 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Karen Gables and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 14
Duration
Arrival date
Dr C & Mr P
BC

"Karen Gables review"

5 nights Arrived 14 Mar 2024
"a wonderful oasis of calm. it felt like our home. the staff were truly delightful and looked after us. Would go back in a heart beat. A minor concern is that the menu is very limited in choices." See all these reviews: 16n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms D.
Canada

"Karen Gables review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2024
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms D.
Canada

"Karen Gables review"

1 night Arrived 6 Feb 2024
"We would love to be back at Karen Gables right now.

It was wonderful in every respect. Highly recommend.

The food and staff were both excellent." See all these reviews: 15n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms M.
London

"A unique hotel"

1 night Arrived 24 Jan 2024
"A unique, boutique hotel where we received a very warm welcome.

The room was large with a very comfortable bed (with mosquito net) and everything you need in the bathroom. The pool was inviting and the food was excellent - we had a light lunch, dinner and breakfast the following morning.

They asked about allergies and I explained that I’m slightly allergic to avocados - my lunchtime salad came covered in avocado and the waiter was mortified to have forgotten what I told him. Both he and the manager apologised profusely, insisted on remaking my salad even though I’d said it would be fine to just remove the avocado and gave us free coffee, so no complaints." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
N&C
Poole

"Karen Gables review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jan 2024
"Lovely room (#1) with outlook over gorgeous swimming pool and garden.
Excellent breakfast- perhaps the best of the trip!

A lovely tucked away place.

Food excellent - we had 2 suppers there.
We walked to Hemingways for supper one evening - very easy to do.
We visited the Karen Blixen museum and coffee gardens and had lunch at Talisman on our final day all with aid of a driver arranged by the hotel." See all these reviews: 20n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr and Mrs C
London

"Karen Gables review"

1 night Arrived 15 Jan 2024
"Excellent all round. The location was fine for us but can't comment generally -quite far from the centre of Nairobi." See all these reviews: 4n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr and Mrs H
Hereford

"Karen Gables review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Dec 2023
"see previous review.

[ Ed: Earlier in this trip these travellers whote of Karen Gables:

"Karen Gables is a wonderful quiet, comfortable guest house, excellently run and with delicious food.

We always enjoy staying there will look forward to staying there again on our next visit.

I hope though that the prices dont rise too much, its getting quite expensive!" ]" See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr and Mrs H
Hereford

"Karen Gables review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2023
"Karen Gables is a wonderful quiet, comfortable guest house, excellently run and with delicious food.

We always enjoy staying there will look forward to staying there again on our next visit.

I hope though that the prices dont rise too much, its getting quite expensive!" See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms B
Newcastle

"Karen Gables review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2023
"Karen gables was possibly the biggest surprise we had on our trip. On our return to Nairobi we were tired and already had a wonderful holiday, yet this hotel was just so cozy and comfortable that it was like having a break within a break while we had a couple of days in the capital. The hotel is nestled far enough from the city that it's quiet and green, but close enough that a taxi into Nairobi is only 20 minutes.

The hotel itself is designed to look like a cosy cottage like house, but it's actually quite new in construction. Our room was wonderfully cosy and surprisingly large, with a good size bed, powerful shower room, and a separate seating area. The hotel has a swimming pool, an outdoor bar and a large garden area too that was really nice to walk around in the day.

Food was amazing, and the staff were really friendly, they even offered to hold our bags on the last day after we checked out and allowed me to use one of the empty rooms to freshen up before we headed up to the airport.

We also got the chance to meet the owner, who was absolutely lovely. He told us all about his experience in Nairobi since the '90s, how he built the house and how the city had changed in 30 years. He also gave us a lift to the city centre on the Sunday as we were both going to the museum that day, which was an absolute life saver as the marathon was on that day and navigating the city would've been a nightmare in a taxi." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr. & Mrs. C
USA

"Karen Gables review"

1 night Arrived 4 Jan 2023
"This hotel was amazing. There was so much character to this home.

The service was excellent and the food was delicious. We had both breakfast and dinner here. The room was quaint and the bathroom was large. This was one of the most beautiful and comfortable properties I have ever stayed at.

It was a nice quiet out of the way place in Nairobi." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 14
100%
14 reviews of Karen Gables by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
14
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nairobi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Four Points Nairobi Airport

Four Points Nairobi Airport

The Four Points by Sheraton, set within the perimeter of Nairobi International Airport, is ideally located for a first or last night in Kenya.


91% (143 reviews)
The Emakoko

The Emakoko

The Emakoko is a luxurious, owner-managed safari lodge in a beautiful gorge on the edge of Nairobi National Park.


97% (116 reviews)
Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

The Eka is an affordably priced business-class hotel in a relatively convenient location between Nairobi International Airport and Wilson Airport.


86% (62 reviews)
Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

The Ole-Sereni is a modern, stylish hotel neighbouring Nairobi National Park and located 6km from Wilson domestic airport.


79% (59 reviews)
Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nbi Apt

The Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport (formerly known as the Lazizi Premiere and now part of the InterContinental Hotels Group) is the oldest hotel at Nairobi International Airport.


88% (59 reviews)
Macushla House

Macushla House

Macushla House is a very pleasant, small, owner-managed bed and breakfast hotel in a leafy part of southwest Nairobi, very convenient for visiting the Giraffe Centre and Sheldrick's Elephant Orphanage.


91% (53 reviews)
Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor is a unique, perennially popular lodge on the outskirts of Nairobi, offering up-close-and-personal encounters with the rare Rothschild giraffes that roam its extensive grounds.


98% (35 reviews)
Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa

The Aero Club of East Africa is a private members' club in the grounds of Wilson Airport, Nairobi, offering offering comfortable rooms and a good restaurant, bar and swimming pool to non-members.


82% (34 reviews)
Tamarind Tree Hotel

Tamarind Tree Hotel

The Tamarind Tree is a stylish international hotel in a great location next to Wilson Airport.


90% (21 reviews)
Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi is a luxury country-house style hotel, with a spa and gym, in the wealthy suburb of Karen.


98% (8 reviews)
Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp is the only tented camp located inside Nairobi National Park, making it a great option for a true safari stay close to the city and airports.


88% (5 reviews)
The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Nairobi and has a reputation for its colourful history dating back to 1904.


100% (6 reviews)
Palacina

Palacina

The Palacina is a complex of accommodation options in a quieter part of central Nairobi.


84% (5 reviews)
Hogmead

Hogmead

Hogmead is a stylish, luxury boutique hotel/homestay in a secluded part of Langata in south-west Nairobi, very close to Nairobi National Park and the elephant orphanage.


80% (2 reviews)
Sankara

Sankara

Sankara is a strikingly built hotel in the bustling central Nairobi suburb of Westlands, primarily used as a business stay, with very good dining and leisure facilities.


90% (2 reviews)
Eden Nairobi

Eden Nairobi

One Forty Eight is a very stylish boutique hotel in one of the leafiest corners of the southwest Nairobi suburb of Karen-Langata. The Giraffe Centre at Giraffe Manor is just a 10-minute walk away.


100% (1 review)
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages

Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages

Karen Blixen Coffee Gardens and Cottages is small luxury boutique hotel located in the peaceful suburb of Karen.


60% (1 review)
The Stanley

The Stanley

The Stanley is a large, traditional hotel – the oldest in Nairobi – offering a range of facilities.


No reviews yet
Tribe

Tribe

Design-led, contemporary hotel in the Village Market area of Gigiri, a largely diplomatic and luxury residential suburb 10km north of Nairobi’s central business district.


No reviews yet
Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp is a rustic and affordable safari camp in a wildlife sanctuary a 30-minute drive towards Mombasa from Nairobi’s international airport.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa