This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by N&C from Poole

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

My Jan 2022 trip

Kenya between 6 Jan 2022 and 22 Jan 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our fifth visit to Kenya and we wanted to re-visit Laikipia.

We flew into Loisaba and back from Lewa and drove between stops. The longest drive was 3 hours from Sosian to Olepangi.

We will certainly return to Kenya and will happily use Expert Africa again when we do.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No suggestions at this point."

Arranged By Claire Scott


The Emakoko

The Emakoko

"The Emakoko review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jan 2022
"We had visited The Emakoko four years ago and were keen to return. It was as good as we remembered.

Our flight to Nairobi was delayed but the staff had stayed up and offered us a meal, despite it being 3am by the time we arrived! We declined the offer and that of an early morning game drive, opting instead for a leisurely morning and an afternoon drive.

There is no shortage of game in Nairobi National Park and it is interesting to see it with the backdrop of the city skyline and the railway line, which was not built the last time we were here.

The following day we had a post breakfast game drive to Wilson to get our flight to Loisaba."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sabuk Lodge

Sabuk Lodge

"Sabuk Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2022
"I have seen this place described as ‘rustic’ but I do not think that is accurate; it certainly in no way does it justice. If your idea of luxury includes space, peace, relaxation and excellent food then Sabuk should best be described as luxurious.

Sabuk is owned and hosted by the wonderful Verity Williams. Together with dogs Chesa and Tam, Verity met us on our return from activities and ate meals with us and the other guests. She is a fount of knowledge about Kenya and Tanzania in particular as well as being very well travelled generally.

We were picked up from Loisaba airstrip by our guides Robert and Kumbau who stayed with us throughout our visit. It was about an hour drive to Sabuk.

The lodge is stunningly situated above the river. The great room is huge, as are the rooms. All are open to the elements but are remarkably bug free, although bug repellent is supplied in the room. The only area we encountered some mosquitoes was around the pool, these are grass mosquitoes - Sabuk has officially been certified as being malaria free by an entomologist!

Whilst at Sabuk we went walking, camel riding, swimming in the river and on game drives. Breakfasts at stunning locations in the bush were supplied with a latrine tent - no need for going behind a bush - this was the first time we have come across this luxury!

We loved Sabuk and would happily return. It is perhaps not a conventional safari lodge (if such a thing exists) but is arguably all the better for it."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sosian

Sosian

"Sosian review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Jan 2022
"Sosian is lovely. It provided a good contrast to our other stops on this trip, which is what we wanted.

The staff are very friendly and accommodating. I went riding and we went swimming at the waterfall. We had an excellent bush dinner in what is best described as a treehouse overlooking a hippo pool. Lunches by the pool were another highlight.

In these Covid times Sosian are trying to keep guests separate for meals and activities, although we did all meet for afternoon tea. This made our visit a bit less sociable than normal, although it did mean we had our game drive vehicle to ourselves."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Olepangi Farm

"Olepangi Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2022
"We arrived at Olepangi after an easy 3 hour drive from Sosian.

We stayed here 2 years ago and were keen to return. In those 2 years Elizabeth, Olepangi’s owner, has built a stunning swimming pool and pool house and acquired 2 Great Danes!

Olepangi is beautiful, the location and grounds are gorgeous, as are the rooms. This is not a safari lodge, instead it offers respite to those that might be a bit safari’d out.

There are horses to ride (as I did) and many trips to go on should you wish. Or you can just relax in the company of Elizabeth, her friends, the artists in residence and the other guests."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lewa House

Lewa House

"Lewa House review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jan 2022
"The landscapes and vistas at Lewa are stunning. There is such variety – rolling hills, open plains, rocky escarpments, marshland and acacia tree forests where cranes roost in huge numbers overnight.

The four lodges at Lewa share the area and also share intelligence about sightings, very useful given the size of the conservancy.

Lewa House is a lovely lodge ably hosted by Calum, Sophie and guest manager Claire. I thought the rooms were perfectly designed for the safari goer and the swimming pool really is warm!

One highlight of our visit was a trip to the conservancy HQ where we learnt about all the work that goes into the management of Lewa and the work of the rangers. I would recommend this visit to anyone, especially those with an interest in technology.

I went horse riding and got incredibly close to the wildlife."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Emakoko

The Emakoko

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 20 Jan 2022
"We came back to the Emakoko at the end of our trip.

We appreciated their flexibility; we are able to invite a friend staying elsewhere in Nairobi to lunch and we had no need vacate our room prematurely (as does happen with some day room stays) even when our departing flight was delayed."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team