This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sosian
Sosian
Sosian
Sosian
Sosian
Sosian

Reviews of Sosian

Wildlife sightings and reviews

12 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sosian and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Dec-2019, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sosian.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

50% success

Buffalo

50% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 12
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
Bristol

"Sosian Review Feb '20"

3 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2020
"One of the reasons we chose to stay at Sosian is that it is possible to go out on foot, which we did twice during our stay. The first occasion was on the afternoon of our arrival, as a way to acclimatise ourselves after travelling from the UK. With Craig (one of the Sosian management team) and a spotter we enjoyed a pleasant walk, looking at birds, some antelope, and a leopard! Not bad for the first outing. The leopard was some distance away in a tree but it was nevertheless a thrill to see it. The second occasion, for contrast, was a morning outing, culminating with a bush breakfast by the river and with some hippos for company. Both were very enjoyable experiences and a good change from the more usual drives in a safari vehicle.

The other change from the usual offered at Sosian is the opportunity to go out on horseback (if a competent rider; we are not) or on a camel (no experience necessary). We went for a camel ride one afternoon as a precursor to the evening game drive, which was great fun. The back of a camel is quite high, providing a good view over the bushes and scrub, and we had a couple of good sightings of elephants in the river and some kudu.

Being a ranch, rather than a national park, it is also possible at Sosian to extend the game drive beyond sunset and to try to spot some of the nocturnal wildlife. This seemed to consist mostly of scrub hares during our excursions but it was still good to have the opportunity.

As a game viewing location, one comment we would make about Sosian is that the wildlife seemed to be less habituated to safari vehicles and more shy than in other places we have visited. This is not necessarily a bad thing, but it did mean that a lot of our sightings were from a slightly greater distance.

Our guide, Simon, was very knowledgable and enthusiastic, which made our game drives interesting and informative. He was preparing to sit his Silver Guide exam, which has hopefully gone well. From our point of view he deserved to pass with flying colours!

Something we particularly liked about Sosian was their flexible approach to the activities they provided, without being driven by a particular schedule or agenda. This meant that there was never any feeling of being rushed or following a particular timetable; having said that, we were not there during peak season, when it must be much harder to try to keep everybody happy!

And finally, a comment about the food and accommodation, both of which were of very high quality. Delicious meals and a very comfortable bed to sleep in after a hard day watching wildlife – what could be better?" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr &Mrs W
Bamford

"Christmas"

3 nights Arrived 22 Dec 2019
"Staff and hosts were very friendly and ensured we were able to make the most of our first family safari experience. They created a wonderful memory on Christmas Eve with tree top sun downers singing carols round a fire pit. Sampson our guide ensured we saw everything possible and the best of the conservancy. A climb up Baboon rock, rewarded with drinks and nibbles and being closely watched by hyrax as the sunset was a favourite moment for us all." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

Multiple sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr D
Cobham

"Sosian review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2016
"Went here from Off Beat Mara. Very different. Great staff and all very friendly. Biit of a family atmosphere with some other residents from the area joining us (it was New Year). Not as much game as the Mara Conservancy - had to work a bit harder to find - but still plenty - and we saw the wild dogs. A couple of them are tagged - made finding them easier!! Good food and wine - and facilities with a pool and tennis courts. Camel riding for those that don't do horses. Would go back." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr D
Friern Barnet

"Sosian review"

4 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2016
"We all enjoyed Sosian the staff led by Rosie and Simon were cheerful and friendly, it had the right mx of social activity with other guests and time to be together as a family would highly recommend." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Kansas

"Beautiful luxury home"

4 nights Arrived 17 Jan 2016
"Sosian is a working cattle ranch that coexists with wildlife. The main house is a beautiful old colonial Africa style home with formal dining, large family room with fireplace and a billiard room. We stayed in the Italian Cottage which would be considered the honeymoon cottage. It is the largest of the 7 accommodations and apart from the others. All are very nice and comfortable.

We are ranchers so enjoyed visiting with the ranch manager, Shawn, who was very patient in visiting with us about the ranch management and we took a tour of the cattle and the facilities.

There is plenty of wildlife. We were fortunate to see a cheetah just 30 minutes in to our first safari drive with the tourist manager, Simon. This animal is not commonly seen. You also have the opportunity to see wild dog. We were also having good luck on this sighting with watching them on the hunt and then seeing them finish up eating their kill. Our guide Michetk, worked very hard to give us the opportunity to see the dogs.

I would consider this property as a great place for a family with younger children. there are many other activities for them to keep them occupied and interested. You can do horse riding, camel riding, float down the river, fishing, walking, swimming and picnics. We had a river side breakfast after our safari with the wild dogs. They also do an evening meal out in the bush.

This place was a good stop for us with stays at tented camps on both sides of it. There were so many other fun activities for us to do besides just game drives, that it was a nice break to the total safari experience." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Wimborne

"Sosian lodge"

4 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2015
"Wonderful location with stunning scenery. Hospitality from Simon, Rosie and daisy was excellent.

Enjoyed breakfast in the bush with freshly cooked breakfast to order, an evening meal by the river and a special dinner for two near the swimming pool.

Managed to track the wild dogs, spent a special time with them just as the sun was going down, a real treat after a long drive and persistence of our wonderful guide makesh.

Lots of activities on offer, you can do as much or as little as you wish. Enjoyed a walk with Simon along the river.

Food was very good, breakfast usually taken at the lodge after a game drive or activity." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr Y
Paris

"Great lodge in the wild scenery of Laikipia"

3 nights Arrived 4 Apr 2015
"The lodge was absolutely great in one of the best parts of Africa. Laikipia is captivating and I hope it remains like that. The lodge had many activities in a way that you avoid the usual routines that you have in the lodges where you are having two safaris within the day and then you eat lunch and dinner. It is a perfect place for kids as well.

On the down side, the showers in the bathrooms where we had problems in both rooms. The owners were not there and I m not sure what we have lost without them being there. There were a brother and a sister that were replacing them. The girl, Camilla was just amazing, engaging and very pleasant person." See all these reviews: 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs B
Richmond

"Sosian review"

6 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2014
"a marvellous experience. we all had a delightful, eventful and happy holiday. superb service with great attention to all our 'whims'
would visit again tomorrow!!" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
SC. USA

"Sosian review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2014
"Very luxurious. Lush grounds, outstanding food and rooms (especially after the tents). Rosie is wonderful hostess.

Guides very determined for us to see the wild dogs. We did see all 22 of them after some wild chases. Animals not as prolific but had some great safari breakfasts, lunches and sundowners. Visit to village and school was very interesting." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs S
Kansas

"Wonderful Lodge; pure luxury"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2014
"This setting was outstanding. The rooms were beautiful and the food and service were the best of the trip. Our hosts were very attentive. One morning after we had been out on safari for several hour, we drove into a little valley where there was a wonderful brunch set up for us. We at by a river eating food that had been prepared on the spot.

This same day we saw the wild dogs. Our guides made such an effor to be sure we got to see them. I am so impressed that all the guides took their jobs so serioulsy and were alway more than willing to search out the special animals for that area.

I visited a school and read a book to a group of children; one of the highlights of my entire trip. I encourage anyone who makes this stop to include a school visit. We also visited a village; another must.

The setting of Sosian was superb. The hosts and food were the best we had." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 12
100%
12 reviews of Sosian by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Laikipia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kicheche Laikipia

Kicheche Laikipia

Kicheche Laikipia is the most luxurious tented camp of the handful of places to stay in the Ol Pejeta Conservancy in central Laikipia.


99% (39 reviews)
Laikipia Wilderness

Laikipia Wilderness

Laikipia Wilderness is a rustic owner-managed bush camp, in excellent wild dog territory, offering outstanding guiding.


95% (17 reviews)
El Karama Eco-Lodge

El Karama Eco-Lodge

El Karama is a comfortably rustic, very personal, riverside eco-lodge on a game-rich private ranch in Laikipia, an hour’s drive north of Nanyuki airport.


99% (14 reviews)
Lewa Wilderness

Lewa Wilderness

Lewa Wilderness is a comfortable, fenced safari lodge with nine cottages, great views and a huge range of activities.


96% (10 reviews)
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp

Ol Pejeta Bush Camp

Ol Pejeta Bush Camp is a simple camp, with comfortable tents, delivering an authentic wilderness experience backed up by good food and guiding.


100% (7 reviews)
Lewa Safari Camp

Lewa Safari Camp

Lewa Safari Camp is a comfortable and homely tented lodge, located in the Lewa Conservancy and offering a relatively exclusive safari away from mass tourism.


100% (5 reviews)
Borana

Borana

Borana is a comfortable and striking lodge on the Borana Conservancy in eastern Laikipia, offering pleasant accommodation with good food and service and a very wide range of activities.


92% (5 reviews)
Il Ngwesi Eco-Lodge

Il Ngwesi Eco-Lodge

The community-owned Il Ngwesi Eco-Lodge sits atop a small hill in the remote Il Ngwesi Group Ranch, a two-hour drive north of Lewa Conservancy in north-eastern Laikipia.


100% (5 reviews)
Porini Rhino Camp

Porini Rhino Camp

Porini Rhino Camp is a small, simple, well established tented camp, with a keen focus on sustainable and low-impact tourism.


100% (5 reviews)
Tassia Lodge

Tassia Lodge

Tassia offers a unique wilderness experience in a remote location: come here for cultural interaction, stunning views and something a bit different.


100% (4 reviews)
Lewa House

Lewa House

Lewa House is a boutique safari lodge on a farm on the Lewa Conservancy, north of Mount Kenya


100% (3 reviews)
Solio Lodge

Solio Lodge

Solio Lodge is an exclusive and luxurious bush lodge set in the private Solio Game Ranch in southern Laikipia.


100% (3 reviews)
Sirikoi

Sirikoi

Sirikoi is a small, very high-quality safari camp with excellent service and food and a wide selection of activities.


100% (2 reviews)
Karisia Walking Safaris

Karisia Walking Safaris

Karisia Walking Safaris operates camel assisted, multi-day walking safaris from its main camp, Tumaren, set in a remote part of Laikipia.


100% (1 review)
Sweetwaters Serena Camp

Sweetwaters Serena

Sweetwaters Serena is a large, older tented camp – the largest camp in the Laikipia region – in the eastern part of the Ol Pejeta Conservancy.


100% (1 review)
Kifaru House

Kifaru House

Kifaru House is a small, stylish safari lodge in the Lewa Conservancy, with beautiful views across the landscape.


100% (1 review)
Loisaba Tented Camp

Loisaba Tented Camp

Loisaba Tented Camp is a luxury safari base of tented rooms, ranged along a ridge in the Loisaba Conservancy, facing Mount Kenya. The camp was completely rebuilt in 2016.


100% (1 review)
Sandai

Sandai

Sandai is a pretty, owner-run homestay, set between the Aberdare Range and Mount Kenya, offering a range of activities at extra cost.


100% (1 review)
Loisaba Star Beds

Loisaba Star Beds

Loisaba Starbeds is a simple camp of 4 rooms with pull-out, open-air 'star beds', located near a dam in the Loisaba Conservancy, in northwestern Laikipia.


100% (1 review)
Sabuk Lodge

Sabuk Lodge

Sabuk Lodge is a charismatic and remote lodge in western Laikipia on the high, rocky banks of the Ewaso Nyiro River.


No reviews yet
The Sanctuary at Ol Lentille

Sanctuary at Ol Lentille

The Sanctuary at Ol Lentille is an unusual safari lodge in northern Laikipia, consisting of three exclusive villas, and offering a huge range of activities.


No reviews yet
Thomson's Falls Lodge

Thomsons Falls Lodge

Thomsons Falls Lodge is a simple hotel dating back to the colonial era above the falls of the same name, just outside the western Laikipia town of Nyahururu.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa