This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lewa Wilderness
Lewa Wilderness
Lewa Wilderness
Lewa Wilderness
Lewa Wilderness
Lewa Wilderness
Lewa Wilderness
Lewa Wilderness
Lewa Wilderness

Reviews of Lewa Wilderness

Wildlife sightings and reviews

10 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lewa Wilderness and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jan-2019, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lewa Wilderness.
Lion

33% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

33% success

Wild dog

0% success

Black Rhino

100% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

White Rhino

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

67% success

Hippo

67% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 10
Duration
Arrival date
Muz
Colchester

"wonderful game viewing experience"

4 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2020
"fantastic game viewing with an excellent guide, Supukia. The game was everything we hoped it would be and Supukia definitely went out of his way to give us a great experience.

The food at Lewa Wilderness was nowhere near the standard it should have been for the cost of staying there. It was not a patch the two other camps we stayed at. I would describe the food at Lewa to be grandmothers cooking. Carrots, green beans and chicken, carrots, green beans and ( overcooked ) pork, carrots, green beans and overcooked fish. All devoid of any creativity and very plain. My wife's vegetarian dishes were basic and not very good. Fortunately the game viewing and our guide were exceptional." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya; 9n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms C.
Saint Louis

"Game Drives and a Whole Lot More"

4 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2019
"Lewa Wilderness offers a lot more than just game drives. They will arrange walks in the reserve (with breakfast in the bush), a trip to the Ngare NdareForest with its tree canopy walk, horse back riding, camel riding, a visit to their organic farm and more. They are particularly good with children, offering a morning of learning traditional Massai skills.

Our cottage was spacious and located so that we did not see other cottages but looked out over the downs, where we could view giraffe, elephants, rhinos, etc. They have extensive electric fencing that allows the elephants to be close enough that we could hear their stomachs rumble! Food was buffet style and generally good and staff were very friendly." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Weymouth

"Amazing camp, fantastic view from room"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2019
"The camp is set in a lovely location, the owner's house set in the middle. Our room requested by Richard Trillo was superb with wonderful views. Beautiful lawns and flower beds in camp make this a special place to visit.

The trip to the farm going past the stables was well worth a visit, they are virtually self sufficient for food.

Game drive viewing was great, both white and black rhinos were seen - including Elvis who had been hand reared many years previously - friendly chap who came right up to the vehicle.

Francis was our Masai guide - in Masai dress of course." See all these reviews: 17n in Kenya; 9n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Botswana; 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

8 sightings

White Rhino

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms M.
London

"Very pretty lodge and gardens"

3 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2019
"Lewa Wilderness is a very attractive lodge, with manicured gardens and spectacular bougainvillea.

It has a welcome, if slightly cold, pool with a very comfortable seating area around. Our room was beautiful and very spacious, with a huge veranda on which they hyraxes sunned themselves every morning! The open fire was very welcome in the evening, both for its look and its warmth, as this was definitely the coldest of the places we stayed - this was the only place where there were no dressing gowns, and the one place we could have done with one.

The surprise breakfast in the Bush was lovely, and the best one we had. The buffet lunch was good but the food in the evening was slightly bland, with no choice, unlike all three other places.

There was a greater variety of wildlife than at Meru although, as in Meru, you had to look for it. We were pleased to see rhinos, black and white, a leopard and a cheetah, as well as a bush baby. Our guide was great." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Buffalo

6 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

White Rhino

5 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

E & D
New Mexico

"Lewa Wilderness review"

4 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2019
"I could write volumes about our fantastic time at Lewa but will spare you, except to say that if we could only visit one place in Kenya to see the greatest number of birds and animals, to experience expert guiding with true warmth and friendliness, be served the most tasty array of foods prepared fresh from the lodge's own garden, and feel treated to luxury while not being too grossly decadent, this would be it.

Emma and Will Craig and their staff have mastered the art of providing unique and rich experiences tailored to each of their guests' desires." See all these reviews: 18n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Family S
Lonond

"Lewa Wilderness review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2017
"An absolutely fantastic place to stay. Abi, the manager, made us very welcome and we genuinely felt at home. The whole family loved it, and the kids somewhat fell in love with Zazou their dog. A beautiful spot that we were very sad to leave." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms B
Grapevine

"Lewa Wilderness review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2017
"Lewa Wilderness was our first official safari and what a way to start! The hillside cottages were excellent with outstanding views where we daily got to see elephants, giraffes, baboons, and other wildlife come to drink. We went horseback riding which was very thrilling to see the animals from a different vantage point. It did cross my mind prior to doing this that we may be lunch for a lion, but it was all very safe and the breakfast at the end was fabulous. And, then to go back to camp on a camel was interesting.

I can't say enough about our guide John. He, along with Philip, were with us for every drive and managed to find all of the big 5. And, we learned so much from them. We were also fortunate enough to see a rhino being notched for tracking purposes.

Lewa was a great place for one's first safari." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
A & P
Hong Kong

"Wonderful camp and a breathtaking property"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2015
"We had stayed last year in Sirikoi and this year decided to try the more traditional way of safaris in Laikipia - in a colonial property with cottages in lieu of tents. LWT is a wonderful property in a gorgeous conservancy. We are very fond of Lewa and the team behind the conservancy and its our place for seeing some very special animals ( rhinos, Grevys, reticulate giraffes, large herds of elands, oryx and other plains game), our place to relax the pace of safaring (just a notch) and enjoy the superb landscape. Of most of Laikipia, Lewa's landscape is the most dramatic with its many valleys and hills, red soil giving way to black cotton soil, exploring the conservancy from north to south, even some places where only rangers go and rarely a tourist vehicle, the wonderful green swapm and the yellow fever tree forests, the elephants, views of Mount Kenya- A Lewa safari is so different and unique in many ways and we enjoyed our stay tremendously. Zoey, Lee, Kiramanshu were incredible hosts and we really fell in love with the property and the views.

Our guide was Simon- who is the head guide there. I expected him to be good but we were very impressed with how good he was- with spotting, with priorititising our wish list ( we had 8 glorious days on predator watch in Mara so were looking for anything but cats and he understood that very well). He was brilliant wityh the rhino spotting and all other sightings, even spotting a coalition of 2 male cheetahs. We didnt share a single sighting with any other car. He is also very knowledgable about Lewa's history, community and the tribes in Kenya, so conversation with him was really cherished. Our last afternoon drive into Sambara plains and Isolo valley and beyond to the northern most point ( from where we could see as far as the Matthews Range) was one of the best safari days, ending with sundowners barely 50 metres from where a white rhino foraged." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Chichester

"Lewa Wilderness was fantastic"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jan 2014
"Of the three places we stayed in on this trip to northern and central parts of Kenya, arguably this was our all round favourite. The atmosphere at Lewa Wilderness Trails is very different and more like a house party - the owners and staff are so hospitable and the food is amazing. We stayed in the newest cottage which was delightful.

We were so impressed with the success of conservation in this conservancy and it is surely a marvellous model for others. Simon was our guide and his patience particularly with the black rhino and cheetah really gave us an insight into these two species. The scenery, with its backdrop of Mt Kenya really adds to this location from a photography viewpoint.

We only did game drives and a bird walk around camp (highly recommended) but there were a large range of activities on offer which other guests enjoyed." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
New Delhi

"Great safari experience"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2013
"Lewa was magical..beautiful property,full marks for hospitality. our game drives were awesome, spotted the big five in our two day stay!" See all these reviews: 5n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 10
96%
10 reviews of Lewa Wilderness by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
8
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Laikipia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kicheche Laikipia

Kicheche Laikipia

Kicheche Laikipia is the most luxurious tented camp of the handful of places to stay in the Ol Pejeta Conservancy in central Laikipia.


99% (39 reviews)
Laikipia Wilderness

Laikipia Wilderness

Laikipia Wilderness is a rustic owner-managed bush camp, in excellent wild dog territory, offering outstanding guiding.


95% (17 reviews)
El Karama Eco-Lodge

El Karama Eco-Lodge

El Karama is a comfortably rustic, very personal, riverside eco-lodge on a game-rich private ranch in Laikipia, an hour’s drive north of Nanyuki airport.


99% (14 reviews)
Sosian

Sosian

Sosian Lode is a distinctive, estancia-style ranch house on a former cattle ranch, with great opportunities for riding, relaxing and seeing wild dogs and other savannah wildlife.


100% (12 reviews)
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp

Ol Pejeta Bush Camp

Ol Pejeta Bush Camp is a simple camp, with comfortable tents, delivering an authentic wilderness experience backed up by good food and guiding.


100% (7 reviews)
Lewa Safari Camp

Lewa Safari Camp

Lewa Safari Camp is a comfortable and homely tented lodge, located in the Lewa Conservancy and offering a relatively exclusive safari away from mass tourism.


100% (5 reviews)
Borana

Borana

Borana is a comfortable and striking lodge on the Borana Conservancy in eastern Laikipia, offering pleasant accommodation with good food and service and a very wide range of activities.


92% (5 reviews)
Il Ngwesi Eco-Lodge

Il Ngwesi Eco-Lodge

The community-owned Il Ngwesi Eco-Lodge sits atop a small hill in the remote Il Ngwesi Group Ranch, a two-hour drive north of Lewa Conservancy in north-eastern Laikipia.


100% (5 reviews)
Porini Rhino Camp

Porini Rhino Camp

Porini Rhino Camp is a small, simple, well established tented camp, with a keen focus on sustainable and low-impact tourism.


100% (5 reviews)
Tassia Lodge

Tassia Lodge

Tassia offers a unique wilderness experience in a remote location: come here for cultural interaction, stunning views and something a bit different.


100% (4 reviews)
Lewa House

Lewa House

Lewa House is a boutique safari lodge on a farm on the Lewa Conservancy, north of Mount Kenya


100% (3 reviews)
Solio Lodge

Solio Lodge

Solio Lodge is an exclusive and luxurious bush lodge set in the private Solio Game Ranch in southern Laikipia.


100% (3 reviews)
Sirikoi

Sirikoi

Sirikoi is a small, very high-quality safari camp with excellent service and food and a wide selection of activities.


100% (2 reviews)
Karisia Walking Safaris

Karisia Walking Safaris

Karisia Walking Safaris operates camel assisted, multi-day walking safaris from its main camp, Tumaren, set in a remote part of Laikipia.


100% (1 review)
Sweetwaters Serena Camp

Sweetwaters Serena

Sweetwaters Serena is a large, older tented camp – the largest camp in the Laikipia region – in the eastern part of the Ol Pejeta Conservancy.


100% (1 review)
Kifaru House

Kifaru House

Kifaru House is a small, stylish safari lodge in the Lewa Conservancy, with beautiful views across the landscape.


100% (1 review)
Loisaba Tented Camp

Loisaba Tented Camp

Loisaba Tented Camp is a luxury safari base of tented rooms, ranged along a ridge in the Loisaba Conservancy, facing Mount Kenya. The camp was completely rebuilt in 2016.


100% (1 review)
Sandai

Sandai

Sandai is a pretty, owner-run homestay, set between the Aberdare Range and Mount Kenya, offering a range of activities at extra cost.


100% (1 review)
Loisaba Star Beds

Loisaba Star Beds

Loisaba Starbeds is a simple camp of 4 rooms with pull-out, open-air 'star beds', located near a dam in the Loisaba Conservancy, in northwestern Laikipia.


100% (1 review)
Sabuk Lodge

Sabuk Lodge

Sabuk Lodge is a charismatic and remote lodge in western Laikipia on the high, rocky banks of the Ewaso Nyiro River.


No reviews yet
The Sanctuary at Ol Lentille

Sanctuary at Ol Lentille

The Sanctuary at Ol Lentille is an unusual safari lodge in northern Laikipia, consisting of three exclusive villas, and offering a huge range of activities.


No reviews yet
Thomson's Falls Lodge

Thomsons Falls Lodge

Thomsons Falls Lodge is a simple hotel dating back to the colonial era above the falls of the same name, just outside the western Laikipia town of Nyahururu.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa