This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Laikipia Wilderness
Laikipia Wilderness
Laikipia Wilderness
Laikipia Wilderness

Reviews of Laikipia Wilderness

Wildlife sightings and reviews

17 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Laikipia Wilderness and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Dec-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Laikipia Wilderness.
Lion

50% success

Leopard

67% success

Cheetah

20% success

Wild dog

71% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

86% success

Buffalo

60% success

Eland

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 17
Duration
Arrival date
Miss P
London

"Dogs are back in town"

8 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2020
"This was a return to Laikipia Wilderness from a first visit in 2013, before the wild dog population was decimated by the distemper outbreak (in 2017). My trip was planned last minute to replace my Covid cancelled safaris, and I had read on LWC's FB that the revived pack had denned in June and so the timing was chosen to maximise the chances of seeing the puppies once they had left the den but hopefully not mobile enough to move too far afield.

This was a success and I enjoyed some fantastic sightings of the pack and their five puppies. The atmosphere at Laikipia Wilderness is very relaxed with no overtly strict "Covid protocols".

It's a lovely authentic owner run camp and it was a pleasure to spend time with the owner, Steve Carey and his children and hear about their bush adventures. I did a few great walks with Steve and also Barend, although it was a constant dilemma of whether to walk or track the dogs!!" See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr R.
Colombo 5

"Laikipia Wilderness"

3 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2019
"The four of us (2 couples) spent three nights at Laikipia Wilderness Camp (LWC). The camp is run with real passion and soul. This, I think is a reflection of Steve, the owner, who has instilled the same ethos in all his staff, several of whom told us that Steve was the best boss they have ever had. All four of us are experienced safari goers and we were primarily at LWC to try to see wild dogs, which we felt there was a good chance to do at LWC because of the radio tracking they were able to do as part of a research project. The dogs had moved on to a neighbouring ranch when we arrived, but LWC had access to this area as well, we did have to pay a small additional fee of USD 50 per person towards the Wild Dog Trust for the access, we did not mind this. We had a fabulous sighting of the entire pack, including a large number of pups, after a long search. As a bonus during our stay we also had two good sightings of leopard.

The camp facilities were unpretentious compared with many other premiums priced camps, although it was more than sufficient to meet all our needs. The food was fabulous. The staff were all friendly and efficient and provided exceptional service. The guides, including Steve who accompanied us on two game drives/walks, were very knowledgeable and skilled. I have no hesitancy in recommending LWC to any potential safari goer, particularly if you are interested in seeing wild dogs, which are not that easy to see in most other places." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Pandc
Evesham

"Somewhere different at Laikipia Wilderness"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2019
"Great stay at Laikipia Wilderness. More relaxed than usual Safari camps. The game was harder to find so more valued when you found it! No other safari vehicles to be seen. Lots of elephants, 1 sighting of a lion but heard them every night.

We had gone there to see wild dogs and although we had to go on to the neighbouring farm to see them (via a river crossing in a small boat!) and pay $50 each, we spent an evening and a morning watching them hunt and socialise. Fantastic!

Great guiding from Steven and Mgambe.

Lovely settings for sundowners. Great bush dinner. Comfortable tents with good hot water for showering.

We had hoped to fly camp one night but the weather was not suitable also to do a walking Safari but the government were checking all the rifles and had removed the camp rifles!" See all these reviews: 7n in Mozambique; 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs C
Devon

"Exciting safari at Laikipia Wilderness"

3 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2019
"Olivia had recommended that I have a private guide during my 3 days here and I struck lucky. My guide was almost as enthusiastic as I was and made my stay at Laikipia memorable. We had to cross over a river onto the neighbour's ranch as the dogs were denning there at a cost of $50 a day but it was well worth it. The first morning I only saw 1 dog just outside the den but in the afternoon saw around 5 dogs just leaving the den to hunt.

The next day we arrived at the den around 7.30am and the tracker device told us the dogs were out hunting. After much crashing around in the undergrowth we came upon the dogs eating their breakfast - an impala. We stayed watching around 9 dogs eating and playing for around an hour. Magic! Unfortunately on the way home the river level had risen by about 6feet due to rain in the mountains and we had to take a very long and bumpy detour to get back to camp.

Otherwise game is quite hard to spot because the vegetation is pretty dense but I came here chiefly to see the dogs and I was not disappointed.

The camp managers were away on holiday but things seemed to be running smoothly. The food was very good especially as the kitchen was tiny.

I noted that other guests - some with fairly young children - seem to have come to this camp because they wanted to walk (sometimes all day) or because you could swim in the river.

I did not partake in any of the activities so can't comment." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

9 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr M.
Loughborough

"Laikipia Wilderness review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2019
"Great countryside on which we travelled by vehicle and on foot.

Lots of elephants. Sadly no wild dogs as a year or so earlier distemper had killed nearly all of the pack.

Associated advertising should reflect this as we arrived expecting to have an excellent chance of seeing the wild dogs." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs M
Ascot

"Laikipia Wilderness review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Jan 2019
"I would not recommend this camp due to a paucity of wildlife and because the game is not used to vehicles and no matter how good your guide is [ours was excellent] as soon as you approach the game departs." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr T.
Bangkok

"Relaxing Lakipia"

3 nights Arrived 18 Dec 2018
"We loved Laikipia, despite not being able to see any Wild Dogs. The accommodation was great and the staff really friendly and knowledgeable. We saw lots of elephants, hippos, giraffe and zebra and enjoyed lovely walks, fishing and rafting - it was nice to be out of the Jeep for a while!" See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Marlow

"The place to see wild dogs..."

4 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2017
"Overall, our stay was interesting and eventful, the guides were knowledgeable, friendly and endlessly patient with our questions.  The two gap year students were great, entertaining and efficient, catering for our needs. Sadly, general management and communication (from Steve and Annabelle) was lacking throughout our visit. In particular, we rarely knew what was happening and when... some of this may have resulted from the problems with the herders, necessitating an evacuation to a fly camp on the first night, but on our return to the main camp, nothing changed... we did not feel confident that we were being told what was happening and certainly would have been concerned if things had deteriorated further....

Laikipia is beautiful and interesting, despite the severe drought and we saw many animals, including lots of elephant, hippopotamus, numerous reticulate giraffes, Grevy Zebra and the 11 wild dogs four times. unfortunately we did not see lion or cheetah and only had a nighttime sighting of a leopard...

Be aware that walking is a major feature of this camp, which being at the top end of the 65-70 age group, we were not able to do very much... and the one cartridge gun was also not very reassuring...

In conclusion, if you desperately want to see wild dogs (which is relatively easy, as the dogs have radio collars to locate them), this is the place, but be aware that it is more basic than many camps and certainly less organised...

There was satellite WiFi... but we were encouraged not to use it, due to the cost...." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya; 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mrs B
Edinburgh

"Fantastic safari camp"

4 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2016
"We had a wonderful four nights at Laikipia Widerness Camp.

Everything about it was exceptional but we have to single out Annabel's hospitality and Steve's game drives. Annabel was a wonderful host who made us feel at home and very relaxed. She went out of her way to reorganise our flight to the Mara to a private charter when she realised our scehduled flight was rerouted and would have taken us all day.

Steve and 'Four o'clock', his spotter, made our game drives spectacular tracking wild dogs and watching a kill being a highlight." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
E Sussex

"Amazing Experience at Laikipia Wilderness Cam"

4 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2016
"This is one of the best camps we have been to in Africa and was perfect for our family of six adults. Because it is so small and not part of a conservancy or national park, there is an amazing freedom here. We were made to feel like family and each day was different.

We saw plenty of game, and all the big five. We tracked the wild dogs on several occasions, and spent time watching them hunt and interact which was incredibly special.

We did some great walks, went swimming in a waterfall, spent time fishing, camped out one night, had meals out in the bush, and felt that it was as how Africa should be. The food was very good and everyone in the camp was friendly and looked after us very well." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 17
95%
17 reviews of Laikipia Wilderness by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
14
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Laikipia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kicheche Laikipia

Kicheche Laikipia

Kicheche Laikipia is the most luxurious tented camp of the handful of places to stay in the Ol Pejeta Conservancy in central Laikipia.


99% (39 reviews)
El Karama Eco-Lodge

El Karama Eco-Lodge

El Karama is a comfortably rustic, very personal, riverside eco-lodge on a game-rich private ranch in Laikipia, an hour’s drive north of Nanyuki airport.


99% (14 reviews)
Sosian

Sosian

Sosian Lode is a distinctive, estancia-style ranch house on a former cattle ranch, with great opportunities for riding, relaxing and seeing wild dogs and other savannah wildlife.


100% (12 reviews)
Lewa Wilderness

Lewa Wilderness

Lewa Wilderness is a comfortable, fenced safari lodge with nine cottages, great views and a huge range of activities.


96% (10 reviews)
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp

Ol Pejeta Bush Camp

Ol Pejeta Bush Camp is a simple camp, with comfortable tents, delivering an authentic wilderness experience backed up by good food and guiding.


100% (7 reviews)
Lewa Safari Camp

Lewa Safari Camp

Lewa Safari Camp is a comfortable and homely tented lodge, located in the Lewa Conservancy and offering a relatively exclusive safari away from mass tourism.


100% (5 reviews)
Il Ngwesi Eco-Lodge

Il Ngwesi Eco-Lodge

The community-owned Il Ngwesi Eco-Lodge sits atop a small hill in the remote Il Ngwesi Group Ranch, a two-hour drive north of Lewa Conservancy in north-eastern Laikipia.


100% (5 reviews)
Porini Rhino Camp

Porini Rhino Camp

Porini Rhino Camp is a small, simple, well established tented camp, with a keen focus on sustainable and low-impact tourism.


100% (5 reviews)
Borana

Borana

Borana is a comfortable and striking lodge on the Borana Conservancy in eastern Laikipia, offering pleasant accommodation with good food and service and a very wide range of activities.


92% (5 reviews)
Tassia Lodge

Tassia Lodge

Tassia offers a unique wilderness experience in a remote location: come here for cultural interaction, stunning views and something a bit different.


100% (4 reviews)
Solio Lodge

Solio Lodge

Solio Lodge is an exclusive and luxurious bush lodge set in the private Solio Game Ranch in southern Laikipia.


100% (3 reviews)
Lewa House

Lewa House

Lewa House is a boutique safari lodge on a farm on the Lewa Conservancy, north of Mount Kenya


100% (3 reviews)
Sirikoi

Sirikoi

Sirikoi is a small, very high-quality safari camp with excellent service and food and a wide selection of activities.


100% (2 reviews)
Kifaru House

Kifaru House

Kifaru House is a small, stylish safari lodge in the Lewa Conservancy, with beautiful views across the landscape.


100% (1 review)
Sweetwaters Serena Camp

Sweetwaters Serena

Sweetwaters Serena is a large, older tented camp – the largest camp in the Laikipia region – in the eastern part of the Ol Pejeta Conservancy.


100% (1 review)
Sandai

Sandai

Sandai is a pretty, owner-run homestay, set between the Aberdare Range and Mount Kenya, offering a range of activities at extra cost.


100% (1 review)
Karisia Walking Safaris

Karisia Walking Safaris

Karisia Walking Safaris operates camel assisted, multi-day walking safaris from its main camp, Tumaren, set in a remote part of Laikipia.


100% (1 review)
Loisaba Tented Camp

Loisaba Tented Camp

Loisaba Tented Camp is a luxury safari base of tented rooms, ranged along a ridge in the Loisaba Conservancy, facing Mount Kenya. The camp was completely rebuilt in 2016.


100% (1 review)
Loisaba Star Beds

Loisaba Star Beds

Loisaba Starbeds is a simple camp of 4 rooms with pull-out, open-air 'star beds', located near a dam in the Loisaba Conservancy, in northwestern Laikipia.


100% (1 review)
Sabuk Lodge

Sabuk Lodge

Sabuk Lodge is a charismatic and remote lodge in western Laikipia on the high, rocky banks of the Ewaso Nyiro River.


No reviews yet
The Sanctuary at Ol Lentille

Sanctuary at Ol Lentille

The Sanctuary at Ol Lentille is an unusual safari lodge in northern Laikipia, consisting of three exclusive villas, and offering a huge range of activities.


No reviews yet
Thomson's Falls Lodge

Thomsons Falls Lodge

Thomsons Falls Lodge is a simple hotel dating back to the colonial era above the falls of the same name, just outside the western Laikipia town of Nyahururu.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa