This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Laikipia Wilderness
Laikipia Wilderness
Laikipia Wilderness
Laikipia Wilderness

Reviews of Laikipia Wilderness

Wildlife sightings and reviews

22 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Laikipia Wilderness and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Dec-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Laikipia Wilderness.
Lion

50% success

Leopard

80% success

Cheetah

11% success

Wild dog

55% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

73% success

Eland

70% success

Buffalo

56% success

Striped Hyena

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 22
Duration
Arrival date
Mr C.
West Horsley

"Laikipia Wilderness review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2022
"Warm and welcoming from the moment we arrived. Journey from Nanyuki was superb, a mini safari in itself.

We didn’t have anything to compare but felt the wilderness and loved it. very much our cup of tea. Relaxed and communal while also private for individual family drives out. Great food, plenty of it.

The guides were incredible. They taught us so much, very patient with all the kids’ questions and clearly loved their jobs and the wildlife.

An unforgettable place and experience." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Zebra

9 sightings

Geoff @ St Albans
UK

"Laikipia Wilderness review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Mar 2022
"Very different to Maasai Mara, much dryer and very quiet, a good contrast.

Again, what we wanted, a small remote camp with great guides and no gold taps frills.

Tent and terrace good. Food was excellent, the best of the trip. A good meal plan of brunch and supper, plenty. Owner was not there but the Deputy Manager, Kenneth was delightful. All staff were good.

Great guiding and birding with Dan, ex Zimbabwe guide. The night spent under the stars after a camp fire supper was wonderful, strongly recommend if you like camping." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs J
Hanwell

"Still wild heaven"

4 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2022
"I had been dreaming of returning to Laikipia Wilderness ever since our last visit in 2015. I'm delighted to say that, although it was quite a different experience this time, it's still just as glorious a place to spend time.

Different? Well firstly the weather - last time we came it was in the rainy season, everything green and the tracks slick with mud; this time we were in the middle of a drought and the river was seriously drying up. Secondly the wild dogs, who we spent a lot of time watching before, were denning and therefore not really possible to see. There's plenty to Laikipia other than dogs, and it was interesting to see how the environment changed and an object lesson in the importance of the rains.

As far as wildlife is concerned, drought equals easy pickings for predators and the leopards were out in force. They barely even needed to hunt - the local livestock seemed to be doing rather worse in the dry conditions than the wildlife and the leopards were more than happy to provide a disposal service for any cow that expired. We got some terrific daylight sightings - a pair appeared to be enjoying a romantic Valentine's meal of carcass - and also twice saw the gorgeous melanistic leopard (big) cub who is living near the camp.

Laikipia though, is really less about what you see than how you see it. There's no luxury trappings or conventional creature comforts- but I've rarely found somewhere where I feel more comfortable. Every meal we had was delicious and often improved by being eaten out in the wilds. All the meals are taken with the guides and other guests, and evenings usually finished by sitting around the fire with a drink swapping travellers tales!

It's a great place to go if you love walking in the bush - our guide, Dan, had recently arrived in Kenya after guiding in Zimbabwe but was very knowledgeable and clearly very experienced as both a walking and a driving guide. He was ably assisted by our spotter, Simon." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Uli
Germany

"Wild Dogs and Black Leopard !!!"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jan 2022
"Laikipia Wilderness Camp is located on a ranch in a very dry area (at the time of our visit!) causing less game as usual. Nevertheless we saw a lot of different and special species even not many individuals of each.

Our guide was Steven - very experienced and a great spotter! We came to Laikipia Wilderness to see Wild Dogs and so he tried everything to find them. There was just 1 pack around and last seen about 20 km away from where were. Although some individuals of the pack were collared it was really hard for him to track them but finally (after a whole day of searching them!) he found them. it was amazing to to observe them while meeting and greeting after the day rest before heading out for hunting. We were so lucky to see them again next morning while crossing a river before they disappeared on an other ranch.

But the most amazing and spectacular sighting in Laikipia Wilderness was the spotting of a normal coloured female leopard and her black (melanistic) cub during a night drive. This was a really very very rare and special sighting - not only for us! Even our guide Steven had seen the black cub only 2 times before.

The Camp is the only one in the huge area of the ranch - no other people or vehicles around. It is a bit rustic but also very comfortable, the food not extraordinary but still very good.

Manager Steve was around but doesn't seem to be interested very much in us and didn't join us for one drive or walk although we've been the only guests during our whole stay at Laikipia Wilderness. That was a little bit disappointing after reading lot of comments about his very special guiding but Steven was a very good guide as well!" See all these reviews: 16n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Striped Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

The VD family
London

"Laikipia Wilderness review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Nov 2021
"This was our second time to the Laikipia region for us. We like this region with its beautiful landscapes which are completely different from the Maasai Mara.

A safari in Laikipia is more hard work to spot animals but it feels more authentic and rewarding when you spot them. It was particularly on our list this time as we hoped to see the wild dogs. Unfortunately we missed them as they were quite far while we were there but we knew in advance there wasn't a guarantee to see them.

Our guides were top notch and making every effort to make sure we could see as much as possible. Especially if you like birds Laikipia and LWC should be on your list. The manager Steve is also making every effort to make sure you have a good time, again with activities different than in the Mara like walking safaris, night drives, swimming in the river, dinner in the bush,...

The tents are comfortable and clean with a nice view. Good hot water for showering and good internet from the dedicated internet tent." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Miss P
London

"Dogs are back in town"

8 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2020
"This was a return to Laikipia Wilderness from a first visit in 2013, before the wild dog population was decimated by the distemper outbreak (in 2017). My trip was planned last minute to replace my Covid cancelled safaris, and I had read on LWC's FB that the revived pack had denned in June and so the timing was chosen to maximise the chances of seeing the puppies once they had left the den but hopefully not mobile enough to move too far afield.

This was a success and I enjoyed some fantastic sightings of the pack and their five puppies. The atmosphere at Laikipia Wilderness is very relaxed with no overtly strict "Covid protocols".

It's a lovely authentic owner run camp and it was a pleasure to spend time with the owner, Steve Carey and his children and hear about their bush adventures. I did a few great walks with Steve and also Barend, although it was a constant dilemma of whether to walk or track the dogs!!" See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr R.
Colombo 5

"Laikipia Wilderness"

3 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2019
"The four of us (2 couples) spent three nights at Laikipia Wilderness Camp (LWC). The camp is run with real passion and soul. This, I think is a reflection of Steve, the owner, who has instilled the same ethos in all his staff, several of whom told us that Steve was the best boss they have ever had. All four of us are experienced safari goers and we were primarily at LWC to try to see wild dogs, which we felt there was a good chance to do at LWC because of the radio tracking they were able to do as part of a research project. The dogs had moved on to a neighbouring ranch when we arrived, but LWC had access to this area as well, we did have to pay a small additional fee of USD 50 per person towards the Wild Dog Trust for the access, we did not mind this. We had a fabulous sighting of the entire pack, including a large number of pups, after a long search. As a bonus during our stay we also had two good sightings of leopard.

The camp facilities were unpretentious compared with many other premiums priced camps, although it was more than sufficient to meet all our needs. The food was fabulous. The staff were all friendly and efficient and provided exceptional service. The guides, including Steve who accompanied us on two game drives/walks, were very knowledgeable and skilled. I have no hesitancy in recommending LWC to any potential safari goer, particularly if you are interested in seeing wild dogs, which are not that easy to see in most other places." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Pandc
Evesham

"Somewhere different at Laikipia Wilderness"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2019
"Great stay at Laikipia Wilderness. More relaxed than usual Safari camps. The game was harder to find so more valued when you found it! No other safari vehicles to be seen. Lots of elephants, 1 sighting of a lion but heard them every night.

We had gone there to see wild dogs and although we had to go on to the neighbouring farm to see them (via a river crossing in a small boat!) and pay $50 each, we spent an evening and a morning watching them hunt and socialise. Fantastic!

Great guiding from Steven and Mgambe.

Lovely settings for sundowners. Great bush dinner. Comfortable tents with good hot water for showering.

We had hoped to fly camp one night but the weather was not suitable also to do a walking Safari but the government were checking all the rifles and had removed the camp rifles!" See all these reviews: 7n in Mozambique; 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs C
Devon

"Exciting safari at Laikipia Wilderness"

3 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2019
"Olivia had recommended that I have a private guide during my 3 days here and I struck lucky. My guide was almost as enthusiastic as I was and made my stay at Laikipia memorable. We had to cross over a river onto the neighbour's ranch as the dogs were denning there at a cost of $50 a day but it was well worth it. The first morning I only saw 1 dog just outside the den but in the afternoon saw around 5 dogs just leaving the den to hunt.

The next day we arrived at the den around 7.30am and the tracker device told us the dogs were out hunting. After much crashing around in the undergrowth we came upon the dogs eating their breakfast - an impala. We stayed watching around 9 dogs eating and playing for around an hour. Magic! Unfortunately on the way home the river level had risen by about 6feet due to rain in the mountains and we had to take a very long and bumpy detour to get back to camp.

Otherwise game is quite hard to spot because the vegetation is pretty dense but I came here chiefly to see the dogs and I was not disappointed.

The camp managers were away on holiday but things seemed to be running smoothly. The food was very good especially as the kitchen was tiny.

I noted that other guests - some with fairly young children - seem to have come to this camp because they wanted to walk (sometimes all day) or because you could swim in the river.

I did not partake in any of the activities so can't comment." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

9 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr M.
Loughborough

"Laikipia Wilderness review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2019
"Great countryside on which we travelled by vehicle and on foot.

Lots of elephants. Sadly no wild dogs as a year or so earlier distemper had killed nearly all of the pack.

Associated advertising should reflect this as we arrived expecting to have an excellent chance of seeing the wild dogs." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Showing 1-10 of 22
95%
22 reviews of Laikipia Wilderness by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Laikipia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kicheche Laikipia

Kicheche Laikipia

Kicheche Laikipia is the most luxurious tented camp of the handful of places to stay in the Ol Pejeta Conservancy in central Laikipia.


98% (46 reviews)
Sosian

Sosian

Sosian Lode is a distinctive, estancia-style ranch house on a former cattle ranch, with great opportunities for riding, relaxing and seeing wild dogs and other savannah wildlife.


100% (15 reviews)
El Karama Eco-Lodge

El Karama Eco-Lodge

El Karama is a comfortably rustic, very personal, riverside eco-lodge on a game-rich private ranch in Laikipia, an hour’s drive north of Nanyuki airport.


99% (14 reviews)
Lewa Wilderness

Lewa Wilderness

Lewa Wilderness is a comfortable, fenced safari lodge with nine cottages, great views and a huge range of activities.


97% (12 reviews)
Il Ngwesi Eco-Lodge

Il Ngwesi Eco-Lodge

The community-owned Il Ngwesi Eco-Lodge sits atop a small hill in the remote Il Ngwesi Group Ranch, a two-hour drive north of Lewa Conservancy in north-eastern Laikipia.


98% (10 reviews)
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp

Ol Pejeta Bush Camp

Ol Pejeta Bush Camp is a simple camp, with comfortable tents, delivering an authentic wilderness experience backed up by good food and guiding.


98% (8 reviews)
Lewa Safari Camp

Lewa Safari Camp

Lewa Safari Camp is a comfortable and homely tented lodge, located in the Lewa Conservancy and offering a relatively exclusive safari away from mass tourism.


95% (8 reviews)
Solio Lodge

Solio Lodge

Solio Lodge is an exclusive and luxurious bush lodge set in the private Solio Game Ranch in southern Laikipia.


100% (5 reviews)
Porini Rhino Camp

Porini Rhino Camp

Porini Rhino Camp is a small, simple, well established tented camp, with a keen focus on sustainable and low-impact tourism.


100% (4 reviews)
Borana

Borana

Borana is a comfortable and striking lodge on the Borana Conservancy in eastern Laikipia, offering pleasant accommodation with good food and service and a very wide range of activities.


92% (5 reviews)
Tassia Lodge

Tassia Lodge

Tassia offers a unique wilderness experience in a remote location: come here for cultural interaction, stunning views and something a bit different.


100% (3 reviews)
Lewa House

Lewa House

Lewa House is a boutique safari lodge on a farm on the Lewa Conservancy, north of Mount Kenya


100% (4 reviews)
Sirikoi

Sirikoi

Sirikoi is a small, very high-quality safari camp with excellent service and food and a wide selection of activities.


100% (2 reviews)
Loisaba Tented Camp

Loisaba Tented Camp

Loisaba Tented Camp is a luxury safari base of tented rooms, ranged along a ridge in the Loisaba Conservancy, facing Mount Kenya. The camp was completely rebuilt in 2016.


100% (2 reviews)
Loisaba Star Beds

Loisaba Star Beds

Loisaba Starbeds is a simple camp of 4 rooms with pull-out, open-air 'star beds', located near a dam in the Loisaba Conservancy, in northwestern Laikipia.


100% (2 reviews)
Kifaru House

Kifaru House

Kifaru House is a small, stylish safari lodge in the Lewa Conservancy, with beautiful views across the landscape.


100% (1 review)
Sandai

Sandai

Sandai is a pretty, owner-run homestay, set between the Aberdare Range and Mount Kenya, offering a range of activities at extra cost.


100% (1 review)
Karisia Walking Safaris

Karisia Walking Safaris

Karisia Walking Safaris operates camel assisted, multi-day walking safaris from its main camp, Tumaren, set in a remote part of Laikipia.


100% (1 review)
Sabuk Lodge

Sabuk Lodge

Sabuk Lodge is a charismatic and remote lodge in western Laikipia on the high, rocky banks of the Ewaso Nyiro River.


100% (1 review)
Sweetwaters Serena Camp

Sweetwaters Serena

Sweetwaters Serena is a large, older tented camp – the largest camp in the Laikipia region – in the eastern part of the Ol Pejeta Conservancy.


100% (1 review)
The Sanctuary at Ol Lentille

Sanctuary at Ol Lentille

The Sanctuary at Ol Lentille is an unusual safari lodge in northern Laikipia, consisting of three exclusive villas, and offering a huge range of activities.


No reviews yet
Thomson's Falls Lodge

Thomsons Falls Lodge

Thomsons Falls Lodge is a simple hotel dating back to the colonial era above the falls of the same name, just outside the western Laikipia town of Nyahururu.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa