This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr BG from Newport Coast

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

6

Lodges stayed in

17

Excursions taken

1

My Jan 2019 trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 20 Jan 2019 and 4 Feb 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Great trip, our longest yet. We had a wonderful time in both Kenya and Tanzania. We especially appreciate Expert Africa handling a problem with our guide on a Saturday so well, thank you!"

Arranged By Jessica Plumb


Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

"Offbeat Mara review"

4 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2019
"Great camp with good service, guiding, food, and excellent game viewing!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit

Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

20 Jan 2019 • Morning excursion

Nice to see
Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees Country Inn

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jan 2019
"Beautiful lodge"
Excellent
Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

"Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jan 2019
"Nice facilities but just fair food"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Lake Manyara Safari

Lake Manyara Safari

"Safari in Lake Manyara National Park review"

25 Jan 2019 • All-day excursion

Very little wildlife
Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

26 Jan 2019 • All-day excursion

As always, the crater delivers!
Excellent
Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati

"Nice camp"

4 nights Arrived 27 Jan 2019
"Nice basic camp but you can be limited to game viewing only in Serengeti unless you also pay for access to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area. That area is greener, has more water and so game viewing is more plentiful. This camp can save you money but be sure to add the other park fees!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2019
"Loads of big cats, but everything is extremely spread out so on most game drives you may go an hour or more without seeing that much. We had many cheetah, lion and leopard sitings as they promote. The facilities are nice but getting dated, they're building a more permanent lodge to open Summer of 2019."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average

My May 2018 trip

Zimbabwe and 1 other country between 5 May 2018 and 19 May 2018

Trip rating: Good
"I wish we had known just how early in the season we were going and the limited amount of game sightings we should expect, we would have gone later if we had.
Otherwise the trip was well done and worked as planned.

This is the second time we've used Maruska and were very pleased before, so perhaps it was poor communication on my part."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 5 May 2018
"Very convenient place in the airport"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

"The Elephant Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 May 2018
"This is a wonderful camp, sort of a halfway house between a lodge and a bush camp.

Food was incredible, and of course, having time with Sylvester the cheetah was great.

Highly recommend!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

"Camp Hwange review"

4 nights Arrived 8 May 2018
"We were quite early in the season(May) so wildlife wasn't as plentiful as we hoped, but the camp did a nice job overall.

Our guide Nigel was exceptional and contributed to us having one game drive that was just great, we saw everything from Cape Buffalo running to being surrounded by six lions."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Vundu Camp

Vundu Camp

"Vundu Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 12 May 2018
"We were the first visitors to the entire park (early May), so game was quite disbursed since water was available everywhere.

This meant we have far fewer sightings than we expected, but the camp still was a pleasure to visit. It's in a beautiful spot on the Zambezi River, the people are very warm and friendly, and the guide Henry was excellent.

We did three approaches on foot to lions, and since we stayed fairly far away it was actually pretty tame!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

My Feb 2017 trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 13 Feb 2017 and 26 Feb 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Great trip, well planned and executed."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Nxai Pan Camp

Nxai Pan Camp

"Nxai Pan Review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2017
"We had a beautiful time a Nxai Pan during the Green Season.

The rooms are expansive, and zebra plentiful as their migration was in the area."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Kwara Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2017
"At Kwara Camp we had four nights with a private guide in the Green Season.

The area was just beautiful and lush, and we did see a pack a wild dogs as a bonus. Other game was somewhat hard to find, our guide worked really hard to track cheetahs and lions with limited results, though.

We did have a leopard kill an impala about 20 feet from our tent, though!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

"Savute Under Canvas review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Feb 2017
"We had amazing lion and leopard sightings during our stay in the Green Season, seeing a large pride of lions daily and several leopards at a distance since there is no offroading in the park.

We were the only guests for several days, and found the facilities somewhat neglected. Our vehicle broke down while on safari, they did a good job coming to tow it back to camp though. The shower also was broken and wasn't fixed while we're there, perhaps it was a victim of the constant moving of the camp."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

"The Elephant Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2017
"Beautiful, luxious camp with wonderful extras like the elephant encounter and walks with Sylvester the cheetah.

This is not a safari camp, rather a lodge that uses canvas as walls for their large guest suites."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Great trip

Rwanda and 1 other country between 21 Jul 2016 and 2 Aug 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was a great trip, where we did traditional game drives in the Masai Mara and gorilla trekking in Rwanda."

Image alt

Nkorombo Serian

"River Crossings"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2016
"Great small camp, a good tie in with a camp in the concessions. We were fortunate to see a large scale river crossing during the migration. We enjoyed the camp's down to earth style, good food, and excellent game drives with pur guide Steve and the private vehicle."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Serian

Serian

"Serian in the concessions"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2016
"Great facilities, surprisingly luxurious and large tent/room. We tied this with Nkorombo to have two differnt areas, here you can go off road and have night drives. We enjoyed a great night drive and even saw an Aardwolf for the first time."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Kigali Serena Hotel

Kigali Serena Hotel

"Kigali Serena, mixed review"

1 night Arrived 28 Jul 2016
"Our first (outbound) stay was in an upgraded room, it was a very nice stay. Dinner was excellent and service was good. On our return stay, everything was the opposite- we had a tiny, cramped room, poor service and a poor dinner. When we asked about the differences in the room, we were told we had been upgraded earlier without being told and that this was the proper, reserved room. If so, I would not recommend this hotel."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Gorilla Mtn View Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2016
"As Ellie mentioned, Rwanda overall is lagging in serving tourists, this lodge is a good choice for facilities, food and location but they are inefficient in some of the basics of service."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team