This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kigali Serena Hotel

Reviews of Kigali Serena Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

66 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kigali Serena Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 66
Duration
Arrival date
Liz C
Sussex

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2022
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Liz C
Sussex

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 15 Jul 2022
"Just spent first and last night there.

All good, good service etc" See all these reviews: 10n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr/Mrs E
Wisconsin US

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 8 Jun 2022
"The check-in process, late at night, was inexcusably long despite their already having our passports and our guide calling ahead as we were driving in from the gorilla trekking.

When going to our room, we were not told we were in a "new wing," and had to go up to the top floor, get lost, and come back to the main desk to ask for directions. The room that we were given was not cleaned after the most recent guests had left (!), prior to our arrival, and they never brought fresh towels, so we shared the one unused towel left over from the previous guest.

Food was expensive and no dairy-free options were available. We recommend that anyone with dietary restrictions present a prepared (translated) note for the staff.

Because of an early departure, we had our breakfasts boxed. For some reason they prepared 8 boxes for the five of us, and none of them were what we ordered - several items were missing, and several unordered items were present... fortunately we were able to piece together what we needed." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya; 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
DeGoler Clan
CA, USA

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 21 Jun 2021
"A perfectly acceptable, standard, modern hotel, restaurant and pool." See all these reviews: 5n in Seychelles; 3n in Rwanda; 3n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms. K
Laramie

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 8 Aug 2019
"See previous Kigali Serena Hotel page for review [Ed: see below]" See all these reviews: 4n in Rwanda; 4n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms. K
Laramie

"Excellent stay at Serena Hotel"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2019
"Fantastic hotel! We were not expecting much for our two night stay at Kigali Serena Hotel, and what we received far exceeded the luxury hotels in the US!

The service was amazing, the food was great, and the rooms were wonderful! The amenities and luxury for the price was fantastic! If we are ever in Rwanda again, we would not stay anywhere else but Kigali Serena!" See all these reviews: 4n in Rwanda; 4n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms A
Wareham

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 5 Dec 2018
"As before.
Prompt early wake up call with hot drinks.
Would recommend as a place to stay in the city." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms A
Wareham

"Serena"

1 night Arrived 30 Nov 2018
"Good standard with excellent facilities. Very welcoming and good service. Quality of food good." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Jenny
Faversham

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2018
"It's a big international hotel of the type found all over the world, and served its purpose for an overnight stay between journies. Lovely hot shower and a comfortable bed.

If I visit again and need a similar overnight stay I would head to Heaven." See all these reviews: 5n in Rwanda; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Dr H
Lancs

"Good 3 night stay"

3 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2018
"A very well appointed ,international standard hotel.

Clean, efficient service, good food and courteous staff." See all these reviews: 12n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 66
90%
66 reviews of Kigali Serena Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
40
20
5
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kigali

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines

The international-style Hotel des Mille Collines offers a comfortable base in Kigali, or a stopover on the way to or from Rwanda's national parks.


84% (65 reviews)
Heaven Boutique Hotel

Heaven Hotel

Heaven Boutique Hotel is a comfortable and great-value option for a stopover in Kigali, or as a longer stay to explore Rwanda's capital city.


92% (10 reviews)
Heaven Retreat

The Retreat

Heaven Retreat is the luxurious and stylish sister hotel of Heaven Boutique, and makes for a great stopover, or a base to explore Kigali.


100% (2 reviews)
Kigali Marriott Hotel

Kigali Marriott Hotel

The Kigali Marriott is a smart international hotel located close to KIgali's business district, in the heart of the city.


100% (1 review)
Kigali Radisson Blu

Kigali Radisson Blu

The Kigali Radisson Blu is only a short drive from the airport and offers a comfortable base in Kigali.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa