This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Hotel des Mille Collines
Hotel des Mille Collines
Hotel des Mille Collines
Hotel des Mille Collines
Hotel des Mille Collines
Hotel des Mille Collines
Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines


1°56’48.4"S 30°3’43.3"E

Reviews of Hotel des Mille Collines

Wildlife sightings and reviews

65 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hotel des Mille Collines and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 65
Duration
Arrival date
Ms
Redondo Beach

"Hotel des Mille Collines review"

1 night Arrived 24 Aug 2022
"See previous comments" See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Ms
Redondo Beach

"Hotel des Mille Collines review"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2022
"My time in this hotel was limited due to flights.

Breakfast buffet was good. Menu was limited.

Staff was very friendly and helpful" See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mrs J
North Vancouve

"Hotel des Mille Collines review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jun 2022
"The rooms were great! The staff were welcoming and very helpful. The breakfast included was excellent. The enjoyed a beer at outside Bar next to the pool. Great views overlooking the city.

This was the start of our visit in Rwanda. We were pickup at the airport by Robert and Shema. We were greeted with huge smiles and warm welcome. Shema stayed with us for our entire 7 days in Rwanda. We cannot say enough about this man. Shema enhanced our trip and we are forever greatful.

He took us the Genocide Museum. What humbling experience." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda; 6n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D.
New York

"Hotel des Mille Collines review"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2021
"We spent an additional night at the Hotel des Mille Collines after visiting Volcanoes National Park for gorilla and golden monkey trekking and before our flight to Tanzania the next day.

On this second visit, they got the rooms right the first time :)

Not much else to add beyond our original review though regarding service, rooms, or food." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs D.
New York

"Hotel des Mille Collines review"

1 night Arrived 17 Oct 2021
"This was where we started our trip in Africa and our group had a fairly short stay at the historic Hotel des Mille Collines.

As other reviewers mentioned, the hotel is somewhat dated and could use some modern upgrades. It seemed like most other guests were here on business. We had two rooms for our group of four and there was a slight mix-up for the other two people in our group who requested a room with twin beds. Their first room was set up as a double, the second room was configured correctly but had a bag in it. Ultimately, they were put in one that was configured correctly but was no longer a garden view room as originally booked. This wasn't much of an issue though and the staff was accommodating.

Dinner at the pool bar/restaurant and the breakfast buffet were fairly average. Service overall was fantastic and all staff and most guests wore masks throughout the property." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Jarek
Poland

"Hotel des Mille Collines review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jun 2021
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Jarek
Poland

"Hotel des Mille Collines review"

1 night Arrived 6 Jun 2021
"It definitely requires renovation, there is big contrast between this hotel and other facilities we stayed or visited." See all these reviews: 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Dr and Mrs P
Greece

"Hotel des Mille Collines review"

1 night Arrived 12 Feb 2020
"I just wanted to stay there because of the hotel rwanda movie :) and I did it.
They were busy with construction work, so there was some noise till late in the evening. The service was also a bit off...
It was my choice to stay there and against the soft advice by Expert Africa. I'm glad that I did, but if I were to return for a short stay at Kigali I would choose Haven Residences ( or the Marriott)." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs L.
London

"Great start to our safari at Mille Collines"

1 night Arrived 3 Nov 2019
"Grand old hotel, very well located.

The rooms were a bit dated, but the hotel is historically very interesting and definitely worth staying at.

The pool bar was particularly nice and the service was excellent." See all these reviews: 9n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J & Mrs S
Streatha

"Hotel des Mille Collines"

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2019
"Only there one night but pleasant and comfortable. Efficient check in." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 65
84%
65 reviews of Hotel des Mille Collines by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
22
36
5
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kigali

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kigali Serena Hotel

Kigali Serena Hotel

Just 10km from the airport, the Kigali Serena is a comfortable option and one of Expert Africa's favourites for a stopover in Kigali.


90% (66 reviews)
Heaven Boutique Hotel

Heaven Hotel

Heaven Boutique Hotel is a comfortable and great-value option for a stopover in Kigali, or as a longer stay to explore Rwanda's capital city.


93% (11 reviews)
Heaven Retreat

The Retreat

Heaven Retreat is the luxurious and stylish sister hotel of Heaven Boutique, and makes for a great stopover, or a base to explore Kigali.


100% (2 reviews)
Kigali Marriott Hotel

Kigali Marriott Hotel

The Kigali Marriott is a smart international hotel located close to KIgali's business district, in the heart of the city.


100% (1 review)
Kigali Radisson Blu

Kigali Radisson Blu

The Kigali Radisson Blu is only a short drive from the airport and offers a comfortable base in Kigali.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa