This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hotel des Mille Collines
Hotel des Mille Collines
Hotel des Mille Collines
Hotel des Mille Collines
Hotel des Mille Collines
Hotel des Mille Collines
Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines


1°56’48.4"S 30°3’43.3"E

Reviews of Hotel des Mille Collines

Wildlife sightings and reviews

58 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hotel des Mille Collines and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 58
Duration
Arrival date
Dr P
Netherlands

"Hotel des Mille Collines review"

1 night Arrived 12 Feb 2020
"I just wanted to stay there because of the hotel rwanda movie :) and I did it.
They were busy with construction work, so there was some noise till late in the evening. The service was also a bit off...
It was my choice to stay there and against the soft advice by Expert Africa. I'm glad that I did, but if I were to return for a short stay at Kigali I would choose Haven Residences ( or the Marriott)." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs L.
London

"Great start to our safari at Mille Collines"

1 night Arrived 3 Nov 2019
"Grand old hotel, very well located.

The rooms were a bit dated, but the hotel is historically very interesting and definitely worth staying at.

The pool bar was particularly nice and the service was excellent." See all these reviews: 9n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J & Mrs S
Streatha

"Hotel des Mille Collines"

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2019
"Only there one night but pleasant and comfortable. Efficient check in." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Marilyn & Duane
CA

"Excellent hotel"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2019
"The famous “Hotel Rwanda” of movie fame. This part of Kigali and the hotel feel pretty upscale. Good live music in an outside bar every night.
We were here to rest, clean up and get a city vibe after two weeks in Tanzania on safari.
Our style in cities is to walk. This clearly was not what hotel or safari companies wanted, they all wanted us to buy a city tour. We were very glad we went on our own. A big hit from our trip was walking to the Nyamirambo neighborhood and women’s center. The women there offer a fantastic local tour of he neighborhood and their work to economically empower local women. Inspirational, no hype, all local and a wonderful lunch of local foods prepared and served in the house of one of the women. We spent the better part of one day doing this and thoroughly enjoyed it.
The mandatory thing to do in Kigali is visit the Genocide Memorial. That tragedy is well documented, no holds barred, but ultimately uplifting. Rwanda has done a remarkable job of reconciliation and healing. The leadership of the country and its people have managed to accomplish something I would have never thought possible. Memorial is a fairly short cab drive, great audio guides inside, free but please leave a generous donation to help keep sending this message of forgiveness and healing." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 2n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rusty Hudak
Stow

"Hotel des Mille Collines"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2019
"A really great hotel. We got there pretty late and had to leave early the next day so we did not had a very good chance to thoroughly enjoy it." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr K
New York

"Hotel des Mille Collines"

1 night Arrived 29 Jun 2019
"Brief stay - late arrival and early departure. Hotel was excellent. Great breakfast and good internet." See all these reviews: 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Wimbledon

"Hotel des Mille Collines review"

1 night Arrived 16 Nov 2018
"See earlier comment . [Ed: see below]" See all these reviews: 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Wimbledon

"Hotel des Mille Collines review"

1 night Arrived 30 Oct 2018
"Just a little tired around the edges!

As usual staff are very attentive and service is impeccable." See all these reviews: 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Mr + Mrs M
Vancouver

"Hotel des Mille Collines review"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2018
"Excellent hotel, but the restaurant seemed depressingly empty." See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia; 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr P.
Chilterns

"Hotel des Mille Collines review"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 58
84%
58 reviews of Hotel des Mille Collines by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
20
33
3
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kigali

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kigali Serena Hotel

Kigali Serena Hotel

Just 10km from the airport, the Kigali Serena is a comfortable option and one of Expert Africa's favourites for a stopover in Kigali.


91% (63 reviews)
Heaven Boutique Hotel

Heaven Hotel

Heaven Boutique Hotel is a comfortable and great-value option for a stopover in Kigali, or as a longer stay to explore Rwanda's capital city.


92% (5 reviews)
Heaven Retreat

The Retreat

Heaven Retreat is the luxurious and stylish sister hotel of Heaven Boutique, and makes for a great stopover, or a base to explore Kigali.


100% (1 review)
Kigali Marriott Hotel

Kigali Marriott Hotel

The Kigali Marriott is a smart international hotel located close to KIgali's business district, in the heart of the city.


100% (1 review)
Kigali Radisson Blu

Kigali Radisson Blu

The Kigali Radisson Blu is only a short drive from the airport and offers a comfortable base in Kigali.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa