This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kigali Serena Hotel

Reviews of Kigali Serena Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

69 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kigali Serena Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 69
Duration
Arrival date
Ms A
Wareham

"Serena"

1 night Arrived 30 Nov 2018
"Good standard with excellent facilities. Very welcoming and good service. Quality of food good." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Jenny
Faversham

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2018
"It's a big international hotel of the type found all over the world, and served its purpose for an overnight stay between journies. Lovely hot shower and a comfortable bed.

If I visit again and need a similar overnight stay I would head to Heaven." See all these reviews: 5n in Rwanda; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Dr H
Lancs

"Good 3 night stay"

3 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2018
"A very well appointed ,international standard hotel.

Clean, efficient service, good food and courteous staff." See all these reviews: 12n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr E
Pennsylvania

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 11 Mar 2018
"Arrived late and left early. Packed a very nice breakfast to take to the airport with us

They did not have hot water in our wing of the hotel. They acted surprised when we told them about it but clearly other people have reported it. I had mentioned on check-in that I would like to have a hot shower.

I think with this knowledge they could have put us in a different part of the hotel." See all these reviews: 8n in Rwanda; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Ms M
CambridgeHeath

"Excellent Hotel"

1 night Arrived 28 Jan 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M
CambridgeHeath

"Large room, superb pool"

1 night Arrived 24 Jan 2018
"Very nice Hotel excellent room and restaurant. pool was large. Could have done with a full day to enjoy." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R
Los Altos Hills

"1 night in Kigali Serena"

1 night Arrived 27 Dec 2017
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms M & Mr S
USA

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 19 Dec 2017
"This hotel was very high class -- it actually felt a little excessive.

It was a lovely place, and we got a suite. It was such a shame that we spent only about 9 hours there, because we got in so late and we were picked up so early in the morning.

I have nothing bad to say about the hotel at all." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms G
Sarnia

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2017
"This was a beautiful hotel.

Just wish that we had spent more time there. We arrived around 6pm and left before 6am." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs M
London

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2017
"The Serena Hotel in Kigali was to the standard expected, and it was very pleasant sitting having breakfast on their balcony overlooking the pool before the sun became too strong." See all these reviews: 10n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 69
89%
69 reviews of Kigali Serena Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
41
20
7
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kigali

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines

The international-style Hotel des Mille Collines offers a comfortable base in Kigali, or a stopover on the way to or from Rwanda's national parks.


84% (65 reviews)
Heaven Boutique Hotel

Heaven Hotel

Heaven Boutique Hotel is a comfortable and great-value option for a stopover in Kigali, or as a longer stay to explore Rwanda's capital city.


94% (13 reviews)
Heaven Retreat

The Retreat

Heaven Retreat is the luxurious and stylish sister hotel of Heaven Boutique, and makes for a great stopover, or a base to explore Kigali.


100% (2 reviews)
Kigali Marriott Hotel

Kigali Marriott Hotel

The Kigali Marriott is a smart international hotel located close to KIgali's business district, in the heart of the city.


100% (1 review)
Kigali Radisson Blu

Kigali Radisson Blu

The Kigali Radisson Blu is only a short drive from the airport and offers a comfortable base in Kigali.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa