This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr H & Ms T from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

14

Excursions taken

0

My Nov 2011 trip

South Africa between 23 Nov 2011 and 6 Dec 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Setting up the trip was very easy. Claire was extremely helpful and accommodated a last minute change in the flight schedule.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

It was very straightforward - could not have been more helpful."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

"Vineyard Hotel and Spa review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2011
"This was a good place to start our trip - service and food was good."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Rusthof Country House, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Rusthof Country House review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2011
"A very friendly and helpful place, on a very good location."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rosenhof Country House

Rosenhof Country House

"Rosenhof Country House review"

1 night Arrived 27 Nov 2011
"A good place for a stop over on our journey"
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Storms River Restcamp

Storms River Restcamp

"Storms River Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Nov 2011
"Unfortunately the room next to ours was being refurbished - in a very noisy manner with an early start."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average
Southern Cross Beach House

Southern Cross Beach House

"Southern Cross Beach House review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Nov 2011
"Fantastic location and very friendly welcome"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Klippe Rivier Country House, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Klippe Rivier Country House review"

1 night Arrived 2 Dec 2011
"Thoroughly enjoyable stop-over. We would have liked to have stayed longer. Really excellent service."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Ocean Eleven

Ocean Eleven

"Ocean Eleven review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Dec 2011
"Nice location for walking into the town and along the cliffs."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

My Jul 2009 trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 5 Jul 2009 and 20 Jul 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"A memorable experience - although we have been to Africa several times before, we still had new sights and experiences.

Claire tailored an excellent itinerary and her suggestions of locations that suited us were spot on. We would certainly use Expert Africa again."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Southern Sun (formerly the Holiday Inn) review"

1 night Arrived 6 Jul 2009
"We only had an overnight stop, arriving in the evening and leaving early the next morning. We were tired from the flights and just needed to crash out.

The room was comfortable and we ate in the restaurant which was very good."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Impala Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2009
"The location was superb overlookingt the river and the mixture of activities was excellent - particularly the river trips which were amongst the best that we have had anywhere.

The guiding was very good and we saw plenty of wildlife, including hippo actually in the camp.

The food was really good - imaginative and interesting and of particular note was the chance to have a genuine cappuccino! The 'fly camping' was a good experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Selous Impala fly-camp

Selous Impala fly-camp

"Selous Impala fly-camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2009
"We enjoyed the experience of the fly camp and the chance to be out of the main camp.

The service was great and the location by the lake was good. We had a walking tour in the moring before breaking camp and enjoyed this early morning walk."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"Lake Manze Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2009
"A great location and really felt in the bush - elephant walking through the camp regularly and even a wild dog chasing an impala into the camp first thing one morning. The location was near to a wild dog den with seven cubs and meant that we could get there early morning and actually had the chance to see all the young - a very rare sighting.

The activities were very good and varied - walking, driving to different areas and boat available. Very flexible with the opportunity for an early start to a drive and picnic breakfast in the bush. Very good spot to watch predators on the open savannah."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

"Kwihala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2009
"Absolutely fantastic - way exceed our expectations! We were the only guests, so the description 'exclusive' was ceartainly true for us!

Although described as a 'temporary' camp, the tents and central mess were beautifully appointed. The location had a real in the bush feel and lying in bed hearing the lions roar in the valley and leopard calling too was magical. We had a minor problem with water to our tent on one evening because of hyena digging out the water pipe and biting through it! Note - this isn't a negative comment but a reflection to give an impression on the proximity of the wildlife and the connection of the camp and the bush.

Ruaha was a magical area - so quiet. We had day drives and saw only a handful of other vehicles.

The guiding was superb - Steve was fantasticly knowledgable and we really felt that we had time to watch and experience the animals. The animals were less skittish than at Selous and it was possible to get much closer to buffalo, wildebeast, zebra etc tthan hat other places we have been. Coasting the vehicle into the middle of a herd of several hundred buffalo was a great experience - we were then able to sit and watch the herd slowly move past, with indidual buffalo taking turns to keep an eye on us as they herd move on through.

The service in the camp was great - friendly and attentive."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pole Pole

Pole Pole

"Pole Pole review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2009
"Pole Pole was a nice place to end our trip and unwind.

Unfortuately the wind didn't stop blowing while we were there , making water activities like boat trips and snorkelling difficult if not impossible without a strong stomach for the rolling of the boat and buffeting by the waves while snorkelling. Activities to sail to sand bars for picnics or evening drinks were cancelled while we were there. The wind also made it unsuitable for lying on the beach as well. Wind from this direction is apparently not uncommon in July.

The resort was quiet and relaxed - the service was very good - early morning tea delivered to the room and sundown room service for cocktails were nice touches The food was excellent - varied and interesting meals with excellent freshly made pasta and superb local fruits. We enjoyed the Swahli dinner as well."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Macushla House

Macushla House

"Macushla House review"

1 night Arrived 19 Jul 2009
"We arrived late at night and left early in the morning, so it is difficult to comment in detail - we went straight to bed on arrival and left after an early breakfast.

Having taken an age to get out of the airport - channelling every car leaving the airport through a single checkpoint to pay for car parking is a terrible idea - we really could have done with accommodation a little nearer."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team