This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Golden Monkey Trekking

Golden Monkey Trekking

Reviews: Golden Monkey Trekking

Below are independent comments from 20 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 20
Date
Mr & Mrs L.
London

"Great experience"

Based at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge on 8 Nov 2019
"We loved watching the golden monkeys. The trek was easy and we got very close to the monkeys.

Our guide was very knowledgeable and experienced." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr J & Mrs S
Streatha

"Golden Monkeys"

Based at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge on 20 Aug 2019
"A very gentle trek and the monkeys are great fun and come very close. We did it as an acclimatisation day which worked very well" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms. K
Laramie

"Golden Monkey Trekking review"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 7 Aug 2019
"The Golden Monkey Trek was very fun.

The monkeys ended up coming out of the forest, so we saw them very quickly. Although at first we were disappointed we didn't see them in the forest, it ended up being great! We were able to get amazing pictures with the monkeys, and the hour with them flew by. The hike was more of a "hard walk" so is very easily doable.

The walk also had amazing scenery and backdrops with the volcanoes, and we were able to see various landscapes and the villages nearby.

So glad we did this!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
ERinSTL
Saint Louis

"Golden Monkey Trekking review"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 2 Jul 2019
"We were lucky to hit the golden monkeys on a day when they weren’t too far away. We had about an hour – still a trek – of walking each way. It always seems longer returning because you don’t have the anticipation to spur you on.

Our hour with the golden monkeys was extremely enjoyable. The essentially ignored our presence, so we had some pretty close encounters. One monkey ran across my path and nearly stepped on my feet. Their behaviors climbing in the trees, balancing on branches, pulling leaves to eat, is fascinating, and so nearly human!

Hiring a porter is definitely worthwhile. Even if you believe you won’t need one, it’s good for the economy. The good it does is far in excess of the modest cost." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms & Mr P
USA

"Golden Monkey Trekking review"

Based at Bisate Lodge on 18 May 2019
"While most come to Rwanda to embark on a gorilla trekking experience, the golden monkeys should not be overlooked!

They are incredible to observe!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr F & family
Belgium

"Golden Monkey Trekking review"

Based at Bisate Lodge on 5 Feb 2019
"Rather easy trekking to these very beautiful primates. We found them digging potatoes in the fields next to the forest, they were not shy at all and you approach them very close, sometimes a bit strange that they are (already) so used to humans...

One big photo opportunity, no need to bring your telephoto!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Mr P.
Stanmore

"Golden Monkey Trekking review"

Based at Bisate Lodge on 31 Jan 2019
"a real fun morning out" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs Winnie
Geneva

"good"

Based at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge on 15 Jan 2019
"It was our first contact with monkeys they were very close to us and easy to film" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Mr + Mrs M
Vancouver

"Golden Monkey Trekking review"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 26 Sep 2018
"The Golden Monkey trek was well handled, but nothing special.

It would be better to do a 2nd day of gorilla trekking, as many people did." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Average
Jenny
Faversham

"a good pre-gorilla trip"

Based at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge on 26 Sep 2018
"The walk to 'find' the monkeys was really enjoyable. We were a big group, but that didn't negatively impact either the walk or the monkey experience. The guides are informative and fun. I'm pleased I understood that hiring a porter is a good way of contributing to the local economy." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 20
88%
20 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
12
6
1
0
1
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team