This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Golden Monkey Trekking

Golden Monkey Trekking

Reviews: Golden Monkey Trekking

Below are independent comments from 27 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 27
Date
Ms
Redondo Beach

"Golden Monkey Trekking review"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 21 Aug 2022
"This is a short hike through the farmland and is well worth the trip. The trek was timed. So that many monkeys were in the potato fields gathering food. There was approximately 30 all sizes running around us. Very cool." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Honeymooners
Malta

"Golden Monkey Trekking review"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 19 Aug 2022
"This experience was a great warm up to the Gorilla trekking we had booked for the next day. The trek was not intense although we still engaged a Porter at the beginning of the trek to support the community - as advised to do by both Expert Africa and our guide, Aimable.

You are given ample time to experience the abundance of Golden Monkeys in their natural habitat, whether sitting and playing in the trees or scavenging for potatoes in nearby fields.

We were not advised that we needed to wear a protective facemask prior to heading out on this trek and missed out on around 7 minutes of viewing the Golden Monkeys waiting for someone to bring us a mask.

We highly recommend that one experiences this before the Gorillas as sadly it would be an anti-climax to see these creatures after..." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Liz C
Sussex

"Golden Monkey Trekking review"

Based at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge on 22 Jul 2022
"A fun trip to see another local monkey." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs J
North Vancouve

"Golden Monkey Trekking review"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 3 Jul 2022
"The Golden Monkey trek was the least demanding.

They are very close to the edge of the forest. There were so many.

Loved every minute." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr/Mrs E
Wisconsin US

"Golden Monkey Trekking review"

Based at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge on 7 Jun 2022
"This was an excellent "warm-up" for the gorilla trek we did the next day.

I was somewhat skeptical beforehand about this excursion, but this turned into an excellent opportunity to see golden monkeys at close range, and also to have a "dry run" of common elements with the gorilla trek: wake up and move-out, equipment, and acclimating to the altitude.

This was extremely enjoyable and we highly recommend!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Pete & Nancy
Stockton

"Golden Monkey Trekking review"

Based at Bisate Lodge on 4 Feb 2022
"The golden monkey trek started at Volcanoes National Park where rangers assigned trekkers into groups. We then drove to the starting point of the trek with our private driver/guide where me met the rest of the group. Our group of about eight was accompanied by several guides.

The trek took us through fields of potatoes and flowers allowing us to gain an understanding of how local villagers farm. The guides took time along the way to point out birds and plants.

We found a large family of mischievous golden monkeys up on a hillside at the edge of a potato field. The golden monkeys like to steal potatoes from the fields, so local farmers have to keep them away. We watched the group of monkeys at the edge of the field and then followed them into an adjacent bamboo forest. We had plenty of time to view the golden monkeys, which included individuals of all ages. The trek through the fields and up the side of the hill was easy." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D.
New York

"Golden Monkey Trekking review"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 19 Oct 2021
"Golden monkey trekking was a great experience!

All groups meet at the Volcanoes National Park headquarters where you're assigned a group and guide in the morning. You then drive to the park entrance for golden monkeys, receive a walking stick (highly recommended), hire a porter ($10+tip, optional), and are well on your way to find the monkeys. Our group of four was in a group with a couple and the it took us about 1.5 hours to reach the area where our golden monkey family was.

We learned a lot about the land, some plants, and the people during our trek as you pass by villages and farms on the way. Once we got to the monkeys, we spent an hour with them. There were so many and they ranged in age and size. The monkeys get fairly close so there are good opportunities to get amazing photos. Note that the trails in the forest were really muddy so be prepared for that. We were also rained on towards the end of our hour with the monkeys but that didn't really dampen our moods--we were already expecting it.

Definitely an experience we recommend!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L.
London

"Great experience"

Based at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge on 8 Nov 2019
"We loved watching the golden monkeys. The trek was easy and we got very close to the monkeys.

Our guide was very knowledgeable and experienced." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr J & Mrs S
Streatha

"Golden Monkeys"

Based at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge on 20 Aug 2019
"A very gentle trek and the monkeys are great fun and come very close. We did it as an acclimatisation day which worked very well" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms. K
Laramie

"Golden Monkey Trekking review"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 7 Aug 2019
"The Golden Monkey Trek was very fun.

The monkeys ended up coming out of the forest, so we saw them very quickly. Although at first we were disappointed we didn't see them in the forest, it ended up being great! We were able to get amazing pictures with the monkeys, and the hour with them flew by. The hike was more of a "hard walk" so is very easily doable.

The walk also had amazing scenery and backdrops with the volcanoes, and we were able to see various landscapes and the villages nearby.

So glad we did this!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Showing 1-10 of 27
91%
27 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
19
6
1
0
1
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team