This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Southern Cross Beach House
Southern Cross Beach House

Southern Cross Beach House


34°5’11.4"S 23°22’12.0"E

Reviews of Southern Cross Beach

Wildlife sightings and reviews

7 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Southern Cross Beach and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-7 of 7
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Wales

"lowest score on trip"

4 nights Arrived 24 Feb 2015
"definite need for improved supervision here. Not easy to find without GPS The room (No5) was very small and cramped. Torn bedsheet, mirror light not working towel rail trying to come away from the wall. Another couple had been double booked (not happy bunnies) 4K from town and no dinner service so car journeys each night and easy on the wine, Pool not available to guests and told sea undertow dangerous.

nothing dramatically wrong -just below expected standard

BUT the local manager was very helpful when I needed a Dental Lab Tec to repair a broken brace." See all these reviews: 17n in South Africa; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr N & Mis R
Scotland

"Southern Cross Beach House review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2014
"No complaints about the service here. I would say it fits in with what most people would expect from a B and B. Friendly welcome shown around, and left to get on with your holiday. Fitted in well with our plans, as we were out from breakfast to early evening.

Best to have your own transport for accessing the town. A lovely beach is accessible form the house gardens by a private gate. Unfortunately during our time here the cape weather played up so we gave the beach a miss. Plenty of things to see or do in the local area did not make this a problem for us.

We had one of the smaller rooms and it did not have a lot of storage space, if you take a lot of stuff with you on holiday it would be worth trying to book one of the larger rooms" See all these reviews: 16n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Hampshire

"Laid back Southern Cross"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2013
"Disabled persons view: Good access with the odd step to your room/dining room.

Johanna? was very welcoming and is an asset to this B&B. We didn't see anything of the owners.

This is a place to relax, it is so laid back as to be almost horizontal. Breakfast is served 8.30 to 10 literally, because even if you arrive at 8.30 you probably wont get it until 10! The breakfast menu is also more limited than some places.

The rooms are smaller than most places we have stayed but there was a sitting/dining room for the guests sole use. Lovely to lie in bed and hear the crashing waves on the beach which is a few yards away across some boardwalks. Nice grounds with lots of Old World charm to sit in and look at the sea." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Dr & Mrs T
Kent

"Great location right on beach"

4 nights Arrived 8 Dec 2012
"The location is fantastic with the beach and Indian Ocean outside the garden. Good restaurants in Plettenberg and lots to do. A nice place to relax before flying home.

Our room was very disappointing though. It was small though nicely appointed but the bathroom was poor with only a shower, and the place itself could do with a lick of paint. Very nice staff and nice relaxed feel however with an honesty bar. We saw whales at breakfast!

Difficulty getting additional supplies of tea and coffee for the room and only pots of UHT milk." See all these reviews: 14n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Mr & Mrs R
Chertsey

"Very homely with a great view across the Bay"

1 night Arrived 3 Apr 2012
"A very relaxing place. An attractive building with a very pleasant patio and a lawn which stretches right to the cliff top.

There is easy private access to the beach, where swimming is possible. The Lemon Grass was recommended as a place to eat and proved very good." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr H & Ms T
UK

"Southern Cross Beach House review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Nov 2011
"Fantastic location and very friendly welcome" See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
York

"Southern Cross Beach House review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2009
"Great location next to the beach, with hosts who were very welcoming. Within minutes of our arrival our car had been washed, and we had made arrangements for washing clothes!

We were provided with very helpful advice on restaurants to visit, and our breakfasts on the terrace were memorable." See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-7 of 7
86%
7 reviews of Southern Cross Beach by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
3
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Plettenberg Bay | Garden Route

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


The Plettenberg

The Plettenberg

The Plettenberg is a smart, beautifully designed hotel on the rocks of Plettenberg Bay. Within walking distance from the town centre, it offers stunning views and luxury accommodation.


96% (15 reviews)
Hunters Country House

Hunters Country House

Hunters Country House is a luxurious lodge in spacious grounds. It’s an ideal base for exploring Plettenberg Bay and the Garden Route and is a great choice for families and couples alike.


96% (11 reviews)
Emily Moon River Lodge

Emily Moon River Lodge

The quirky Emily Moon River Lodge lies in a peaceful spot overlooking the Bitou River near Plettenberg Bay and its nearby attractions.


93% (3 reviews)
Periwinkle Guest Lodge

Periwinkle Guest Lodge

A stylish beachy themed guesthouse in Plettenberg Bay and within walking distance to the beach, Periwinkle offers a relaxing and friendly stay for a few days.


87% (3 reviews)
Tsala Treetop Lodge

Tsala Treetop Lodge

Tsala Treetop Lodge is a smart, romantic and exclusive lodge in a stunning forest location between Knysna and Plettenberg Bay, on South Africa's Garden Route.


93% (3 reviews)
Lairds Lodge

Lairds Lodge

Lairds Lodge is a comfortable owner-run guest house in a peaceful location in the heart of the Garden Route.


70% (2 reviews)
Fynbos Ridge Country House

Fynbos Ridge

Fynbos Ridge is a small, owner-run guesthouse with a good environmental ethos. The accommodation is very comfortable and the location and views are exceptional.


100% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa