This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs B from Wales

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

very much enjoyed

South Africa and 1 other country between 15 Feb 2015 and 7 Mar 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"The Sunvil section of our trip went very smoothly as did our unscheduled previous week at Hout Bay. We had no incidence of attemped theft nor did we at any time feel threatened.The main concern of the S.African tourist industry seems to blame falling visitor numbers on the European perception that Africa = Ebola (5k miles away!!) and that every time you get out of your car you are at risk.

We found the people friendly and helpful. The exchange rate is also ,very attractive.

We feel that this was one of our best holidays ever and we would love to go back.

Thanks Claire for organising it so well.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

In your brochure or when the clients itinerary is made up you may like to consider suggesting things to do /see at the suggested stopovers or on the way. e.g. Bartholomew Dias at Mossel bay, Drodsty Museum at Swallenburg etc."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

"Could not wish for better"

7 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2015
"Lovely location, excellent service, food and wines. Helpful tours desk and having the car parked and delivered to the door was a nice touch.

Invited a friend over for lunch sat in the sun on the terrace - he left 7 hours later!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Schoone Oordt Country House

Schoone Oordt Country House

"ideal for a short stay"

2 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2015
"Very high standard with a lovely pool, good food and wines.

Nice golf course and interesting museum, my wife says the spa treatment was also very good value"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Southern Cross Beach House

Southern Cross Beach House

"lowest score on trip"

4 nights Arrived 24 Feb 2015
"definite need for improved supervision here. Not easy to find without GPS The room (No5) was very small and cramped. Torn bedsheet, mirror light not working towel rail trying to come away from the wall. Another couple had been double booked (not happy bunnies) 4K from town and no dinner service so car journeys each night and easy on the wine, Pool not available to guests and told sea undertow dangerous.

nothing dramatically wrong -just below expected standard

BUT the local manager was very helpful when I needed a Dental Lab Tec to repair a broken brace."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
River Bend Lodge

River Bend Lodge

"superb"

1 night Arrived 28 Feb 2015
"Sophisticated lodging with very attentive staff, excellent food and wine. Lovely spacious room and a good atmosphere. A welcome pool after the hot drive.

A fun game drive with plenty of "off track" and very close encounters with the elephants.

Strongly recommended"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Shamwari Bayethe Lodge

Shamwari Bayethe Lodge

"very much enjoyed the game drives"

2 nights Arrived 1 Mar 2015
"Very welcoming staff, and fun "tent", ( rather different from the ridge tents that I am used to) first time that I have seen his & hers washing bowls under canvass. Good game drives with a wide variety of livestock on view including a couple of lions mating ( that caused a delay in the proceedings). Location over river also made for some nice early morning viewing of the animals.

N.B. If you are taking the "short cut" from ADDO to SHAMWARI be prepared for a very rough ride, the gravel surface only extends to the rear entrance to the park- then it's ruts for 13k"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"fine &fit for purpose"

1 night Arrived 3 Mar 2015
"As a stopover the City Lodge was absolutely fine, much on a par with any other large city airport hotel.

The service was pleasant, there was a good choice for both dinner and breakfast and of course very convenient."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

"Wow"

3 nights Arrived 4 Mar 2015
"This really was something different. Lovely lodge over the river superb service and very friendly staff. The food and drinks were excellent and it was a fun place to be. Sundowners in the evenings upriver, Sunuppers with a glass of orange and a sore head. Woken up in the mornings by monkeys fighting on our verandah, Had 3 hours fishing upriver ( I can definitely state that there are no fish in the Zambezi!) Microlighted over the Vic Falls and viewed them on foot from both Zimbabwe and Zambian sides.

N.B.The UNIVISA works well but be patient (it's the same price as a single Zambian entry but we had to go into a different queue at the immigration desk.

N.B. The requirement for a yellow fever certificate has apparently been discontinued

The I.of S. claims to support the village but had a look around. No running water-no sanitation-no electricity, only a lift once a week for somebody to collect shopping. (Nigerians would have "tapped in" (!) to overhead wires and underground pipes) Is it a scam?"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team