This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Schoone Oordt Country House
Schoone Oordt Country House
Schoone Oordt Country House
Schoone Oordt Country House

Schoone Oordt Country House


34°0’58.6"S 20°26’59.1"E

Reviews of Schoone Oordt C. House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

25 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Schoone Oordt C. House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 25
Duration
Arrival date
Mr R & Ms C
London

"Schoone Oordt Country House review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Mar 2020
"Just brilliant all round!

Particularly excellent service - can't imagine better." See all these reviews: 8n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Bucks

"Schoone Oordt Country House review"

1 night Arrived 1 Feb 2020
"Only stayed one night but nice room and our meal was very good considering we had a power outage.

The owner was exceptionally nice and took time to talk to all her guests in the evening and at breakfast." See all these reviews: 18n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Graham
Purley

"Too good for one night"

1 night Arrived 17 Aug 2019
"We stayed here as a stopover, but in all honesty the room was so lovely and along with the surroundings make it worth more than a stopover. Food was good too.

We even enjoyed our eccentric host Jan !" See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa; 6n in Seychelles
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P & family
Dublin

"Schoone Oordt Country House review"

1 night Arrived 28 Jun 2019
"Lovely guesthouse in a pleasant town." See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Prof & Dr M
Sheffield

"Schoone Oordt Country House review"

1 night Arrived 12 May 2019
"The directions to the accommodation could have been slightly clearer, as we drove past the accommodation! We couldn't see the white bricked sign 'Swellendam' from the car! Perhaps leave that bit out? This is a very minor criticism.

Very comfortable rooms with a veranda. Nice breakfast and afternoon tea on arrival.

We ate our evening meal at a restaurant recommended by staff who made the reservation for us. Not much to do here apart from visit the local museum. However a good place to break a journey en route to Cape Town or towards Port Elizabeth" See all these reviews: 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr J
Hants

"Lovely building"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2018
"Lovely dining room / restaurant, especially if you can manage to get a window table overlooking the gardens.

Good food, friendly host and staff. We found Swellendam town itself not worth a 2-night stay, but would really recommend nearby Bontebok National Park - we spent nearly a whole day there, even though its a relatively small park." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Romsey

"Lovely country house"

2 nights Arrived 28 Mar 2018
"Schoone Oordt is a lovely country house that has been beautifully and sympathetically restored. We had a very nice warm welcome with afternoon tea ready for us. The scones were lovely! The rooms were very nice, with lovely bathrooms and toiletries. It was nice to have complimentary water and hot chocolate sachets as well as a selection of different teas. The little note we got on the bed each evening was lovely. However, we did find the mattress hard and hence uncomfortable, but this is personal preference! We also had birds constantly rustling and moving around in the ceiling which kept us awake/woke us up, but we informed the owners when we left and I do believe they will sort this. The weather was not brilliant for our time in swellendam and we struggled for things to do, the pool was cold and swellendam didn’t have loads to offer. We had a brilliant meal at Drostdys and would highly recommend this restuarant. The food at swellendam was ok, the breakfasts were at times a bit out of the ordinary and not exactly what we wanted at that time in the morning. The staff were lovely and very friendly." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M & family
Lincs

"Schoone Oordt Country House review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Mar 2018
"Greeting on arrival by Fidney was good.

The bed was very hard. Large room with nice view of garden.

The restaurant for evening dinner was expensive and not really worth the money." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr G & Mrs C
London

"Schoone Oordt Country House review"

1 night Arrived 16 Mar 2018
"Fabulous historic property - an ideal stopping off point between the Cape and Garden Route. Spacious rooms set in beautiful gardens. Plenty of restaurants in walking distance" See all these reviews: 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Winchester

"Schoone Oordt Country House review"

1 night Arrived 18 Feb 2018
"Excellent. Advise clients to visit the Museum in town - excellent" See all these reviews: 15n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 25
92%
25 reviews of Schoone Oordt C. House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
19
2
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swellendam

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Rothman Manor

Rothman Manor

Rothman Manor lies in the heart of Swellendam and offers stylish, arty accommodation in tranquil park-like surroundings.


95% (4 reviews)
Bontebok National Park

Bontebok National Park

Part of the Cape Floral Kingdom protected area, Bontebok is South Africa's smallest National Park and home to around 200 bontebok as well as many other bird and mammal species.


90% (2 reviews)
Hideaway Guesthouse

Hideaway Guesthouse

The Hideaway Guest House is a delightful little owner-run guesthouse in the historic town of Swellendam.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa