This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr J from Hants

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

5

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

38

Excursions taken

0

Another excellent holiday

South Africa between 22 Oct 2018 and 8 Nov 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"As mentioned elsewhere, the highlight of this trip was the Karoo National Park.

Its a pity that Expert Africa do not extend their horizon to this area. It is really worth taking a 3-4 day detour north of R62 and the Garden Route. Karoo National Park was truly exceptional, Graaff-Reinet worth a visit, Prince Albert simply delightful, the Swartberg Pass unmissable.

This was my fourth holiday with Expert Africa - they continue to be my first choice"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Acorn House

Acorn House

"Third stay at Acorn House - just perfect"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2018
"This was my third visit to Cape Town and Acorn House was the obvious choice again.

My son and wife have also stayed here. Lovely place, perfect location"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Abalone Guest Lodge

"Watching whales from your balcony - wonderful"

2 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2018
"Not many places in the world offer whale watching from your room balcony.

Perfect location."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Schoone Oordt Country House

Schoone Oordt Country House

"Lovely building"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2018
"Lovely dining room / restaurant, especially if you can manage to get a window table overlooking the gardens.

Good food, friendly host and staff. We found Swellendam town itself not worth a 2-night stay, but would really recommend nearby Bontebok National Park - we spent nearly a whole day there, even though its a relatively small park."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Tsala Treetop Lodge

Tsala Treetop Lodge

"Absolutely Fabulous !"

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2018
"This place is absolutely fabulous. We must have spent the first 30 minutes after arrival simply taking photographs of the room and location. Rooms come with your own private infinity pool overlooking the forest. Suites are huge - bedroom, entrance room, sitting room, v.large bathroom and (optional) outside shower.

Be careful - the local monkeys have realised that snacks / nibbles are provided in the room for new arrivals. They're harmless, but expect to share your cheese straws.

We used both restaurants - Tsala Lodge itself and nearly Zinzi. The food wasn't quite up to the same standard as the location. But as the location was truly outstanding, I'm probably being a little unfair. In 30 years of traveling, I've found nothing that quite compares to this."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Gorah Elephant Camp

Gorah Elephant Camp

"Woken by lion roaring outside tent"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2018
"Camp was excellent, but not really my type of game viewing - so let's split the two.....

Not really accurate to call the rooms "tents" as they were so well appointed. Heavy canvas walls and roof. Main building / restaurant / viewing veranda all very good.

Everything overlooks the water hole where wildlife wanders in and out. No fences. Woken on the second morning by a lion roaring as it wandered around the camp. Food good, staff friendly and efficient. Monkeys play around the buildings in the early mornings.

Now to game viewing - I prefer Etosha: self-drive and very large numbers of animals. Gorah is a concession within Addo Elephant Park and offers game-drives twice a day. No self-drive. Animals not too plentiful, but maybe we were just unlucky."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Karoo National Park

"Got to be the highlight of the holiday!"

3 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2018
"Staggering scenery. Wildlife viewing was excellent - self-drive with a sense that the animals were truly wild and not in a "park". Birds were fabulous - more colours than a rainbow, and almost tame. Many hours spent just watching them land on our table picking up crumbs. Don't leave your breakfast on your table unguarded if you go to get coffee/toast - the birds will have the lot before you are back!

Restaurant supervisor was lovely with a wicked sense of humour. True sense of isolation - magical - absolute silence. Stars gazing splendid. I could go on and on. Didn't want to leave. But - as the landscape is bare and arid, the scenery might not be for everybody. Nor maybe the basic self-catering rooms. It was perfect for me.

Two small comments - restaurant menu was extensive, but the food was basic, don't expect gourmet dining here. Our room had two single beds."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Image alt

Swartberg Country Manor

"OK for an overnight stop"

1 night Arrived 3 Nov 2018
"My title says it all - OK for an overnight stop as you drive along the Garden Route. The other guests (mostly groups and bus tours) seemed to be doing the same as us - one night stop-over before moving on.

Bad design - who would think that putting a communal area with large-screen TV right next to the guest rooms was a good idea? Our host warned us of a rugby match on TV that evening with potential noise. Poor breakfast. Not really 4-star.

Oudtshoorn has a couple of good restaurants but is nothing special.

However - the accommodation was right at the southern end of the Swartberg Pass. I've wanted to drive this pass for a long time and was not disappointed. Wonderful scenery."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Galenia Estate

Galenia Estate

"Perfect location, lovely view, good food"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2018
"A lovely property up away from the road, tucked under the mountains.

Beautiful view over the valley and to Montagu. Excellent restaurant for both breakfast and dinner.

A pity the bad weather prevented walks around the estate."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Angala Boutique Hotel

Angala Boutique Hotel

"Delightful location"

2 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2018
"Over 2 km from the road, with a beautiful garden / pool. We only ate breakfast here due to the very large number of excellent restaurants in Franschhoek. The eating area was perfect and the breakfast was good. Friendly staff.

Not sure bare, grey, walls add much to a room. Outside shower seemed just a little bit "public"."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Overall feedback

Namibia and 2 other countries between 23 Sep 2016 and 7 Oct 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"A very memorable trip. The Caprivi Strip is so different to the rest of Namibia. Delightful lodges. Expert Africa very good, as always.
Only two small comments:

1. there was a chap from Wilderness Safaris at Windhoek airport to meet & greet us. This has never happened before, so we walked straight past him. I hope he wasn't offended, but there was nothing from Expert Africa to say that we were being met at the airport. Bit of a surprise.

2. Wild Horizons transfers. Perfect and on-time for each occasion. The problem was communication. We we not given a pick-up time for the transfer to Livingstone Airport. Our previous driver said we would be contacted and informed 24 hours before pick-up. We were not contacted, and none of the telephone numbers given in Zimbabwe was contactable either from a mobile or the hotel's phones. I even tried sending a text, but there was no reply. In the end we had to ask the Avani concierge to phone Wild Horizons local office in Zambia. If Wild Horizons has a local office, why give travellers lots of numbers in Zimbabwe ? (none of which seem to work)."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


River Crossing

River Crossing

"River Crossing Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2016
"Not the most pretty set of buildings, but the location is great.

An excellent one-night stop-over before continuing your holiday in Namibia.

Baboons roam freely around the site."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Frans Indongo Lodge"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2016
"Perfect for a one-night stop-over to break the journey from Windhoek to Etosha.

Pleasant, but not a place you could stay at for more than one night."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2016
"Absolutely perfect for exploring the eastern end of Etosha. Situated just outside of the park gates.

Their outdoor BBQ is a real treat."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Hakusembe Lodge"

1 night Arrived 28 Sep 2016
"Perfect for a one-night stop before you continue your holiday into the Caprivi Strip.

Very nice location on the banks of the Okavango."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2016
"Lovely location on the banks of the river. Lots of hippo to watch.

Mahangu National Park is just down the road and is highly recommended.

Much smaller than Etosha but with a very good variety of wildlife."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Nxamaseri Island Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2016
"Wonderful lodge on its own island. River activities by boat or canoe.

As the brochure says - not much big game, but the bird life is plentiful and the whole experience truly amazing.

Our best time on this trip"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

"Lianshulu Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2016
"A larger lodge in a very pleasant position on the banks of a river and within the Mudumu National Park.

Animals free to roam through the grounds, so escorts required to take you to & from your room after sunset. Lots of hippo and elephant.

Very pleasant and friendly staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Avant Victoria Falls"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2016
"A tourist hotel in a tourist area. Not my style, but if you want to see Victoria Falls it is the closest hotel. The Falls were just a five minute walk.

OK - it's a 3-star tourist resort - but does it do what it says on the tin? Yes, very well except for the food which was consistently poor.

A word of warning - at the end of the dry season Victoria Falls is very diminished with only half of its length being actually a waterfall - and this part is only visible from the Zimbabwe side. The rest is just a dry rock cliff. Plan your visit according to season if you want to see the full falls in all its glory.

Seeing only half the falls wasn't a problem for us as Victoria Falls wasn't our prime destination - it was a fly-out point after our trip to the Caprivi Strip."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor

Once again - a perfect holiday

South Africa between 20 Aug 2015 and 4 Sep 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"I can see no reason to consider any other travel company. Expert Africa are perfect and I've recommended them many times to family and friends. Friendly, helpful and very knowledgable.

I'm already thinking about our next trip."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Le Must River Residence

Le Must River Residence

"Excellent"

1 night Arrived 21 Aug 2015
"Le Must River Residence is well positioned on the banks of the Orange River - it is very pretty. Room was perfect, staff were very helpful and friendly. A delightful place.

Upington can look a little daunting when trying to find a restaurant for your evening meal, but O'Hagan's is recommended"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp

"Tented Camp - self-catering - perfect"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2015
"Kalahari Tented Camp is self-catering - take this literally ! There is a gas fridge and hob (plus cutlery & utensils & pots and pans) but remember to bring everything else with you - not even a box of matches is provided. This was not a problem as Mata-Mata shop is within 4 km, but don't get caught out by leaving cooking too late only to find that you can't light the gas or BBQ !

Accommodation was perfect.

The campsite is not fenced, so game do wander close by - Wildebeest in particular seem to like coming up from the valley. The view over the dry river bed is extraordinary - waking up, looking out of the window and seeing giraffe at the waterhole was memorable.

There is a small swimming pool but no other facilities. And so what? You're there for the game and the experience, not to sit by the pool.....

If I had two small suggestions for improvement, they would be : (1) a box of matches would be nice (2) the waterhole is floodlit at night, but with what appear to be a 20w bulb. A better light (on a timer to keep night-time black) might make just-after-dusk viewing better"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Ta Shebube Rooiputs

Ta Shebube Rooiputs

"Ta Shebube is just perfect"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2015
"We were the only guests, so had very personal attention. I asked if the lodge was ever busy/full and it appears not. This is a shame, it is truly a great place.

When we were there, a pride of lions were close by and leopard tracks were seen each morning. No worries - the staff are very safety conscious and we were taken, and collected, from our chalet before and after sunset. This is the appeal - no fences !

Our guide ("BK") was very knowledgable, friendly and helpful.

The chalet was just delightful - one complete wall is a sliding glass door, so if you're not on an early morning drive you can let the Kalahari sunrise wake you up. Food was very good

If I had some very small comments for improvement they would be - (1) a signpost from the road would be nice. We just headed up a sand track towards the buildings on the dune ridge. If the buildings had not been visible from the road, we would have been a bit lost (2) mend the old Land Rover's gearbox (BK was constantly fighting to get it into 4 wheel drive) !!

Otherwise 5 Stars all round !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Falls Guest House

The Falls Guest House

"A great place to stay for the Falls"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2015
"The Falls Guest House is very good, but gets only 4 Stars because of two problems which should be easy to fix - (1) guests should not need a degree in hydraulic engineering to make the shower work. They know about this, and we were given the instructions about which taps to turn on, in which sequence, etc, but still success resulted in only a warm dribble.... (2) reception appears to be rarely manned

There is no evening meal, but a BBQ can be ordered, which is very good. Apart from the shower, the room was excellent, with a full kitchen if you prefer self catering.

Two small niggles, but a great place to stay, right next to the short road to Augrabies Falls National Park. Their catch-phrase is absolutely correct - More Than Just a Waterfall. The park is extensive and very beautiful.

I don't know how you'd arrange it to be there when the Orange is in full flood, but the sight and sound must be awesome. At other times, enjoy the park and the Rock Hyraxes"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Mountain View Guest House

Mountain View Guest House

"Perfect base for the spring wild flowers"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2015
"This was our second time to Springbok. My feedback for the first occasion was not enthusiastic, but I now see that was unfair. Springbok town needs to be explored - it is vibrant and interesting. Springbok Lodge Restuarant in the centre of town is especially well worth a visit, for the shop or a coffee, or a meal. It is one of those quirky African places. You cannot book the restaurant, so timing is important if you want an evening meal.

Mountain View Guest House is very pleasant and the owner very friendly and helpful. Rooms and breakfast were perfect.

The spring wild flowers have to be seen to be believed. Recommended - (1) Nababeep village (2) the gravel road along the north boundary of Namaqua National Park. The road is pretty grim, but you don't need a 4x4 - keep going until the end of the Wildeperdehoek Pass - the view is extraordinary. The Namaqua Information Centre at the edge of town is very good and can provide daily updates on the flowers, recommended viewing locations and maps etc"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve

Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve

"Voted Best Hotel in the World 2009"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2015
"Voted Best Hotel in the World 2009. There is nothing more to say.

Beyond excellent. They even washed our car before delivering it back to us at reception on departure."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Acorn House

Acorn House

"Another excellent stay at Acorn House"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2015
"This was our second stay at Acorn House. I asked for this guest house specifically - there is no better commendation. My son and girlfriend also stayed there earlier in the year.

Perfect location, very friendly and helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

My Sep 2013 trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 8 Sep 2013 and 23 Sep 2013

Trip rating: Good
"This was a second holiday booked with Expert Africa. For the first trip they were excellent, but this time not so good. Three comments -
1. this second trip was across two countries and Expert Africa staff seem organised by country. I was passed from one person to another and initially nobody seemed responsible for the whole trip
2. lack of answers to e-mails. On a couple of occasions I gave up waiting and had to phone
3. I booked 10 months in advance and even that far out some lodges were already fully booked. We were wait listed. A month before departure I contacted Expert Africa to make a final check of our wait list status and was somewhat surprised to find that in 10 months Expert Africa had not followed up on the bookings. By lucky chance only, we eventually got our first choice lodges, but only because I followed up"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Acorn House

Acorn House

"Acorn House review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2013
"Delightful guest house in a wonderful position, directly under Table Mountain. The staff and service were first class."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Akamedie Street G H

"Akamedie Street G H review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2013
"Absolutely superb. This is a delightful guest house, with wonderful cottages. The owners and staff were first class. Franschhoek had a scheduled 6am-6pm power cut whilst we were there and the owners did all they could to ensure there were no problems. Their suggestions for wine tasting were perfect. We could have stayed here for a week, pity we only had 2 nights...."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Annie's Cottage

Annie's Cottage

"Annie's Cottage review"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2013
"I've given Annie's Cottage an Average mark, but it's not really their fault. Springbok can only be regarded as an overnight stay on the road to Namibia - there's nothing there and it was freezing cold on the night we stayed. Luckily electric blankets were supplied.

We booked a triple room and what we were given was really a double with an extra bed by the door. However, I doubt that there is anywhere better in this town. We came, we stopped, we left - nothing more to say. Annie's Cottage was sufficient."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2013
"Unbelievable ! Words cannot describe this place. Absolutely fantastic. The pictures in the guide books do not do it justice. Tour buses were even pulling off the road to allow tourists to take pictures of this lodge.

We arrived with a puncture and the staff were very helpful and had it all fixed within half and hour.

At the end of our holiday we played the "what was best?" game - best sights, best day, best lodge, worst road, etc. We changed the game to "what was the 2nd best lodge?" as Canyon Lodge was in it's own universe, so far removed from anything else we experienced. Worth going all the way to Namibia just for this lodge (and Fish River canyon)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Eagle's Nest review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2013
"Very good indeed. An excellent location with excellent accommodation. Staff and owners were very friendly and helpful.

Some comments - the Eagle's Nest chalets are 7km from the main lodge, which is a little too far to drive for breakfast. Expert Africa mention "breakfast packs" but these were not available.

Although described on the Expert Africa website as "self catering" and although bookings are done on a B&B basis only, the main lodge does have a restaurant. You do not have to be self-catering.

The BBQ packs were enormous, expect huge amounts of food. Unless you do like vast amounts of food, I would suggest ordering one fewer packs than the number in your party - you will not need all the food if you order one pack per person.

A perfect location for day-trips to Luderitz"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

"Tok Tokkie Trails review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2013
"Splendid. The hikes were relaxed and relatively easy, with frequent stops for those who are not Olympic athletes. You do not need to super fit for this experience, although it was cool when we were there. Very hot days may be more of a challenge. The sleeping arrangements, lunch and dinner were excellent.

Our guide was very good. We were in a party with 5 others - a British couple and a Swiss couple with their local guide. The party worked well, very friendly.
For those who seek something different, this is perfect. Do not expect anything better than a bucket-shower and a "long-drop" toilet - but this is what the experience is all about.

Unbelievably, on our second night it rained! Rain in the Namib, not something you see every day. The sleeping bags were water-proof and the weather did nothing to spoil the adventure - in fact, it just added to the fun.

Highly recommended"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2013
"It was a pity that we used this lodge as simply an over-night stop to break up a long journey. It was really good and deserved a longer stay. However, I would suggest that you consider this lodge for it's own sake and not a base for visiting Sossusvlei - the road to Sossusvlei is not so good and it's at least 1.5 hours drive each way.

The lodge is in its own canyon, is very remote and a perfect base for walks and hikes, or just relaxing by the pool (with the tame springbok)"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2013
"Perfectly placed as your first stop in Namibia (on your way to Fish River Canyon), or as your last stop on the way back to Windhoek airport.

The chalets are good and the owners and staff very friendly and helpful (we asked about the meerkats and we were treated to our own private viewing). The tame springbok that wanders around the lobby/bar/restaurant area is cute (feed it the ginger biscuits).

We elected for just the cheetah feeding activity - this was very well organised and good value.
Perfect for a over-night stay"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Overall Feedback

Namibia between 6 Sep 2011 and 19 Sep 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Let's leave Budget car-hire to one side as that is not within your control or responsibility.

What can I say? Absolutely wonderful holiday. Brilliant, spectacular, excellent.
Everything was very good - from the initial help and assistance with deciding on a route, through booking, and the comprehensive information provided beforehand.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

None whatsoever"

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2011
"Very friendly host. A little way outside of town, but all the better for that !

Breakfast was a little limited, but we were the only guests at the time, so probably only enough food was provided for four people"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2011
"Superb !
Setting, location, rooms all beyond expectations !

The only comment I would make would be that the "en-suite" toilet facilities were actually "in room" - as these were shared rooms, most of us preferred the privacy of the toilet facilities in the main building, with the ability to close a door when entering the toilet !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2011
"Very friendly host !

You are given one mobile phone per room with the ability to contact the owner in case of problems - nice touch ! (although Swakopmund, like the rest of Namibia, is so safe and crime free, these were probably unnecessary)

Not all rooms were equal - we had two rooms, one was half the size of the other.. no complaints, both were OK, just one room was better. The owner did point this out and give us the choice of who had which room."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

"Palmwag Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2011
"Delightful !

I'm not actually sure the lodge had a reservation for us? It didn't actually matter as the lodge was only half full. This may simply be a perception as all other lodges consulted their reservation lists when we arrived - Palmwag didn't and then asked me if I had a reservation.....

One game-spotting activity taken - an evening drive with a sun-downer at the end. Very little game was actually seen, but we were not disappointed - Palmwag is not a "reserve" and covers a huge area so a bit of luck is required. The magic of the drive was in the scenery and the sunset at the end - splendid ! Beware, it is COLD at sunset !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2011
"Very special. If there is one memory of the trip I would keep forever, it would be siting by the Okaukuejo water-hole watching the animals.

What made it special was the fact that this is a large site (104 rooms?) but almost everybody at the water-hole respected the request for silence. That total silence from a human audience of several dozen people was magical. Of course, I have to say "almost everybody" - there are morons everywhere, but they soon got bored and wandered off to the bar.

The Guide Book says the Okaukuejo has a reasonably priced restaurant (important with a family B&B booking). However, the restaurant was very expensive, so we used the self-catering facilities in the room. Having said that, the rooms are rated Excellent because of the facilities - self-catering (cooker, microwave, fridge, utensils, etc) was well provided for, with a reasonable on-site shop."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2011
"A perfect end to a holiday !

The two activities provided in the package were excellent, with an excellent guide. The camp was perfect and we also upgraded from Garden Room to View Room. The rooms were more than you would expect from a 5* hotel.

One small comment - dinner service was slow, but the food was very good.
A little cold after sunset, so take a thick jumper to dinner !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team