This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Annie's Cottage

Reviews of Annie's Cottage

Wildlife sightings and reviews

24 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Annie's Cottage and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 24
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
Cottenham

"Pit stop before border crossing."

1 night Arrived 22 Nov 2018
"This was our final stop in South Africa before crossing into Namibia.

The owner was very friendly, and gave us a good recommendation for dinner in town.

We were able to head into Springbok the next morning for a few supplies before heading onto the border, after a good breakfast." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D.
Chelmsford

"Useful stop over "

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs JW
SW London

"A throwback to the bad old days"

1 night Arrived 28 Feb 2018
"Where do we begin? Firstly we don't know how this place gets away with its name - it is not remotely like any cottage we've ever seen. It's more like a motel.

We had a very cursory welcome from an uninterested member of staff. We were shown to our room and couldn't help notice paint peeling off the exterior of the building. The room was a decent size although old fashioned. Remarkably we couldn't close the bathroom door because the bedside table got in the way. The loo seat wouldn't stay up.

The room was very dated. There were some house rules on the wall which were rather fierce in their wording eg you won't get any breakfast if you arrive a minute late.

The breakfast...we ordered medium poached eggs which arrived rock hard. The bacon was inedible. We are not normally fussy but neither of us could eat any of it. No-one was around to talk to.

We couldn't get out of this place quickly enough." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Average
Ms L
Heathfield

"Convenient location in Springbok"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2017
"Annie's Cottage is a comfortable, convenient place to stay in Springbok. There is secure parking which is easy to operate with a key fob. The cottage is surrounded by a pleasant garden which guests can sit in for evening drinks.

We were offered a choice of two rooms and took the one in the main building which seemed more comfortable. The other one, which is round the side of the house seemed a little damp and less welcoming. Breakfast is served in the main house and there was a wide range of cooked dishes.

In the evening we ate at The Herb Garden, a new cafe that is a short drive away. It was recommended by the staff at Annie's Cottage and we had a very reasonable priced, tasty meal there.

Annie's Cottage is a good base for exploring Namaqualand. Unfortunately (Sept 2017) there were no spring flowers due to the very dry winter but the area is still beautiful." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr Y & Dr C
Essex

"Comfortable guesthouse near town centre"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2017
"Friendly guesthouse and a large comfortable room with a sizeable terrace. Good breakfast, especially the Mexican Omelette.

The one downside was the bird droppings around the pool, could have done with hosing down. Maybe something to do with the drought, but the plants were being watered....

Dining opportunities in Springbok are a bit limited but the Taurean Steakhouse was very good with a greater variety of food than the name suggests and very good value wine. We went to see the flowers which were not much in evidence because of the drought, but enjoyed a good walk with excellent views in the Goegap Nature Reserve. We also drove to the coast at Port Nolloth where we saw dolphins close to the shore. Enjoyed our stay." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa; 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"Our sort of 'quirky'!"

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2017
"Annie's Cottage was one of two or three suggestions put to us by Expert Africa, who described it as 'quirky'. We have no hesitation in confirming that it was a good recommendation and a good description.

Our room was comfortable and, importantly for the time or year, warm. Breakfasts were most enjoyable. The service was consistently good, and Annie herself is disarmingly charming. On the Cottage's recommendation we dined each evening we were there at the Herb Garden - another good recommendation.

We were in Namaqualand for the flower season which was a little disappointing given the poor rains in July. But we still greatly enjoyed our time in the area making the trip not only worthwhile in its own right but also a good fact-finding experience for getting our timing better for a return. For example, we discovered that a 4WD is really essential to explore Namaqua NP to the full." See all these reviews: 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr R & Mrs M
UK

"Annie's Cottage"

1 night Arrived 3 Feb 2017
"A good place to stay for one night. Well-appointed room with place to park the car outside.

Friendly owner.

Excellent steak in town." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
P & S
Pickering

"Annie's Cottage review"

1 night Arrived 1 Dec 2016
"Good for a one night stay.

We had dinner at Tauren Steak Ranch nearby. We did not want to walk any further." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
R & J
Edinburgh

"Annie's Cottage review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2016
"A lovely welcoming quirky place where we felt instantly at home. Wonderful room, bathroom and outside patio.

A perfect base from which to explore Namaqualand and its amazing flowers. Secure parking.

Very good restaurant just down the road - Tauren steak ranch." See all these reviews: 15n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Oxon

"A good place to stop-over"

1 night Arrived 20 Apr 2016
"Annies Cottage is a quirky place in Springbok - which to be honest is a town with not a lot going on. The Goegap nature reserve that would have been good to visit was not possible as we were only there for one night and as we didn't arrive until mid afternoon it would have closed shortly after we got there. But it meant we enjoyed a relaxing afternoon on our terrace before going to the Tauren Steak Ranch which is a bit of an institution and great food/fun/atmosphere.

I would stop here again - but as a stop over again or in the spring season as a base to Namaqualand which is obviously their high season. The town has everything a town needs, lots of 'locals' come into town and it's a crossroads and was very good when we needed to get some medication.

Its a very Africaaner place - but generally we got on OK in English. Not many British go here, so most locals assumed we were German which was quite amusing.

The drive up from Clanwilliam was spectacular and on from there to Namibia - it would be worth going again just for this part of the trip." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 24
84%
24 reviews of Annie's Cottage by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
6
5
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namaqualand

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ndedema Lodge

Ndedema Lodge

Ndedema Lodge is an elegant Victorian House in the heart of Clanwilliam. Here you'll find four individually decorated en-suite bedrooms with large Victorian baths, separate showers, air-conditioning and fresh flowers throughout.


88% (23 reviews)
Mountain View Guest House

Mountain View

High on a hill overlooking Springbok, Mountain View Guest House has 10 suites. Most have a private patio and their own entrance, and outside you'll find a peaceful garden with indigenous plants and also a small swimming pool.


87% (19 reviews)
Farmhouse Hotel

Farmhouse Hotel

The Farmhouse Hotel is located in the seaside town of Langebaan with sweeping views of the Langebaan Lagoon. An ideal place to explore the remoter west coast.


87% (17 reviews)
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve

Bushmans Kloof

Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve, a luxury 16-room lodge and spa, offering game drives, visits to the area's prolific rock art, botanical tours, nature trails and hiking.


97% (14 reviews)
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel

Strandloper Hotel

Set in the quaint fishing village of Paternoster, Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel has beautiful views over the dunes, to the seemingly endless sandy beach and sea.


95% (4 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa