This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Annie's Cottage

Reviews of Annie's Cottage

Wildlife sightings and reviews

27 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Annie's Cottage and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 27
Duration
Arrival date
Ms L.
Monmouth

"Annie's Cottage review"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2022
"Nice property, a bit tired perhaps." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa; 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Syderstone

"Annie's Cottage review"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2022
"The room was dark, old fashioned and in need of some tlc. Maybe Victorian furnishings/plumbing/electricity are an appeal for some, but not us. There’s a point at which ‘quaint’ and ‘quirky’ becomes shabby, full of clutter and in need of a refurb. As for the decanter of sherry! My goodness, my grandmother was the last person I knew to drink that!

There was a pleasant veranda, but this was not private and the appeal of sitting overlooking the garden was spoilt by a businessman shouting into his phone and watching films.
The service here left a great deal to be desired.

There was no response at the gate and staff were also standing outside unable to enter. We sat in the car for half an hour before a vehicle exited, allowing us to enter. We then made our way to Reception, where we stood for several minutes while 3 staff members chatted, within sight of us and ignored us. Two left, past us, without saying anything to us, and the third disappeared into another room, leaving us to call out for assistance.

A gentleman then hurriedly showed us to our room and explained that there was a power cut, due to load shedding, which was also the reason given for the gate failure. He had a rant about the government and left us with confused ideas about when power would be restored. Now, our understanding is that these have been going on for some time, are planned and notified. So, instead of literally being left in the dark, it would have been good to have a torch or similar and perhaps the offer of a cold drink as we couldn’t put the kettle on.

When we could see, we found many signs in the room about what not to do. Quite frankly, if it is necessary to put up this kind of signage, particularly about certain subjects, then the wrong type of clientele are being attracted in the first place.

There was the same lack of service at breakfast. The ‘waitress’ actually hid in the kitchenette, after clearly seeing us enter, so, again, we had to call out for assistance. After the welcoming, friendly approach of hosts elsewhere throughout our five trips to Southern Africa, this was quite a shock.

The food wasn't great; yes, we had just been served amazing eggs benedict in Cape Town, but the ones here were dreadful. They might have been eggs benedict, but 'not as we know them, Jim!'
The overriding impression was that we were a nuisance." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Richard & Caroline
GB

"Annie's Cottage review"

1 night Arrived 23 Aug 2022
"Ideal stop-over B&B with good sized room and attentive hosts.

Convenient for getting into the centre of town for food / provisions. Secure parking" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Cottenham

"Pit stop before border crossing."

1 night Arrived 22 Nov 2018
"This was our final stop in South Africa before crossing into Namibia.

The owner was very friendly, and gave us a good recommendation for dinner in town.

We were able to head into Springbok the next morning for a few supplies before heading onto the border, after a good breakfast." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D.
Chelmsford

"Useful stop over "

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs JW
SW London

"A throwback to the bad old days"

1 night Arrived 28 Feb 2018
"Where do we begin? Firstly we don't know how this place gets away with its name - it is not remotely like any cottage we've ever seen. It's more like a motel.

We had a very cursory welcome from an uninterested member of staff. We were shown to our room and couldn't help notice paint peeling off the exterior of the building. The room was a decent size although old fashioned. Remarkably we couldn't close the bathroom door because the bedside table got in the way. The loo seat wouldn't stay up.

The room was very dated. There were some house rules on the wall which were rather fierce in their wording eg you won't get any breakfast if you arrive a minute late.

The breakfast...we ordered medium poached eggs which arrived rock hard. The bacon was inedible. We are not normally fussy but neither of us could eat any of it. No-one was around to talk to.

We couldn't get out of this place quickly enough." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Average
Ms L
Heathfield

"Convenient location in Springbok"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2017
"Annie's Cottage is a comfortable, convenient place to stay in Springbok. There is secure parking which is easy to operate with a key fob. The cottage is surrounded by a pleasant garden which guests can sit in for evening drinks.

We were offered a choice of two rooms and took the one in the main building which seemed more comfortable. The other one, which is round the side of the house seemed a little damp and less welcoming. Breakfast is served in the main house and there was a wide range of cooked dishes.

In the evening we ate at The Herb Garden, a new cafe that is a short drive away. It was recommended by the staff at Annie's Cottage and we had a very reasonable priced, tasty meal there.

Annie's Cottage is a good base for exploring Namaqualand. Unfortunately (Sept 2017) there were no spring flowers due to the very dry winter but the area is still beautiful." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr Y & Dr C
Essex

"Comfortable guesthouse near town centre"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2017
"Friendly guesthouse and a large comfortable room with a sizeable terrace. Good breakfast, especially the Mexican Omelette.

The one downside was the bird droppings around the pool, could have done with hosing down. Maybe something to do with the drought, but the plants were being watered....

Dining opportunities in Springbok are a bit limited but the Taurean Steakhouse was very good with a greater variety of food than the name suggests and very good value wine. We went to see the flowers which were not much in evidence because of the drought, but enjoyed a good walk with excellent views in the Goegap Nature Reserve. We also drove to the coast at Port Nolloth where we saw dolphins close to the shore. Enjoyed our stay." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa; 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"Our sort of 'quirky'!"

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2017
"Annie's Cottage was one of two or three suggestions put to us by Expert Africa, who described it as 'quirky'. We have no hesitation in confirming that it was a good recommendation and a good description.

Our room was comfortable and, importantly for the time or year, warm. Breakfasts were most enjoyable. The service was consistently good, and Annie herself is disarmingly charming. On the Cottage's recommendation we dined each evening we were there at the Herb Garden - another good recommendation.

We were in Namaqualand for the flower season which was a little disappointing given the poor rains in July. But we still greatly enjoyed our time in the area making the trip not only worthwhile in its own right but also a good fact-finding experience for getting our timing better for a return. For example, we discovered that a 4WD is really essential to explore Namaqua NP to the full." See all these reviews: 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr R & Mrs M
UK

"Annie's Cottage"

1 night Arrived 3 Feb 2017
"A good place to stay for one night. Well-appointed room with place to park the car outside.

Friendly owner.

Excellent steak in town." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 27
82%
27 reviews of Annie's Cottage by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
8
5
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namaqualand

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ndedema Lodge

Ndedema Lodge

Ndedema Lodge is an elegant Victorian House in the heart of Clanwilliam. Here you'll find four individually decorated en-suite bedrooms with large Victorian baths, separate showers, air-conditioning and fresh flowers throughout.


86% (26 reviews)
Mountain View Guest House

Mountain View

High on a hill overlooking Springbok, Mountain View Guest House has 10 suites. Most have a private patio and their own entrance, and outside you'll find a peaceful garden with indigenous plants and also a small swimming pool.


87% (19 reviews)
Farmhouse Hotel

Farmhouse Hotel

The Farmhouse Hotel is located in the seaside town of Langebaan with sweeping views of the Langebaan Lagoon. An ideal place to explore the remoter west coast.


87% (17 reviews)
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve

Bushmans Kloof

Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve, a luxury 16-room lodge and spa, offering game drives, visits to the area's prolific rock art, botanical tours, nature trails and hiking.


97% (15 reviews)
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel

Strandloper Hotel

Set in the quaint fishing village of Paternoster, Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel has beautiful views over the dunes, to the seemingly endless sandy beach and sea.


95% (4 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa