This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr Y & Dr C from Essex

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

5

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

39

Excursions taken

3

Great road trip from Cape Town to Windhoek

South Africa and 1 other country between 4 Sep 2017 and 27 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a great time. We had some really good experiences, had some great views and met some lovely people. Everyone was really helpful and pleased that we were visiting their country, both in South Africa and Namibia.

We had hoped to see the spring flowers in Namaqualand, but realised before we arrived that the drought would mean it unlikely. We saw a few, which was lovely but also did more walking than we might have done and found other things to do which we really enjoyed.

Highlights of the trip were Twee Rivieren at Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, Fish River Canyon, Kolmanskop (outside Luderitz), Augrabies Falls and the Eagle's Nest at Aus.

Thanks to Tracy for the original inspiration and Claire for making it happen."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Fish River Canyon day trip

Fish River Canyon day trip

"Exhilarating drive down into the canyon"

4 Sep 2017 • All-day excursion

A great day out, being driven down the 500m descent to the canyon floor. Fantastic views and a wonderful experience. Steep descents down very well-maintained rocky tracks gave an exhilarating experience

We were well looked after by our driver/guide Dessie. As there were only two of us we were in the company of other guests who were part of a german group with its own guide who was a bit tedious and dominated proceedings. We were a little irritated but understand that many non-english speaking travellers have to put up with worse and we still had a great day.

A good picnic and a lovely rock pool swimming opportunity.
Excellent
Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

"Comfortable hotel with excellent facilities"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2017
"We had a mountain view overlooking the gardens and the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Car parking was good and secure. We enjoyed the riverside walk to the vineyard itself, a project in partnership with local producers whose excellent wines feature on the hotel wine lists. We enjoyed dinner in The Square restaurant twice with an excellent pianist one evening and a harpist the other.

The food was excellent and service at dinner was very good, but that at breakfast less so. The buffet was very good but the availability of coffee was inconsistent.

We ate outside the hotel one evening. We tried to book a taxi through the Guest Relations desk. It didn't materialise but the hotel organised a replacement immediately so it all worked out OK."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ndedema Lodge

Ndedema Lodge

"Comfortable and homely "

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2017
"Nice little guest house on the edge of town run by friendly people who recommended a restaurant and made the reservation for us. Our room was clean and comfortable and everything worked well. A good distance from Cape Town so the drive was relaxing.

The lodge has pleasant gardens and pool. We drove up to the nearby Ramskop Nature Reserve reserve which had a few flowers (the drought meant we didn't see many in the wild) and good views"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Annie's Cottage

Annie's Cottage

"Comfortable guesthouse near town centre"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2017
"Friendly guesthouse and a large comfortable room with a sizeable terrace. Good breakfast, especially the Mexican Omelette.

The one downside was the bird droppings around the pool, could have done with hosing down. Maybe something to do with the drought, but the plants were being watered....

Dining opportunities in Springbok are a bit limited but the Taurean Steakhouse was very good with a greater variety of food than the name suggests and very good value wine. We went to see the flowers which were not much in evidence because of the drought, but enjoyed a good walk with excellent views in the Goegap Nature Reserve. We also drove to the coast at Port Nolloth where we saw dolphins close to the shore. Enjoyed our stay."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Augrabies Falls Restcamp

Augrabies Falls Restcamp

"Wonderful waterfalls and rocks at Augrabies"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2017
"Comfortable rooms within a couple of minutes walk from the spectacular waterfall - even in the drought!

There are other great views from viewpoints in the park and an excellent walk to the top of a granite outcrop and back - excellent signage and good paths.

Food and service in the large restaurant were also excellent"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

"Comfortable camp in lovely game park"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2017
"A great experience in a lovely game park with wonderful birds and good views.

The camp is used mainly as a first stop on the way into the park but we stayed for four nights and found loads to do. Game viewing was good - we followed lions for about a kilometer one morning and saw two Martial Eagles and a very bright yellow Cape Cobra crossing the road in from of the car- some way from the lodge.

We had hoped guided walks would be available - sadly not because of a shortage of guides, but we had a very good time anyway.

We ate in the restaurant the first night and whilst the food was good, it lacked atmosphere so we self catered the remaining nights - buying supplies from the well-stocked camp shop. Next time we would stay at the other camps with shops but no restaurant as the facilities are so good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Good place for an overnight stay"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2017
"Comfortable rooms, good food and a pleasant lawn to enjoy sundowners.

Friendly and efficient with secure parking."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

"Excellent lodge in great location"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2017
"Wonderfully perched on the edge of the canyon with great views across the canyon lower levels. You get a great perspective of how the canyon winds through the countryside.

There are fantastic views from each room and from the main lodge building housing the bar and restaurant. Food was very good although the choice was limited. Service was excellent.

We were taken right down to the canyon floor by 4x4 - a great experience, see separate review. Sundowner trip trip was fun."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

"Comfortable business style hotel"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2017
"Large hotel, slightly lacking in character but in an excellent location on the edge of town perched right above the rocks on the shore of the bay.

Rooms were comfortable although not large and we were disturbed at 4 am by a security alarm in a nearby room which could apparently not be turned off without intervention from Windhoek - not available until breakfast time. There was no mention of the alarm when we checked out and no apology volunteered.

We really enjoyed going to Kolmanskop, a deserted mining town 9km away. Eerie empty buildings gradually filling with sand blown in from the surrounding dunes."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Great location - excellent self catering pack"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2017
"Our room was called "Rock" and which provided one of the walls. It was large and comfortable.

We were very pleased that we spent two nights here - the original plan had been to stay only one night. The extra day gave us the opportunity to do the two hour (6km) signed walk round the back of the rocks behind the room and then down through the boulders back to the start. Great views and easy to follow, although as advised care had to be taken. The park fee you pay if you want to do the walk includes a book which gives details of a number of walks in the area.

We opted for the self catering dinner in order to avoid the 7km drive back to the main lodge in the dark and were amazed by the Braai Pack which included Camel Thorn wood which burned with very little smoke and excellent instructions for those not used to barbecuing. First self-cooked Braais but very good results."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

"Very good last stop "

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2017
"Very good location on the edge of the Kalahari but close to a main road to Windhoek for the flight home.

Large camp with good facilities, clean, comfortable and large rooms. Ours had a view of the waterhole thanks to an unexplained upgrade. Lovely sunset behind the small group of Eland.

The buffet meals were excellent, using produce sourced from the lodge's sister organisation's farm."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Great trip taking in some exceptional places

South Africa between 16 Jan 2016 and 2 Feb 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our first trip to South Africa but hopefully not our last.

Everywhere we went was different and lovely in its own way.

We found people friendly, efficient and enthusiastic.

We stayed in and drove through some wonderful places.

The itinerary suggested by Claire after listening to what we enjoy doing was excellent- thank you."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Image alt

Welgelegen Guest House

"Comfortable and friendly guest house"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jan 2016
"We were welcomed on arrival and found the room comfortable and quiet with a view of Table Mountain (just). Every member of staff was friendly and efficient.

Breakfast was excellent and the honesty bar well-stocked, supplemented by a port decanter in the room which was a very nice touch.

The dinner recommendations were excellent (Miller's Thumb and Black Sheep) and reservations made despite the restaurants being busy. They also arranged the cable car ticket for Table Mountain so we didn't have to queue twice."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve

Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve

"Very comfortable and wonderful location"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2016
"A great location with wonderful rock formations around the camp and around the roads to and from the area. Very comfortable and spacious room. Food was very good and the people very friendly and helpful. All in all a great experience. The place was partly camp with group activities including a barbecue and partly hotel with individual dining tables.

A bit confusing especially when the rain on our second night meant that the planned outdoor drinks were abandoned with no back-up as the bar was closed (although we managed to have a drink at the dinner table).

The drives provided an interesting tour of the area with very good sightings of Eland and Bontebok, but game viewing is not the main focus of this area. We also enjoyed the marked walk around the rocks opposite the camp and the early morning trip to see the rock art was a highlight of the trip."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Avondrood Guest House

"Lovely town- lovely guesthouse"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2016
"Very convenient, a short walk from the centre of the town but quiet and with secure parking. Justin and his team were welcoming and friendly, making dinner reservations, serving excellent breakfasts and making sure that everything was clean and comfortable. He also gave good advice about routes to take for the rest of the trip.

We were in one of the two new rooms which open out onto the garden. It was spacious with a large bathroom and a welcoming decanter of port.

We really enjoyed Franschhoek which has a very relaxed atmosphere, good restaurants and an interesting Saturday market. The wine tram experience is a great day out, well organised and efficient visiting some excellent wineries. Picnic lunch at Grande Provence was a delight, served in a wicker basket at a table with white tablecloth under the trees."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
De Hoop Opstal

De Hoop Opstal

"Great Experience at De Hoop"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jan 2016
"Lovely location with the Vlei and the dunes at the beach offering different and contrasting experiences. The marked walk along the Vlei was well marked with lots of birdlife including fish eagles and giant kingfishers. At the beach we saw a couple of schools of dolphins and enjoyed an excellent picnic lunch, provided in a cool bag with plates and cutlery. It was so generous that we finished it the following day.

The camp buildings are well spaced out so there's a wonderful feeling of space and privacy, although part of the reason for this is that we changed our room on check in. We had been booked in the manor House which we understood could sleep up to six people, but we were not expecting to share with anyone else and without separate locks on the bedroom doors. Fortunately Florence at reception was able to relocate us into a Vlei Cottage which was also very comfortable, more private and had a great view.

The food was good and Dickson, our waiter gave good and detailed recommendations on the best wine to accompany the meal."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Palms Wilderness Retreat

"Lovely guesthouse in quirky resort"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jan 2016
"Friendly guesthouse with lovely gardens within easy walking distance of the centre. Comfortable sitting area in the room as well as a small terrace. Breakfast was excellent. Limited parking within the property itself but plenty in the very quiet street outside.

Information pack provided in the room included details of a number of marked walks around the town. We did the half-collared kingfisher trail, an excellent path including a large section on boardwalk and an ingenious pontoon to cross the river. At the top is a lovely waterfall. There is parking at the start of the walk, which is advisable as it is quite a trek on foot from the hotel.

Access to the beach is via underpasses crossing the sometimes busy N2 which gives it a slightly remote feeling. We had dinner at Salinas which was above the beach, a walk of 20 minutes, partly along and across the N2. We also eat at The Girls which was only 5 minutes away and also excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Storms River Restcamp

Storms River Restcamp

"Great place to watch waves crash onto rocks"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2016
"Big camp with space for tents, camper vans and chalets. We had a Honeymoon chalet, which had a bedroom and sitting room both opening up to a deck with a great view of the wonderfully shaped rocks and the waves rolling in and erupting into great towers of spray.

We arrived when the sun was shining and the sea was a wonderful turquoise. During the afternoon a mist developed and stayed until the following midday before clearing almost to the top of the cliffs. On the second morning, the mist came back with the waves crashing through the gloom. A wonderful experience and we were glad that we stayed for two nights.

The camp restaurant was good rather than great but efficient and friendly we tried the salads as lighter options. They were huge, but very tasty. We loved the whole experience and would definitely return."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Oulap Country House, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"A great experience"

1 night Arrived 31 Jan 2016
"We thought that the stay at Oulap was just an overnight pause on the way back to Cape Town. We were wrong - it proved to be the most interesting evening and morning of the trip!

We loved meeting Jans and Almeri and felt privileged to share their home for a night. The drive from Storms River passed through some beautiful red rock hills sparsely covered in low scrub, interspersed with fruit farms. Oulap is on a hill with great views, gardens littered with fantastic sculptures and a sizeable and refreshing pool.

Our room was large and had a door leading the the pool terrace. The en-suite bathroom didn't have a shower but there was a separate shower next to the room.

We were the only guests and dinner provided a great insight into the fascinating history of the country and the personal experiences of people who have lived through extraordinary times and view the future with such optimism.

After watching the sun rise the following morning we joined Almeri on the 5.30 walk to the source of the spring water we'd enjoyed the previous evening."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Constantia

The Constantia

"Extremely comfortable, spacious and efficient"

1 night Arrived 1 Feb 2016
"We spent only one night at The Constantia but really appreciated the ambience, the space in our room, the relaxing gardens and the welcoming and efficient service.

There is a casual pub-style restaurant next door (Pedlars) which provides good food with friendly service and a separate bar where people were watching sport on television.

We checked out in the morning, but as our flight was not until 9pm, we were able to use all the facilities of the hotel until the evening, including tea, a shower room and a comfortable lounge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Great experience in Namibia

Namibia between 4 May 2015 and 21 May 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was a great experience and we had a fantastic time and will return for more.

We loved visiting Terrace Bay and the drive up the Skeleton Coast - although a bit awed by the remoteness. Swakupmund was fun, with a great day out travelling to Sandwich harbour and back. Etendeka was another great experience as was the time we spent in Etosha. Erongo was great place to finish the trip.

Sabina's suggestions (don't spend two nights at Terrace Bay, try Mushara Bush Camp) were excellent. We really appreciate her phoning us when we had broken down to check we were OK and being looked after and confirming that the replacement vehicle was on its way. Also impressed by Wilderness Safaris who co-ordinated the replacement vehicle with Bidvest and the transfer from Okaukuejo while we were waiting for it to be delivered from Windhoek.

We were enormously impressed by the back up when we had a problem with the vehicle. It was very reassuring that were not coping with it alone. THANK YOU!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

After our experience with the original car we would be inclined to book a 4x4 next time to ensure we had a more robust vehicle.

Driving on the roads we travelled wasn't a problem but the original car we had an ineffective handbrake (not spotted on delivery and not actually much of a problem parking on the flat) and a very soggy passenger seat. It seems that it had been subjected to hard treatment which may be why it broke down."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Galton House

Galton House

"Friendly and comfortable Guesthouse"

1 night Arrived 5 May 2015
"Very comfortable and convenient guesthouse with good secure parking. Friendly efficient service delivered two cold beers within minutes of our arrival.

Good food - we enjoyed the smell of the squash soup cooking during the afternoon and it tasted as good as it smelled."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

"Lovely guesthouse in central Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 6 May 2015
"Extremely friendly- really helpful and enthusiastic staff and a very comfortable room with private balcony. We didn't have dinner here but they were happy to book a table at The Tug (very good) and we were amused that the reservation was in the name of our room (Romeo and Juliet!).

Also ate at Erich's just down the road, which was also excellent.

A really fun place to stay.

Expert Africa arranged a trip to Sandwich Harbour from Swakopmund. These travellers commented:

We had high expectations as we'd done a similar trip three years ago and this was even better. Berger was helpful, informative and a good host. Highlights of the trip were:
- Driving along the narrow strip between the dunes and the ocean which disappears at high tide,
- The climb up the dunes at Sandwich Harbour and the view of the bay,
- Driving through the dunes on the way back and sliding down the roaring dunes.
- The sightings of springbok and a pair of black backed jackals.

Lunch of springbok lasagna was excellent. We loved the red colours of some of the sand (garnet granules we understand) and the feeling of emptiness.

A truly memorable experience. We loved it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Wonderful trip to Sandwich Harbour"

7 May 2015 • All-day excursion

We had high expectations as we'd done a similar trip three years ago and this was even better. Berger was helpful, informative and a good host. Highlights of the trip were:
Driving along the narrow strip between the dunes and the ocean which disappears at high tide,
The climb up the dunes at Sandwich Harbour and the view of the bay,
Driving through the dunes on the way back and sliding down the roaring dunes.
The sightings of springbok and a pair of black backed jackals.

Lunch of springbok lasagna was excellent. We loved the red colours of some of the sand (garnet granules we understand) and the feeling of emptiness.

A truly memorable experience. We loved it.
Excellent
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

"Atmospheric resort at the end of the road."

1 night Arrived 8 May 2015
"Great location at the end of a long day's drive from Swakopmund.

The drive through the Skeleton Coast was fantastic and the road excellent. The different colours of rocks and sand were unlike anything we'd experienced before - an unforgettable journey a real feeling of isolation, although we passed the occasional vehicle which gave some reassurance that we were not completely alone.

The resort is comfortable and clean. Not plush but everything works with good food and wine. The staff are friendly and efficient.

Great views of the sea."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Great experience at Etendeka"

3 nights Arrived 9 May 2015
"Really fun place to stay in a wonderful setting. Great opportunity to walk and appreciate the landscape on foot in the morning and from from the vehicle in the afternoon.

Mike, the interim manager, was good company and particularly informative about the night sky. He also organised an excellent picnic lunch on the day we left. Apart from the stars, the highlights were Freddie, the black rhino and the drive up to the plateau with great views and impressive crystals on the ground.

Very comfortable tents with attached shower/toilet bock and excellent camp chairs to relax in outside. A great experience and apart from everything else we met some interesting people, with interaction encouraged by the communal dining."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Lovely camp in quiet part of the park"

2 nights Arrived 12 May 2015
"Great location, built on a ridge with rooms stetted along its length and not fenced in - buggy transfer provided after dark.

Wonderful view across the plain from the room and the bar and a nearby waterhole which was visible from the camp but only by walking a bit further than the paved track. Not to be done after dark!

Friendly service although not always efficient- e.g. there didn't seem to be a way of alerting reception of arrival at the car park at the bottom of the hill - we were lucky that a vehicle was already transporting someone else but we saw someone else left for about 15 minutes even after we told reception about it.

Good food and good value wine.

Good game viewing at the waterholes. Some of the game were quite inquisitive possibly because they were not as habituated to vehicles as in other parts of the park as access is mainly for people staying at Dolomite. This part wasn't open when we last visited so it was good to be allowed in. A fun experience"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Large camp but provides a good experience"

1 night Arrived 14 May 2015
"Busy camp but service was good and friendly. The emergency line was answered quickly when we broke down in the afternoon (fortunately with a mobile signal) and help organised immediately.

Bush chalet was comfortable. Food good. Interesting game at the waterhole in the camp and at others nearby."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2015
"A very good big camp. We had a chalet with disabled access which was a bit strange with no bathroom/toilet door and only one chair. We had been warned that this was the only accommodation available so it didn't come as complete surprise but it was odd. We checked the inventory on arrival and found a few things missing but when we went to report it to reception, we were just told that they were already aware.

We have been to Halali before and were looking forward to going back - we weren't disappointed, enjoyed the atmosphere and had good game sightings including white and black rhino and lions.

Buffet restaurant was good with friendly efficient service for drinks. Breakfast omelettes were lovely."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 17 May 2015
"Very comfortable and more personalised service after five nights in the government run camps. Extremely comfortable and well equipped tent with private sitting areas inside and out looking into the bush.

We enjoyed a lovely meal - the beetroot and apple soup was unforgettable. We were very well looked after by a very friendly team."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 May 2015
"On our previous trip we visited Erongo for only one night, so we were looking forward to spending more time there with a two night stay. The tents had been refurbished since the previous trip and are now even better quality, with more space and ours had a big covered deck alongside.

We found the self-guided trail (Baboon rocks) impossible to follow but went on a guided walk the following morning and realised where we'd gone wrong - apparently the baboons move the rocks from the cairns. A fantastic walk through wonderful country with great views. We set off before dawn and so we could could appreciate the sky getting lighter and the sun rise above the distant hills.

We did the sundowner walk (as on our previous visit) and again appreciated the extensive views and the wonderful setting. A great place to round off the trip.

Open air dining was excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

First time in Namibia but not the last

Namibia between 16 Sep 2011 and 2 Oct 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a great time. We haven't driven ourselves in Africa for a long time and really enjoyed the experience.

Wonderful country; we were never far from beautiful mountains and the roads were excellent. People are friendly and welcoming. We felt safe wherever we went. The suggested itinerary gave a wonderful insight into the country and we intend to return.

Angela was very helpful and responded quickly to all our questions.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No. This is the second time we have booked through Expert Africa, and have been impressed both with the recommendations and the efficiency with which the booking has been handled."

Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"The Elegant Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2011
"Very comfortable room and friendly people. Good location and easy to find. We'd stay there again.

Had wonderful squid at Luigi's and the Fish, about five minutes by taxi from the guesthouse."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2011
"Very friendly and efficient. Room was spacious, well-equipped and comfortable with good view.

Good walks marked out around the guesthouse and wonderful Quiver Tree Canyon walk as an optional extra.

Good food and relaxed communal dining. Well-equipped bar for sundowners on the sitting area outside the room. We'd certainly return."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2011
"Lovely location. Very friendly staff - the man responsible for the lodge vehicles came to find us to tell us about a slow puncture on our hire car and then not only changed the wheel, but repaired the tyre.

Comfortable room with good veranda for sitting and reading. Lovely views from main building"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2011
"Really enjoyed Swakopmund and the guesthouse. Friendly staff who made restaurant bookings and gave general advice.

Room was spacious, bathroom even more so. Impressed by the international electrical sockets. Lovely gardens and generally relaxed atmosphere. Good supermarkets and restaurants in the town and safe to walk around after dark which added to the enjoyment.

Whilst here, Expert Africa arranged a 'Day trip to Sandwich Harbour' about which these travellers commented:

Delightful Day in the Dunes
Probably the best day of the whole trip, which is saying a lot. Ernest from Turnstone Tours was enthusiastic, extremely knowledgeable, skillful and seemed genuinely pleased by the group's enjoyment. Part of the wonderful experience was walking along the Skeleton Coast (seeing a jackal on the way), climbing up into the dunes and enjoying the solitude while Ernest went back for the Landrover (and our boots). He picked us up, drove on a bit more and then stopped for an impressive lunch before taking us back to see the flamingos and the pink salt pans. Great experience.

Enjoyed these dunes even more than those at Sossusvlei because we were alone, they seemed more remote because of the dramatic way the dunes met the sea"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Delightful Day in the Dunes"

23 Sep 2011 • All-day excursion

Probably the best day of the whole trip, which is saying a lot. Ernest from Turnstone Tours was enthusiastic, extremely knowledgeable, skillful and seemed genuinely pleased by the group's enjoyment. Part of the wonderful experience was walking along the Skeleton Coast (seeing a jackal on the way), climbing up into the dunes and enjoying the solitude while Ernest went back for the Landrover (and our boots). He picked us up, drove on a bit more and then stopped for an impressive lunch before taking us back to see the flamingos and the pink salt pans. Great experience. Enjoyed these dunes even more than those at Sossusvlei because we were alone, they seemed more remote because of the dramatic way the dunes met the sea
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2011
"Wonderful location, room was spacious (honeymoon room apparently) with large deck to sit out on.

Very friendly staff - and the choir was great fun. Efficient guest briefing detailing costs of activities and max no of people per vehicle - it's worth confirming before booking.

Desert adapted elephant outing was wonderful. We also did a guided walk which was adapted to the time we had available before leaving. We plan to go back the next time we're in Namibia."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2011
"Big camp catering for a lot of people with organisational challenges. Reserving a table as we had been requested to on arrival didn't seem to make a difference. Once we'd worked out the system it was fine.

It doesn't have the same atmosphere as a small camp but the game viewing was good at the camp waterhole and the surrounding area. Park roads are very good and an amazing amount of wildlife visible from the road - even driving ourselves."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2011
"Relaxed and efficient with very spacious bush chalet. Comfortable sitting area in the chalet and a shaded table outside.

Liked the waterhole being away from the main camp.

Service in the restaurant was very good and friendly. Lovely area and we saw very good game. We'd go back."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 30 Sep 2011
"Wonderful setting with comfortable tented rooms scattered amongst the rocks. Lovely veranda with excellent views including a beautiful sunrise.

Very welcoming and relaxed with very good food. In our brief stay we followed a marked trail, again with fantastic views, and went on a guided sundowner stroll with gin and tonic. Everyone at the lodge was very friendly and everything worked very well.

Easy access but felt very remote. We'd go for two nights next time"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Apr 2009 trip

Zambia between 24 Apr 2009 and 10 May 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"One of the best trips we've ever done (and we've done a few similar).

The four places we visited were all excellent in different ways, which was what we hoped for. We have been to Zambia three times before at the end of the dry season, and we wanted to see it at a different time of year and visit new places. Mutininondo and Shiwa were recommendtaions from people we'd met on previous trips, and Claire was able to reassure us that they would be good so we were dleighted that they were. Claire's recommendation to go to Shoebill was also excellent.

All in all, a wondeful experience, great scenery, excellent wildlife and we met some very interesting people.

Suggestions for improvements:

Can't think of anything. Efficient, friendly service. Helpful in setting everthing up kept us infomed about changes."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Shoebill Island Camp

Shoebill Island Camp

"Shoebill Island Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 25 Apr 2009
"Wonderful location and trips by boat and vehicle. We saw three Shoebiills and many other beautiful birds. The meories of gliding in a boat through the water lillies will stay with us for a long time. The tranquil atmosphere may have been even better than usual becasue we were the only guests. Frank, our guide was excellent, finding a Sitatunga very close to the camp and a spotted eagle owl on the island.

The camp staff were also very attentive, the tents were comfortable and hot water available when needed. Food was very good and the supply of hot and cold drinks plentiful.

We had been warned that the landing strip near the camp was not usable, so we had a 60km trip by vehicle in both directions on fairly poor roads, but this gave us the opportunity to see some more of the countryside and the villages. It was interesting to be able to compare them with the much samller fishing villages in the wetlands themselves.

Very relaxing, a great experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Shiwa Ng'andu

Shiwa Ng'andu

"Shiwa Ng'andu review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Apr 2009
"A wonderful experience in a wonderful place. Charlie, Jo and Emma were extremely hospitable and friendly, with nothing too much trouble. We loved hearing about the history of the estate, particularly the years not covered by The Book (Africa House). It was fascinating to hear how Charlie is making his grandfather's dream come true.

The atmosphere is one of a country house party. We also appreciated how the family welcomed our pilot as well. (sounds grander than it was, but the charter pilot stayed with us for two nights as well as they had no other jobs for him at the time).

We enjoyed all the activities, including birding in the beautiful garden and by the Lake, the tour of the farm and the visit to Kapisha Hot Springs where we discovered that Charlie's brother Mark used to drink in a pub in our village when he was a student. As there are less than 500 residents, this is something odf a coincidence.

The food was excellent despite the apparent late arrival of the supply truck (we didn't notice) and I'm looking forward to trying Jo's Boerworst recipe.

On the last morning Jo and Charlie arranged for us to go up Nachipala Bareback Hill which was hard work but well worth the effort with fantastic views all around."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mutinondo Wilderness

Mutinondo Wilderness

"Mutinondo Wilderness review"

4 nights Arrived 1 May 2009
"Beautiful location, very comfortable rooms, good food and extremely friendly atmosphere. We loved being able to walk unguided on excellently cleared paths. The granite whalebacks are wonderful to climb and give great views. The river is beautiful as well - one day we went out for a long walk, and had a picnic on the river banks on the way home.

Mike is a charming and helpful host - he even tried to arrange for us to pick up some coffee at Lusaka airport as the duty free shop is being refurbished. It didn't work but it was good of him to try.

We had a room with a great view of sunrise, and it had glass doors, which we understand are new and keep the cold evening air out. There's a very relaxed atmosphere with no "organised" activities but plenty to do. The food was good and the bar was never going to run out, although we found we had to move some from the cupboard into the fridge after an influx of vistors to the campsite one day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nkwali

Nkwali

"Nkwali review"

4 nights Arrived 5 May 2009
"This was our fourth visit and we enjoyed some wonderful wildlife again. In one 24 hour period we saw a Leopard hunting in daylight (unsuccessfully), had wine on the river watching the sun go down, a pride of lions at night and a pack of wild dogs the following morning. In between there was a barbeque in the bush under tha stars.

We might have been especially lucky on previous visits, but we wdidn't feel that we were made to feel as special this time. We were not asked by the camp if we wanted to go walking or on a boat trip although these were arranged when we asked. There was a large South African birding group in camp which seemed to take priority and the best guides. Ours was enthusiastic and helpful, but inexperienced.

Another very good experience, but not sure we'd go back to Nkwali. Even at this time of the year we came across a number of other vehicles (admittedly most from Nkwlai or the Robin Pope houses."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team