This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ndedema Lodge
Ndedema Lodge

Reviews of Ndedema Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

23 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ndedema Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 23
Duration
Arrival date
Mr A.
Hertford

"Ndedema Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 8 Apr 2019
"Interesting place to stay but a bit shabby" See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa; 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Cottenham

"Great stop on way to Namibia"

2 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2018
"We arrived from Cape Town around 4pm and were immediately welcomed.

We were very pleased with the restaurant recommendation of 'Michaels' for that evening, just up the road, which was probably one of the best meals we had on our whole trip.

The next day we explored the Cederberg Wilderness area, finishing up at the Cederberg winery for a quick tasting in the afternoon. " See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms L
Heathfield

"A good place to stay in Clanwilliam"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2017
"Ndedema Lodge is situated some distance from the centre of Clanwilliam on the edge of town. It is an old victorian house and the rooms are furnished in period style, which we really liked. Our room was clean and well furnished with a large bathroom.

We ate at Michael's restaurant which serves homely food and is a short walk from the lodge.

The owners of Ndedema Lodge are friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr Y & Dr C
Essex

"Comfortable and homely "

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2017
"Nice little guest house on the edge of town run by friendly people who recommended a restaurant and made the reservation for us. Our room was clean and comfortable and everything worked well. A good distance from Cape Town so the drive was relaxing.

The lodge has pleasant gardens and pool. We drove up to the nearby Ramskop Nature Reserve reserve which had a few flowers (the drought meant we didn't see many in the wild) and good views" See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa; 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr R & Mrs M
UK

"Ndedema Lodge "

1 night Arrived 2 Feb 2017
"An adequate place to spend one night. Rather a dark, dreary room with an attractive patio.

The stay was enlivened by quite a good dinner at a restaurant a few doors down the street." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
P & S
Pickering

"Ndedema Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2016
"At the edge of Clanwilliam. Two nights were sufficient.

We had dinner at Michaels on Park, just along the road. Food excellent. Michael was very friendly and attentive.

The street lighting was sparse for the walk back so a torch is advisable.

No activities." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs E
Cheshire

"Ndedema Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2015
"The owner has booked us a meal in a local restaurant for the night we arrived, which was very thoughtful. She was very helpful in providing information about the local area and amenities, and helping us choose places to eat.

The room was fine, but a bit dingy. The outdoor space immediately outside our room was not an attractive place to sit (unlike some other rooms)." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa; 4n in Mozambique
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Ms P
Clayton

"Wonderful hosts at Ndedema Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 29 Dec 2014
"The drive from Fish River Canyon, Namibia to Clandwilliam, South Africa was about eight hours. There was almost no place to stop between the two, so I realized why the overnights were arranged this way. We had no trouble going across the border into South Africa.

The parents stayed in the lodge, and our children stayed in a cottage behind the lodge. The breakfast each morning was wonderful. The Inn Keepers made our stay in Clandwilliam a success by arranging an eco tour of a rooibos tea farm, making dinner reservations, and suggesting a place to see the San rock art. The Inn Keepers also helped us understand the history of the different people living in the area, and the current political climate. We had read a lot to prepare for our trip, but the personal touch of the Inn Keepers gave us a much deeper understanding of life in South Africa.

We were sorry to hear the Inn Keepers were retiring in January 2015, and hope the new Inn Keepers will be as welcoming." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D.T.R
Corby

"Ndedema Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2014
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr R
Chicago, USA

"What a Lovely B&B"

1 night Arrived 10 Dec 2012
"One of our favorite B&Bs in the world!!! We arrived and said our names and that we had a reservation. The lady smiled and said, "I know, we were waiting for you!" We immediately felt 'at home'.

We had a gorgeous two-bedroom suite that was extremely comfortable. The owner was so attentive and helpful. It made our one-night stay in Clanwilliam excellent! She gave us some recommendations on what to do for the evening. Breakfast was delicious! I wish we could have stayed at least one more night." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 8n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 23
88%
23 reviews of Ndedema Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
8
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namaqualand

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Annie's Cottage

Annie's Cottage

Annie's Cottage is a small, good-quality guest house in a good location near the centre of Springbok.


84% (24 reviews)
Mountain View Guest House

Mountain View

High on a hill overlooking Springbok, Mountain View Guest House has 10 suites. Most have a private patio and their own entrance, and outside you'll find a peaceful garden with indigenous plants and also a small swimming pool.


87% (19 reviews)
Farmhouse Hotel

Farmhouse Hotel

The Farmhouse Hotel is located in the seaside town of Langebaan with sweeping views of the Langebaan Lagoon. An ideal place to explore the remoter west coast.


87% (17 reviews)
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve

Bushmans Kloof

Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve, a luxury 16-room lodge and spa, offering game drives, visits to the area's prolific rock art, botanical tours, nature trails and hiking.


97% (14 reviews)
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel

Strandloper Hotel

Set in the quaint fishing village of Paternoster, Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel has beautiful views over the dunes, to the seemingly endless sandy beach and sea.


95% (4 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa