This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ndedema Lodge
Ndedema Lodge

Reviews of Ndedema Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

26 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ndedema Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 26
Duration
Arrival date
Ms L.
Monmouth

"Ndedema Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2022
"Friendly and welcoming, nice rooms." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa; 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Syderstone

"Ndedema Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2022
"Our room (3) was so dark we needed the light on at all times. It had no view, facing the wall of the narrow courtyard where we could have sat, if not rainy. It was chilly, but no doubt cool in the summer.

The only brightness was provided by the huge modern wall-hangings, crafted by the hostess. In general we found it old fashioned and in need of some tlc. Maybe Victorian furnishings/plumbing/electricity are an appeal for some, but not us. There’s a point at which ‘quaint’ and ‘quirky’ becomes shabby, full of clutter and in need of a refurb. As for the complimentary decanter of sherry; my goodness, my grandmother was the last person I knew to drink that!

Breakfast was rather limited but the food was quite acceptable.

We found the hosts rather reserved and quiet. We were given more information about the area by other guests. There’s a fine point around how much guests should be left to their own devices.
Comfortable enough, but we wouldn’t stay again." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Richard & Caroline
GB

"Ndedema Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2022
"Convenient and comfortable B&B with attentive hosts, who advised of the good places to eat etc.

Traditional good sized room (room 1) and secure parking." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr A.
Hertford

"Ndedema Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 8 Apr 2019
"Interesting place to stay but a bit shabby" See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa; 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Cottenham

"Great stop on way to Namibia"

2 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2018
"We arrived from Cape Town around 4pm and were immediately welcomed.

We were very pleased with the restaurant recommendation of 'Michaels' for that evening, just up the road, which was probably one of the best meals we had on our whole trip.

The next day we explored the Cederberg Wilderness area, finishing up at the Cederberg winery for a quick tasting in the afternoon." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms L
Heathfield

"A good place to stay in Clanwilliam"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2017
"Ndedema Lodge is situated some distance from the centre of Clanwilliam on the edge of town. It is an old victorian house and the rooms are furnished in period style, which we really liked. Our room was clean and well furnished with a large bathroom.

We ate at Michael's restaurant which serves homely food and is a short walk from the lodge.

The owners of Ndedema Lodge are friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr Y & Dr C
Essex

"Comfortable and homely "

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2017
"Nice little guest house on the edge of town run by friendly people who recommended a restaurant and made the reservation for us. Our room was clean and comfortable and everything worked well. A good distance from Cape Town so the drive was relaxing.

The lodge has pleasant gardens and pool. We drove up to the nearby Ramskop Nature Reserve reserve which had a few flowers (the drought meant we didn't see many in the wild) and good views" See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa; 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr R & Mrs M
UK

"Ndedema Lodge "

1 night Arrived 2 Feb 2017
"An adequate place to spend one night. Rather a dark, dreary room with an attractive patio.

The stay was enlivened by quite a good dinner at a restaurant a few doors down the street." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
P & S
Pickering

"Ndedema Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2016
"At the edge of Clanwilliam. Two nights were sufficient.

We had dinner at Michaels on Park, just along the road. Food excellent. Michael was very friendly and attentive.

The street lighting was sparse for the walk back so a torch is advisable.

No activities." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs E
Cheshire

"Ndedema Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2015
"The owner has booked us a meal in a local restaurant for the night we arrived, which was very thoughtful. She was very helpful in providing information about the local area and amenities, and helping us choose places to eat.

The room was fine, but a bit dingy. The outdoor space immediately outside our room was not an attractive place to sit (unlike some other rooms)." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa; 4n in Mozambique
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Showing 1-10 of 26
86%
26 reviews of Ndedema Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
10
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namaqualand

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Annie's Cottage

Annie's Cottage

Annie's Cottage is a small, good-quality guest house in a good location near the centre of Springbok.


83% (28 reviews)
Mountain View Guest House

Mountain View

High on a hill overlooking Springbok, Mountain View Guest House has 10 suites. Most have a private patio and their own entrance, and outside you'll find a peaceful garden with indigenous plants and also a small swimming pool.


87% (19 reviews)
Farmhouse Hotel

Farmhouse Hotel

The Farmhouse Hotel is located in the seaside town of Langebaan with sweeping views of the Langebaan Lagoon. An ideal place to explore the remoter west coast.


87% (17 reviews)
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve

Bushmans Kloof

Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve, a luxury 16-room lodge and spa, offering game drives, visits to the area's prolific rock art, botanical tours, nature trails and hiking.


97% (15 reviews)
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel

Strandloper Hotel

Set in the quaint fishing village of Paternoster, Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel has beautiful views over the dunes, to the seemingly endless sandy beach and sea.


95% (4 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa