This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ndedema Lodge
Ndedema Lodge

Reviews of Ndedema Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

23 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ndedema Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 23
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs M
Weymouth

"2 nights at Ndedema Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2012
"A very warm welcome from Wilma to her lovely house after the car was parked through the electric gate, so very secure.

Our room was lovely with period furniture, the bathroom massive. A relaxing beer in the shady garden on arrival. Pool available though we did not use it.

Wilma organised our trip to the Rooibos estate the next morning and pointed us to the rock art trail for the afternoon.

Breakfasts were eaten in the garden from a substantial choice laid out inside. Long chats with Wilma and Johan who were excellent hosts making for a most enjoyable stay in Clanwilliam." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Mrs K
UK

"Ndedema Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2012
"A really welcoming guest house only providing B&B (unless full) but breakfast was good. They reserved a table for us at a local restaurant/pub which served good but basic food. Nonetheless making us feel special. It was some walking distance from the lodge.
The town is well placed for the mountains, Lamberts bay and the rock art trail.

They have WiFi which they give you a password for if you ask. It's free but you need to sit close to the owners' cottage." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs Judd
London

"Welcoming, comfortable place to stay"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2012
"Large comfortable room, with very welcoming hosts." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr S & Ms R
Surrey

"Stimulating stop-over at Ndedema"

1 night Arrived 3 Sep 2012
"The lodge gave us an excellent overnight stay. It was quiet, conveniently located and securely operated. We arrived at dusk, having journeyed circuitously from Cape Town, via the West Coast National Park and the river-estuary at Velddrif (here on the North bank, by the way, there is a public, roomy, but apparently scarce-frequented bird-hide, built on its own 30-metre pier into the waterway - it provided wonderful close-up viewings of flamingo and other water-life).

The owner, Wilma, had thoughtfully booked us a table at Emil's Place, a restaurant some 10 minutes walk back into Clanwilliam (fortunate for us, as we found the premises full and the dining excellent). We proceeded to have a good night's sleep in fine surroundings with all necessary facilities - followed by a hearty breakfast.

We had curtailed our stay at Clanwilliam to one night, in order to help fit in extra nights elsewhere. This worked well for us. On Wilma's recommendation the following morning, we briefly visited the Rooibos tea factory shop (which, strangely, had scarcely any of its products on sale - there was a better selection at the local SuperSpar).

She also recommended a brief side-trip into the Cedarberg Mountains, which was much more rewarding. We drove up the Pakhuis Pass and visited the poet, Leipoldt 's grave, with its overhang of bushmen's painting. Here we also encountered a large bunch of ageing Hell's Angel-style bike riders. With them and the backdrop of the monumental and eroded rock formations of the Cedarberg, we felt we had been transported to Arizona. We traveled a little further to take a look over the other side of the Pass, before - feeling fulfilled with what was on view - we retraced our steps.

We were back in Clanwilliam by 11.30am, only to find the Hog-riders hogging the town's sole petrol station. Nevertheless, we were well placed for the next stage of our journey towards Springbok, which we reached by around 3pm." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Ms N & Mr S
Bristol

"A great place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2011
"We had a lovely room at the front of the main building, with an amazing bathroom which was bigger that the bedroom. The welcome and information available was excellent, and the breakfast with fruits fresh from the garden was wonderful.

There wasn't much open in Clanwilliam on the Sunday we arrived, and our host booking the only available restaurant for us was a nice touch." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
6
Whangarei

"Wonderful hospitality at Ndedema Lodge"

1 night Arrived 5 Apr 2011
"Clanwilliam is an easy drive from Cape Town, we travelled the coastal route. As a stopover en route to Namibia it was great, would have liked an extra night to explore the surrounding area. Ndedema Lodge is just lovely. We were welcomed by Johan and Wilma into their gorgeous old Victorian home. The rooms were all beautifully decorated and nice comfortable beds.

Special touches included sherry in the rooms, and a complimentary bottle of champagne for our 25th wedding anniversary. Wilma also arranged a special dinner reservation in town for our celebration. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool and the lovely garden area, chatting with Johan over a few beers & wines, listening to his stories, and appreciated his advice on our pending adventure through Namibia. Wilma served a great breakfast for our early start the next morning.

The security is excellent behind locked gates, plenty of room for vehicles. Would highly recommend this lovely place." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Chipstead

"Ndedema Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2010
"It's a bit difficult to evaluate this place without knowing how much we paid for our room, which was dark, badly lit and furnished with heavy dreary furniture (certainly not antiques as I recall the brochure suggests).

There is a garden of sorts, but not one you'd want to spend much time in.

However, the owners went out of their way to suggest to suggest things we might do in the locality and created a warm and cheerful atmosphere." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Ms R & Mr G
Hants

"Ndedema Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2009
"The house was stunning - our room was lovely - a four poster bed, the most enormous bathroom and such hospitable people - we saw them around a lot as well as at breakfast and nothing was too much trouble. On arrival we were brought tea by the pool, they were able to recommend a visit to the Rock Art the following day - and book us in to a restaurant that night.

At breakfast, there were four of us, the array was dazzling and included scones, jam and cream, as well as the usual cereals, cold meats and cheese, rolls, jams and toast. Then there was a choice of eggs, sausage, bacon, mushrooms and tomatoes, followed by a 'knickerboker glory' of yoghurt and stewed fruit laced with honey - the follwoing day we had grapefruit laced with passion fruit, all picked from their trees." See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia; 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B,
Portugal

"Ndedema Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2009
"Wilma certainly knows how to make you welcome. She was out when we arrived but her lady who showed us around was superb, very well trained.

Best local restaurants were both unavailable first night so Wilma and her ladies served an excellent dinner themselves in the courtyard.

She is very knowledgeable about the area and offered many suggestions of places to visit. A great stop." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs SB
N London

"Clanwilliam bliss"

3 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2008
"We really enjoyed the location, We were unfortunate with our experience in Cederberg mountains - Plans, tried twice, for planned walks fell through, however this venue, friendliness and helpfulness [hosts were great] made that disappointment not so important.

The breakfasts in the garden were a joy.
Particularly liked The Bath!

Plus close proximity to Lamberts Bay , the Gannet colony and restaurant recommendation a bonus." See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa; 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 23
88%
23 reviews of Ndedema Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
8
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namaqualand

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Annie's Cottage

Annie's Cottage

Annie's Cottage is a small, good-quality guest house in a good location near the centre of Springbok.


84% (24 reviews)
Mountain View Guest House

Mountain View

High on a hill overlooking Springbok, Mountain View Guest House has 10 suites. Most have a private patio and their own entrance, and outside you'll find a peaceful garden with indigenous plants and also a small swimming pool.


87% (19 reviews)
Farmhouse Hotel

Farmhouse Hotel

The Farmhouse Hotel is located in the seaside town of Langebaan with sweeping views of the Langebaan Lagoon. An ideal place to explore the remoter west coast.


87% (17 reviews)
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve

Bushmans Kloof

Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve, a luxury 16-room lodge and spa, offering game drives, visits to the area's prolific rock art, botanical tours, nature trails and hiking.


97% (14 reviews)
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel

Strandloper Hotel

Set in the quaint fishing village of Paternoster, Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel has beautiful views over the dunes, to the seemingly endless sandy beach and sea.


95% (4 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa