This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Farmhouse Hotel
Farmhouse Hotel
Farmhouse Hotel

Reviews of Farmhouse Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

17 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Farmhouse Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 17
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"Ideal Base for Visiting West Coast Reserve"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2018
"Not quite like the web site as this elderly hotel is now surrounded by new housing developments that continue apace.

The hotel is comfortable, if a little tired, but the staff are an absolute delight. Our room was an upgrade from that booked but like most of the hotel a little tired - shabby chic plus? The food was acceptable if unexciting but the management of the catering arrangements needs serious attention.

To provide enough seating in one room for a large party and resident diners, we were all were moved from the comfortable and cosy dining room into the conservatory where breakfast is usually served. This is colder and more café like. However, it was clear that no kitchen planning had been done to cater for residents and the party, resulting in an hours wait for our food. After complaining I was offered a free dessert which I declined. Our food eventually arrived and we were given a 20% discount on our dinner.

Overall the kitchen was the weak link in this hotel. Uninspiring menu and a very slow kitchen. It just about ticks the box but only just." See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"A good stay but..."

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2017
"Overall, we enjoyed our two night stay at the Farmhouse. It is in an excellent location right next to the West Coast National Park; and we had a great room with views to the west and north across the bay. The restaurant too was very enjoyable - good food and good service. We shall almost certainly stay there again.

All this being said, we did encounter a number of problems which came down to below par service (outside the restaurant). For the most part these were individually trivial; but the failure even to address the serious problem with our shower after we had reported it to reception on the morning of the 14th was not. The other problems we encountered were, in our view, consistent in essence to the point where we were forced to question the ex-restaurant culture of service as a whole.

We have emailed a formal complaint to Village & Life (copied to Expert Africa) as the management in situ did not seem to be overly concerned by this failure beyond platitudes from a receptionist; at the time of writing this commentary, we await a reply.

We would add that the deficiencies we encountered at The Farmhouse were not consistent with our (one) previous experience of Village & Life properties." See all these reviews: 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Bristol

"Farmhouse Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2017
"Lovely old characterful building in a great location for the West Coast National park." See all these reviews: 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr T & Mrs M
Newmarke

"Farmhouse Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2017
"A complete contrast to our previous accommodation: this place was homely and unpretentious, with a lovely, pub feel and decent pub grub.

The West Coast National Park, situated around Langebaan Lagoon,was a delight for us: we saw many different varieties of waders on the lagoon and, from deserted beaches, we saw dolphins swimming just off the coast." See all these reviews: 21n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr G
Torquay

"Authentic Feel"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2016
"We enjoyed our stay in a hotel that felt as though it was part of Africa - decent standards and friendly staff, without any five star pretentions.

Breakfast was not too special, and shared with sparrow droppings.

Dinner was very good SA cooking.

Group policy is to place tip boxes in the room and on meal tables with instructions on how much to tip, including at breakfast - a bit irritating, almost saying that only by tipping will you get a smile out of the staff.

Fabulous views over the lagoon and Postburg peninsula from our room" See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Bristol

"Farmhouse Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2016
"A lovely hotel with pleasant,helpful staff,good food and splendid views over the ever changing lagoon.

We could have stayed longer" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
C+M
Zürich

"Farmhouse Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Mar 2015
"Room nr. 9 is super magnificent!!!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Hants

"Farmhouse Hotel - back again"

2 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2014
"We were among Expert Africa's first guests here and have been back several times. Unfortunately we have seem Langebaan development sadly engulf the hotel during this time. However it was still up to standard in spite of changing ownership.

No comment about activities as none are provided, although the nearby West Coast National Park is worth a one day visit." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Twickenham

"Farmhouse Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Feb 2013
"By the high standards we enjoy in SA this was not up to scratch. We felt that management were not great as evidenced by a very casual attidude on arrival & a very mediocre restaurant.

Apart from watersports there is not much to do apart from a visit to the Nature reserve which we enjoyed & is why we went to Langebaan." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr R
Chicago, USA

"Great Hotel with an Amazing View"

1 night Arrived 9 Dec 2012
"What a lovely setting for a hotel!!! We only stayed here for one night but we wish we would have had at least 2 or 3 nights.

The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. We had a room by the pool which was quiet and peaceful. We had dinner a the hotel and it was fantastic! We were able to watch the sunset while eating dinner and it was beautiful! Breakfast was very good and again, the views were great! Staff was very friendly and helpful!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 8n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 17
87%
17 reviews of Farmhouse Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
5
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namaqualand

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Annie's Cottage

Annie's Cottage

Annie's Cottage is a small, good-quality guest house in a good location near the centre of Springbok.


84% (24 reviews)
Ndedema Lodge

Ndedema Lodge

Ndedema Lodge is an elegant Victorian House in the heart of Clanwilliam. Here you'll find four individually decorated en-suite bedrooms with large Victorian baths, separate showers, air-conditioning and fresh flowers throughout.


88% (23 reviews)
Mountain View Guest House

Mountain View

High on a hill overlooking Springbok, Mountain View Guest House has 10 suites. Most have a private patio and their own entrance, and outside you'll find a peaceful garden with indigenous plants and also a small swimming pool.


87% (19 reviews)
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve

Bushmans Kloof

Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve, a luxury 16-room lodge and spa, offering game drives, visits to the area's prolific rock art, botanical tours, nature trails and hiking.


97% (14 reviews)
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel

Strandloper Hotel

Set in the quaint fishing village of Paternoster, Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel has beautiful views over the dunes, to the seemingly endless sandy beach and sea.


95% (4 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa