This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs A from Hants

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

5

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

31

Excursions taken

0

My Dec 2018 trip

Namibia between 14 Dec 2018 and 30 Dec 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Family (including six youngsters aged 13 to 19) thought this was a better trip than our previous family holiday to South Africa.

Each lodge was totally different and scenery very varied."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Dec 2018
"Good welcome and great pool for tired youngsters after our car hire experience."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Dec 2018
"Generous inclusion of wine with evening meal appreciated!!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Delight

The Delight

"The Delight review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Dec 2018
"Reception very helpful suggesting and booking restaurants and excursions.

Designer pillows on bed uncomfortable.

Youngsters would have appreciated pool."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Dec 2018
"Exceptionally welcoming staff.

Inclusion of wine appreciated."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Ongava Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2018
"but it was Christmas.

We found the infrastructure, maintenance and management on our trip into Etosha had deteriorated badly since our last visit, and were most grateful you had insisted on booking us into Ongava for Christmas."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Dec 2018
"The corrugated steel buildings reminded us of an industrial estate, but facilities inside were O.K.

Breakfast service was without system and appalling, but food was good. No air con.

The use of radio collars to locate game could be considered questionable."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Great holiday

South Africa between 17 Oct 2015 and 1 Nov 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall this was a great holiday for the whole family of twelve people from three generations."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

"Comfortable Cape Town Hotel"

3 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2015
"Comfortable hotel in a backwater near Kirstenbosch Gardens.

Children well catered for, with swimming pool much appreciated. Exceptional breakfast buffet. Unobtrusive but efficient service."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
De Hoop Opstal

De Hoop Opstal

"Out of the way place"

3 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2015
"Good self-catering accommodation although we chose to eat in the restaurant.

With three bedrooms per unit a second bathroom would have been useful. The children appreciated the freedom to move among (non-predatory) animals, the sand dunes and the beach.

An out of the way place which deserves to be better known, although that would spoil it!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Storms River Restcamp

Storms River Restcamp

"Dramatic location above breakers"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2015
"Chalets in a dramatic location above waves breaking above rocks. Adequate self-catering facilities although we chose to eat in the restaurant.

Unfortunately the restaurant lacked adequate management which permeated through the staff. Our booking for a group of twelve people was not honoured on two successive evenings. On the first occasion we eventually ate on plastic tables brought in from outside, and on the second on picnic benches. On our final morning there was only one other person ahead for breakfast, but the first person was not served for about 50 minutes and the last for about an hour. In the meantime other customers arrived, were served and left. The manager grudgingly apologised but lacked sincerity. After some argument our final breakfast bill was discounted by 50%, which represented less than eight percent of our total spend.

In fairness, the food was good when it came."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Terrible
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Kwandwe Ecca Lodge

Kwandwe Ecca Lodge

"Absolute luxury in the bush"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2015
"This was absolute luxury in the bush with everything inclusive. The children had a ranger to themselves and learnt a lot.

Pool much appreciated after a hot day.

Excellent food and service ~ nothing too much trouble for the staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Addo Main Camp

Addo Main Camp

"Elephant heaven"

3 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2015
"Chalets with adequate self-catering facilities, although one (of five) required further cleaning on our arrival. This was remedied by the reception staff on duty. Good density and variety of game spotted from self-drive vehicles. Where else can one see so many elephants so close to the car!

The restaurant was the same franchise as Storms River, and a reservation made through our Cape Town agents did not materialise. In contrast to Storms River, the management and staff quickly dealt with the situation."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good

South Africa yet again

South Africa between 27 Jan 2014 and 12 Feb 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We have been to sub-Sahara Africa fourteen times now, althogh not always to South Africa and not always with Expert Africa. This was another good trip with good sightseeing, game viewing, food and wine. An extra night would have been useful at some venues, but we had to cope with a fixed time slot.

Africa is an incurable disease - we will be back for more."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Addo Main Camp

Addo Main Camp

"Addo Main Camp - very good value for money"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jan 2014
"We accepted a 'forest cabin' as the only available accommodation as we booked late and we knew there might be limitations but it was very good value. Would have been a bit 'cosy' if all four beds were occupied and the weather had not permitted outdoor living. Lacked any view except surrounding bushes. We have previously occupied more spacious accommodation at Addo but it was more expensive!

Night drive proved disappointing but this was chance on the day."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Kariega Main Lodge

Kariega Main Lodge

"Kariega Game Reserve"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jan 2014
"Luxurious accommodation and good game drives with very enthusiastic ranger. The stay was let down by rather average food."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Storms River Restcamp

Storms River Restcamp

"Storms River Rest Camp - great location"

2 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2014
"Great location with good walking trails at nearby Nature's Valley section of park. We occupied an Oceanette self catering apartment as there was nothing else available when we booked at short notice. This would have been adequate for two people self catering although we chose to eat in the restaurant."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
De Hoop Opstal

De Hoop Opstal

"De Hoop Opstal a wonderful surprise"

2 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2014
"Your "wild card" came up trumps! This place ought to publicize itself better. Birding on the vlei (lagoon), game viewing, beaches, and we were encouraged to walk anywhere we liked! But it's a long way from anywhere down a gravel road and across a pontoon ferry if you approach directly from the East.

We occupied a self catering bungalow as nothing else was available, although we chose to eat in the restaurant. Service in the restaurant was variable depending upon who was on duty. Our bungalow could have been a little inconvenient if all six beds were occupied as the only loo was in the bathroom."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Farmhouse Hotel

Farmhouse Hotel

"Farmhouse Hotel - back again"

2 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2014
"We were among Expert Africa's first guests here and have been back several times. Unfortunately we have seem Langebaan development sadly engulf the hotel during this time. However it was still up to standard in spite of changing ownership.

No comment about activities as none are provided, although the nearby West Coast National Park is worth a one day visit."
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Le Petite Dauphine

"Le Petite Dauphine"

2 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2014
"Excellent accommodation and food.

No comment on activities as none were provided.

Owner(s) were very friendly and helpful."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat

"Camps Bay Retreat in time warp"

3 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2014
"The main building (Earls Dyke Manor) at Camps Bay Retreat is lost in a time warp with antiques/junk everywhere which gave it a certain character.

Although it advertises as a five star establishment with a menu changing daily, the same four basic main courses were repeated over three days with only the accompanying sauces tweaked. We were provided with a courtesy car to be able to eat at a local restaurant after complaining on the third evening.

Although good, we find it hard to justify the fifth star."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Serengeti Safari

Tanzania between 28 Jan 2012 and 7 Feb 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a lovely holiday with some of the best game viewing ever. Our guides Emmanuel and Jacob were both excellent and weseemed to enjoy each others company and had some good laughs!

We did not appreciate the Tse tse flies in Lamai but mosquitos did not appear to be a problem.
Everywhere was very dusty as there had been no recent rain.

We were fortunate to be able to do a walking safari along the Mara river, this was great and definitely one of our highlights
We would be very happy to recommend both our guides.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Very good,we have recommende you to several of our friends, some of whom have booked holidays through you. They have all returned with favourable reports"

Lamai Serengeti

Lamai Serengeti

"Wonderful Lamai Serengeti"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2012
"Extremely well run by pleasant Dutch couple. Food very healthy and interesting; we loved the breakfasts in the bush."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

"Great guide at Serengeti Safari Camp"

3 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2012
"Lovely situation,very friendly staff but lacked management. Dietary requests and drink orders often forgotten. Tents a little tired,e.g hole in toilet roof and zips difficult. Water for bucket shower unpredictable in time of arrival!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Plantation Lodge

Plantation Lodge

"Plantation Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2012
"Felt more like an hotel than a safari lodge. Plantation was well run, the staff were friendly and helpful.

We were a little disappointed that we were unable to walk outside the grounds.We toured the grounds and had the chief gardener with us on one occasion to help identify plants and birds. Jacob, our Nomad guide would have had more expertize but we had the impression that the lodge did not wish him to accompany us in the grounds."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Average

Great holiday

Namibia and 1 other country between 2 Oct 2009 and 23 Oct 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Officialdom
With one exception, officialdom was always courteous and polite, if often annoyingly slow.

At the vet fence north of Sehitwa in Botswana, we pulled slowly up to the white stop line on the road in front of the barrier as there were no vehicles in front. A policeman appeared and without explanation demanded a "fine" of 200 pula. He said we should have stopped at a stop sign which was propped up on bricks just a few feet earlier. After a polite stand-off, we left without paying. On discussing this incident at our next lodge, we were told that whilst on the spot fines are legal in Botswana, the amount demanded had been irregular. The consensus of opinion was that this had been a try on.

Suggestions for improvements:

We have been very satisfied, hence our repeat business. Off the cuff, we haven't any suggestions.

Overall
There were occasions when a 4WD vehicle could have been useful (but we don't know the cost).
This was our annual treatment for the 'Africa virus' and it worked very well (actually our eleventh trip to sub-Sahara Africa). Where next?"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

"Great overnight stop"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2009
"Well run family establishment with two ,labrador dogs. We had a comfortable semi-detached chalet with bath. One of our best dinners with a whole kudu fillet and similar oryx cooked medium rare on braai before slicing.

Activities limited to viewing various antelope and zebra from 4WD or walking on well mapped and waymarked paths (which suited us). An excellent overnight stop on the B6 road. Not enough activities for two nights but perhaps worth arriving early or staying late the next morning."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Edo's Camp

Edo's Camp

"Tracking rhino on foot!"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2009
"The best of the tented camps we visited ~ clean, tidy and just about everything thought of. Overlooked waterhole with plenty of game including eleven rhino. The food was good.

Activities included tracking rhino on foot and visiting a real (not Disneyfied) San village. Managed by a young couple, but she is expecting in April and we wonder what might happen then."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Okavango River experience"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2009
"The chalets were open-fronted and open under the eaves. This was unfortunate because:

(1) there was no safeguard against the predations of the local vervet monkeys, and

(2) the chalets were not proof in any way against insects from stagnant water which was everywhere around (the river was at its highest level for over forty years). We both got badly bitten by insects other than mosquitoes.

This was run essentially as a fishing camp, although there was plenty of birdlife, etc as an alternatve occupaton. Good guide."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

"Best lodge in Caprivi Strip"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2009
"An exceptionally well run luxury camp without going as far as becoming a spa resort. We were given the 'honeymoon suite' (was it booked by Expert Africa?), but which had twin beds!! The manageress was really switched on, but found time to be sociable with guests. She was obviously a fan of Chris and hinted she would like a copy of his Guide to Namibia.

Resident croc in river under decking. Elephant and hippo in camp at night. Good activities ~ the only place other than Etosha where we saw lions."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Disappointment at Ndhovu"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2009
"This place is in need of care and maintenance, starting with the broken front gate secured by a piece of old chain. We did not consider that the electric wiring in our accommodation would be regarded as safe by european standards. The camp somehow lacked a welcoming atmosphere.

The camp and activities were being run in the absence of the owner (only temporarily we were told) by a young man who was clearly both stretched and stressed, and who did not communicate well.

The amount of food prepared for meals was finely judged. There was no choice of cereal for breakfast, and orange coloured jelly and red jam came in plastic catering sachets. Extras were expensive, which made this by far our most costly stay. This proved annoying when contrasted with the standard of the camp.

We question whether this establishment was really up to Expert Africa standard. We would not be inclined to return."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Poor
Food
Poor
Facilities
Poor
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Angola overlooked"

1 night Arrived 12 Oct 2009
"Well appointed chalets in well tended (but incongruously watered green) gardens. Kettle and fridge supplied but bring your own supplies. Dinner was simple and well cooked and well presented, but not the individually prepared cordon bleu standard advertised. On the other hand, breakfast was the best we had.

Activities were limited to river cruises which gave an interesting insight into Angola. A second day would have been difficult to occupy. Useful overnight stop between Caprivi and Etosha."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali holiday camp"

3 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2009
"All roads south of the main road and east of Halali to Springbokfontein (a block of about 30km by 25km) were closed for reconstruction until at least mid-December. Extensive bush fires east of Halali had apparently driven game to the west of the Park towards Okaukuejo.

This was our second visit to Halali. In spite of the extensive refurbishment, there was still something of a holiday camp atmosphere about the rest camp, although the food was good. There is now less storage space in the chalets folllowing refurbishment and cooking facilites have been removed except for the braai outside. However, a kettle and fridge were still provided. The far bed in both bedrooms was against a skew wall and the prospective occupant needed to be agile.

Good floodlit waterhole for night-time game viewing.

Notwithstanding, we found standards acceptable for the location and we have seen fit to return. In the short term at least, Okaukuejo would make a better located base in Etosha."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"Eden beyond Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2009
"We had a large room in a terrace but with somewhat cramped shower/toilet facilities ~ the doors had been removed to give a little more space. The food was rather ordinary but well prepared. This was the only place where we were either not provided with a kettle or tea and coffee were not available during the day.

The grounds were planted with local indigenous plants ~ pity they were not named. Steve was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about local natural history. Night drives were available when we saw smaller and more unusual wildlife, e.g. aardvark, owls, etc."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

"Excellent lodge short on game"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2009
"This was a very pleasant and hospitable lodge set in magnificent mountain and valley scenery. Unfortunately it was at the end of a long drive in along a dirt road which was at the limit of a small 2WD following heavy rain. The food was excellent with a choice of two main dishes and good but different wines provided with each meal.

The area was short of game apart from over six hundred oryx, although we were provided with the spectacle of a rock python attacking the lodge dog. There were at least four species of rare succulent plants growing in the grounds."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Amani Lodge, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Disaster at Amani"

1 night Arrived 20 Oct 2009
"Individual chalets commanded superb mountain views, but practicality was sacrificed to design inside. There was nothing to do within the rather small lodge enclosure apart from the swimming pool and afternoon game drive. The pseudo-french restaurant had piped music morning and evening. The food was utterly indifferent and anything but french ~ chicken pieces in curry sauce with a grilled scrawny quarter chicken grudgingly provided as an alternative on request. The fruit salad was tinned!

The game drive was available to non-residents, and there was apparently no guarantee that residents would be accommodated without prior booking. We were spared the decision whether to spend N$420 per person by arriving late. English zoos are cheaper!

The lounge and restaurant windows looked into the floodlit cheetah enclosure. The one animal we saw showed symptoms of stress by repeatedly walking to and fro along the fence. Lions in the park were fed to ensure sighting by the punters on the game drive.

The early morning call from the resident peacock was at least real if annoying. However lion noises were just too twee. This was commercial theatre not Africa, and definitely not us. We do not have any intention of returning."
Terrible
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Terrible
Rooms
Average
Food
Terrible
Facilities
Poor

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team