This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lianshulu Lodge
Lianshulu Lodge
Lianshulu Lodge
Lianshulu Lodge
Lianshulu Lodge
Lianshulu Lodge

Reviews of Lianshulu Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

59 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lianshulu Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lianshulu Lodge.
Lion

50% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

33% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

75% success

Roan antelope

67% success

Sitatunga

67% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Buffalo

33% success

Sable antelope

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 59
Duration
Arrival date
Mr J
Coventry

"really enjoyed our 4 night stay."

4 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2020
"Again, same as most places the staff and management were first class.

They even came to terms with my craving for English Breakfast Tea. Saw Sitatunga on 3 occasions but still failed to get a photo.

We did have to arrange for a different guide for the last day as Kennedy was getting a bit repetative but was a nice guy all the same.

Sorry to have to leave to make our way back home." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sitatunga

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Aberdeen

"Lianshula great lodge with great activivities"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2018
"We were given a warm welcome to Lianshulu Lodge on a hot day. We liked the layout of the lodge on the river and the reception bar and restaurant area.

Our room was in a great location on the river with birds and monkeys. outside. the room had all we needed except a fan . It was hot in room but we new that we could open the windows and door to our patio and move the insect screens across. Other guests did not and hence the need for guests to be shown around their rooms which we were not here. Also when you cannot drink the tap water we expected some free bottle water to be available in room. This was the only lodge on our holiday in Namibia that did not supply this. Also there was a storm on first night with thunder and lightening and high winds, so when we returned to our room after dinner we saw the insect mesh was damaged and the mesh door of its runner at floor level. We asked for this to be repaired twice but even though we were assured it would be, nothing was done

The food was excellent and the service efficient and friendly. The communal areas were very comfortable with great views of the river. The pool was refreshing with plenty of sun loungers and shade. Breakfast was only served from 7.30 but they supplied an excellent breakfast pack for our early departure.

We took a boat trip on the first evening with excellent game and bird viewing the highlight was a large group of elephant making a river crossing right in front of the boat. Kennedy was our excellent guide on the boat and on a great game drive the next morning when we had more great game viewing including very photogenic lions who kept posing for us in different locations. The game drive in the afternoon with a different guide was not as good." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

9 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Sitatunga

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Crooks
Bristol

"Lianshulu Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2018
"The property was well sited overlooking the river and there were good opportunities to experience the wildlife. Signage to get to the lodge could be improved and the maps provided for self drive routes surrounding it were less than clear.

It is a shame that no drinkable water was provided free of charge but had to be purchased.

The check out was not well managed and there were discrepancies in the billing of couples in our group (of 3 couples) with some items finding themselves on the wrong bill." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Mr J & Ms J
Devon

"Disappointing"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2018
"I had been looking forward to this lodge, after reading the good reviews, but the overall experience disappointed us. We had to drive through a bush fire to get to the lodge, which was worrying. On arrival we expressed our concern about the fire but were told it was under control and would not get to the lodge, but were not told any possible evacuation procedures. We were shown to our room and told about the activities, but not told the price until we had done one and asked. They were much more expensive than anywhere else we had stayed. The boat trip and game drives were excellently guided by Hanis, who we had met at one of the other lodges 4 years ago. The water in the cabins was not drinkable but none was supplied, you had to ask and pay for bottles, which were re-filled from their water filtration machine. There were no tissues in the room and the bed sheets of poor quality and not big enough for the single beds, so the bedding kept falling off during the night. We ran the hot water tap for ages but couldn't get any hot water, this was not good in a country with a water shortage. It was quite cold at night but no hot water bottles were supplied. You had to pay for wifi. The food was very good, but as we were the only guests we felt like we were being watched while we ate, which made me feel very uncomfortable. On our day of departure we asked for an early breakfast but were told it was at 7.30, yet we were the only ones there. For an expensive lodge, the service does not live up to the cost." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs CH
Wimbledon

"Small lodge with warm welcome"

3 nights Arrived 5 May 2018
"We stayed here in March 2017 and the same good service and warm welcome applied. Due to recent rains Lianshulu has been able to resume boat trips and this was excellent travelling along the river between Botswana and Namibia with lots of birds, hippo and elephant. The very high elephant grass on this visit (April) made it hard to spot smaller wildlife although we did see lion.

Animals walk though the camp and you are escorted at night. Lianshulu takes guests safety very seriously." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs C
Shrewsbury

"Stunning setting"

2 nights Arrived 25 Dec 2017
"This was my favourite place of all.

A beautiful large open reception/seating area with gorgeous views of the river & sunsets, fantastic thatched rooms with lovely balconies frequented by birds & monkeys.

Our host Michael was exceptional, very knowledgable, clearly passionate about his role & always had time to talk & find bird names that we didn't know.

The staff were so cheerful & friendly & gave excellent service. We had lovely afternoon tea & really good meals. So glad we stayed here for 2 nights.

Only downer was the river trip where our driver kept falling asleep when we parked up to watch wildlife, his boat handling skills were poor. I spotted more birds than him." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Piotr & Glen
London

"Fabulous setting and a great host"

2 nights Arrived 30 Nov 2017
"The first night we were the only guests at the Lodge which meant that we felt as if we were staying in a totally private venue! Excellent. We really enjoyed relaxing on the observation deck with book and cold beers, watching the elephants across the river and hippos, of which there were many!

We had a great river cruise with Alfred, saw lots of hippos, and our sun-downer was made super special by a sudden arrival of a herd of elephants on the river bank where we were having our wine! We were served a delicious dinner, at a lovely set table on the massive veranda deck, and slept incredibly well!

The next day had an awesome drive with Dusty - quiet to begin with but again, the sun-downer stop by the Hippo Pool was made super special by another - this time even bigger - herd of elephants (we counted at least 30, with lots of little ones) which came over to drink from the river. And the massive croc which was trying to get to one of the little elephants but was effectively nearly stampeded by protective mum and aunts was a sight to see! Superb. Food on the second night was great again and also we would like to mention how nice, friendly, laid back and helpful Annette, the manager, was to us, as was Michael from the nearby Lianshulu Bush Camp.

All of the other staff were also very friendly! The swimming pool is also a great option for a bit of chilling out and cooling down." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Salisbury

"Excellent location; good game drives"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2017
"Very nice location inside Mudumu Park, by the river.

Extremely well appointed guest rooms in the gardens.

Enjoyed two game drives in the park.

If there is to be any minor criticism, the kitchen seemed to be trying a little too hard to over-complicate the food, but that is largely a matter of personal taste" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K
Hexham

"great"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2017
"wonderful lodge and location.

Some activities listed are no longer run
eg night time safaris, guided walks, which was disappointing" See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Bath

"Real Africa"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2017
"An excellent lodge in a brilliant location.

We went on two sunset cruises and one game drive, all excellent.

We were right in the middle of a migration of 300 elephants as they crossed the river.

The managers and staff were all kind and thoughtful" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 59
91%
59 reviews of Lianshulu Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
41
10
7
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Caprivi Strip

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu is a simple riverside lodge, with tents that are reminiscent of safaris a decade or two ago.


88% (126 reviews)
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge is a substantial lodge with a superb location on the Kavango River.


86% (85 reviews)
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

Standards have slipped at Nkwazi Lodge in recent years which somewhat detract from its scenic location on the banks of the Kavango River.


79% (32 reviews)
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

NNunda River Lodge overlooks a pretty part of the Kavango River near Popa Falls and the productive Mahango National Park.


82% (26 reviews)
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

Near to Mudumu National Park, Camp Kwando is a comfortable and unfussy option with opportunities for game drives, boat safaris and fishing.


74% (25 reviews)
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala

Peaceful Nkasa Lupala is a comfortable lodge in a remote and little-explored area close to Nkasa Rupara National Park.


91% (24 reviews)
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe Lodge

Safari holiday in Namibia's Caprivi Strip, staying at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge on Impalila Island.


97% (23 reviews)
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

A beautiful safari lodge In the remote Bwabwata National Park, Nambwa Tented Lodge brings serious comfort to a relaxing safari.


92% (13 reviews)
River Dance Lodge

River Dance

Build on stilts on the banks of the Kavango River, River Dance Lodge has great views, a relaxed ambience and excellent birdlife.


96% (9 reviews)
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Lodge

Situated on the banks of the Kavango, Taranga Safari Lodge works as a convenient stopover before going onto explore the Caprivi.


75% (8 reviews)
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Lodge & Spa

The substantial Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa offers plenty of pampering opportunities in an unspoilt riverside setting


91% (7 reviews)
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge is situated on the great Zambezi River; come for relaxation, great birding and boat trips along the Chobe Riverfront.


100% (5 reviews)
Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge, near Kasane in the Caprivi Strip is a very luxurious, high end option for those seeking peace and privacy on the Zambezi River.


85% (4 reviews)
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

One of the larger lodges in the Bwabwata National Park, Namushasha is an economic option with an attractive river-side location.


80% (3 reviews)
Serondela Lodge

Serondela

Accessible only by river, Serondela combines the remoteness of Namibia’s Caprivi Strip with access to Botswana’s flagship Chobe National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Shametu River Lodge

Shametu Lodge

Shametu River Lodge has the best views of the Popa Rapids of any private lodge in the Divundu area.


70% (2 reviews)
Jackalberry Tented Camp

Jackalberry Camp

Jackalberry Camp is uniquely situated in the Nkasa Rupara National Park affording unrivalled access to this little-visited corner of Namibia.


100% (1 review)
Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge stands opposite Chobe National Park, Botswana. Click here to learn more about the area and your options for a safari there.


100% (1 review)
Kazile Island Lodge

Kazile Island Lodge

On an island in the Kwando River within Bwabwata National Park, the remote Kazile lsland Lodge offers games drives, bush walks and boat cruises.


60% (1 review)
Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp is a small, tented satellite camp near the Kwando River offering boat trips, birding and game drives.


No reviews yet
Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas is a beautiful and thoughtfully designed lodge, in a great location on the Namibian banks of the Chobe River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa