This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nambwa Tented Lodge
Nambwa Tented Lodge
Nambwa Tented Lodge
Nambwa Tented Lodge
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Reviews of Nambwa Tented Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

21 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nambwa Tented Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nambwa Tented Lodge.
Lion

30% success

Leopard

11% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

22% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

82% success

Sable antelope

75% success

Buffalo

73% success

Zebra

69% success

Sitatunga

60% success

Eland

50% success

Roan antelope

44% success

Spotted Hyena

10% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 21
Duration
Arrival date
Mr. & Mrs. E
UK

"Nambwa Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2023
"As good as it gets! A superb lodge in an amazing location.

From beginning to end the service provided by all the staff was of the highest quality.

The rooms were luxurious and amazingly located above trees below which antelope, water hogs and baboons roamed. The game drives were excellently guided and we saw lions and herds of elephants as well as numerous birds, antelope and other wildlife.

The food was excellent." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Bedford

"Nambwa Tented Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2023
"Nambwa Tented lodge was in a lovely location with views across the plains and the river. The main deck and tents were positioned on tall walkways which allow elephants to walk through as the camp's location is positioned on an ancient migration route, down from Angola. It gave the whole lodge site an interesting and quirky feel. Sadly, we never saw any elephants pass through - we were advised the migration is usually when the first rains come.

There were 10 tents and most of the time the lodge was full which made it feel busy. Our tent was very comfortable and spacious. There was no aircon and during the day and most nights it was sweltering and a little uncomfortable. Our tent was positioned under a large sausage tree which seemed to keep the baboons amused most of the day and night with the occasional sausage pod (approx. 30lbs) dropping loudly on our tent and deck.

Meals were served on a beautiful large main deck built under a number of majestic Knobthorn, Jackleberry and Sausage trees. A very comfortable area to relax with a drink from the bar admiring the expansive views and listening to the baboons squabbling in the trees. Food was very good albeit a bit repetitive at lunchtimes. Just thought the staff, although very pleasant could have benefited from better training to increase their ability to interact with the guests and also their knowledge of what dishes/courses were on offer.

Beavan was our guide who's company we enjoyed on vehicle and boat drives. Game drives were fairly quiet and uneventful. Boat safaris on the Kwando river channels were very enjoyable and relaxing. Birdlife was plentiful, such as sightings of kingfishers, bee-eaters, hundreds of colourful carmine bee-eaters on the banks of the river. Hippos, crocs and monitor lizards were also spotted." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Sitatunga

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Alex
Algarve

"Nambwa Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 May 2023
"This is a very beautiful lodge - the rooms are beautifully designed and situated. The little touches are wonderful - some port in your room - hot water bottles at night - a fabulous shower - wonderful toiletries.

The lodge is nearly an hours drive off the main road - we are really pleased we arranged to be met at the road - the track is very sandy and requires skilled driving to negotiate.

The staff are welcoming and courteous - our guide, Eustace, was great and very knowledgeable. Early morning hot water delivered to your room before a game drive was most welcome too.

All meals were good and served at a most attractive outside area. We did not use the swimming pool so cannot comment." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs S
UK

"Nambwa Tented Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2022
"The staff and Manager Joanne were excellent and very helpful. The accommodation superb and comfortable.

Our Guide Cameron was enthusiastic and knowledgeable making the whole experience even better. Sadly, we didn't see any Lion or Leopard but they were definitely around. We did see an Aardwolf however which was amazing. The Fishing was fun even though my husband and daughter failed to catch a tiger fish and the Carmine bee-eaters spectacular. The Sijwa tour was very interesting and worth the trip although we spent too much but all in a good cause!

Anyone interested in birds this lodge is a must. The game drives we full of wildlife we especially enjoyed the elephants playing in the lake as the sun went down. We would certainly recommend this lodge to anyone probably one of the highlights of our trip." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

10 sightings

Sable antelope

10 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Inyanga
Comberton

"Nambwa Tented Lodge > five+ star all the way"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2022
"Super camp from beginning to end of our stay there. Well done to all the staff

The collection from park gate was seamless and punctual. After leaving the car in the park’s HQ we were taken by Cameron (our guide) back to camp.

However, the journey took much longer because our guide discovered that we were interested in birds. 😊

Consequently, we stopped numerous times as many birds were new to us. He saw a racquet-tailed roller (an early visitor) - a first for him in 2022 - and a 'lifer' for us. 😊

Cameron went beyond his role simply as a guide to satisfy our wishes. (This would not have been possible if other guests were present).

We suspect that he enjoyed looking for anything other than the usual requests for four-legged animals.

The welcome at camp, when we eventually arrived, was excellent, as was the accommodation.

An evening drive proved fruitful for us, in fact all the river cruises and drives delivered stunning sightings and for us, birds that we hadn’t ever seen 😊

We had an early morning drive, investigating areas seen on the evening drive. Cameron asked whether we would like to track an hyena.. !!!!

YES !!!

So for 90 minutes we / Cameron followed this Hyena’s tracks across the plains. Then they disappeared. ☹

Ever the optimist I suggested that it had left the deep sand trail up onto the bank. and a few hundreds of metres later it re-joined the track 😊

Just a couple of minutes later a (female) hyena bounded across the track. Cameron was over the moon having tracked it for 90 minutes 😊

Success for guests and guide 😊

The meals were simply outstanding. The service throughout was first class and very friendly.

Thank you to every one at Nambwa, especially Cameron for listening to our wishes and accommodating them.

This is a camp that we strongly recommend to Caprivi visitors. It was simply superb for staff, guides, accommodation, meals and activities. Undoubtedly great !" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

5 sightings

Alex
Seattle

"Nambwa Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2022
"Gem of a camp in a quiet park.

Amazing staff and rooms/facilities, as well as a lot of wildlife and almost no crowds. 4 of the big 5 (no rhinos, but the rest of Namibia has a lot of those), as well as dogs and lots of birds.

One of the best stays on my trip across Namibia." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

10 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Dr M & Mr D
Yorkshire

"Such a beautiful place"

3 nights Arrived 11 May 2022
"Oh wow! Nambwa Tented Lodge is stunning in all aspects. From collection at the Reception of the park, to the service, the food, the guiding (I’ll come back to this), the rooms, the shared public areas, just everything. We had elephants through the camp when we stayed - which was exciting - and there was much to watch from the comfort of the outdoor areas and to hear from the comfort of our beautiful room. The wifi worked very well. The only change I would make to this place is to make the sign on the B8 a little easier to spot, otherwise the whole experience was just perfect.

We were so very fortunate in having Cameron as our guide and even more fortunate when Edmund accompanied him. Their knowledge and enthusiasm for all aspects of the flora and fauna, their willingness to share their knowledge, to search for the things we wanted to see with such patience and determination, their courtesy, their obvious desire to give us the very best - and safe - experience we could have, all combined to make our drives in this area better than we could have ever hoped for. So very, very enjoyable.

Our time at Nambwa is one we will remember with great fondness for a very long time; this was the hardest of places to leave." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

10 sightings

Sitatunga

1 sighting

safari lovers
UK

"Nambwa Tented Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2022
"Loved every aspect of this camp. Couldn't fault it in any way. Management and staff all excellent.

Our guide for 4 days was Alphius- a lovey knowledgable guide.

Fabulous spacious tented room. Loved the high walkways - elephants came through the camp one evening and we were able to observe them silently from above, we were so close to them.

Delicious food - all meals.

We visited The Sijwa Project which I would highly recommend.

Would love to return again one day." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Mr J
Coventry

"Really enjoyable 3 night stay."

3 nights Arrived 28 Jan 2020
"Management and staff really friendly and most helpful.

Definately the best guide in Alphieus (/) of the whole trip and as with all of the guides absolutely brilliant eyesight, not only in front of them but at the sides as well.

I suspect that if an animal crept up from behind they would see that too." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sitatunga

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Dr. L & wife
Denmark

"Another highlight!"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2019
"After Etendeka Overnight Walking Trail, this was perhaps the second best experience. Fantastic location build on stilts in the national park. Extraordinary big safari tent with bathtub and living room (+ Cognac i a carafe in the room). Fantastic river cruise and perhaps the best game drive on the whole trip (one month) in the afternoon. We saw big herds of elephants and buffaloes. The park is very sandy, don´t take own car unless very experienced with 4WD (and low tyre pressure)." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Sable antelope

5 sightings

Sitatunga

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 21
94%
21 reviews of Nambwa Tented Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
16
4
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Caprivi Strip

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu is a simple riverside lodge, with tents that are reminiscent of safaris a decade or two ago.


88% (126 reviews)
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge is a substantial lodge with a superb location on the Kavango River.


86% (93 reviews)
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

The Chobe Princess houseboats offer a memorable way to explore the Chobe and Zambezi Rivers in Namibia's Caprivi. Perfect for a couple or for a group of family or friends.


96% (64 reviews)
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

Beside the Kwando River, within Mudumu National Park, Lianshulu is a small safari lodge offering 4WD safaris and river trips – with particularly good birdlife.


91% (60 reviews)
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala

Peaceful Nkasa Lupala is a comfortable lodge in a remote and little-explored area close to Nkasa Rupara National Park.


93% (33 reviews)
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

NNunda River Lodge overlooks a pretty part of the Kavango River near Popa Falls and the productive Mahango National Park.


83% (29 reviews)
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

Near to Mudumu National Park, Camp Kwando is a comfortable and unfussy option with opportunities for game drives, boat safaris and fishing.


74% (24 reviews)
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe Lodge

Safari holiday in Namibia's Caprivi Strip, staying at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge on Impalila Island.


97% (24 reviews)
River Dance Lodge

River Dance

Build on stilts on the banks of the Kavango River, River Dance Lodge has great views, a relaxed ambience and excellent birdlife.


93% (16 reviews)
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Lodge

Situated on the banks of the Kavango, Taranga Safari Lodge works as a convenient stopover before going onto explore the Caprivi.


75% (11 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


95% (11 reviews)
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Lodge & Spa

The substantial Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa offers plenty of pampering opportunities in an unspoilt riverside setting


91% (7 reviews)
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge is situated on the great Zambezi River; come for relaxation, great birding and boat trips along the Chobe Riverfront.


100% (5 reviews)
Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge, near Kasane in the Caprivi Strip is a very luxurious, high end option for those seeking peace and privacy on the Zambezi River.


85% (4 reviews)
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

One of the larger lodges in the Bwabwata National Park, Namushasha is an economic option with an attractive river-side location.


80% (3 reviews)
Shametu River Lodge

Shametu Lodge

Shametu River Lodge has the best views of the Popa Rapids of any private lodge in the Divundu area.


60% (3 reviews)
Jackalberry Tented Camp

Jackalberry Camp

Jackalberry Camp is uniquely situated in the Nkasa Rupara National Park affording unrivalled access to this little-visited corner of Namibia.


93% (3 reviews)
Serondela Lodge

Serondela

Accessible only by river, Serondela combines the remoteness of Namibia’s Caprivi Strip with access to Botswana’s flagship Chobe National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Kazile Island Lodge

Kazile Island Lodge

On an island in the Kwando River within Bwabwata National Park, the remote Kazile lsland Lodge offers games drives, bush walks and boat cruises.


70% (2 reviews)
Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge stands opposite Chobe National Park, Botswana. Click here to learn more about the area and your options for a safari there.


100% (1 review)
Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas is a beautiful and thoughtfully designed lodge, in a great location on the Namibian banks of the Chobe River.


No reviews yet
Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp is a small, tented satellite camp near the Kwando River offering boat trips, birding and game drives.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa