This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nambwa Tented Lodge
Nambwa Tented Lodge
Nambwa Tented Lodge
Nambwa Tented Lodge
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Reviews of Nambwa Tented Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

18 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nambwa Tented Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nambwa Tented Lodge.
Lion

22% success

Leopard

11% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

22% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

80% success

Sable antelope

73% success

Buffalo

70% success

Zebra

64% success

Sitatunga

56% success

Eland

44% success

Roan antelope

44% success

Spotted Hyena

10% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 18
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
UK

"Nambwa Tented Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2022
"The staff and Manager Joanne were excellent and very helpful. The accommodation superb and comfortable.

Our Guide Cameron was enthusiastic and knowledgeable making the whole experience even better. Sadly, we didn't see any Lion or Leopard but they were definitely around. We did see an Aardwolf however which was amazing. The Fishing was fun even though my husband and daughter failed to catch a tiger fish and the Carmine bee-eaters spectacular. The Sijwa tour was very interesting and worth the trip although we spent too much but all in a good cause!

Anyone interested in birds this lodge is a must. The game drives we full of wildlife we especially enjoyed the elephants playing in the lake as the sun went down. We would certainly recommend this lodge to anyone probably one of the highlights of our trip." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

10 sightings

Sable antelope

10 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Inyanga
Comberton

"Nambwa Tented Lodge > five+ star all the way"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2022
"Super camp from beginning to end of our stay there. Well done to all the staff

The collection from park gate was seamless and punctual. After leaving the car in the park’s HQ we were taken by Cameron (our guide) back to camp.

However, the journey took much longer because our guide discovered that we were interested in birds. 😊

Consequently, we stopped numerous times as many birds were new to us. He saw a racquet-tailed roller (an early visitor) - a first for him in 2022 - and a 'lifer' for us. 😊

Cameron went beyond his role simply as a guide to satisfy our wishes. (This would not have been possible if other guests were present).

We suspect that he enjoyed looking for anything other than the usual requests for four-legged animals.

The welcome at camp, when we eventually arrived, was excellent, as was the accommodation.

An evening drive proved fruitful for us, in fact all the river cruises and drives delivered stunning sightings and for us, birds that we hadn’t ever seen 😊

We had an early morning drive, investigating areas seen on the evening drive. Cameron asked whether we would like to track an hyena.. !!!!

YES !!!

So for 90 minutes we / Cameron followed this Hyena’s tracks across the plains. Then they disappeared. ☹

Ever the optimist I suggested that it had left the deep sand trail up onto the bank. and a few hundreds of metres later it re-joined the track 😊

Just a couple of minutes later a (female) hyena bounded across the track. Cameron was over the moon having tracked it for 90 minutes 😊

Success for guests and guide 😊

The meals were simply outstanding. The service throughout was first class and very friendly.

Thank you to every one at Nambwa, especially Cameron for listening to our wishes and accommodating them.

This is a camp that we strongly recommend to Caprivi visitors. It was simply superb for staff, guides, accommodation, meals and activities. Undoubtedly great !" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

5 sightings

Alex
Seattle

"Nambwa Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2022
"Gem of a camp in a quiet park.

Amazing staff and rooms/facilities, as well as a lot of wildlife and almost no crowds. 4 of the big 5 (no rhinos, but the rest of Namibia has a lot of those), as well as dogs and lots of birds.

One of the best stays on my trip across Namibia." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

10 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Dr M & Mr D
Yorkshire

"Such a beautiful place"

3 nights Arrived 11 May 2022
"Oh wow! Nambwa Tented Lodge is stunning in all aspects. From collection at the Reception of the park, to the service, the food, the guiding (I’ll come back to this), the rooms, the shared public areas, just everything. We had elephants through the camp when we stayed - which was exciting - and there was much to watch from the comfort of the outdoor areas and to hear from the comfort of our beautiful room. The wifi worked very well. The only change I would make to this place is to make the sign on the B8 a little easier to spot, otherwise the whole experience was just perfect.

We were so very fortunate in having Cameron as our guide and even more fortunate when Edmund accompanied him. Their knowledge and enthusiasm for all aspects of the flora and fauna, their willingness to share their knowledge, to search for the things we wanted to see with such patience and determination, their courtesy, their obvious desire to give us the very best - and safe - experience we could have, all combined to make our drives in this area better than we could have ever hoped for. So very, very enjoyable.

Our time at Nambwa is one we will remember with great fondness for a very long time; this was the hardest of places to leave." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

10 sightings

Sitatunga

1 sighting

safari lovers
UK

"Nambwa Tented Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2022
"Loved every aspect of this camp. Couldn't fault it in any way. Management and staff all excellent.

Our guide for 4 days was Alphius- a lovey knowledgable guide.

Fabulous spacious tented room. Loved the high walkways - elephants came through the camp one evening and we were able to observe them silently from above, we were so close to them.

Delicious food - all meals.

We visited The Sijwa Project which I would highly recommend.

Would love to return again one day." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Mr J
Coventry

"Really enjoyable 3 night stay."

3 nights Arrived 28 Jan 2020
"Management and staff really friendly and most helpful.

Definately the best guide in Alphieus (/) of the whole trip and as with all of the guides absolutely brilliant eyesight, not only in front of them but at the sides as well.

I suspect that if an animal crept up from behind they would see that too." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sitatunga

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Dr L
Denmark

"Another highlight!"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2019
"After Etendeka Overnight Walking Trail, this was perhaps the second best experience. Fantastic location build on stilts in the national park. Extraordinary big safari tent with bathtub and living room (+ Cognac i a carafe in the room). Fantastic river cruise and perhaps the best game drive on the whole trip (one month) in the afternoon. We saw big herds of elephants and buffaloes. The park is very sandy, don´t take own car unless very experienced with 4WD (and low tyre pressure)." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Sable antelope

5 sightings

Sitatunga

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Edinburgh

"Amazing treetop location."

3 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2019
"Amazing location, lovely lodge and chalets located in the trees, fantastic staff, excellent guide and game drives.

Lots of animals near the lodge and in the reserve itself. Highly recommended - would definitely return to Nambwa." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

5 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Sitatunga

1 sighting

Mrs Y.
Lisserbroek

"Luxury at Nwambw Tented Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2018
"Excellent tents, very luxurious. Great food and staff.

special thanks to Eustace, great ranger/ guide thought us much about his culture besides the wildlife." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Prof. R
Goring

"Nambwa Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2018
"By far the most luxurious of all the 'tents' we stayed in, which was much appreciated coming to the end of the holiday.

The drives (by boat, on foot and in the car) were all excellent with much wildlife on display." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Roan antelope

4 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Sitatunga

2 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 18
94%
18 reviews of Nambwa Tented Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
14
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Caprivi Strip

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu is a simple riverside lodge, with tents that are reminiscent of safaris a decade or two ago.


88% (126 reviews)
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge is a substantial lodge with a superb location on the Kavango River.


86% (88 reviews)
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

Beside the Kwando River, within Mudumu National Park, Lianshulu is a small safari lodge offering 4WD safaris and river trips – with particularly good birdlife.


91% (60 reviews)
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

Standards have slipped at Nkwazi Lodge in recent years which somewhat detract from its scenic location on the banks of the Kavango River.


79% (31 reviews)
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala

Peaceful Nkasa Lupala is a comfortable lodge in a remote and little-explored area close to Nkasa Rupara National Park.


92% (30 reviews)
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

NNunda River Lodge overlooks a pretty part of the Kavango River near Popa Falls and the productive Mahango National Park.


84% (27 reviews)
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

Near to Mudumu National Park, Camp Kwando is a comfortable and unfussy option with opportunities for game drives, boat safaris and fishing.


74% (24 reviews)
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe Lodge

Safari holiday in Namibia's Caprivi Strip, staying at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge on Impalila Island.


97% (23 reviews)
River Dance Lodge

River Dance

Build on stilts on the banks of the Kavango River, River Dance Lodge has great views, a relaxed ambience and excellent birdlife.


91% (14 reviews)
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Lodge

Situated on the banks of the Kavango, Taranga Safari Lodge works as a convenient stopover before going onto explore the Caprivi.


76% (10 reviews)
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Lodge & Spa

The substantial Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa offers plenty of pampering opportunities in an unspoilt riverside setting


91% (7 reviews)
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge is situated on the great Zambezi River; come for relaxation, great birding and boat trips along the Chobe Riverfront.


100% (5 reviews)
Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge, near Kasane in the Caprivi Strip is a very luxurious, high end option for those seeking peace and privacy on the Zambezi River.


85% (4 reviews)
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

One of the larger lodges in the Bwabwata National Park, Namushasha is an economic option with an attractive river-side location.


80% (3 reviews)
Shametu River Lodge

Shametu Lodge

Shametu River Lodge has the best views of the Popa Rapids of any private lodge in the Divundu area.


60% (3 reviews)
Serondela Lodge

Serondela

Accessible only by river, Serondela combines the remoteness of Namibia’s Caprivi Strip with access to Botswana’s flagship Chobe National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Kazile Island Lodge

Kazile Island Lodge

On an island in the Kwando River within Bwabwata National Park, the remote Kazile lsland Lodge offers games drives, bush walks and boat cruises.


70% (2 reviews)
Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge stands opposite Chobe National Park, Botswana. Click here to learn more about the area and your options for a safari there.


100% (1 review)
Jackalberry Tented Camp

Jackalberry Camp

Jackalberry Camp is uniquely situated in the Nkasa Rupara National Park affording unrivalled access to this little-visited corner of Namibia.


100% (1 review)
Nkasa Linyanti Camp
No reviews yet
Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas is a beautiful and thoughtfully designed lodge, in a great location on the Namibian banks of the Chobe River.


No reviews yet
Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp is a small, tented satellite camp near the Kwando River offering boat trips, birding and game drives.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa