This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ndhovu Safari Lodge
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Reviews of Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

126 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ndhovu Safari Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jan-2019, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ndhovu Safari Lodge.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Giraffe

50% success

Roan antelope

50% success

Sable antelope

50% success

Zebra

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 126
Duration
Arrival date
Mr L
Leicestershire

"Good"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2019
"Good tented accommodation, very close to nature with Hippos wondering in the camp at night. wonderful.

Good boat cruise here with lots of birds, crocs, hippos, monitor lizards and otters.

Another place where everyone ate together." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Hippo

5 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Ts
Gloucestershire

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jan 2019
"We got a little bit lost driving to Ndhovu! The accommodation was quite basic, but we enjoyed being so close to the Mahango Park. The location on the river was lovely.

The staff at Ndhovu were very friendly and welcoming and guided trips were good.

Staying at Ndhovu was different to everywhere else we'd stayed on our trip - a little quirky!" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Roan antelope

10 sightings

Sable antelope

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr A
Horsham

"Ndhovo lodge "

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2017
"Very tired. Rooms ok but the mosquito nets were not put down.

We were going to bed and the power went off so we hadn’t sprayed the tent and got bitten unexpectedly, this is the only place we got bitten and with care could have been avoided" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Mr K
Hexham

"great"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2017
"less formal and very friendly and welcoming" See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr R
Napier

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2017
"Saw african dogs hunting a kudu across the river ." See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The Leemings
Kent

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2017
"The camp & its general facilities had a "tired" air.

This was reflected in the activity ,trip int the Mahango park where our guide although clearly not well, showed little interest in the surroundings & didn't provide us with much information.

Most of the local staff were friendly & helpful." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr &a Mrs G
Ringwood

"An authtic African safari experience"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2017
"Our stay here felt like an authentic African safari experience - more rustic than plush but perfect for our needs. We were accommodated in tented chalets right on the rivers edge, water was heated up the old fashioned way (wood fire under a big boiler), there was an honesty bar in case no one was there and dinner was served at a single large table with all the guests, owner and senior staff. There was plenty of activity from the hippos in the river with their continual grunting and snorting and one came into the camp at night to graze. It was great. There was also continual activity from beautiful birds around the tents.

Dinner was superb - kudu stroganoff on the first night and oryx lasagne on the second.

The lodge surroundings were kept very tidy with all the leaves raked up every day. There was a nice deck for viewing across the river and we saw a herd of 30/40 elephant on the other side. We did a boat trip which was interesting; seeing the hippos close up, some crocodiles and plenty of beautiful birds (we particularly enjoyed the bee-eaters and kingfishers).

Nearby there was a small game reserve which we visited a couple of times (self drive). This was probably one of our favourite game reserves; although it was quite small it was interesting with lots of game and it only took a few minutes to get to from the lodge. We were pleased to have a good 4x4 as some of the tracks had very soft sand and I wouldn't have wanted to get stuck when I came around a courner to find myself facing a herd of 15 elephant.

On the morning of leaving I went to load up our car to find it had been washed for us. Unexpected and very much appreciated." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
Chatteris

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2017
"Excellently run and positioned.

Ndhovu has in Michael someone with the sharpest eyes on the River Kavango. We had three boat trips with him and each one was an adventure in to wild Africa.

In addition the lodge is very efficiently run by Horst, Peter and Bola.

It is within a 10 minute drive of the Mahango Game Park - the best place in this area to see birds and animals." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr A & Mrs R
Berbs

"This lodge is in a lovely setting"

1 night Arrived 25 Jun 2017
"Despite being in a lovely setting something was missing here.

The staff were very withdrawn and there was no personality present.

The manager was new so maybe needs time as he was pleasant and my favourite was the very affable boxer." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr K & Mrs S
NL

"Huge herds of elephants"

1 night Arrived 18 May 2017
"This lodge has a great location on the Okavango river bank. A highlight of our trip was the ability to watch and hear huge herds of elephants on the other side of the river. We also liked the hippo noises at night.

The state of repair of our bungalow was somewhat unsatisfactory. The bed was not as good as in other places and there were holes in the sheets. Food was tasty but service was not as smooth as elsewhere.

Horst, the owner, turned out to be an extremely entertaining table-partner who provided us with many insights on Namibia.

We also enjoyed a self-drive safari in the nearby Mahango reserve." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 126
88%
126 reviews of Ndhovu Safari Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
63
52
7
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Caprivi Strip

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge is a substantial lodge with a superb location on the Kavango River.


86% (85 reviews)
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

Beside the Kwando River, within Mudumu National Park, Lianshulu is a small safari lodge offering 4WD safaris and river trips – with particularly good birdlife.


91% (59 reviews)
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

Standards have slipped at Nkwazi Lodge in recent years which somewhat detract from its scenic location on the banks of the Kavango River.


79% (32 reviews)
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

NNunda River Lodge overlooks a pretty part of the Kavango River near Popa Falls and the productive Mahango National Park.


82% (26 reviews)
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

Near to Mudumu National Park, Camp Kwando is a comfortable and unfussy option with opportunities for game drives, boat safaris and fishing.


74% (25 reviews)
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala

Peaceful Nkasa Lupala is a comfortable lodge in a remote and little-explored area close to Nkasa Rupara National Park.


91% (24 reviews)
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe Lodge

Safari holiday in Namibia's Caprivi Strip, staying at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge on Impalila Island.


97% (23 reviews)
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

A beautiful safari lodge In the remote Bwabwata National Park, Nambwa Tented Lodge brings serious comfort to a relaxing safari.


92% (13 reviews)
River Dance Lodge

River Dance

Build on stilts on the banks of the Kavango River, River Dance Lodge has great views, a relaxed ambience and excellent birdlife.


96% (9 reviews)
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Lodge

Situated on the banks of the Kavango, Taranga Safari Lodge works as a convenient stopover before going onto explore the Caprivi.


75% (8 reviews)
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Lodge & Spa

The substantial Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa offers plenty of pampering opportunities in an unspoilt riverside setting


91% (7 reviews)
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge is situated on the great Zambezi River; come for relaxation, great birding and boat trips along the Chobe Riverfront.


100% (5 reviews)
Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge, near Kasane in the Caprivi Strip is a very luxurious, high end option for those seeking peace and privacy on the Zambezi River.


85% (4 reviews)
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

One of the larger lodges in the Bwabwata National Park, Namushasha is an economic option with an attractive river-side location.


80% (3 reviews)
Serondela Lodge

Serondela

Accessible only by river, Serondela combines the remoteness of Namibia’s Caprivi Strip with access to Botswana’s flagship Chobe National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Shametu River Lodge

Shametu Lodge

Shametu River Lodge has the best views of the Popa Rapids of any private lodge in the Divundu area.


70% (2 reviews)
Jackalberry Tented Camp

Jackalberry Camp

Jackalberry Camp is uniquely situated in the Nkasa Rupara National Park affording unrivalled access to this little-visited corner of Namibia.


100% (1 review)
Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge stands opposite Chobe National Park, Botswana. Click here to learn more about the area and your options for a safari there.


100% (1 review)
Kazile Island Lodge

Kazile Island Lodge

On an island in the Kwando River within Bwabwata National Park, the remote Kazile lsland Lodge offers games drives, bush walks and boat cruises.


60% (1 review)
Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp is a small, tented satellite camp near the Kwando River offering boat trips, birding and game drives.


No reviews yet
Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas is a beautiful and thoughtfully designed lodge, in a great location on the Namibian banks of the Chobe River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa