This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr L from Leicestershire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

19

Excursions taken

0

Great experience

Namibia and 1 other country between 7 Sep 2019 and 11 Oct 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"An amazing adventure which we will never forget.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

The only thing that concerned us was the tipping on the Safari. We had taken enough USD to tip as per the guide, but did not expect there to be 5 people looking after us at each camp. What worries us about the tipping situation is whether the staff are being paid properly or are they reliant on tips."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


River Crossing

River Crossing

"All good"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2019
"All good"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Basic room but good."

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2019
"Had a good stay here although the room was a little dated. had a good game drive and saw many animals and we were happy we had added it to our schedule."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

"Excellent"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2019
"Wonderful place, luxurious rooms and amenities."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Good"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2019
"Good but our room was a long way from all amenities which was a bind. Staff were very good and friendly."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Island Cottage

Island Cottage

"Good"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2019
"Spoilt by a very poor duvet which we didn`t discover till we went to bed at night. Eventually rectified the next day.

As a visitor we thought Island cottage was too far out of town and to be honest we didn`t think much of the town, especially when all the attractions and the best pub in town shut at the weekend.

Town seemed rundown and the beach was in a poor state, litter and broken glass everywhere."
Good
Location
Poor
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Image alt

Duwisib Guestfarm

"Good"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2019
"Had a wonderful overnight stay here with a great host, we learnt a great deal about farming in Namibia.

Watching the birds at the bird bath was a delight.

Duwisib castle next door was an unexpected surprise in the middle of nowhere."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert Homestead Outpost

"Excellent"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2019
"Everything perfect.

Had a great and interesting visit to the dunes with their guide Johannes.

Nothing to do with Desert Homestead but the toilets out at the dried up lake at the dunes were absolutely disgusting."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Good"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2019
"Good overnight stay with good food though buffet style."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

"Wondefull"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2019
"Had a great stay here everything at the hotel was top notch in particular the restaurant was superb."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Wonderfull"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2019
"Only regret was that we couldn`t stay longer.

Luckily we were there for the night of the Boamer, a great experience with everyone sitting round one table, more`s the pity more places don`t have one big table for all the guests.

Staff absolutely great."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Tented Camp

"Average"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2019
"The road to this place is horrendous, the room was OK but the food was poor.

We did a game drive from here to see the elephants and our guide was very good but the distance we drove to reach the elephants along very bad roads was too much.

Should have done a game drive from Damaraland camp but were too tired from our previous days travel."
Average
Location
Poor
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

"Charming oasis"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2019
"Really enjoyed our one night stay here, Rachel the owners daughter in law was very welcoming and informative.

The gardens surrounding the farm are delightful filled with wonderful birdlife."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Good"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2019
"Rooms basic but Ok.

Good waterhole visit here."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Good"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2019
"Excellent rooms here and the food was good. Plus we had a really good drive through Etosha. waterhole here not as good as the previous camp."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Excellent"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2019
"Had a great house here could have slept 7 but we had it all to ourselves.

Had a nice relaxing stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Good"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2019
"Good tented accommodation, very close to nature with Hippos wondering in the camp at night. wonderful.

Good boat cruise here with lots of birds, crocs, hippos, monitor lizards and otters.

Another place where everyone ate together."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

"Good"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2019
"Nice spot, with a waterhole.

Did a good game drive and boat ride from here.

Once again everyone sat together for dinner which we think is great."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Very nice"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2019
"Great stay here everything was top notch."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

AndBeyond Botswana Safari

"Absolutely excellent"

8 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2019
"We had a great guide Sam Kudomo who looked after us all through the Safari, great knowledge, amazing eye sight and a wonderful demeaner.

All the way through the safari at each camp the staff were great, they made us feel like royalty, especially as there was just the two of us.

Saw lots of beautiful Leopards, two packs of wild dogs one of which was hunting, white rhino, lions and on and on."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team