This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Hakusembe River Lodge
Hakusembe River Lodge
Hakusembe River Lodge
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge


17°50’59.5"S 19°40’14.4"E

Reviews of Hakusembe Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

85 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hakusembe Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hakusembe Lodge.
Hippo

17% success

Showing 1-10 of 85
Duration
Arrival date
Mr J
Coventry

"Good for an overnight stay."

1 night Arrived 27 Jan 2020
"Only stayed one night." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr L
Leicestershire

"Excellent"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2019
"Had a great house here could have slept 7 but we had it all to ourselves.

Had a nice relaxing stay." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Hippo

1 sighting

Mrs B - family
UK

"A perfect stay at Hakusembe River Lodge"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2019
"We had one night here after a long drive from Etosha. It had ... We were too late to do the sunset cruise but the lodge was a great place for relaxing.

The food was excellent - it was buffet style, and this lodge showed that buffets can be very good. It was high quality with plenty of choices at both breakfast and dinner." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Ts
Gloucestershire

"Hakusembe River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 12 Jan 2019
"Lovely room right on the river.

We went on the sunset boat trip which was brilliant with an excellent guide.

Staff here were very attentive and made us feel very special on our honeymoon!" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Syderstone

"Hakusembe River Lodge Review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2018
"Our room was large and there was much attention to detail in the furnishings. We particularly enjoyed the books of Namibian historical tales. The balcony had a direct view of the river so we could watch the villagers and animals on the Angolan side.

Food was excellent, with plenty of choice. Dinner consisted of a set starter and dessert, with a buffet main. The staff were attentive and very friendly during meals and their after-dinner entertainment was well received. However, during the day staff were not much in evidence; certainly not the constant attention that is paid at some other lodges.

A flask of coffee and biscuits were left outside the room first thing in the morning, which was a thoughtful touch.

We enjoyed the sundowner cruise along the river, but otherwise felt that there was little to do either at the lodge or in the area. After busy days driving to waterholes in Etosha, this was a peaceful time, but, personally, we wanted more. It feels very much like a one-night stop for most people, which is a shame." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Crooks
Bristol

"Hakusembe River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2018
"This was the largest and busiest lodge we visited on our trip.

The location overlooking Angola and not far outside Rundu was good with interesting views across the river. The check in was well managed and our room was comfortable. The grounds of the lodge were well kept and easy to stroll in.

Our buffet evening meal included a singing and dancing performance by some of the lodge staff, some of whom appeared to be more enthusiastic than others about their participation." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr J & Ms J
Devon

"Excellent one night stop"

1 night Arrived 15 Jul 2018
"The rooms are superb and it is a shame to use them for just one night. The river cruise was OK, but we didn't see a lot of wildlife.
The meals are buffet style and the food good. This is quite a large lodge and quite commercial, but well run and a relaxing setting by the river." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr R
Napier

"Hakusembe River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2017
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr M.
Loughborough

"Kwando river cruise"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2017
"Although the water level was unusually low, our guide managed to weave his way around the sandbags and rocks and, accordingly, wecsa2 a good number of animals and birds.

There are also interesting views of Angolans, a few yards away on the other bank, going about their daily activities." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr &a Mrs G
Ringwood

"Enjoyed our short visit"

1 night Arrived 30 Jun 2017
"A lovely lodge, well laid out with great views over the river. We also enjoyed relaxing around the pool. This was a very convenient place to stay with welcoming and friendly staff. The bungalows were very comfortable, some of them located directly overlooking the river and others in a row behind (we had one of each). A nice touch was the fresh coffee brought to our rooms in the morning.

Dinner was buffet style with plenty of selection and the chef on hand giving you all the info you needed about the dishes he had prepared. A very personal approach.

For those wanting to stretch their legs it was safe to run (or walk) along the drive leading to the lodge.

While this lodge did not have the intimate feel of some of the others we stayed at we thoroughly enjoyed it and would visit again." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 85
86%
85 reviews of Hakusembe Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
36
42
5
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Caprivi Strip

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu is a simple riverside lodge, with tents that are reminiscent of safaris a decade or two ago.


88% (126 reviews)
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

Beside the Kwando River, within Mudumu National Park, Lianshulu is a small safari lodge offering 4WD safaris and river trips – with particularly good birdlife.


91% (59 reviews)
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

Standards have slipped at Nkwazi Lodge in recent years which somewhat detract from its scenic location on the banks of the Kavango River.


79% (32 reviews)
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

NNunda River Lodge overlooks a pretty part of the Kavango River near Popa Falls and the productive Mahango National Park.


82% (26 reviews)
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

Near to Mudumu National Park, Camp Kwando is a comfortable and unfussy option with opportunities for game drives, boat safaris and fishing.


74% (25 reviews)
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala

Peaceful Nkasa Lupala is a comfortable lodge in a remote and little-explored area close to Nkasa Rupara National Park.


91% (24 reviews)
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe Lodge

Safari holiday in Namibia's Caprivi Strip, staying at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge on Impalila Island.


97% (23 reviews)
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

A beautiful safari lodge In the remote Bwabwata National Park, Nambwa Tented Lodge brings serious comfort to a relaxing safari.


92% (13 reviews)
River Dance Lodge

River Dance

Build on stilts on the banks of the Kavango River, River Dance Lodge has great views, a relaxed ambience and excellent birdlife.


96% (9 reviews)
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Lodge

Situated on the banks of the Kavango, Taranga Safari Lodge works as a convenient stopover before going onto explore the Caprivi.


75% (8 reviews)
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Lodge & Spa

The substantial Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa offers plenty of pampering opportunities in an unspoilt riverside setting


91% (7 reviews)
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge is situated on the great Zambezi River; come for relaxation, great birding and boat trips along the Chobe Riverfront.


100% (5 reviews)
Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge, near Kasane in the Caprivi Strip is a very luxurious, high end option for those seeking peace and privacy on the Zambezi River.


85% (4 reviews)
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

One of the larger lodges in the Bwabwata National Park, Namushasha is an economic option with an attractive river-side location.


80% (3 reviews)
Serondela Lodge

Serondela

Accessible only by river, Serondela combines the remoteness of Namibia’s Caprivi Strip with access to Botswana’s flagship Chobe National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Shametu River Lodge

Shametu Lodge

Shametu River Lodge has the best views of the Popa Rapids of any private lodge in the Divundu area.


70% (2 reviews)
Jackalberry Tented Camp

Jackalberry Camp

Jackalberry Camp is uniquely situated in the Nkasa Rupara National Park affording unrivalled access to this little-visited corner of Namibia.


100% (1 review)
Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge stands opposite Chobe National Park, Botswana. Click here to learn more about the area and your options for a safari there.


100% (1 review)
Kazile Island Lodge

Kazile Island Lodge

On an island in the Kwando River within Bwabwata National Park, the remote Kazile lsland Lodge offers games drives, bush walks and boat cruises.


60% (1 review)
Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp is a small, tented satellite camp near the Kwando River offering boat trips, birding and game drives.


No reviews yet
Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas is a beautiful and thoughtfully designed lodge, in a great location on the Namibian banks of the Chobe River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa