This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hakusembe River Lodge
Hakusembe River Lodge
Hakusembe River Lodge
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge


17°50’59.5"S 19°40’14.4"E

Reviews of Hakusembe Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

85 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hakusembe Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hakusembe Lodge.
Hippo

17% success

Showing 21-30 of 85
Duration
Arrival date
Ms H
Washington

"Fun location"

1 night Arrived 17 Aug 2016
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
W. Sussex

"Very good place to relax after long drive"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2016
"Friendly staff, lovely location on the banks of the Okavango. Went to the Living Museum close by and enjoyed the Sundowner cruise on the river, though this no longer is free to guests staying 2 nights.

Food was buffet style largely with good choices.

Road off the B8 before Rundu is now the B10 and is fully tarred. Hakusembe is signposted off the B10 onto a gravel road." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs J & A
UK

"Beautiful setting"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2016
"The setting of the lodge is wonderful. The rooms overlook the river which boarders Angola and Namibia.

The rooms are very nice and have pretty decor throughout. The buffet dinner was very good and the decking was a nice setting in the evening. A very nice place to stay.

We took a boat tour the next morning where we saw lots of interesting birdlife and we even stepped foot in Angola!" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Leatherhea

"Delightful lodge, wonderful staff"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2016
"The drive up from Grootfontein was easy and interesting and our reception very warm. The central decking area gives great views and firepit on the beach provides a popular relaxing area. The restaurant staff, enthusiastically let by Freda the cook served excellent meals with choice and fresh ingredients.

The boat trips guided by Mateus were very enjoyable and informative. The manager and Yvonne in the shop were very helpful and told us about the Living Museum which we enjoyed visiting.

Our room was convenient, clean and comfortable and the tray of hot drinks on our verandah in the morning a nice surprise." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
M family
Hampshire

"Lovely gardens overlooking river."

1 night Arrived 7 Jul 2016
"More like a country house hotel with beautiful grounds than a safari lodge. Good place to stay overnight on way to or from Caprivi strip.
Friendly helpful staff, very comfortable.

Good bird spotting by our guide on evening river cruise although probably not what most guests were particularly interested in." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Scotland

"Hakusembe Lodge - a good stopover"

1 night Arrived 10 May 2016
"For a one night stop over between east Etosha and Ndhovu Lodge, Hakusembe was a good choice. It's only a few minutes drive from Rundu so not much of a detour for our route. We did make good time on our journey and perhaps we could have made it to Ndhovu without this stop. This might have been preferable but on the other hand it would have been a long drive and not given us any margin for an unforeseen delay.

The lodge is in a lovely location right on the river and the gardens are pretty. We were given a warm welcome and were able to book ourselves on the sun downer river cruise. There was also time for a spot of relaxation by the pool. The lodge is larger than any other we stayed in and naturally there were a lot more people around than we were used to which does make it a bit less personal.

Our room was spacious and well appointed with a great view from the veranda over the river. A nice touch was the early morning delivery of coffee to the room.
The sun downer river cruise was enjoyable but was certainly aimed at the' champagne' rather than the wildlife.

The food was very acceptable with plenty of choice.

All staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs SA
Norfolk

"A smart lodge motel"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2015
"We just stopped the one night. Very smart lodge and excellent friendly service.

Views across the river from our room were good." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs Y
Cricklewoo

"Hakusembe Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2015
"Superb views of Angola across the river. Very good room, with a/c. Great buffet food.

The activities were very good value - the best we encountered." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs A
Shropshire

"Peaceful riverbank setting"

1 night Arrived 28 Sep 2015
"Great location on the river near Rundu.

Lovely, well-equipped chalet room with view of villagers doing their washing on the Angolan bank! Dinner on the large deck after our excellent 'champagne sunset' cruise. Beautiful gardens with rooms well spread out.

Good overnight stop, though breakfast buffet was disappointing: nothing cooked to order and only white bread with margarine!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr T & Mrs M
Newmarke

"Hakusembe Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2015
"This was another overnight stop for us on our way to Etosha. There wasn't a huge variety of wildlife, but the location was pleasant, and the food first-class." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 5n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 85
86%
85 reviews of Hakusembe Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
36
42
5
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Caprivi Strip

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu is a simple riverside lodge, with tents that are reminiscent of safaris a decade or two ago.


88% (126 reviews)
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

Beside the Kwando River, within Mudumu National Park, Lianshulu is a small safari lodge offering 4WD safaris and river trips – with particularly good birdlife.


91% (59 reviews)
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

Standards have slipped at Nkwazi Lodge in recent years which somewhat detract from its scenic location on the banks of the Kavango River.


79% (32 reviews)
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

NNunda River Lodge overlooks a pretty part of the Kavango River near Popa Falls and the productive Mahango National Park.


82% (26 reviews)
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

Near to Mudumu National Park, Camp Kwando is a comfortable and unfussy option with opportunities for game drives, boat safaris and fishing.


74% (25 reviews)
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala

Peaceful Nkasa Lupala is a comfortable lodge in a remote and little-explored area close to Nkasa Rupara National Park.


91% (24 reviews)
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe Lodge

Safari holiday in Namibia's Caprivi Strip, staying at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge on Impalila Island.


97% (23 reviews)
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

A beautiful safari lodge In the remote Bwabwata National Park, Nambwa Tented Lodge brings serious comfort to a relaxing safari.


92% (13 reviews)
River Dance Lodge

River Dance

Build on stilts on the banks of the Kavango River, River Dance Lodge has great views, a relaxed ambience and excellent birdlife.


96% (9 reviews)
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Lodge

Situated on the banks of the Kavango, Taranga Safari Lodge works as a convenient stopover before going onto explore the Caprivi.


75% (8 reviews)
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Lodge & Spa

The substantial Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa offers plenty of pampering opportunities in an unspoilt riverside setting


91% (7 reviews)
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge is situated on the great Zambezi River; come for relaxation, great birding and boat trips along the Chobe Riverfront.


100% (5 reviews)
Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge, near Kasane in the Caprivi Strip is a very luxurious, high end option for those seeking peace and privacy on the Zambezi River.


85% (4 reviews)
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

One of the larger lodges in the Bwabwata National Park, Namushasha is an economic option with an attractive river-side location.


80% (3 reviews)
Serondela Lodge

Serondela

Accessible only by river, Serondela combines the remoteness of Namibia’s Caprivi Strip with access to Botswana’s flagship Chobe National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Shametu River Lodge

Shametu Lodge

Shametu River Lodge has the best views of the Popa Rapids of any private lodge in the Divundu area.


70% (2 reviews)
Jackalberry Tented Camp

Jackalberry Camp

Jackalberry Camp is uniquely situated in the Nkasa Rupara National Park affording unrivalled access to this little-visited corner of Namibia.


100% (1 review)
Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge stands opposite Chobe National Park, Botswana. Click here to learn more about the area and your options for a safari there.


100% (1 review)
Kazile Island Lodge

Kazile Island Lodge

On an island in the Kwando River within Bwabwata National Park, the remote Kazile lsland Lodge offers games drives, bush walks and boat cruises.


60% (1 review)
Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp is a small, tented satellite camp near the Kwando River offering boat trips, birding and game drives.


No reviews yet
Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas is a beautiful and thoughtfully designed lodge, in a great location on the Namibian banks of the Chobe River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa