This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hakusembe River Lodge
Hakusembe River Lodge
Hakusembe River Lodge
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge


17°50’59.5"S 19°40’14.4"E

Reviews of Hakusembe Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

85 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hakusembe Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hakusembe Lodge.
Hippo

17% success

Showing 31-40 of 85
Duration
Arrival date
Mr J & family
Hants

"Hakusembe Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 10 Aug 2015
"Lovely setting by the river. Food was nice and will cater for vegetarians if you ask.

Really more of a stopover location to break the journey from Etosha to the Caprivi Strip.

Very helpful staff." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr A & Mrs M
Scotland

"Hakusembe Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 30 Apr 2015
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs
Beccles

"Hakusembe Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 2 Mar 2015
"Really enjoyed staying here although it was only for one night. Rooms fantastic. The sundowner was well worth the money. Saw our first hippo - what a sight!
Shared the sundowner cruise with one other couple, plus two bottles of bubbly and snacks- great!
Food buffet style with a good well cooked selection.
The access road was flooded but the transfer by boat to the lodge was smooth and well organised." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr W
Dorset

"Lovely Grounds and Beautiful Setting"

2 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2014
"Recently changed hands and benefitting from the subsequent refurbishment (which still needs refining). The surrounding gardens and view across to Angola are beautiful.

Service in the restaurant was lovely, but the room was a bit cavernous! The sundowner and morning nature boat trip were both well-informed and worthwhile. The track leading to Hakusembe was a bit of a challenge as it had recently rained!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs V
Coulsdon

"On the river at Hakusembe"

2 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2014
"The four of us shared a lovely house here with 2 bedrooms, lounge and large dining table. We had a lovely outlook over the river. The staff were exceptional here and a pleasure to be with. Our guide on the river trips was great. Mathias was very knowledgeable about all aspects of the area and fun to be with.

The high spot was the cultural dancing we had asked for. The group were internationally renowned and the manager said we were very lucky they were free to sing and dance for us. The staff at Hakusembe Lodge enjoyed it as much as we did and some of them came back on their day off to see the group. The lodge paid part of the cost as the whole dining room enjoyed the show free of charge! We felt it had been worth every penny.

We were sorry to leave here and to leave the exceptionally charming fun staff." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Lanarkshir

"Hakusembe Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 6 Nov 2014
"There had been 1 day of heavy rain and the approach road was quite interesting for a 2 wheel drive.

Big puddles and the new tracks around the puddles had seen some heavy traffic since the rain." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs B
Hampshire

"Hakusembe Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2014
"This was OK, quite large and lots of guests.

We arrived late afternoon, and had trouble finding anyone in reception, eventually the gardener found someone ,we went through the entrance gate where there had been welcome drinks,but lots of used empty glasses, but none left for us! After declining in the bridal suite on the boat ,the found another room which the clearly haven't intended to use, it was made up, but we found later there was no drinking water, of insect spray.

However the dining room was very large and rather warm, the food was a buffet, but to be fair the food was very tasty.

We didn't do anything other than stroll round the grounds, so can't comment on activities." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr J & Ms J
Devon

"Lovely place for a one night stopover"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2014
"A lovely place to stay for one night. The staff were very helpful and happy.

We had coffee delivered to our room in the morning - an unexpected pleasure.

Good boat trip." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr d
Kilburn

"perfect location"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2014
"Fabulous location by the side of the Okavungo river.

No activities, but great food and service" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs S
Maldon

"Lovely outlook over Angola"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2014
"We were only here for one night on our way up the Caprivi but still managed to do the 'sunset cruise'. This was most enjoyable.

The room was lovely but the room where we had our meal lacked any ambience and the food was not very inspiring. We were also disappointed that we were charged for coffee after our meal and that some of the liqueurs offered on the drinks menu were not actually available.

The swimming pool was not useable." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Showing 31-40 of 85
86%
85 reviews of Hakusembe Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
36
42
5
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Caprivi Strip

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu is a simple riverside lodge, with tents that are reminiscent of safaris a decade or two ago.


88% (126 reviews)
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

Beside the Kwando River, within Mudumu National Park, Lianshulu is a small safari lodge offering 4WD safaris and river trips – with particularly good birdlife.


91% (59 reviews)
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

Standards have slipped at Nkwazi Lodge in recent years which somewhat detract from its scenic location on the banks of the Kavango River.


79% (32 reviews)
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

NNunda River Lodge overlooks a pretty part of the Kavango River near Popa Falls and the productive Mahango National Park.


82% (26 reviews)
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

Near to Mudumu National Park, Camp Kwando is a comfortable and unfussy option with opportunities for game drives, boat safaris and fishing.


74% (25 reviews)
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala

Peaceful Nkasa Lupala is a comfortable lodge in a remote and little-explored area close to Nkasa Rupara National Park.


91% (24 reviews)
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe Lodge

Safari holiday in Namibia's Caprivi Strip, staying at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge on Impalila Island.


97% (23 reviews)
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

A beautiful safari lodge In the remote Bwabwata National Park, Nambwa Tented Lodge brings serious comfort to a relaxing safari.


92% (13 reviews)
River Dance Lodge

River Dance

Build on stilts on the banks of the Kavango River, River Dance Lodge has great views, a relaxed ambience and excellent birdlife.


96% (9 reviews)
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Lodge

Situated on the banks of the Kavango, Taranga Safari Lodge works as a convenient stopover before going onto explore the Caprivi.


75% (8 reviews)
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Lodge & Spa

The substantial Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa offers plenty of pampering opportunities in an unspoilt riverside setting


91% (7 reviews)
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge is situated on the great Zambezi River; come for relaxation, great birding and boat trips along the Chobe Riverfront.


100% (5 reviews)
Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge, near Kasane in the Caprivi Strip is a very luxurious, high end option for those seeking peace and privacy on the Zambezi River.


85% (4 reviews)
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

One of the larger lodges in the Bwabwata National Park, Namushasha is an economic option with an attractive river-side location.


80% (3 reviews)
Serondela Lodge

Serondela

Accessible only by river, Serondela combines the remoteness of Namibia’s Caprivi Strip with access to Botswana’s flagship Chobe National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Shametu River Lodge

Shametu Lodge

Shametu River Lodge has the best views of the Popa Rapids of any private lodge in the Divundu area.


70% (2 reviews)
Jackalberry Tented Camp

Jackalberry Camp

Jackalberry Camp is uniquely situated in the Nkasa Rupara National Park affording unrivalled access to this little-visited corner of Namibia.


100% (1 review)
Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge stands opposite Chobe National Park, Botswana. Click here to learn more about the area and your options for a safari there.


100% (1 review)
Kazile Island Lodge

Kazile Island Lodge

On an island in the Kwando River within Bwabwata National Park, the remote Kazile lsland Lodge offers games drives, bush walks and boat cruises.


60% (1 review)
Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp is a small, tented satellite camp near the Kwando River offering boat trips, birding and game drives.


No reviews yet
Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas is a beautiful and thoughtfully designed lodge, in a great location on the Namibian banks of the Chobe River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa