This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs Y from Cricklewoo

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

1

My Sep 2015 trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 28 Sep 2015 and 21 Oct 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"All the arrangements worked, as we expected them to.

I asked Tracy to upgrade our car from a group C to a group K shortly before we traveled, based on my own research, and friends' comments. I'm very glad I did, because we drove over 3000km, and a standard saloon would have been too small, our luggage would not all have fitted in the boot, and it would have required extremely careful driving on some of the gravel roads. I think it should have been suggested to us in the first place, given the amount of time we spent in the car. (In fact we were supplied with a Nissan X-trail 2/4WD, which I think is a group O car).

We were a little concerned that staying for one night in 3 lodges in a row (around the Etosha area) would be difficult, with no time to rest, but in fact it suited us. We were able to cross Etosha in a leisurely fashion, knowing we wouldn't have to retrace our steps at the end of the day."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2015
"A family run farm, we shared meals with the owner. The room was comfortable, the food OK. A very quiet place.

A small gripe - the soap/shampoo supplied were in single-portion plastic bags, almost impossible to tear open, especially when under the shower. Why doesn't she (Johanna) just supply a large bottle of soap/shampoo like every other lodge did?

The walking trails were excellent, particularly the Quiver Tree Gorge walk, which required a 2-1/2 hour land rover drive to the start point. The driver was very helpful."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2015
"Beautiful location. Good food and service. You can spend some of the night on the roof of the chalet (the staff make a bed for you if you ask).

Regarding the activities, we could see no reason to take their rather expensive trip to Sossusvlei since we had our own vehicle (if you go with them you get to Sesriem through a private exit from the lodge; we had to drive an extra 25km). The sundowner trip also seemed expensive and pointless."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2015
"The room was plain, nothing special. But it did open on to a very nice garden.

Sam is helpful, and has an excellent whisky selection. Food was very good.

Whilst in Swakopmund these travellers went kayaking and commented
Jeanne was very knowledgeable and helpful. The birds and seals were magnificent. Really special.

A highlight for Leah."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Great fun with the wildlife"

4 Oct 2015 • Morning excursion

Jeanne was very knowledgeable and helpful. The birds and seals were magnificent. Really special.

A highlight for Leah.
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2015
"They seem to struggle to find activities. We went on a couple of guided walks, but there isn't much to see.

The sundowner drive was expensive and disappointing - again not much to see.

Excellent steak dinner"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

"Taleni Etosha Village review"

1 night Arrived 7 Oct 2015
"The tent had AC (most welcome). The chef was very accommodating (he cooked me fish which was not in the buffet).

The receptionist was an idiot, making stupid jokes about us being in the wrong lodge (this after we had a long and tiring drive), and about meal times. He also forgot to order us packed breakfasts, which we asked him to arrange when we arrived, so we had to hang around in the morning for an hour while they sorted it out. I complained to the manager about him."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Terrible
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2015
"The room had a fan, and was comfortable.

Good buffet food."
Good
Location
Good
Food
Good
Rooms
Good
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Hakusembe Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2015
"Superb views of Angola across the river. Very good room, with a/c. Great buffet food.

The activities were very good value - the best we encountered."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2015
"The proprietor, Horst, was very hospitable, but the tents had no fan or a/c (but did have a hairdryer!).

The toilet was 5 feet from the bed (separated by canvas). No safe in tent. Cheap and ugly plastic shower stall in bathroom area. Water pressure poor. Activities overpriced.

The deck and bed were not like the photos on the supplied information sheet."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Facilities
Poor
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

"Lianshulu Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2015
"Very large rooms furnished to a very high standard, with bath, shower and outdoor shower.

Note: no power in rooms except lighting at night and early morning. Can't charge batteries except in main building. No walking unattended between room and main building between sunset an sunrise, so if you want to, it must be pre-arranged. No wifi.

Despite what the latest edition of the Bradt guide says, there are no night game drives, or guided bush walks."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Pangolin Voyager

"Pangolin Voyager review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2015
"The boat has new owners, and seems to be in a state of flux. The cabins are small and cramped, with just a small fan placed on a tabletop. Mealtimes were a bit hit and miss, as regards timings and quality of food. The boat itself hardly moved - perhaps 15 minutes sailing in the whole day. This was disappointing, since we were looking forward to serenely sailing along the river while relaxing on the top deck, as opposed to remaining stationary.

The activities were good because the guides were good (once the captain, twice someone else).

Before we traveled we were under the impression that this boat trip was based in Botswana. In fact it was in Namibia. The disadvantage of this is that our small boat game drives were unable to explore small tributaries of the Chobe on the Botswana side. We think we may have missed out on some game viewing because of this."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Facilities
Poor
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2015
"I'm glad we were booked into a 'deluxe' room in the stables block, because the standard rooms in the main building were very small and cramped.

Superb breakfasts, excellent value light lunches at the swimming pool.

10 minutes walk to the falls."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Villa Violet review"

1 night Arrived 19 Oct 2015
"Fairly basic rooms and food, but ideal for one night.

Swimming pool too small to bother with."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team