This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe River Lodge


17°46’35.8"S 25°10’0.8"E

Reviews of Ichingo Chobe Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

23 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ichingo Chobe Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ichingo Chobe Lodge.
Lion

25% success

Leopard

25% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Giraffe

75% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Zebra

67% success

Sitatunga

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 23
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Beds.

"Great place to stay"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2019
"This place is owned by a fairly large company but you really wouldn’t know it. All the staff here manage to make the Lodge feel like a family run business - they go out of their way to make sure you have a great visit and are informal but professional. Our river guide Robert was terrific and the accomodation and food lovely." See all these reviews: 3n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Mrs B - family
UK

"Ichingo Chobe River Lodge was our favourite"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2019
"Our stay at Ichingo was the highlight of our trip. The staff were excellent but special thanks are due to Kennedy,who loked after us so well, Ernest the manager, and our guide, Morvin. They all made our stay so memorable.

All meals and activities are included here - I think this is a very good idea when you are staying at a remote lodge. At Ichingo you could chose your mealtimes, your activities and the length and timing of those activities. We had a dedicated guide, Morvin, for the whole of our stay. In the course of our two night stay we did two afternoon boat trips to Chobe National park where we saw hundreds of elephants, lots and lots of buffalo, and plenty of hippos both in and out of the water, crocodiles, and many many different types of bird and also most of the other animals we'd seen in Etosha apart from rhinos and lions; on our first morning we did a walk around Impalila island with Morvin, which was very interesting. After a couple of hours Ernest picked us up in a vehicle and drove us to more remote parts of the island. We had a closer look at island villages and learnt a lot about life on the island; on our final morning we checked out early, cleared Namibian immigration and then Morvin took us on a boat trip around the island and down the Zambezi before taking us across to Botswana immigration at Kasane.

There was no aspect of our stay at Ichingo that I think could be improved on. Rooms, food, service, all were excellent. The lodge has a great setting above a fast flowing section of the Chobe River, just before it enters the Zambezi.

It is mainly a fishing lodge but certainly caters very well for visitors with no interest in fishing." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs LN
London

"Surprising stay at Ichingo"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2018
"It is fair to say we did not know what to expect from this lodge. The short boat trip to get to the lodge is fascinating with lovely scenery, a variety of birds and a tree where numerous yellow billed storks have their nests.

We arrived and were warmly welcomed by the ever-smiling Kennedy who seems to be an institution at this lodge. The tents are classic, generously sized, large bathroom with a lovely hot shower and (bizarre but welcome) air conditioning. The tents and central area overlook the trees and then the river/rapids and there is abundant, comfortable seating in the lounge and a large dining area.

Our gentle guide, Felix, was full of information when asked about something.

The staff are all lovely and hard-working but the staff behind the bar and serving the drinks at dinner kept disappearing which caused obvious concern to many guests. On our second night a manageress appeared, poured a few glasses of wine at dinner and was not seen again. Guests on the first night dined at various tables spread around the area while on the second night everyone dined at one table. The guests ended up getting the wine from the sideboard and helping themselves which was not really a problem.

There is a problem with insects being drawn to the lights so the lights above the table are turned off and lanterns put on the balcony railings so the bugs are drawn there. We thought this worked well but upset some who wanted a close look at what they were eating. We found the food delicious. The guests were a mixture of people about to go on the Queen, those who had come for the renowned fishing and people like us who were there for the wildlife. There was one loud and difficult man who managed to upset many with his comments. No guides or management were at the dining table to help the conversation move along or deflect his comments.

Breakfast is at 8 and then you go out for a morning activity. The activities on offer are wildlife viewing from a tender, fishing, and village visit. A road trip in Chobe Park can be arranged. We tried fishing (having never done it before) by cruising up and down some of the channels: pretty and peaceful (apart from protesting hippos) but unproductive. The sunset on the water was superb. In the morning we did the wildlife boat trip which resulted in seeing more fantastic swimming elephants as well as many other animals. The tender can be slowly moved up to the animals on the river bank without disturbing them which results in some wonderful sightings (and photographic opportunities). In the afternoon we asked to go up to the Zambezi and then did more fishing on the way back which resulted in the surprise catch and release of two Tigerfish and much laughter. Sally won bragging rights!

The following morning we were taken from the lodge and through the customs procedures into Botswana and onto a Chobe Park safari which we enjoyed although that part of Chobe is very busy.

We trusted that all of the transfers would work and, apart from a minor timing hiccup, they did.

We enjoyed our stay at Ichingo as we had the chance to try different activities and enjoyed the rustic setting." See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana; 2n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Sitatunga

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs R.
Mount Vernon

"Fishing is great at Ichigo Chose River Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2018
"Wonderful, met by our guide taken to the lodge, greater by Lodge manager Kennedy. Asked what we wanted to do for our stay. Did game viewing the first evening. The guys fished the rest of the time. We went with the first day, I caught a small tiger fish:) it's strictly catch and release.

I went on the hike 4 1/2 hour. Thru the village and to the big Baobab tree. And more Game viewing from the boat.

Love it there and my husband placens to come back.

Evans my guide was great, and very knowledgeable about the area.

We got lots of pictures. This time of year would be great for birders. Nesting time for the Yellow billed Stork." See all these reviews: 3n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Dr M
Fort Myers

"Ichingo Chobe River Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 3 May 2017
"The food was great.

Amazing having a private guide and boat for the two of us for all of our excursions." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Mrs G
UK

"Fabulous stay at Ichingo"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2015
"What a fantastic stay at the Ichingo Chobe Lodge!! Absolutely everything - the accommodation, service, food, safaris, guides, staff, ambience, fishing - was second to none! Excellent quality. We were so impressed with the local people working there.

We were here 14 years ago and experienced the same all round fantastic service. We were thrilled to meet up with Ernest again, who had been our guide and is now the driving force behind the whole Lodge experience. It seems that after Ralph died and the family have left, Ernest has led the new team exceptionally well.

It seems that during this interim period, a new company has taken over and the new people are learning how The Lodge is run. There was a man and wife, whose presence was not in much evidence. The man ( sorry, I can't remember his name), we only met once and his wife we saw sat up at the bar to greet back the South African group of fishermen each evening. She - to be honest - seemed to have little interest in us! Other than that, they had a low profile.

As we left, we were singing the praises of Ernest and Bev appeared and agreed how much she relied on him. Our BIG concern is that even if the local people continue to be employed at Ichingo, if it is taken over by a 'Corporate', then the whole ethos will change. Not just for the island, but the Lodge visitors too. The 'family' feel is something that cannot be replaced.

We, yet again, had a truly fantastic stay and wonderful memories to bring home with us. Let's hope it doesn't change." See all these reviews: 4n in Zambia; 2n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr R & family
USA

"ICHINGO"

4 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2015
"Our guide was excellent. Lodge personnel was very inexperienced, as was the new management. Service was therefore less than expected in the camp.

But on the river with Felix we had absolutely first rate service." See all these reviews: 4n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mrs B
Hampshire

"Ichingo Chobe River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2014
"Lovely spot by the River again, large tent, but were a bit surprised to find no mosquito nets here. But there was repellant provided.

We enjoyed sitting with the other guests for the meals, they were a very diverse group and it's interesting to hear what other visitor have seen and done. ( there seems to be less of this now, I suppose the lodges are bigger, but I enjoy it and miss it!
The food was imaginative and well cooked and presented.

Felix our guide looked after us well, from Boabab tree walk, to finding a leopard on the banks on the Chobe.

The only downside is the faff getting there, walking up the hill to the immigration post in the middle of the day is a chore, as well as all the other formalities. Maybe something to be said for staying Botswana side as we did before? But the location did mostly make up for it." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Leatherhea

"Real luxury in a magical setting"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2014
"From the moment we were met by our guide in Kasane we were looked after wonderfully - he was available whenever we wanted to go on whatever activity we chose. He was knowledgeable and sensitive to our interests, a good boatman and friendly companion. We saw an amazing variety of birds and animals, including enormous herds of buffalo and elephant.

Meals were very enjoyable taken round a communal table, the food excellent. Our room was very comfortable with the sound of the rapids to lull us to sleep. Our wake up call with a fresh tray of tea was delightful." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Ichingo Chobe River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2014
"We and our Australian friends moved on to Ichingo for one night after the houseboat.

Tents were spacious and very comfortable with enough storage space; bathroom was large and well designed though a lick of paint wouldn’t go amiss. We only did one activity; an afternoon boat trip on which we didn’t see a huge amount but just being out on the river is a pleasure.

The fish for dinner was delicious and we really enjoyed chatting after dinner with owner Dawn and another couple – so much so that our accustomed 9pm bedtime stretched to 11.30! Unfortunately we hadn’t been told that tea and coffee would be brought to the tent in the morning so only found the tray when we set off for breakfast!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 23
97%
23 reviews of Ichingo Chobe Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
19
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Caprivi Strip

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu is a simple riverside lodge, with tents that are reminiscent of safaris a decade or two ago.


88% (126 reviews)
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge is a substantial lodge with a superb location on the Kavango River.


86% (85 reviews)
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

Beside the Kwando River, within Mudumu National Park, Lianshulu is a small safari lodge offering 4WD safaris and river trips – with particularly good birdlife.


91% (59 reviews)
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

Standards have slipped at Nkwazi Lodge in recent years which somewhat detract from its scenic location on the banks of the Kavango River.


79% (32 reviews)
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

NNunda River Lodge overlooks a pretty part of the Kavango River near Popa Falls and the productive Mahango National Park.


82% (26 reviews)
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

Near to Mudumu National Park, Camp Kwando is a comfortable and unfussy option with opportunities for game drives, boat safaris and fishing.


74% (25 reviews)
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala

Peaceful Nkasa Lupala is a comfortable lodge in a remote and little-explored area close to Nkasa Rupara National Park.


91% (24 reviews)
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

A beautiful safari lodge In the remote Bwabwata National Park, Nambwa Tented Lodge brings serious comfort to a relaxing safari.


92% (13 reviews)
River Dance Lodge

River Dance

Build on stilts on the banks of the Kavango River, River Dance Lodge has great views, a relaxed ambience and excellent birdlife.


96% (9 reviews)
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Lodge

Situated on the banks of the Kavango, Taranga Safari Lodge works as a convenient stopover before going onto explore the Caprivi.


75% (8 reviews)
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Lodge & Spa

The substantial Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa offers plenty of pampering opportunities in an unspoilt riverside setting


91% (7 reviews)
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge is situated on the great Zambezi River; come for relaxation, great birding and boat trips along the Chobe Riverfront.


100% (5 reviews)
Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge, near Kasane in the Caprivi Strip is a very luxurious, high end option for those seeking peace and privacy on the Zambezi River.


85% (4 reviews)
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

One of the larger lodges in the Bwabwata National Park, Namushasha is an economic option with an attractive river-side location.


80% (3 reviews)
Serondela Lodge

Serondela

Accessible only by river, Serondela combines the remoteness of Namibia’s Caprivi Strip with access to Botswana’s flagship Chobe National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Shametu River Lodge

Shametu Lodge

Shametu River Lodge has the best views of the Popa Rapids of any private lodge in the Divundu area.


70% (2 reviews)
Jackalberry Tented Camp

Jackalberry Camp

Jackalberry Camp is uniquely situated in the Nkasa Rupara National Park affording unrivalled access to this little-visited corner of Namibia.


100% (1 review)
Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge stands opposite Chobe National Park, Botswana. Click here to learn more about the area and your options for a safari there.


100% (1 review)
Kazile Island Lodge

Kazile Island Lodge

On an island in the Kwando River within Bwabwata National Park, the remote Kazile lsland Lodge offers games drives, bush walks and boat cruises.


60% (1 review)
Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp is a small, tented satellite camp near the Kwando River offering boat trips, birding and game drives.


No reviews yet
Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas is a beautiful and thoughtfully designed lodge, in a great location on the Namibian banks of the Chobe River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa