This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe River Lodge


17°46’35.8"S 25°10’0.8"E

Reviews of Ichingo Chobe Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

23 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ichingo Chobe Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ichingo Chobe Lodge.
Lion

25% success

Leopard

25% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Giraffe

75% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Zebra

67% success

Sitatunga

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 23
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
N London

"Remote lodge on Impalila Island"

2 nights Arrived 27 May 2014
"Great location on a fast-moving section of the Chobe River. Very good river excursions and walking on the island with our excellent guide Robert.

The lodge was very pleasant and relaxing and the food was outstanding." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Ms C
Sacramento

"Ichingo Chobe River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2013
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mrs R
Daventry

"Last stop on the Chobe"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2013
"Very friendly relaxed atmosphere.
Owner dined with guests, making one feel welcome.
Tent set above the river so that the sound of the water was ever present, with monkeys in the tree outside. Good bathroom at rear.
Lovely river excursions with knowledgeable guide.
A good stay." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
B Family
Nottingham

"Our favourite lodge"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2013
"Really good location with very friendly people. The excursions were excellent with very knowledgeable guides. Birding was superb, lots of good wildlife in Chobe and fishing was excellent.

The tents were comfortable with added brick built bathroom. Food was excellent with top quality vegetarian meals. Very flexible arrangements with guides to go for as long as you wish. Laundry service included.

Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The H family
Chester

"Ichingo Chobe River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jun 2012
"Really pleased we chose this one. It is not as luxurious as some, but has reall character, and the service is excellent. For example, as there is not continuous power in the rooms, and so no kettle, hot water and drinks are brought to the room at 0700.

We were the only guests that night! We had dinner with Ralph and really enjoyed his company (his wife was away).
Raphael was our guide on a boat drive and a village walk, and he was superb.

Now I understand how the transfer works from Zimbabwe! (By the way, we did not receive any prior information about pickup time, but I emailed Ralph, who replied promptly) Getting our passport stamped four times to get there was part of the fun, especially at the immigration point on the island!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Lincs

"Beautiful"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2010
"Excellent in every respect.

We could not fault anything with this lodge other than we were unable to stay longer. The fishing was the high light of our stay with special thanks to Robert for achieving our first Tiger fish catch." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Mr C
Lausanne

"Ichingo Chobe Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2010
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Ireland

"Great welcome at Ichingo Chobe Lodge"

1 night Arrived 20 Aug 2010
"This was were my favourite lodge.

The owners were very welcomng and having our own guide was great. Our Guide was Robert and was very patient when we went out fishing.

The lodge was on an island and the activities were on boats, but because you had your own guide you could choose what you did and when.

I would recommend this lodge as a good place to visit." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The B family
Bristol

"breathtaking"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2010
"A lovely place to stay Ralph the owner certainly knows his stuff, we fished for the first time in our lives and loved every minute of it" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
Maida Vale

"A lovely hideaway on Impalila Island"

3 nights Arrived 8 May 2009
"We really enjoyed our stay here and thought it was a delightful spot and very comfortable. We were offered a night/day on one of their houseboats on the Chobe which we weren't expecting but was a great way of experiencing the area.

The Chobe waterfront had quite a lot of tourist traffic both on the water and on land and for this reason when we were not on the housboat we preferred having our boat excursions in the quieter areas along the channel and the Zambesi side of the island - there's no game but it's good for birdwatching.

The owners have recently retired and Walter a new manager has taken over. Generally we found the staff very helpful but one small suggestion - when guests arrive early afternoon after a long journey a light snack would really be appreciated.

Our guide was quite quiet at first but with a bit of encouragement we found that he had a wealth of knowledge and it was very interesting to hear him talk about life on the island. We thought it a real plus point that guides were recruited locally." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 23
97%
23 reviews of Ichingo Chobe Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
19
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Caprivi Strip

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu is a simple riverside lodge, with tents that are reminiscent of safaris a decade or two ago.


88% (126 reviews)
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge is a substantial lodge with a superb location on the Kavango River.


86% (88 reviews)
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

Beside the Kwando River, within Mudumu National Park, Lianshulu is a small safari lodge offering 4WD safaris and river trips – with particularly good birdlife.


91% (60 reviews)
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

Standards have slipped at Nkwazi Lodge in recent years which somewhat detract from its scenic location on the banks of the Kavango River.


79% (32 reviews)
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala

Peaceful Nkasa Lupala is a comfortable lodge in a remote and little-explored area close to Nkasa Rupara National Park.


92% (28 reviews)
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

NNunda River Lodge overlooks a pretty part of the Kavango River near Popa Falls and the productive Mahango National Park.


83% (27 reviews)
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

Near to Mudumu National Park, Camp Kwando is a comfortable and unfussy option with opportunities for game drives, boat safaris and fishing.


74% (25 reviews)
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

A beautiful safari lodge In the remote Bwabwata National Park, Nambwa Tented Lodge brings serious comfort to a relaxing safari.


93% (15 reviews)
River Dance Lodge

River Dance

Build on stilts on the banks of the Kavango River, River Dance Lodge has great views, a relaxed ambience and excellent birdlife.


92% (13 reviews)
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Lodge

Situated on the banks of the Kavango, Taranga Safari Lodge works as a convenient stopover before going onto explore the Caprivi.


76% (9 reviews)
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Lodge & Spa

The substantial Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa offers plenty of pampering opportunities in an unspoilt riverside setting


91% (7 reviews)
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge is situated on the great Zambezi River; come for relaxation, great birding and boat trips along the Chobe Riverfront.


100% (5 reviews)
Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge, near Kasane in the Caprivi Strip is a very luxurious, high end option for those seeking peace and privacy on the Zambezi River.


85% (4 reviews)
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

One of the larger lodges in the Bwabwata National Park, Namushasha is an economic option with an attractive river-side location.


80% (3 reviews)
Serondela Lodge

Serondela

Accessible only by river, Serondela combines the remoteness of Namibia’s Caprivi Strip with access to Botswana’s flagship Chobe National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Shametu River Lodge

Shametu Lodge

Shametu River Lodge has the best views of the Popa Rapids of any private lodge in the Divundu area.


70% (2 reviews)
Jackalberry Tented Camp

Jackalberry Camp

Jackalberry Camp is uniquely situated in the Nkasa Rupara National Park affording unrivalled access to this little-visited corner of Namibia.


100% (1 review)
Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge stands opposite Chobe National Park, Botswana. Click here to learn more about the area and your options for a safari there.


100% (1 review)
Kazile Island Lodge

Kazile Island Lodge

On an island in the Kwando River within Bwabwata National Park, the remote Kazile lsland Lodge offers games drives, bush walks and boat cruises.


60% (1 review)
Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp is a small, tented satellite camp near the Kwando River offering boat trips, birding and game drives.


No reviews yet
Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas is a beautiful and thoughtfully designed lodge, in a great location on the Namibian banks of the Chobe River.


No reviews yet
Nkasa Linyanti Camp
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa