This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by The H family from Chester

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

My Jun 2012 trip

Namibia and 3 other countries between 1 Jun 2012 and 21 Jun 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was one of the most memorable holidays we have had. Everything was in line with or better than expectations. I think the key to Expert Africa's success is knowing about all the country's facilities firsthand, and then taking care to understand what the client really wants from the holiday. Because this happened, we had no unpleasant surprises, and may pleasant ones.

The balance of time we spent in each place was perfect, and therefore gave us a wide range of experiences in the time available.

The car hire was a success. I think for the gravel roads, the Nissan X-trail is a must, rather than a saloon, and people should be encouraged to take one. The Budget car we had was not provided with a second spare wheel, as had been booked. The manager was apologetic, but said the wheel he intended to supply was damaged. He then rightly said (as it turned out) that with it being the dry season, with no potholes, and with sensible driving, we should have no problem. In fact we had no tyre problems at all. I think in the dry season a second wheel is perhaps overcautious. Very comfortable car, with plenty of space for both people and luggage.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Hard to think of anything. Just keep visiting places, listen to feedback and ensure you understand what is important for the client (even if he doesn't know himself!)"

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2012
"Bullsport was an excellent choice for a first night in Namibia, easily reached from Windhoek (3 hours). Staying on a Guest Farm should be part of everyone's itinerary in Namibia, as it is different to other options. Very relaxed, and great to talk to Ernst and Johanna, including when they joined us for meals.

They offer various walk in the area, and we did two different ones, both very good. We saw Hartman zebras!

Rooms were very comfortable, with gas heaters for the winter.

Food was fine, with an African touch. Drinks were from an honesty bar, and reasonably priced. Coffer, tea and cakes were free!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2012
"Marvellous place to stay. Being within the park is a big advantage in terms of seeing the dunes at dawn and dusk. The rooms were lovely, and so were the staff.

We also very much enjoyed the food.although because of the number of rooms, the restaurant was a bit of a barn. They have tea and coffee on tap continuously, but they (and others on our trip) didn't keep replacing it as often as they should to ensure it was hot.

We drove ourselves to see the dunes at dawn and dusk, feeling that the trip at sunrise was rather expensive for four people. In fact, by doing our own thing we were able to stay more isolated which enhanced the experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2012
"This is possibly the best place to stay in Swakopmund as far as we could see. The location is perfect, rooms are excellent, and the breakfast was excellent.

The staff could not have been more helpful, making calls for us to book trips and restaurants.

Eleanor and Russell did the kayaking trip, which they thought was amazing. At the same time, we explored the town, including two hours in the excellent museum, which taught us a lot about Namibia.

We all did the Sandwich Harbour tour, guided by the excellent Ernest. Outstanding thing to do, including lunch in the dunes with table and chairs, and table cloth! Ernest knew all the birds very well.

We had dinners at The Tug (excellent), and Kucki's Pub and Erich's (both perfectly fine).

We went to the crystal gallery, which we really enjoyed, and Eleanor bought a lovely little necklace in the unique Namibian Pietersite stone. Peter at Cornerstone asked if we would put a review on Tripadvisor, which they find useful. We will do so."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2012
"We stayed here as Camp Kipje had had suffered a serious fire. It was a great place to stay, and very friendly. Marvellous setting.
Rooms were beautiful. Food was really enjoyable.

We visited the White Lady rockart on the way to the lodge, and the Twyfelfontein rock art whilst there. Both very worthwhile. On the day we left, we saw the Petrified Forest which is astonishing and well worth a visit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Jun 2012
"Our expectations from restcamps were not high, based on our experiences in Kruger. We didn't eat there, as Russell cooked braai for dinner, and we went on a dawn game drive.

The drive guide did not know birds as well as he might, but the trip was fine. The highlight was seeing ten lions just after we started the drive!

The watering hole was very good with a stream of animals.

I think a place offering a braai facility might also provide some basic cutlery and crockery. We managed on plastic stuff bought from the camp shop."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Activities
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 12 Jun 2012
"Again, our expectations were not that high. But the rooms were fine, and the service good.

In the restaurant, dinner was in line with or better than expectations. Breakfast was excellent, including great porridge!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 13 Jun 2012
"An ideal place to stay at the east end of the park. Beautiful place, and really nice service. Cold, but blankets and log fire provided in the restaurant!

Strongly recommend it as a stopover."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 14 Jun 2012
"Probably the most enjoyable place we stayed, and not to be missed. Easily reached from the tarred road, and unique environment.
Very friendly, and beautiful setting. Very nice food.

The eagle walk (one and a half hours) was outstanding.

Couldn't ask for more."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 15 Jun 2012
"Perfect place for a Johannesburg stopover, as it is a five minute walk from the terminal."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2012
"Really pleased we decided to do the Falls from the Zimbabwe side. Easy walk to the Falls, and the town was safe.
Very nice hotel ('colonial relic'!) and had everything we needed.

We had high tea at the Victoria Falls Hotel, which was marvellous. However, I preferred staying at Ilala Lodge, and just visiting the Vic Falls Hotel."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

"Ichingo Chobe River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jun 2012
"Really pleased we chose this one. It is not as luxurious as some, but has reall character, and the service is excellent. For example, as there is not continuous power in the rooms, and so no kettle, hot water and drinks are brought to the room at 0700.

We were the only guests that night! We had dinner with Ralph and really enjoyed his company (his wife was away).
Raphael was our guide on a boat drive and a village walk, and he was superb.

Now I understand how the transfer works from Zimbabwe! (By the way, we did not receive any prior information about pickup time, but I emailed Ralph, who replied promptly) Getting our passport stamped four times to get there was part of the fun, especially at the immigration point on the island!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

"Ichobezi Houseboats review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2012
"We had a marvellous time. We were the only guests for most of it! The staff were great, the food excellent, and the service could not have been better. The top of the boat had been refurbished, but I think the rooms, especially the bathrooms would benefit from a a refurbishment. However, no problems.

Harris took us on two boat drives, and he was outstanding. As well as knowing all of the birds, he managed to to get us a sunset close-up viewing of elephants swimming the river!

The two days was a great experience and a contract to the rest of what we saw in Namibia."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team