This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse


22°40’55.9"S 14°31’38.4"E

Reviews of Cornerstone Guesthouse

Wildlife sightings and reviews

251 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Cornerstone Guesthouse and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 251
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Fortrose

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2022
"Cornerstone was comfortable set in beautiful gardens, in a good location within walking distance of the town.

The owners were friendly and very helpful, breakfast was great." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mrs B
North Yorkshire

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2022
"Good location, great breakfast, but rooms a little tired.

Could have done without the 80's disco blasting out from a local restaurant for the best part of 12 hours on our first day though!" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs N
Portsmouth

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2022
"Nice large room and very helpful owner and receptionist who are keen to help with any issue connected with a stay in Swakopmund. Only downside is the poor inter room sound proofing. Fridge in the room. Lovely breakfast served in a cosy dining room.

Can easily buy a permit in town for the Welwitschia Drive if doing that." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Syderstone

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2022
"Now this was more like it for a B&B! We had a lovely room in the garden with our own patio area. It was comfortable and had all that we needed. We were surprised to be given a basic mobile phone, pre-programmed with the hosts' numbers, in case of emergencies; what a simple, but good idea.

Breakfast was plentiful and the host was welcoming, helpful and interested.

It was a quick walk into the town and the restaurant on the opposite side of the road was excellent for an evening meal.

I will pass on that the owners also have two self catering apartments in Swakop, suitable for larger groups, and they offer breakfast at the B&B." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mrs N.
Rickmansworth

"Cornerstone Guesthouse Post Covid Sept 2022"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2022
"The Cornerstone Guesthouse was comfortable and the owners were friendly and helpful.

We arrived in Swakopmund on Sunday evening and most places were closed - I think we may have had a different view of Swakopmund if we'd arrived on a different day.

We did a whale watching trip which was a great experience and we were lucky to see whales breaching. We also did a four wheel drive to Sandwich bay which we enjoyed although thinking about it afterwards we did question whether we should have considered the environmental impact a bit more?!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs H.
Whitchurch

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2022
"Lovely spacious room, delicious breakfast and very friendly staff.

Great location, just 5 minute walk into town or to the sea." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Richard & Caroline
GB

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2022
"Comfortable/clean and secure B&B.

Hosts are attentive and helpful - especially with dining suggestions - The Jetty is only a 5-10 minute walk and serves a good variety of food for evening meals.

Excellent location so easy to walk to most areas within the town and safe so walking at night is not a real issue.

Secure parking and helpful/friendly staff" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
London

"Cornerstone Guesthouse "

3 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2022
"Fabulous welcome here. Upon arrival we were asked if we had made any dinner reservations for our 3 night stay (as it was very busy in town) which we had not. Within an hour they had managed to reserve 3 wonderful restaurants for us. The Jetty 1905 (at the end of the pier), The Ocean Cellar (in the old town) and The Tug overlooking the Ocean. All 3 were excellent and can certainly recommend.

They also very kindly reconfirmed our excursions for the following 2 days.

Our room was very large with a lovely patio. Just a few minutes walk into town or to the ocean." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Herne Bay

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2022
"We stayed at the Moringa Garden Apartment which belongs to Cornerstone Guest House.

It was spacious and beautifully furnished with an excellent location near to the town centre and the restaurants.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time here." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Family P
Sheffield

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2022
"Well-located, hospitable, central, clean, friendly. Very helpful in advice on what to do and where in Swakopmund." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 251
94%
251 reviews of Cornerstone Guesthouse by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
184
61
6
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


88% (173 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


88% (64 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


87% (60 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well-placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (56 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (48 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

Colourful and contemporary in style, The Delight is a relatively large hotel within a short walk of Swakopmund's waterfront, restaurants and main attractions.


93% (25 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (21 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (17 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


91% (7 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


73% (3 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa