This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse


22°40’55.9"S 14°31’38.4"E

Reviews of Cornerstone Guesthouse

Wildlife sightings and reviews

261 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Cornerstone Guesthouse and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 261
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs L.
London

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2023
"Warm welcome. The apartment was lovely, well equipped and spacious with great sea views.

We went to the guest house for breakfast which was excellent.

Just need to make sure that the day trip company knows whether to pick you up at the Guesthouse after breakfast or from the the apartment - we had a bit of confusion but it was all resolved." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Explorer
Dan Brownlee

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2023
"Great location. In the middle of history. Great room and breakfast. Great advice for food and sightseeing. Took a informative catamaran trip to see the seals and the Flamingos. Many great food options, coffee shops, bistros, pubs.

I would stay 3 nights if I were to do it again. Too much to see and do in 1 full day. Woulkd do a guided tour of Swakopmund and kayak with the seals." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
DD & PK
New York

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2023
"It's a nice enough place to lay your head--walking distance from restaurants in Swakopmund and with a fabulous breakfast." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
george
up north

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2023
"nice place with easy access and parking. the apartment we had was perfect for b and b.

it had been taken over 4 months before we arrived but this didn't seem to be an issue.

happy to vary the breakfast times depending on what we were doing. hearty breakfast." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mrs K
Andover

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2023
"Clean and very comfortable.

Convenient location.

Lovely staff." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr&Mrs L.
Paris

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2023
"Lovely,quietand comfy guesthouse set very conveniently at walking distance from restaurants and shopping.

Beautiful garden with birds . We found out they had taken the initiative of washing our car in the early morning, which we were grateful for !

Delicious breakfast.

They booked for the outing in the desert "The little five" through a company they know and as there was no other people, we had the guide ( so knowledgeable and competent in tracing the reptiles and lizards...) for ourselves ." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Tammy H
Redmond

"Friendly, Safe Guesthouse in Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2023
"Three couples, stayed two nights at Cornerstone. Safe location, easy to walk to the waterfront. Gated, with secured parking.

Rooms were clean and decent sized. Each room has a small terrace with table and chairs. There is a central courtyard area with tons of birds eating from the bird feeders.

When we checked in our host asked if we had any excursions planned. We told her we were kayaking in Walvis Bay the next morning, and she arranged for us to have an early breakfast. Nice breakfast buffet of fruit, cheese, breads, along with made to order hot breakfast.

Cornerstone worked out well for us. A much less expensive and congenial option than staying at a large hotel on the water. Friendly hosts and staff." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Alex
Algarve

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2023
"We had a nice welcome at Cornerstone but sadly the accommodation was not for us. We found it very tired and dated - it is way overdue a make over in the bedrooms.

The dining room has been modernized and is pleasant. Breakfast was average. None of this is a reflection on the staff who we found pleasant and helpful.

We had Room no 1 which is right next to the kitchen so is pretty noisy at each end of the day. The pillows are dreadful - bathrooms drab.

This place did not work for us I’m afraid." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Poor
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
I and C
Worcester, UK

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 7 May 2023
"Cornerstone is a hospitable, well run and central venue whilst staying in Swakop. The rooms and general facilities are well run and staff are very helpful." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Wallington
UK

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Apr 2023
"A pleasant guest house, conveniently situated to stroll into town.
Very helpful (new) owners." See all these reviews: 30n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 261
94%
261 reviews of Cornerstone Guesthouse by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
189
66
5
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


88% (173 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


88% (64 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well-placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


89% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (61 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (48 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

Colourful and contemporary in style, The Delight is a relatively large hotel within a short walk of Swakopmund's waterfront, restaurants and main attractions.


93% (27 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (21 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


89% (18 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


93% (8 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


73% (3 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa