This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse


22°40’55.9"S 14°31’38.4"E

Reviews of Cornerstone Guesthouse

Wildlife sightings and reviews

226 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Cornerstone Guesthouse and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 226
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs D
E Sussex

"Very comfortable B&B "

2 nights Arrived 19 Jan 2019
"Cornerstone is conveniently located on the south end of Swakopmund, within easy walking distance of two of the better restaurants in the town (The Tug and Jetty).

Very friendly owners and comfortable room." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr & Mrs N
USA

"Wonderful experience"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jan 2019
"Great location, wonderful host, beautifully kept, quiet..." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 16n in Tanzania; 10n in Botswana; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Cottenham

"Great place on the coast"

2 nights Arrived 28 Nov 2018
"Cornerstone Lodge is great.

Peter is very friendly and helpful, and provides a hearty breakfast each morning. We were given great recommendations for restaurants and for excursions, all of which was organised for us by Rowena (I am not 100% sure we are remembering her name, but think it's Rowena!) She was extremely helpful and friendly, despite clearly being kept very busy by some other guests! We ate at the Tug, and then we also ate at the restaurant at the end of the pier the next night. Both were amazing, with excellent seafood and drinks.

We would also like to recommend Oryx Aluminium Canopies. We had rented our car from Bushlore - who we would also like to recommend, and had an issue with the toyota hilux rear hood cracking from bouncing around on the gravel roads. We were contacted within ten minutes of reporting the issue, and told to drop off the car there whilst we did our morning activity, and it was returned to us as good as new!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R.
Malmesbury

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2018
"The service from the owner and staff (especially Ramona on reception) makes this guesthouse stand out.

The rooms and bathrooms are lovely and clean and set around a pretty garden (except for room 7 which is next to the car park so not as good) with everything you would want. The service was excellent - they couldn't have done more for us or been nicer. We returned from a morning kayaking with seals to find that our afternoon activity (dune buggies/sandboarding combo) was all booked as well as our evening dinner reservation - we had failed to get into the Tug restaurant (book well in advance) but were recommended the Fish Deli which did lovely sushi - it was a great recommendation. Also of note are the excellent breakfasts to classical music - we all agreed these were the best breakfasts we had in Namibia.

Location is excellent - walkable to everything including dune buggies." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
K+R, J+P
Stirling

"Good central location"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2018
"Staying in the apartment in Swakopmund made a great break in the middle of the holiday, giving us space to do some laundry and re-pack while having excellent breakfasts provided at Cornerstone.

The apartment was ideally placed within the town, we enjoyed being able to wander on the shore and into town as well as enjoying choosing restaurants to visit - The Fish Deli was a particular favourite." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr& Mrs T
Poole

"Cornerstone Guesthouse"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2018
"Good situation, very helpful owners and great breakfast." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Northum

"Helpful and friendly staff"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2018
"We stayed at Cornerstone for two nights. Stephen the owner and the lady receptionist (sorry I have forgotten her name) were very helpful and friendly. You are given a mobile phone with their contact numbers, in case you need information or help. We thought that was a nice touch. We were in the room around the corner from reception (number 6 I think). This was a nice sized room and was very private as nobody walked past our room to get to theirs. The bathroom was fairly small but serviceable and everywhere was nice and clean.

The secure parking was good although there is also additional parking next to the front gate with CCTV. All the staff were friendly and the grounds man even washed our car for us after we had driven along the salt road. He did a great job and was cheaper than the local car wash too.

Breakfast was good and efficient with a self serve area and hot food to order. Stephen took the orders and he would chat about your plans and give advice if requested. He is quite an amusing character and runs the guesthouse well.

As I had read on the internet that it is better to reserve restaurants in advance, especially at weekends, we had already booked the Tug for one night and the Jetty 1905. We were pleased we had done that as a few people we spoke to had not been able to get booked at either of these once they got to Swakopmund. Both are in easy walking distance from the guesthouse and both had good food. The receptionist also recommended a seafood restaurant around the corner where we went for lunch. The prawns there were unbelievably good and very reasonable.

We also drove up to Cape Cross Seal Sanctuary, this is well worth the drive, which is easy as there is a salt road all the way. The seals are everywhere, even in the car park! We were also supposed to do a scenic flight along the skeleton coast but half an hour before Pleasure Flights and Safari’s were due to collect us they cancelled. I would not recommend using these as I had booked this with them in the UK and it messed up our day.

I would however, recommend Cornerstone Guesthouse if you are staying in Swakopmund as it is in a good location and is very comfortable.." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr A & Mrs K
Wilts

"Comfortable place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2018
"Very comfortable. Breakfast was good and plenty of restaurants in walking distance." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs E.
Exeter

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2018
"Very nice high quality European style guest house, run by a very kind couple." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr D.
Egham

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2018
"The Guesthouse works well for a short stay. The rooms are clean and set out around a very well tended garden. Breakfast is taken in the main house.

You can walk into the town in a few minutes, which is useful because the off street parking is tight and depending upon which slot you get may take a while to manoeuvre out of the gate. It is just a shame that this and the other properties nearby all look like they are defending against attack with high walls and large gates. We had only pulled up outside the gate for 10 seconds before one of the staff told us it was not safe to leave our car there. I personally didn't feel unsafe but the local tendency to act as though there is a problem is strange.

Swakopmund itself is OK but not a place I would return. We were probably not encouraged by the sandstorm that greeted us on arrival and the generally poor weather throughout our stay. You also have to be prepared for a few hours of very uninteresting driving getting there and leaving. Our excursion with Turnstone was fine, but the weather curtailed our being able to reach Sandwich Harbour which seems to be a common occurrence." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 21-30 of 226
95%
226 reviews of Cornerstone Guesthouse by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
170
52
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (48 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa